Victorians turn to soccer : Are they giving up on there AFL teams?

The only reason people are interested in soccer might be its the number 1 played sport in the country. Soccer IS the national code. AFL is the victorian code. Soccer gets more people in Australia watching at the local and professional level b/c its simple mathematics - more people play it. If you think otherwise - prove it!

The $780 ml deal is temporary and was signed in history. Wait for the next deal & you should be very concerned that the next soccer deal willl close the gap like nothing before it.

But I love the comments from AFL supporters that soccer won't grow - its a bandwagon, its only immigrants blah blah. Be complacent and sleep easy.

Just what soccer needs as it rises. AFL can't grow. Victory will be playing titans from Asia - Japan's top team etc. Bag the game all you want. You can't stop the tide.

Since when was Aussie Rules the Victorian code??? Last time I checked there were teams from WA, SA, Qld and NSW participating along with Victoria.

Sure, soccer might be the most highly participated sports at junior level in Australia, but isn't Netball the MOST participated sport? It's up there I can tell you that much, we don't harp on how Netball is going to take over as Australia's number 1 game. Since when has soccer on a profressional level got more crowd numbers than Aussie Rules?

Australians love sport, why must there be this bitching about AFL vs Soccer, I love both sports and I get the best of both worlds as they are played in different seasons.

The standard of the A-League is rubbish. They are all amateurs and has-beens.

Until it can sign some decent overseas players then it will never be better than the AFL.

And what's this BS about soccer being the national code? That is complete bollocks. Aussie Rules is easily the most popular sport in Australia and the most watched. In Perth, the glory get about 7000 people to each game. The crowd for an Eagle game is usually about 40000. It's a similar situation in Queensland, Adelaide and NSW.

The immigrants are the ones playing soccer, if it wasn't for them then it would not have the same participation levels.

Let's pick Melb Victory for a start then. Can you name who are immigrants, and who are not immigrants? Also, by immigrants, do you mean 1st or 2nd generation. Is Sarkies an immigrant? What about Allsop? Back up your stupid statements with facts.

Do you know how many decent o/seas players are in the Aleague? But you don't even know ONE. Name the former dutch int'l at Adelaide? Who's the Scottish Int'l at Melk Victory? You're shooting from the hip, without any knowledge.

Soccer is number 1 played sport. Do you disaggree? If so then I'll show you the independant numbers.

Corwds - I wasn't talking about AFL attendance, that's just the top level. What about ametuer attendances? Can you give me numbers on local crowd attendances? How many people in NSW (our biggest state) turned up to a soccer game (any level), versus Aussie rules (any level, including AFL)? Got the numbers? If you don't, then don't make baseless claims that AFL is number 1 when it hasn't even dominated our most populated state you moron.

Look, I don't mind your sport. Just be able to back up your statements with proven facts.

The A-League season goes from September to February. BTW why is 50,000 on Anzac Day better than 50,000 on any other day?

Melbourne Victory will not be playing a game on Anzac Day this year, but Sydney FC will, against the Indonesian champions in the Asian Champions League. There are also other games against the Chinese and Japanese champions.

Melbourne Victory will be playing their Asian Champions League game at the Telstra Dome on Anzac Day 2008.

It will be interesting to see what sort of crowd they get, and how the Melbourne sporting public reacts to the new international competition. (new for us.)

It all depends on the opposition.

I dare say a game against the Iranian champion would fill the TD on Anzac Day.

In Perth, the glory get about 7000 people to each game. The crowd for an Eagle game is usually about 40000.

Have you seen how much promotion footy gets in Perth, literally pages and pages in the West Australian every day, and more than half of every sports bulletin on channels 7, 9 & 10 and the ABC.

Perth Glory are lucky to get a few lines in the West Australian once a week, and 10 seconds in the sports news once a week.

The West Australian sports writers hate soccer with a venom as do the TV sports readers like Tim Gossage, and they do not conceal their hatred.

Apart from the indigenous population, aren't we all immigrants or descendants of immigrants?

Don't immigrants also play Aussie Rules? Should kick them out, hey?

In fact that's one reason cricket's going to die a slow death in terms of growth - no immigrants are interested. Name a cricket player who's not anglo saxon? There's no aisans, italians, croations, greeks -it only seems to get one type of the population and yopu'd think cricket australia would be worried, but then again they're probably complacent.

Melbourne Victory will not be playing a game on Anzac Day this year, but Sydney FC will, against the Indonesian champions in the Asian Champions League. There are also other games against the Chinese and Japanese champions.

