Roast Vent Here

Def need new mates.

Pavlich happened by chance to be on the same flight as Cooper. Freo took advantage of such opportunity in this social media age to do something spontaneous and rather cool I reckon.

They (the new recruits) were welcomed at the Kings Park session and from the past couple of years a BBQ at one of the senior players home over the weekend. Sharp at training yesterday didn’t look like a nervous newcomer that had never met anyone. The draftees were eased into their first session and then had a press conference to introduce to the public.

As for Henry. As mentioned by another he was genuinely torn but persuaded by a pushy agent who we know is an issue for Freo. The fact that he got dropped early in the season may have been the point at which he made up his mind. Also Col Young was asked (by Cal Twomey) about Henry on the gettable segment just before the season started and he was cagey at that point.

Henry got back into the team and seemed to have good cohesion with teammates and coaching staff during the second half of the year. It really appears he had his mind made up from 2022 and this was consolidated after being dropped early season. I don’t subscribe to the theory that he was given games in the second half to improve trade value. The club were more than generous giving him a second go which Henry then grasped following a series of career defining games.

I feel the club were well consigned to losing Henry and also comfortable losing Hamling. They preferred to retain both but back up options in Sharp and McDonald seem more than adequate replacements.

The loss that will hurt and the club didn’t want to encounter was Schultz. The deal we got was reasonable:
Upgrading the 2023 2nd to get Cooper, potentially adding small forward Max Beatie as rookie and having a late future first.

The loss of Schultz driven by money and family reasons. Him being replaced will take a collective (incl. development of Emmett) and hope that a gem like Beatie can come on (if he ends up making the team list).
Sheer genius, great post, you have given me hope.

Random thought
- are we the only club in draft bidding history to suffer a first round deficit the following year after matching a bid?

If so, that’s Dockery
GWS did - it wasn’t Green but another player matched a few years earlier. Someone will confirm. It was also a second round deficit. From memory the deficit applies to the round where the bid was made. Therefore GWS had a second round deficit. Again someone more knowledgable will confirm.

The trade we did reaked of desperation. In the end it worked out ok because we only got pushed back a couple of picks and got Heath Chapman at 14. There was a little advantageous quirk that year where a mid first round compo pick didn’t push us as far back and then the rounding of points worked in our favour.

After bids and free agent compo it was something like 12 downgraded to 14.

The pts deficit can work out ok. Essentially trading down a few picks. However we should have been much better prepared with trades ready to go with better value. Lots of learning from that trade/draft period. Henry went earlier than expected. Cal had him around 15-17 for example. We just weren’t prepared for the bid in the top 10 after focusing on getting Young and Serong.

This could qualify as a Freo relevant vent if you think the current purple in our jumpers isn't shiny enough, which could have been a topic of discussion at some point, or maybe a bad dream I had. (There's actually an explanation in the thread on why Quality Street reverted back to their original wrappers).

Let this be the baseline minimum standard for forthcoming vents in 2024.

This could qualify as a Freo relevant vent if you think the current purple in our jumpers isn't shiny enough, which could have been a topic of discussion at some point, or maybe a bad dream I had. (There's actually an explanation in the thread on why Quality Street reverted back to their original wrappers).

Oh hook this straight to my veins! I'm all in on ranking vents this year based upon [checks notes] Festive Cheer.

If she doesn't want the caramel ones, I'll eat them.

is anyone else afraid they live long enough to be featured on TV as the nearly dead fan who’s finally watching his team win a flag?

I'm 31 so I bloody hope not.

Imagine her reaction when they switched from the tin to the cardboard box.. :oops:

Not me.
I might be relatively old, but I have partied too hard to have a really long innings.
I just hope I see one

On SM-G960F using BigFooty.com mobile app
you just have to live to Oct 25. I'm sure you can make it if you swap out bingo for bowls, and the digestives for some veggies

Screenshot_20240126-223650_Facebook.jpg
I have done good refraining myself from responding to these dropkick responding to my post on FB. I'm a little drunk and we've had one finals campaign in the last 8 seasons.

Let's just say there are two supporter types.

- those that want their team to succeed

- those who just want the topless player photos in the Cleo magazine.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240126-223650_Facebook.jpg
    Screenshot_20240126-223650_Facebook.jpg
    86.3 KB · Views: 95

View attachment 1893258
I have done good refraining myself from responding to these dropkick responding to my post on FB. I'm a little drunk and we've had one finals campaign in the last 8 seasons.

Let's just say there are two supporter types.

- those that want their team to succeed

- those who just want the topless player photos in the Cleo magazine.

The world is full of different opinions

Who cares

Jeremy McGovern is genuinely baffling to me. He regularly dominates athletic key forwards and (as much as it pains me to say it) is one of the best contested marks over the last decade (IMO). He has had a bloody good career for someone that looks like a country footballer.
I agree, he is very talented, but I reckon clubs have worked him out and he can be found out, leading to his man kicking a bag.
Maybe, I'm just biased against the evils, in fact, I know I am.
Top 5 reason why I left WA is due to their moronic supporters as a group. Some are good people.

is anyone else afraid they live long enough to be featured on TV as the nearly dead fan who’s finally watching his team win a flag?
Man I've been spruiking this as my greatest fear for the past couple of years. I thoight I was the inly one who had this fear.

Honestly, what a ridiculous thing to concern oneself with.

That's a problem for my great-grandchildren to worry about.

I agree, he is very talented, but I reckon clubs have worked him out and he can be found out, leading to his man kicking a bag.
Maybe, I'm just biased against the evils, in fact, I know I am.
Top 5 reason why I left WA is due to their moronic supporters as a group. Some are good people.
I met one.... once.Can't really remember when, but I am sure I did. Or maybe it was a nightmare.

I have one at work who "hates Freo with a passion" and I really don't understand why. Remember the pic they took in front of the scoreboard when they smashed us during the derby? We beat them by even more in the recent derby and didn't pull any shit like that. They are projecting.

I have one at work who "hates Freo with a passion" and I really don't understand why. Remember the pic they took in front of the scoreboard when they smashed us during the derby? We beat them by even more in the recent derby and didn't pull any s**t like that. They are projecting.
I have always said , if you have ten real football supporters sitting around with or without a beer, talking footy in general, it will be a great comversation.
Add one Yella fan and in less than a minute they will have the best Ruck, the best CHF, the best CHB.
Then the rest leave him/her to talk to themselves.

Preseason games are great, aren't they?

Computer Working GIF

Roast Vent Here