Vic Metro U18 2010

footyman

Dec 21, 2001
Gold Coast
The Metro Muppets have put their first U18 squad together, I think they might be missing a few good players here, but Anton Grhack and his little soldiers will no doubt fiddle with the names on many occasions between now and May 2010.

2010 VIC METRO U18 SQUAD as at November 2009

Cameron Guthrie Calder
Thomas Liberatore Calder
Luke Mitchell Calder
Dion Prestia Calder
Mitchell Wallis Calder
Matthew Watson Calder
Michael Bussey Eastern
Keiran Harper Eastern
Brad Harvey Eastern
Aaron Mullett Eastern
Cameron O'Shea Eastern
Jonathon Patton Eastern
Ryan Wilson Eastern
Aaron Young Eastern
Dylan Buckley Northern
Josh Caddy Northern
Billy Longer Northern
Jordan Treloar Northern
Taylor Veale Northern
Corey Cassidy Oakleigh
Andrew Gaff Oakleigh
Tim Golds Oakleigh
Thomas Gordon Oakleigh
Alex Johnson Oakleigh
Patrick Karnezis Oakleigh
Ryan Lester Oakleigh
Viv Michie Oakleigh
Ben Jacobs Sandringham
Cameron Sharp Sandringham
Dylan Conway Western
Will Hoskin-Elliot Western
Joshua Huxtable Western

They look poised to have another successful campaign, good job those in charge:thumbsu:
I'm not gonna whinge about many, but no Ben Casley? Give me a break...

They look poised to have another successful campaign, good job those in charge:thumbsu:
I'm not gonna whinge about many, but no Ben Casley? Give me a break...
He's the most obvious one of the omitted players. Played 8 games at the Jets this year, averaged over 18 possies and 5 marks a game and did it at both ends of the ground. He clearly should be in that squad. I'd be stunned if he isn't added sooner rather than later.

Then again, does representing Vic Metro really matter? Plenty of the 2009 squad missed out on being drafted. It seems from the outside that poor use of players by the coaching panel, and poor team performances may have led to some players being ruled out by AFL clubs.

In contrast to you Bachar, I'll be wishing Vic Metro another unsuccessful campaign, as I do each and every year.

The Metro Muppets have put their first U18 squad together, I think they might be missing a few good players here, but Anton Grhack and his little soldiers will no doubt fiddle with the names on many occasions between now and May 2010.

LMAO - True. Let's hope he gets it right this year. He certainly damaged a few kids chances of showing their stuff at the carnival this year.

Since your so good with stats FM, how many of this years VM missed out altogether (Hartigan, Ezard, Hill, Tobin,?).

yeah he was pretty stiff to miss out but isnt it with the u17 and u18 vic metro sides they have both been picked now but there is add ins and people come out of the squad can someone explain how it works?

Since your so good with stats FM, how many of this years VM missed out altogether (Hartigan, Ezard, Hill, Tobin,?).
By my count, of the final 40 player squad -

ND (13) - Talia, Gysberts, Fitzpatrick, Kennedy, Shaw, Macmillan, Sinclair, Moore, Melksham, B Griffiths, Carlisle, Scully, Gawn

PSD/Rookie (3) - Scott, Grimes, Hicks

Not selected (14) - McCallum, Hill, Burnage, Hartigan, Cass, Ezard, Mirra, Hoegel, Purcell, Tobin, Thompson, Campbell, Jones, J Griffiths

Too young & GC- (10) Gaff, O'Shea, Harper, Jacobs, Prestia, Conway, Nicholls, Hutchins, McKenzie, Toy

yeah he was pretty stiff to miss out but isnt it with the u17 and u18 vic metro sides they have both been picked now but there is add ins and people come out of the squad can someone explain how it works?
Yeah, it's a fluid squad. They will add and delete people as they see fit between now and the championships.

He's the most obvious one of the omitted players. Played 8 games at the Jets this year, averaged over 18 possies and 5 marks a game and did it at both ends of the ground. He clearly should be in that squad. I'd be stunned if he isn't added sooner rather than later.

Then again, does representing Vic Metro really matter? Plenty of the 2009 squad missed out on being drafted. It seems from the outside that poor use of players by the coaching panel, and poor team performances may have led to some players being ruled out by AFL clubs.

In contrast to you Bachar, I'll be wishing Vic Metro another unsuccessful campaign, as I do each and every year.

I can say it was an interesting day at Geelong this year sitting in front of the Metro box. At one stage i felt like standing up and offering them a team sheet with where the blokes actually played in TAC Cup so they could work it out ....

Scully was in Metro this year.
Bastinac was in Country.

I believe that's because Dandenong switched from metro to country at the end of the 2008 season and since Scully had already played with metro in '08, he was given the choice of Metro or Country. Hence why Scully ended up playing for metro and Bastinac for country.

They have pretty much got 16s metro squad and bottom agers who are rated highest (and been in 16s the year before) I am not sure if they will play to win this year after last years debacle. I felt they really pushed the top agers up last year to the detriment of the bottom agers and spread the players as equally as possible from all regions. If they are fair dinkum about winning this year then Oakleigh and Calder will have about 8 players each in the best 22 at this stage I reckon.

I think Metro have a fair bit of work in front of them. Last season was probably their worst ever result with a list that wasn't strong but wasn't THAT bad. There will be a lot of soul searching done before this year's Carnival and hopefully a better effort.
One of things of note was how many guys did NOT get drafted:
McCallum, Hill, Burnage, Hartigan, Cass, Ezard, Mirra, Hoegel, Purcell, Tobin, Thompson, Campbell, Jones, J Griffiths
Guys like Gaff and Toy will be very important this year (assuming the Gold Coast and the AFL allow their kids to play).
Gaff, O'Shea, Harper, Jacobs, Prestia, Conway, Nicholls, Hutchins, McKenzie, Toy
There are some good kids here, enough to start a list at, but there has to be a LOT of work, especially if they play in Adelaide or Perth (where results haven't been good recently).

Just wondering if someone could let me know more bout josh caddy and his chances of getting drafted,

He'd be a monty if he can repeat some of his performances from last year.

He's four goal effort in the semi final against Gold Coast was nothing short of outstanding. He has great strength and finishing skills and reminds me of Paul Chapman.

Does anyone have any info regarding Taylor Veal???
What sorta info?

He spent a lot of 2009 playing forward, I thought his second half of the season was terrific and his third placing in the Knights B&F was certainly justified. His physicality and attack on the footy is top notch, but he's a nuggetty little player and that's his downside. I haven't seen him for six months, but I would hope he's grown a couple of centimetres and is working to be a midfielder in 2010. He gave every indication he could be one of the better mids in the TAC competition this year if he wants to be.

how's the squad looking at the moment.. any new players or omissions? anyone got some info on alex rintoul thought he would of been a guarantee to get a call up? on tay veal although he's very tough and strong the knights have him down as being only 174 cm does anyone think that will go against him when it comes to selection time?

(J.CADDY) Well in his next official TAC game since the gold coast final in 09 with 33 possesions a 4 goals, he today in round 1 ( rd 10 technically ) kicked 2.1 and had 39 possesions. Absolute domination

Really looking forward to seeing Metros prospective Onball brigade in full flight this year. Woosha must be salivating.

Cameron Guthrie Calder
Thomas Liberatore Calder
Dion Prestia Calder
Mitchell Wallis Calder
Josh Caddy Northern
Taylor Veale Northern
Andrew Gaff Oakleigh
Viv Michie Oakleigh
Ben Jacobs Sandringham
Cameron Sharp Sandringham

Fair bit of talent in that lot. They all have a crack as well.

Vic Metro U18 2010