Melbourne Victory will be playing their Asian Champions League game at the Telstra Dome on Anzac Day 2008.

It will be interesting to see what sort of crowd they get, and how the Melbourne sporting public reacts to the new international competition. (new for us.)

It all depends on the opposition.

I dare say a game against the Iranian champion would fill the TD on Anzac Day.

Are you sure that we are playing on ANZAC day? I hope that they are not being played at the same time. The ANZAC day blockbuster followed by the Victory ACL game would be awesome.

The only reason people are interested in soccer might be its the number 1 played sport in the country. Soccer IS the national code. AFL is the victorian code. Soccer gets more people in Australia watching at the local and professional level b/c its simple mathematics - more people play it. If you think otherwise - prove it!
shouldn't the burden of proof be on you? But than you go onto say
vinnie said:
Look, I don't mind your sport. Just be able to back up your statements with proven facts

well at least one of us will
How's this for proof

Australian Rules football

Australian Rules football was the sport most attended by Australians. It was attended at least once by over 2.5 million people or 16% of Australians, aged 15 years and over in the 12 months prior to interview in 2005-06.

Soccer (outdoor)

Over half a million people (560,700) aged 15 years or over attended a soccer (outdoor) match at least one once during the 12 months prior to interview in 2005-06. This represents an attendance rate of 4%.

Have you seen how much promotion footy gets in Perth, literally pages and pages in the West Australian every day, and more than half of every sports bulletin on channels 7, 9 & 10 and the ABC.

Perth Glory are lucky to get a few lines in the West Australian once a week, and 10 seconds in the sports news once a week.

The West Australian sports writers hate soccer with a venom as do the TV sports readers like Tim Gossage, and they do not conceal their hatred.
Another conspiracy theorists, I thought we get enough of that from the Rugby League crew, don't tell me that the Soccer mob are into it too. Could it be that the media show or write or say what the people want to hear about. But I know where you're coming from when I was in Canada I didn't get any AFL coverage what so ever, I think there's a hidden agenda :rolleyes:

Let's pick Melb Victory for a start then. Can you name who are immigrants, and who are not immigrants? Also, by immigrants, do you mean 1st or 2nd generation. Is Sarkies an immigrant? What about Allsop? Back up your stupid statements with facts.

Do you know how many decent o/seas players are in the Aleague? But you don't even know ONE. Name the former dutch int'l at Adelaide? Who's the Scottish Int'l at Melk Victory? You're shooting from the hip, without any knowledge.

Soccer is number 1 played sport. Do you disaggree? If so then I'll show you the independant numbers.

I was talking about the junior level, moron.

All of the immigrants arriving by the boat load are the ones filling junior teams. They are the reason that soccer is so highly participated. In terms of Australian kids, soccer has ****** all participation compared to Australian Rules.

The WAFL averages about 1200-1500 people at a game, the local soccer league averages about 200. So Aussie rules is alot more popular at semi-professional level in WA. I don't know what the numbers are in other states but I am pretty sure that Aussie rules would come out on top in almost all of them.

And don't just focus on NSW because it is the most populous state, focus on the entire country. If you do that, then you would know the Aussie rules is the more popular sport.

Corwds - I wasn't talking about AFL attendance, that's just the top level. What about ametuer attendances? Can you give me numbers on local crowd attendances? How many people in NSW (our biggest state) turned up to a soccer game (any level), versus Aussie rules (any level, including AFL)? Got the numbers? If you don't, then don't make baseless claims that AFL is number 1 when it hasn't even dominated our most populated state you moron.

Look, I don't mind your sport. Just be able to back up your statements with proven facts.

What the hell does NSW have to do with anything when we are considering Australia as a whole? You know darn right that Aussie Rules is the number one sport in Victoria, WA, SA, Tasmania and NT thats 5/7 states/territories, seems like a domination to me mate.

"don't make baseless claims that AFL is the number 1" Buddy, how can you even dispute that AFL isn't number when it is the number one sport in the aforementioned states and a previous poster has made you look silly and stupid with PROVEN statistics.

Also, I like the way you say "look, I don't mind your sport" as if you want nothing to do with it and yet you are posting on an AFL forum, you bellend just go crawl under the bridge you came from.. quite amusing

Another conspiracy theorists, I thought we get enough of that from the Rugby League crew, don't tell me that the Soccer mob are into it too. Could it be that the media show or write or say what the people want to hear about. But I know where you're coming from when I was in Canada I didn't get any AFL coverage what so ever, I think there's a hidden agenda :rolleyes:

It's not that they are ignoring the sport, they are actively attacking a sport in print. Do you get lawn bowls writers slagging off ten pin bowling or cricket writers slagging off baseball?

