Wallace to retire after this week's game ?

Terry Wallace should retire after this weeks game, how much more stress can he put himself under. Terry deserves a life, not misery.
Terry has done a wonderful job since he has been at the club. He has done what he could. Now its time for Terry Wallace to retire and be with his family.
Good luck for the future Terry. A well deserved holiday.

Thanks for your input Terry....

Sad for his family? Yeah. Sad for Terry? Definitely not. He has left our list in the shitter and it will take years for the new coach to get it back on the right track. For the amount of players we have to work with I would say if he has had 2-3 years from where Frawley left us he would of done average/okay but 5 years? Absolute garbage job. That's also forgetting all the embarassing mistakes along the way that would take a whole novel to write up.

Think he meant disapointing for us .

At least thats what i hope he meant.

Terry Wallace should retire after this weeks game, how much more stress can he put himself under. Terry deserves a life, not misery.
Terry has done a wonderful job since he has been at the club. He has done what he could. Now its time for Terry Wallace to retire and be with his family.
What a great job he has done, in his fifth year we don't even look like being close to competitive side with the top teams, we are 1-8 and going to be having holidays in September again.
You must have a different understanding to what a "wonderful job" is to the rest of us.

Almost our best 22 now. Welcome back thursty

Next week I'd like to see Rance, Graham and Thomson come in at the expense of Simmonds, Bowden and Moore(rest) and then we are looking the goods. Cogs was a bit unlucky to be dropped after 1 quiet game, but he'll be back and Hughes has to given a long run soon and I don't give a flying banana what Truetiger thinks :cool:. But Thomson and Pettifer can do a decent job in the mean time. I'd just like to mention that the team has played for Terry all year and to think that we didn't against Port, Sydney and North then you need to see a Doctor :rolleyes:. Last week we had a quiet 2nd half against the 3rd best performed team in the league over the last month and the fact we had Simmonds(crap), Raines(crap), Connors(wimp) and an underdone Cotchin in the side, plus a lack of confidence after some close losses is good reason for the Bombers runaway win. If Rance, Graham and Thomson come in next week, that will be

8 changes for the better(improvements) on Round 1
7 on Rounds 2, 3
6 on Round 4
4 on Rounds 5, 6 and 8
5 on Round 7, 9

The bold were best performances of the year. Funny that and only 4 players missing. :cool: Narrow losses to Geelong, Melbourne, Port, Sydney and even the 4 goal loss to Brisbane could have been very different results. If Thursty played every game and Morton didn't miss the Lions game as they were never injured and even just 1 of Cotchin, Richo, Coughlan, Brown, Pettifer, Cousins, Graham, Pattison, Rance were available we would have had 4 wins now. I say it's a good stance from Terry improving the discipline of players though. My point is we are still the list that most in here thought would make the 8 at the start of the year, but missing many players in the first month ruined our chances and now we are down on confidence after some narrow losses. Don't lose faith in our list after this years cleanout and draft. You don't lose talent, you just lose confidence and players through injury/discipline :thumbsu:

B: Chris Newman, Will Thursfield, Dean Polo
HB: Richard Tambling, Luke McGuane, Alex Rance
C: Andrew Collins, Shane Tuck, Brett Deledio
HF: Kayne Pettifer, Jack Riewoldt, Nathan Brown
F: Trent Cotchin, Mitch Morton, Robin Nahas
Foll: Angus Graham, Daniel Jackson, Nathan Foley
Int: Adam Pattison, Ben Cousins, Matthew White, Adam Thomson

Re: Almost our best 22 now. Welcome back thursty

Sorry MT but you don't just rest a bloke for no reason. You drop him if he deserves to be dropped or rest him if he is injured or you are managing/preventing injury.

It doesn't matter what side we have on the park. We have been a rabble this year. Playing good footy for quarters/halves and then falling in a heap. There's something just NQR down at punt rd atm and i get the feeling that it won't really matter who we have on the park until we get whatever it is soughted and start working as a team/club.

Sorry MT but you don't just rest a bloke for no reason. You drop him if he deserves to be dropped or rest him if he is injured or you are managing/preventing injury.

It doesn't matter what side we have on the park. We have been a rabble this year. Playing good footy for quarters/halves and then falling in a heap. There's something just NQR down at punt rd atm and i get the feeling that it won't really matter who we have on the park until we get whatever it is soughted and start working as a team/club.

Thursty was in my eyes our #1 defender and you don't lose that over a preseason. He missed practice matches and wasn't given much opportunity in Round 1. There was a word that he had a poor preseason and is being discipline for it. Thursty rarely gets more than 2 or 3 goals kicked against him. He would have made a difference against Port and Brisbane for sure and in all games imo

you gotta be kidding me that you believe pettifer is in our best 22. :confused:

He has no future at this club as far as I am concerned. He's a hack, not quick, can't tackle, can't chase and he makes terrible decisions with the ball.

