WA 2009 U18 Championship Squad

McKinlay is a top-aged colts player that was eligible last year for both the national and rookie draft (DOB: 1/9/90) and I think was in the top 5 goal kickers in colts last year?. He was also invited for SS so there must've been some interest.

Booming right foot kick and good grab, but at 188cm and not athletic, you'd question where he'd fit in at AFL (i.e. not tall enough for KPP, not athletic enough for a flanker role).

Will probably need to play some good footy at league level to be considered this year.

McKinlay is a top-aged colts player that was eligible last year for both the national and rookie draft (DOB: 1/9/90) and I think was in the top 5 goal kickers in colts last year?. He was also invited for SS so there must've been some interest.

Booming right foot kick and good grab, but at 188cm and not athletic, you'd question where he'd fit in at AFL (i.e. not tall enough for KPP, not athletic enough for a flanker role).

Will probably need to play some good footy at league level to be considered this year.

Cheers JGB99

Hey you where the first to notice X Foley last year what do you think of him ?

Fyfe had 23 against NT and kicked 3 goals......to me that is quite abit as a permanent foward!

Luff is very tall and has great athleticism and I would be very surprised if he is not picked up.

I believe Rhett Mason will go as a rookie......he is a player that just seeems to stand out with his freakish skills....not un alike Fyfe in many ways. Very good one on one

I wasn't working with stats, and those stats are pretty hard to argue with. My perception of his game was that he could be doing more. Saw some things and said 'that's great' and then I felt as though he'd keep me waiting for the next thing.

Not sure about Luff, I'm still making up my mind. I get the feeling he looks more athletic than he is.

Great day at Etihad today had a ball watching the games, and meeting some interesting people.

Am very tired now so wont type too much maybe tommorrow.

WA where excellent today a couple of our boys took some injuries into this game and where some of our better players.

So a special mention is deserved to Chris Luff and Jamie Cripps they where terrific under than less than ideal circumstances.

The younger guys in the team where very good Cripps, Wilson, Matera, Swallow and Darling.

Those last two recruiters are very pissed off not available this year.

Just hope Jack can grow another few cm's if he does will challenge Swallow for number 1 pick next year.

On Swallow was told today he is most complete footballer for a underager than they have seen in a long time, can play anywhere on the field.

Travis Colyer really impressed again I kept getting told today his size will make him slide in the draft, with his skill set it wouldn't matter to me.

Bradley Sheppard was quiter today and had his hands full playing on the exceptional Gary Rohan.(Rohan made recruiters sit up and notice him)

Lucas was good but probaly had his worst day for kicking for the carnival.

Morabito chimed in but wasn't as active in this game played completely outside this game.

Fyfe didn't tale his chances same with Collica.

Mitch Duncan was good and is a good decision maker.

Josh Donaldson was impressive as was suprise suprise big Damian Hayward.

We won the ruck comfortably which was our weakness.

Will expand on later.

Lucas and Colyer were the ones who impressed me the
most for WA today. both have great indurance and break
the game open with dash through the packs. Darling looks
like he will be a very good player also ,though he played for
and got a couple of frees that were a little suspect.

Just like to say congratulations to the boys who made the All Aus Team

Blayne Wilson (FB)
Brad Sheppard (BP)
Dave Swallow (HB)
Anthony Morabito (Wing)
Mitch Duncan (Wing)
Kane Lucas (HF)
Jack Darling (CHF)
Brandon Matera (FP)
Trav Colyer (Int)

Unlucky: Chris Luff, Mark Hutchings, Nicky Winmarr, Nat Fyfe

all could have been selected

Just like to say congratulations to the boys who made the All Aus Team

Blayne Wilson (FB)
Brad Sheppard (BP)
Dave Swallow (HB)
Anthony Morabito (Wing)
Mitch Duncan (Wing)
Kane Lucas (HF)
Jack Darling (CHF)
Brandon Matera (FP)
Trav Colyer (Int)

Unlucky: Chris Luff, Mark Hutchings, Nicky Winmarr, Nat Fyfe

all could have been selected

The new magnificent 7? If only West Coast could grab them all......

Cheers JGB99

Hey you where the first to notice X Foley last year what do you think of him ?

Sorry RE ... eyes must've skipped over your post.

I thought he was pretty unlucky not to make the academy as he had a few impressive games last year. Have only seen him once this year (haven't watched as much colts) and had a quiet one ...

How do you reckon he's going this year ?

Sorry RE ... eyes must've skipped over your post.

I thought he was pretty unlucky not to make the academy as he had a few impressive games last year. Have only seen him once this year (haven't watched as much colts) and had a quiet one ...

How do you reckon he's going this year ?

I watched him closely because you mentioned him last year.

His movement is good, and has good pace of the mark.

Claremont has a pretty good colts squad this year, and he's one of there leaders.

So I think he would be very good for Freo as a rookie, him and Mitch Brown from Peel, would be good pick ups for your club.

Also could see Josh Donaldson the ruckman from the WA under 18's going back into defence is a good reader of the play and a great mark.