Like when only 5000 swannies signed up for the season after plugger retired. The swans coaxed him out of retirement so they could sell more memberships before the season started, then he retired halfway into the season. He didn't want to comeback but was probably offered heaps of cash to get the bandwagoners back.
Pathetic sydney, pathetic.:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown: :mad: :mad: :thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

Can you please back up your baseless comments with actual facts?

The swans worst crowd was against the Brisbane Bears in 1995. Our crowds have been the BEST of any club team in Sydney since 1996.

I was sent a Port Adelaide membership just because I bought a ticket to our away match at AAMI Stadium last year. As far as I'm concerned THAT is sad! :eek:

JF

Sort of, but it depends what do you mean by 'popular'. You could ask and spin it in so many ways.

For example, consider this: Do people around the world take more interest in Australian soccer, or Aust'n rules? ESPN will be at the A-league final. Do they take an interest in Aust rules grand final? Would more people around the world know who Harry Kewell is, or who Nathan Buckley is?

But if you ask which is most popluar by club (in Australia by Australians)membership, its Aust rules by a mile.

How many Australians around the world watched us in the world cup, versus the footy grand final?

If you quote crowd attendances, I reckon you should have to include those watching Australians playing soccer o/seas. If you think that's ridiculous, then maybe a comparison isn't meaningful and there's no way to compare.

Its just annoying when people knock soccer and say Aust rules is the national code, when more people play soccer & footy hasn't yet dominated the NSW and QLD market, which is almost half the Aust population.

Not me writing this - and its even before the 06 world cup. Wanna see the survey in 2007?

From a dribble to a mighty roar: soccer rules
By Mark Coultan
June 14, 2004

Cricket? Wrong. AFL? No. Swimming? Maybe, except that most see it as recreation and fun, not sport.

It is in fact the world game - soccer. Research by the Bureau of Statistics and Roy Morgan confirms that it has clearly become the sport Australians prefer to play, overtaking cricket last year.

While children's participation in sport generally is declining, soccer continues to grow - and so rapidly that administrators cannot find enough grounds, referees or officials. It causes traffic jams on Sundays. Residents near soccer fields complain about the noise and traffic.

The round-ball game is booming despite little television coverage, no locally based heroes, and heavy promotion and subsidies for other football codes. While other codes give recruits free footballs, showbags and tickets, soccer levies every player to fund its struggling administration.

Even in the rugby union strongholds, the GPS schools, there are now as many soccer teams as rugby teams. And while it is growing nearly everywhere, the expansion is particularly strong in Sydney's inner-west and north - Manly-Warringah and Gladesville-Hornsby.

The biggest growth is in women's soccer. The North West Sydney Women's Soccer Association exploded by 61 per cent between 2002 and 2003. This was attributed to the film Bend it like Beckham - but the growth shows no sign of stopping. The under-eights have jumped from six teams last year to 14 this year. The second-biggest growth area is among the over-35s.

The Soccer NSW operations manager, Mike Quamby, who is expecting player numbers to increase by 8 per cent overall this year, says: "This growth is wonderful for the sport, but it's pushing us closer to a real crisis in ground availability."

The growth is coming at the expense

This year, 269,000 Australian boys aged five to 14 played in soccer competitions out of school, up from 209,000 nine years ago. By contrast, the number playing Australian rules grew only slightly to 189,000, and the three rugby codes — league, union and touch — had 182,000 between them.

For boys, soccer dominates the traditional rugby lands — NSW, Queensland and the ACT. They have more than half of Australia's population, but almost three-quarters of its junior soccer players.
Soccer is making serious inroads in traditional Australian rules territory. It has now overtaken Australian rules in Tasmania and the Northern Territory, and is moving up to challenge it in South Australia.

So where does soccer dominate football in Australia?

Participation - soccer
Peak body revenue- football
Club revenue- football
Spectators-football
Memberships-.football
Tv ratings-football
Media coverage – football

1/7 aint bad

But soccer is Australias national sport because mummy doesn’t want little Jonny getting hurt playing the other codes. (not having a dig at soccer, I like the game)

And another thing
You would be silly to argue that football is the number one sport in NSW and Qld that make up over 50% of Aus population but neither is soccer according to some sources (see below) in countries that would probably make up half of the worlds population. But no-one is not going to claim that soccer isn’t the world game, because where it doesn't dominate it has healthy support like football does in NSW and Qld

Popularsports.PNG

Victorians turn to soccer : Are they giving up on there AFL teams?