Hey guys.
Thursfield is a gun and there must be something going on at punt rd for him to not have played every game.
You guys had a fantastic 2nd half to last year and i and you guys only just lost my bet for richmond to make the eight, Thursfield was a very big part of that.

I was at the Port game last fortnight and me and the old man agree that the richmond players changed the game play without Terry's wishes and went from sucking in the first quater to almost winning the game. Terrys job was to implement something to stop Tredrea and he didnt, but the players did all that they could to win and thats a good sign for the post Terry era, Cheers Steve

petts has shown something recently, he knows he is playing for his career, i mean fair enough in the past he was a bit lazy but he has worked hard to get back from a knee reco, and to make the 22 isnt an easy task for someone considered to be on the way out. but he has shown he can play footy and has given us another avenue to goal. so dont just sledge on the guy because other people do.

Are you related to one of the players who tested positive for drugs?:confused:

He has no future at this club as far as I am concerned. He's a hack, not quick, can't tackle, can't chase and he makes terrible decisions with the ball.

So when he kicked 30+ three years in a row, he brought NOTHING to the table? Some were falling over themselves about Morton's 2008 but he would have to do that at least twice more to match Pettifer's best.

He should definately be on the list next year at least as back up. He's a better player than Raines anyway :cool:

Hey guys.
Thursfield is a gun and there must be something going on at punt rd for him to not have played every game.
You guys had a fantastic 2nd half to last year and i and you guys only just lost my bet for richmond to make the eight, Thursfield was a very big part of that.

I was at the Port game last fortnight and me and the old man agree that the richmond players changed the game play without Terry's wishes and went from sucking in the first quater to almost winning the game. Terrys job was to implement something to stop Tredrea and he didnt, but the players did all that they could to win and thats a good sign for the post Terry era, Cheers Steve

If Thursty played we would have won that game. Thursty doesn't get 7 goals kicked on him.

Might want to give the Hughes pump up a bit of a rest MT, he was named as starting CHF for the Coburg 2's tonight. Going backwards at a rate of knots.

If Thursty played we would have won that game. Thursty doesn't get 7 goals kicked on him.

Ha ha true, hopefully someone sees that this week when he plays. NFI how he doesnt get a game.....

Ill be going to the Richmond V West Coast game in two weeks which should be a great game as we're going as bad as you guys lately and will be both fighting for a win.

Were in the same boat and it can only get better from here:cool:

Might want to give the Hughes pump up a bit of a rest MT, he was named as starting CHF for the Coburg 2's tonight. Going backwards at a rate of knots.

Thank you. Seriously Madtiger if you bring Cleve hughes in from doing nothing week by week at Coburg. Then its telling the other players its ok to get a senior game at Richmond after doing nothing for weeks at a lower level. Face the truth and wake up to the Fact Cleve hughes is not a good player never has been and never will be. Thats the truth accept it . Also if you think he is a good player then i guess your a bigger joke then Cleve himself. As i have said once before if he is as good as you say then he should be kicking ass at coburg. That he is just not doing. :D Cya mate haha!

the list isnt so bad. we just need to fix our forward line and a few more midfield options to develop. a bit of belief and confidence into our senior group - cut some deadwood from the list in a final cleanout (including at least 4 of the over 30s) and give the kids a decent run for the rest of this year to see who can cut it and who cant. might not make the 8 next year but should be good the year after when our senior core are reaching 24-25 and around 100 games.
Agree with most of this Darth, although I reckon we are still in a position to have a fair crack at the 8 next year. From a list point of view I reckon there are 4 key areas that need addressing, and some of those can be dealt with from within.

Rucks
Have some promising young rucks and just need to perservere with them. It will be a couple of years before Graham and co are real competitors at this level, but hopefully they will be able to do enough in the meantime to provide a contest.

Backline
Mostly looking ok but we desparately need a quarterback type. Every team has someone who directs traffic and attacks from half-back. Hodge, Gilbee, Shaw etc. The role we recruited McMahon for, but his decision making has let him down a bit. Bowden has played the role often enough and showed in a couple of games this year he can attack hard, but mostly he is used to a game where his first instinct is to look back or sideways. Maybe McMahon can still make it his own, but for mine Tambling is the man that should be played in this position. I think its the postion that suits him best. He has improved slowly each year but I think he could blossom in that role.

Midfield
Desparately need at least one and probably two more quality midfielders. We need to have at least 3 very good rotations plus a few more capable of going through there. Probably the area we fall down most now is when our A team is rotated out for a rest. I reckon we need rotations such as:
Deledio - Cotchin-Tuck
? - Foley - Jackson
[Cousins?]-Coughlan/Thompson-White/Edwards

Cousins in brackets because his body and age might not see him around for long and midfield is asking a lot of him. But clearly the midfield is an area where we lack some real class. Hopefully Deledio and Cotchin can step in a provide some of it and I reckon 2 more would be good to fill the question marks. Not having a crack at Foley, Jackson or Tuck because they are very good in there, but they lack that bit of real polish.

