WCE: The New Old Collingwood / Carlton?

I love the hate we are receiving, even more so as we keep winning on the field :thumbsu:

Freo fans are the best though...near on impossible to take anything they say to heart - a fat coach with no testies, a plethora of star recruits and a 0-3 record...priceless :D

They hate us because they're jealous :)

Personally I love it, and I'd much rather be hated/ arrogant winners than sentimental favourates with a terminal losing culture such as St Kilda/ Footscray/ Melbourne/ Richmond :)

Has anyone else noticed recently that not many people like us?

I don't mean the sour "Chardonnay" jibes of 92/94... I mean vein-popping fit-cracking frustrated-insane hatred. It started with our purple friends and it's spreading all the time. As we make various "mistakes" off-field, occasionally punch testicles and generally be "evil" (love ya too, Walls) we're rapidly losing our Malthouse-esque "good but boring" corporate franchise image and really causing genuine consternation. I mean we're supposed to be a drug-ruined rabble... who cheat... and pay off umpires... and pay-off The West... and destroy the image of football... and swear.... and probably sacrifice babies too. But we keep winning and we refuse to fall apart on the field (touch wood).

Of course all this could fizzle out but what do WCE fans think of us actually embracing the "we're the new team you love to hate" attitude rather than just rolling our eyes and waiting for it to calm down so we are safe again? Should we start to more openly act like Collingwood and Carlton and just expect people to mistrust and hate us and want us to lose at all costs? And should we decide to love that instead of act confused. I'm sure you've all noticed the very pointed "Sydney is the best *team* in the country" line sprouted during the TV broadcasts in various games. Today during the Swan v Lions game it hit me... they're saying it all the time because they *want* it to be true.

Despite my disappointment with Ben (and genuine concern for his health) I'm starting to like this new situation because this club has never been so interesting to be a member of. I have friends and colleagues (mostly purple but others too) who need to bring up football with me ALL THE TIME and need to attack me for my team ALL THE TIME. To display the Eagles logo is now an act of defiance rather than just a bit of safe fun. And you should love it like I do. Because none of them want to lose to "the rabble" / "the perps" / "the cheats" etc... but deep down they know they will and deep down they know it just isn't all because of Judd. And this makes them mad. For some strange and mysterious reason the team actually works as a unit and even if they punch each other at training they'd die for each other on the field.

I know I'm being an arrogant WCE supporter because to say anything other than "my team is okay but evil" is being arrogant according to most. I no longer care. I no longer expect my team to be respected or understood or valued by anyone who isn't an Eagle supporter. So long as they're hated because they're feared by our opposition I am happy.

Carlton will be good this week if last year was anything to go by and I can't wait for the game. I'm going with a good mate who is a deep-fried Blue man. And I hope that my team tears them a new one and Fev goes home crying to Bingle :)

Respond as you wish...

I've got no problem with West Coast, I like their brand of footy and they deserve their success. Every club has their share of ****head supporters on here, maybe the general feeling of hate you're experiencing is down to how vocal yours are?

just to emphasise how wrong people can be

today i saw a car with a big sticker in the back window with the eagles emblem saying '2006 premiers suck' - and laughably another considerably smaller sticker directly below that reads 'i <3 collingwood'

i mean come on, when the sticker for the team you hate is bigger than that of the one you '<3 ' then you've got issues mang :eek:

and just the other day i saw a completely serious comment (probably in bay13) from on opposition supporter that said 'if it wasn't for your brilliant on-field performances - you'd be a joke!' ...okaaaay... thanks for that... :thumbsu:

and you wonder why we're smug? keep on hating, schmucks!

Being hated by other clubs supporters and section of the media just makes it even better when we keep on winning. And with our team, the more controversy around the club, the more our team seems to bond and play well.

Couldnt care less if we are despised. Just builds resilience. :)

No wonder people don't like WCE, when their players say things like they had sex with a players 6 year daughter and that she's a ****...

I hope Selwood gets deregistered as a player for this, and Headlands suspension overturned for hitting Selwood, as Selwood should be shot for a comment like this.

What a disgrace to his family, friends, his club, his team-mates and the AFL in general.

No wonder people don't like WCE, when their players say things like they had sex with a players 6 year daughter and that she's a ****...

I hope Selwood gets deregistered as a player for this, and Headlands suspension overturned for hitting Selwood, as Selwood should be shot for a comment like this.

What a disgrace to his family, friends, his club, his team-mates and the AFL in general.

Wrong board fool. Anyway, I think from the way Selwood reacted, he didn't say what Des thought he did. This is not the place to be putting in alleged comments.

On topic, I think that once (if it ever happens) we start being in the news less for all the wrong reasons, you will see us being respected more. I don't think that most people that seem against WC right now actually do hate us, they just hate the reasons we are in the news and maybe our on-field performances too. However, I think a lot of people have always hated us, it is not a recent phenomenon, a lot of it has to do with the fact we were the first interstate team to be competitive and to take the cup away. Never fear, at least most people respect West Coast for their footy, which funnily enough, is the reason I follow the club.

I dont hate west coast as a team... I hate the individuals of the game. Kerr & Cousins for example. I pity Cousins these days, rather than hate him. I genuinely feel bad for the bloke & hope he doesnt come back to WA so he can get away from whatever has made him this way.

Also hating Selwood at the moment for obvious reasons.

But as a Swans supporter in Perth, its hard not to feel hatred

WCE: The New Old Collingwood / Carlton?