VFL VFL R11 - Sandringham v WB (TBBO)

This should be a ripper, am envious of those who can go to this match. Will at least be able to follow some of it on-line.
If you live nearby you should consider going. The atmosphere is great, and you get to see most of our next generation working together.

This should be a ripper, am envious of those who can go to this match. Will at least be able to follow some of it on-line.
If you live nearby you should consider going. The atmosphere is great, and you get to see most of our next generation working together.

Would you happen to know the best place to get a park? I have never ventured down to Sandy before..

Hi guys

If you're in the southeastern region, the game will be broadcast on Casey Radio at 97.7FM with the preview commencing at 1pm (we hope to speak to Paul Hudson in the first half hour). If you're outside the southeast, the feed is available on caseyradio.com.au or via the TuneIn radio app (which is helpful if you're at the ground).

If you've got any questions, get in touch via Twitter @977footy and we'll address them on air.

Cheers

Hi guys

If you're in the southeastern region, the game will be broadcast on Casey Radio at 97.7FM with the preview commencing at 1pm (we hope to speak to Paul Hudson in the first half hour). If you're outside the southeast, the feed is available on caseyradio.com.au or via the TuneIn radio app (which is helpful if you're at the ground).

If you've got any questions, get in touch via Twitter @977footy and we'll address them on air.

Cheers

Legend! Thanks.

We normally struggle with Williamstown in the Dev league, but there's a ridiculous amount of talent on show. Marky got 10m on his opp leading out if the square to mark and goal on the siren. Murdoch had goaled shortly before that. Payne kicked 2 in 2 mins earlier in the term. Siposs had a number of possessions (after having already been active to half time). White did a lovely kick-in and laid a good tackle. Zeb-listed player Hayes took a nice hanger and kicked a banana goal from a very tough spot. Pierce is controlling the ruck as you'd expect. 78-56.

Twice White spoiled a Zeb in good position to mark. Also had a let off after JBT had marked well but kicked into the player on the mark who missed. Payne earlier hit the post with a set shot. 85-71.

White moved forward. Had a 4 bounce run (although he only needed 2). Both teams have kicked oof repeatedly, and thankfully Willy is the team to pay with a Zeb snapping a goal from a oof free. 91-73.

Edit - Willy get one from a zeb fwd entry. Nearly 30 mins gone.

Edit - siren.

What are peoples thoughts on the reasons why White is playing back?
teach him the defensive side of the game? Maybe because it will piss him off and might make him work harder? Hard to say, but i reckon it's to make him accountable, seems pretty back and White to me... eyyyy.

Sorry, I'm done

What are peoples thoughts on the reasons why White is playing back?
Could be a case of playing fwd doesn't improve him in dev league. We have already shown we would prefer to rest a player than play them in dev league.
Maybe it is designed to get him match play and challenge him rather than him not challenged in the fwd line.
(personally think if he hasn't killed it in fwd line this year then clearly it is challenging enough for him, but not necessarily the view of the club)

Also have seen plenty of fwds do stints down back and be better for it when they return to fwd line. May be a case of that too.

Yep, obviously we are all only guessing but I'd say it's a mixture between the coaching staff wanting him to work on his defensive side while learning a bit about work rate, but mostly just giving him a massive kick in the arse. Basically he has a couple of months to prove he is an AFL footballer. They have put him on the outside and pretty much said if you want to get back inside you're going to have to work you arse off and prove you want to be here.

How did he look out there? Hopefully like a bloke that was playing for his career?

VFL VFL R11 - Sandringham v WB (TBBO)