Forwards
No secret that we need a couple of key forwards. JR will be one of them. He will be a very good key forward when his body is fully developed and he has a bit more experience. We also need another one, but there are a lot of clubs looking for them. Disappointing that Huges has dropped off the radar this year. Don't know much about the young blokes like Post and Putt etc. Hopefully the answer is already at the club with one of these. The most dissapointing aspect of coaching/team selection this year is that we haven't tried anyone at full forward in 9 games (Schulz doesn't count because he hasn't looked like a forward at any stage of his career - except THAT game:rolleyes:). Maybe these young blokes just really aren't ready to step out in AFL yet?

Of the over 30s, I'd keep two of them - Cousins and Brown (form and injuries over the rest of the year permitting). I know Brown is not a popular pick around here, but we have 3 blokes who you think something is going to happen when they have the ball in their hand - these 2 and Deledio. Cotchin maybe a fourth.

As for the coach, we knew Spud left us with a 10 year rebuild to complete the job. We had no-one in that key 20-25 year old group when he left which basically takes 10 years to recover from completely. Although we should be showing a lot more than our results this year and we should have been looking at finals this year - this year was a backward step we didn't want or need and Plough has made some big blunders along the way. (When I say 10 years, we need to be making the finals now in order to have a real crack in about 3-4 years from now).

In some respects I think the gutsiest decision the club could make now is to tell the players to pull their heads in and play footy, to tell the media to get ****ed, and to sign Plough on for another 12 months and leave the list building completely to Cameron and the recruiters. That is the sort of decision the club hasn't had the balls to make for 25 years. (admittadly Plough's record hasn't left them a lot of room for manouvre, and my own mood changes from wanting his head on a plate every Monday to a bit more forgiving by the end of the week:eek:)

[sorry about the long and mostly off-topic post.]

Backline
Mostly looking ok but we desparately need a quarterback type. Every team has someone who directs traffic and attacks from half-back. Hodge, Gilbee, Shaw etc. The role we recruited McMahon for, but his decision making has let him down a bit. Bowden has played the role often enough and showed in a couple of games this year he can attack hard, but mostly he is used to a game where his first instinct is to look back or sideways. Maybe McMahon can still make it his own, but for mine Tambling is the man that should be played in this position. I think its the postion that suits him best. He has improved slowly each year but I think he could blossom in that role.

Midfield
Desparately need at least one and probably two more quality midfielders. We need to have at least 3 very good rotations plus a few more capable of going through there. Probably the area we fall down most now is when our A team is rotated out for a rest. I reckon we need rotations such as:
Deledio - Cotchin-Tuck
? - Foley - Jackson
[Cousins?]-Coughlan/Thompson-White/Edwards

First point is spot on, we have been shithouse ever since we lost the surgical precision of Leon Cameron.

Second point is again spot on. Have been saying this forever, we mix it when our A team is in, but our B and or C and D teams get smashed, especially when fronting up to opposition A teams. And it aint anything to do with winning the midfield, when the B team etc is rotated in, all it has to do is hold the fort, i.e. keep it at a status quo, or bonus win the midfield battle. But alas, once our A team is not there, we get absolutely smashed, one way traffic type stuff. ;)

were a chance against freo but that team is piss weak.

freo by 10 goals.

wallace to retire.

caretaker to come in and play the kids and I dont mean duds like hughes, he will be first to go after traffic cones like simmonds.

go tiges.

In some respects I think the gutsiest decision the club could make now is to tell the players to pull their heads in and play footy, to tell the media to get ****ed, and to sign Plough on for another 12 months and leave the list building completely to Cameron and the recruiters. That is the sort of decision the club hasn't had the balls to make for 25 years. (admittadly Plough's record hasn't left them a lot of room for manouvre, and my own mood changes from wanting his head on a plate every Monday to a bit more forgiving by the end of the week:eek:)

[sorry about the long and mostly off-topic post.]
I felt exactly the same after round 4 ... but the unsuing decay has changed my view .

I have seen nothing in the last 5 weeks to say he should go on ... thats the honest truth of it all .

I think you ... like me ... have been still desperately clinging onto the hope that this can still work for us and Terry out but it wont .

Cast your sharp intellect over the whole 5 year tenure and make your judgement Crum .

Massive Fail on so many levels

Backline
Mostly looking ok but we desparately need a quarterback type. ..

but for mine Tambling is the man that should be played in this position. I think its the postion that suits him best. He has improved slowly each year but I think he could blossom in that role.

Great post...however, I will disagree here...although I still have some hope Bling will take another step up and become a 4 quarter effective and damaging player that has big impacts on games, I can't see him being a controlling leader in the backline.

But on the OP....after the game this week or definitely the game after the break. I'm sure all the boys are looking forward to a 'new' future and hopefully Tambling will get a coach that can get the best from him! It may not be the interim coach, but he may be saving his best too for when we are a top 4 side!!

Wallace to retire after this week's game ?