hbk_aus

Aug 16, 2006
Liverpool, Chicago Bulls
"Feisty character" the Channel 9 comedy team like to describe him as... personally he seems like a perfect tool.

Are we going to have to get used to this petulance now that India have all the power in world cricket? Or is it good to see a bit of "character" in players?

"Feisty character" the Channel 9 comedy team like to describe him as... personally he seems like a perfect tool.

Are we going to have to get used to this petulance now that India have all the power in world cricket? Or is it good to see a bit of "character" in players?

I think many of them are petulant bad sports who have displayed little interest in even being here this summer.

For roughly the past 5 years, everything Australia have done has been blown out of proportion by India, this year included (youtube "Pattinson Sehwag" to see the flogs that the Indian media are), and we've just bent over and let them have their way. Kohli whinging about the crowd to the media? Please. It's not even racist to be pissed off with that. It's the snitch at school you want to punch. Ever since Harbijan and Symonds, Australian cricket went backwards. I am loving serving their arses back to them this year, and hope we continue to rise above despite however many media deflections they try to create to hide how bad they've been.

They're being destroyed this summer and honestly, if they're not interested, they should **** off and have their own little 20/20 competition and leave real cricket to everyone else. They're bad sports. I am loving the fact it's a tri series and Sri Lanka are here this year as well, because I have a LOT more time for them.

Good batsmen but jeez some of the stuff he does outside of his batting makes you want to hate him.

Love him. Why does arrogance need to be a uniquely Australian quality? He gives it right back to us and backs it up with runs - can't ask for more than that.
I've rated him for a long time and I'm glad he's taken his opportunity this tour. Can see him averaging 50+ in test match cricket for ten years and being a royal pain in the arse... Exactly what Indian and world cricket needs.

Love him. Why does arrogance need to be a uniquely Australian quality? He gives it right back to us and backs it up with runs - can't ask for more than that.
I've rated him for a long time and I'm glad he's taken his opportunity this tour. Can see him averaging 50+ in test match cricket for ten years and being a royal pain in the arse... Exactly what Indian and world cricket needs.

It's fine to be competitive, confident and even aggravating at times, but I don't see any need to justify whinging and petulant behaviour. I wouldn't respect that from any player regardless of nationality.

Don't mind that he shows a bit of fight, he actually seems to give a **** and take some pride in his performance, some of his teammates should take note. Needs to lighten up a bit though when he's fielding, the crowds here will respect you more if you take the banter in good fun (like it's intended).

It's a fine line to tread and at the moment he's just on the wrong side of it, his sook after he was given earlier tonight was pathetic.

Love to hate him in a way, I admire his aggression and he seems to care. Respect him more than anyone who just rolls over and takes it

Aggression?

He's just been acting like a schoolgirl, take his reaction tonight when a clear catch was given out and he looks like he's going to cry.

This isn't ganguly giving it back to the aussies, this is a whingy little brat acting like a whingy little brat.

Let's see...

• Abused the Australian fielders when he reached his first test century even though his team was being trounced at the time.
  • Shows the ball to the crowd after basically every catch he takes. Needs to realise the abuse isn't actually personal and that everyone cops it.
  • Cried about being sledged by Hilfenhaus in a press conference during the test series.
  • Almost refused to walk off tonight after being given out correctly by the 3rd umpire.
Tosser with a capital T.

Lol most are being a bit rich when they've had ponting, mcgrath and lee be tossers. Willing to give but not take.
At least Kohli seems to give a shit.
Kohli misfields he's angry with himself.
Tendulkar misfields he has a laugh.

Needs to lighten up a bit though when he's fielding, the crowds here will respect you more if you take the banter in good fun (like it's intended).

Yep, and to his credit, Sharma did that this year. When he had scored his 'century' in the Sydney (I think) test, the crowd gave him a bronx cheer and he raised his hat and acknowledged it.

That was good stuff.

Kohli is a little w***er, and I would do nothing but crack a smile if he got his front teeth knocked out by a beamer (maybe a Warne style bouncer when not wearing his helmet).

But you do have to have at least a little respect for the way he actually shows some backbone when batting and puts some effort into fielding.

Definitely going to be a 'love to hate' character.

Won me 100 bucks @ 4.50 for top run scorer a few ODIs back (Against Sri Lanka) when he got 70 something.

For this, I will love him forever.

That said, I'm pretty sure the Indian supporters aren't liking his attitude much either.

What is the alternative? Have yet another mechanical robot like creature on the field who is clinical? I'll much rather take some personality thank you very much.

This Tendulkar - Dravid calm 80s vintage of Indian cricket is seemingly drawing to a close.

What is the alternative? Have yet another mechanical robot like creature on the field who is clinical? I'll much rather take some personality thank you very much.

This Tendulkar - Dravid calm 80s vintage of Indian cricket is seemingly drawing to a close.

Yep, and to his credit, Sharma did that this year. When he had scored his 'century' in the Sydney (I think) test, the crowd gave him a bronx cheer and he raised his hat and acknowledged it.

That was good stuff.

6 Taken in the right spirits.

He should take a leaf out of Tendulkar's book who just focuses on playing good cricket and doesn't carry on like a spoilt prima donna.

The Tendulkar who carried on like a pork chop when given out LBW, both on the ground, all the way back to the dressing room and then some more inside the dressing room? Do you mean that Tendulkar?

I played against a lot of blokes like this Indian side. They're never out. They'd all be wondering why there wasn't a no ball called when their middle peg was lying on the deck 3 metres behind them.

I am also loving handing their botbot back to them.

Yeah agree he seems like an arrogant prick, but hey, cricket's full of those types of blokes.

I respect him for being the only Indian to show any spine throughout the entire test series, the others (especially Dhoni and Laxman) just didn't seem interested at all. Dhoni especially is a shame - he's an amazing ODI batsman but in Tests he is just a wasted talent, happy to coast along and find excuses for his team, and himself, playing like rubbish when away from home.

So if Kohli acts like a petulant child, he learnt it from Dhoni.

There's a difference between being an uncompromising combative cricketer and being a complete dick.

Guys like Graeme Smith, KP, Sangakarra, McGrath, etc play it tough and in-your-face, but never made a habit of sooking and sulking, giving the crowd middle fingers, whinging in press conferences, etc. Yes they all had their 'moments' on field but didn't normally carry on like pork chops.

Kohli's been here two months and already involved in 4-5 stupid childish incidents.

This is similar in many ways to the Dhoni suspended again thread, even though completely different. The demigod status of the players in India combined with the $ being thrown at them by the artificial IPL rules makes them think we owe them adulation. This bloke is a very handy cricketer but needs to realise that is all he is. We respect good cricketers and will give them a bit from the grandstand but the good cricketers are above responding in a whinging way.

Kohli not there yet and will cop it every time he comes to Australia because of it.

Also I reckon the Saffers and Barmy Army might give him a bit too

Virat Kohli