Review WAFL Watch 2011

Chance to see a few of our young guys in the WAFL right now, Claremont vs East Freo on ABC tv. Swift, Stevenson, Weedon and Broome for the Tigers and Stevens, Brennan and Dalziell for the Sharks. Sheppard is being held over and Houlihan is injured.

Swift D 7, K 5, H 2, M 2, T1
Mixed bag, poor kicking, great hands, excellent run.

Stevenson D 7, K 5, H 2, M 5, I50 1
Our best.

Broome, D 1, H 1, K 0
No Ball.

Weedon, D 2, K 1, H 1, I50 1
No ball.

STEVENS, D 3, 3 K, H 0, I50 2, T 1, G 0.1
Excellent when he has the ball. Not sure where he's playing

DALZIELL, D 5, K 3 H 2, M 1, I50 2
Solid Disposal.

Brennan D 0, K 0, H 0, T 3.
Well beaten.

Stevenson the only one who looks like an AFL footballer today. By far the most damaging. Surprised at Swift's stats...

3 times now Swift has gotten the ball and kicked it towards the corridor, to an easy option, rather than taking the game on and kicking up the line or something.

I reckon he's well down on confidence.

Stevenson looks okay when he rebounds from defence. :thumbsu:

Kobe Stevens looks alright but doesn't get that much of it.

Doesn't get all that much game time on ball from the looks of it. Still had 13 touches, looks excellent when he's played on ball. Has great intensity at the contest.

Stevens needs to play in the guts. Same with Swift who is purely an inside player who weaves his way through out the other side. He should not be playing on a wing, is he?

havent see that much of the claremont v east freo game but if he was still on our list beau wilkes would be one of our better performed players :)

You get the feeling Swift needs to just play on instinct sometimes. Looked very crisp in close when the game was on the line in the second half.

Code:
Player          D  K  H  M  T HO I50 G B 
STEVENSON, L    23 19 4  10 3 0  5   0 0 
SWIFT, T        26 15 11 6  1 0  0   0 0 
BROOME, L       5  2  3  0  3 0  1   0 0 
WEEDON, G       9  6  3  3  0 0  3   1 1
DALZIELL, B     23 13 10 6  5 0  2   1 0 
STEVENS, K      19 11 8  5  6 1  4   0 1 
BRENNAN, J      13 9  4  6  5 0  0   0 0
STRIJK, A       12 11 1  5  0 0  6   1 1
JONES, J        13 5  8  3  1 0  2   0 0 
LYCETT, S       6  5  1  4  6 15 3   0 1 
WILSON, B       12 9  3  4  0 0  0   0 1

Not all that impressive. I thought Stevenson was our best in the Claremont/Easts game.

Glad I didn't venture down to Bassendean as well:(

Swift, Stevens and Dalziell weren't very damaging. Especially Swift. He gets it but there was nothing explosive about it. Didn't really stand out.

Stevenson looked the best eagle out there. Kicks were very damaging. :thumbsu:

Nope, under notice is not an encouragement award. In ressies, if you look at the stats, 16 - 20 disposals is the upper amount. Under notice, in this case, would mean that they are putting pressure on for a league berth.

Hey Swannies, I saw that Harry Borch played Colts today (and did extremely well) which is awesome news. I wonder if his extended absence prior to this may have been injury related?

Either way he got 17 touches and 5 goals it appears. :thumbsu:

Doesn't get all that much game time on ball from the looks of it. Still had 13 touches, looks excellent when he's played on ball. Has great intensity at the contest.
Looks heaps better on ball.

This.

He's fantastic around the contest.
It was frustrating to see him spend so much time away from the ball, he set up on the wing a ton of times. Needs to spend extended time in the guts.

Also, Stevenson was very good. Can really open a play up with his ball use.

This.

He's fantastic around the contest.
It was frustrating to see him spend so much time away from the ball, he set up on the wing a ton of times. Needs to spend extended time in the guts.

Also, Stevenson was very good. Can really open a play up with his ball use.

Was at the game Stevenson was very good again, damaging player.

Brennan watched him closely got beaten on the day, but shows some real AFL quality.

Is very hard at it, is generally good one on one, and has great pace when he takes the game on.

Bennan is one I thought at start of the year, would take a season or two to develop.

But he is coming on better than I thought, at this stage looks extremely good value for where we drafted him at.

I think we have a player on our hands with him.:thumbsu:

According to the WAFL website McGovern didnt play this week despite having a decent showing with the ressies and he also missed a couple of weeks after round 2 after starting the season well
Does anyone know of any injuries or a tailored training plan or something?

IMO Swift's inside work was brilliant at times today - although I didn't watch the first quarter and a bit.

In space he tends to either overcook his disposal or just takes too long. It's weird that his inside work is very rapid and accurate, yet it's almost the opposite when he has some time.

Not sure he'll be the Judd-like player he was touted to be pre-draft, but I think after another pre-season or two he will be solid.

Gets a bad rap I think because he's a bit maligned.

IMO Swift's inside work was brilliant at times today - although I didn't watch the first quarter and a bit.

In space he tends to either overcook his disposal or just takes too long. It's weird that his inside work is very rapid and accurate, yet it's almost the opposite when he has some time.

Not sure he'll be the Judd-like player he was touted to be pre-draft, but I think after another pre-season or two he will be solid.

Sounds like an ideal Ploddus Replacement, just better in every aspect. Hopefully the new Sydney team offer us a packet of chips for Ploddus.

Hams is having a good rest played one game in four weeks ;)

This week SF bye

Last week , emergency verses Essendum

Two weeks ago played for SF against Subi after being Thursday night emergency

Three weeks ago , I cant remember - think he was in Tassie but may have played for SF .

Still 2 games in a month is a good rest on full pay I hope .

Hardly seen Hams play recently :eek:

if he was touted as judd like, he would have been no.1 draft pick. its just people on BF. not to mention bringing back one or two good games in 09 when we absolutely smashed the opposition. and now when he doesnt play judd like, his game is simply assessed as shit.

he still looks too skinny though.