He would be another for Freo to look at for a rookie.

Basically for Freo this draft all there rookies should be talls.

You should have at least 3 spots available with Deboer & Broughton being upgraded.

Those 3 would be very handy for you guys.

Donaldson reminded me of a cross between Dustbin Fletcher and Ryder...just the way he moved and read the play...I liked him

Yea he's good Lach72 seen him play down back and foward in colts better down back though.

He's 193cm's with a very long wingspan and a great leap.

Would be a great pick for you guy's as a rookie.

Yer Colyer is reported to be playing league this week.

Will likely be playing against WA team mates Chris Luff who will come into the league team at Peel for his 3rd game, Blayne Wilson who will make his debut and Anthony Morabito.

Dave Swallow also a good chance to join Brad Sheppard and Kane Lucas in the East Freo League team.

I would expect Mitch Duncan and Mark Hutchings to play league at East Perth.

Yea he's good Lach72 seen him play down back and foward in colts better down back though.

He's 193cm's with a very long wingspan and a great leap.

Would be a great pick for you guy's as a rookie.

If we get a PP and can trade someone like Mundy for a second rounder, we would have a good hand to take a Lucas/Morabito/Trengove and then go nuts on talls.

Panos/Donaldson/Day/Luff/Fitzpatrick.

Liked Wilson as a HB too. Winmar off a wing. Once he gets a tank on him, he could be anything

That Jack Darling would want to stop playing for free kicks, he did it on a few occasions in the game against Vic Country and conned the umpire by throwing his head back dramatically. The big sook even seen having a few whinges to the umpire when a free kick didnt go his way, there's a touch of "darling" about it. Could be Matthew Lloyd #2 if he keeps it up, next he'll have to perfect the art of diving!!

Some stats from the weekend:

LEAGUE

Duncan - 11k, 2h, 4m, 4t
Hutchings - 4k, 6h, 5t
Lucas - 10k, 8h, 6m, 5i50, 1g
Sheppard - 9k, 9h, 4t
Swallow - 12k, 4h, 8t, 1g
Luff - 5k, 9h, 6m
Wilson - 9k, 6h, 7m
Morabito - 6k, 5b, 3g
Colyer - 5k, 4h, 1g

COLTS

Elari - 13k, 19h, 6t, 1g
Houghton - 9k, 7h, 1g
Darling - 22k, 12h, 10m, 2g, 3b
Beswick - 10k, 9h
Winmar - 11k, 7h, 7i50

of course morabito and lucas are the ones getting talked up this year, and darling and swallow will be headed to the gold coast more then likely.

but one player i rate is duncan, think he might have gone under the radar a bit, numbers arent great but love the way he goes about it.

LEAGUE

Duncan - 11k, 2h, 4m, 4t
Hutchings - 4k, 6h, 5t
Sheppard - 9k, 9h, 4t
Luff - 5k, 9h, 6m
Wilson - 9k, 6h, 7m
Morabito - 6k, 5b, 3g
Colyer - 5k, 4h, 1g

COLTS

Elari - 13k, 19h, 6t, 1g
Houghton - 9k, 7h, 1g
Beswick - 10k, 9h
Winmar - 11k, 7h, 7i50

Everyone seems to forget about Nat Fyfe he definitely goes under the radar.
His stats from the weekends games.
18k, 10h, 9m, 7i50, 2g, 3b

of course morabito and lucas are the ones getting talked up this year, and darling and swallow will be headed to the gold coast more then likely.

but one player i rate is duncan, think he might have gone under the radar a bit, numbers arent great but love the way he goes about it.

Plays inside, gets in the dirty stuff but is classy. Ultimatly hes not adjusted to senior football yet as he has not got the tolls to do so, if he falls to our second pick i would be laughing, but i agree hes a strong prospect.

Morabito and or Lucas then Colyer and Jetta are my prefered picks. Lucas has shown by the number of inside 50's hes gets that hes the type of running mid we need, two of his inside 50's where goal assists, one was a goal contributer.

Would not mind Morabito at all though, can turn games on there head.

LEAGUE

Duncan - 11k, 2h, 4m, 4t
Hutchings - 4k, 6h, 5t
Sheppard - 9k, 9h, 4t
Luff - 5k, 9h, 6m
Wilson - 9k, 6h, 7m
Morabito - 6k, 5b, 3g
Colyer - 5k, 4h, 1g

COLTS

Elari - 13k, 19h, 6t, 1g
Houghton - 9k, 7h, 1g
Beswick - 10k, 9h
Winmar - 11k, 7h, 7i50

was at the east freo v perth game, Lucas only played 3 quarters aswell. was best on ground at half time by a fair way in my option

Duncan doesn't get talked about much on here but trust me he isn't under the radar in WA. In fact he has even got a fair bit of press, articles in newspapers etc

fyfey was fantastic last night, went along for a watch and he was superb with 6 or 7 goals and heaps of marks! Xavier Foley performance down forward was also very good with 5 goals...well done to claremont

WA 2009 U18 Championship Squad