Fixture We are in! Tasmania is getting a team. Get around us please!

Welcome to the AFL Tasmania! Now whats your team name?

• Tassie Dam Busters

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Tasmanian Thylacines

Votes: 3 14.3%
  • Tasmanian Devils (copyright Warner Bros)

Votes: 9 42.9%
  • Tassie Siblings

Votes: 7 33.3%
  • Tassie Boonies

Votes: 2 9.5%

Surprise surprise the captain of a club relying on Tassie Govt. handouts is already getting a little jumpy at the news he and his club are about to get the boot. Honestly what a flog, how about a bit of respect considering you've been wearing the states name on your jumper for the entirety of your unremarkable career.

FunjFGwaQAAfB1G
We can't imagine him living here either, we have never dealt with a stupid ugly Hawf here on a permanent basis stinking our beautiful state up!

When they announce that the bid is successful, sure.
Don't be on the wrong side of history. Put your best foot forward and get in the game.
The whole rubbish with the stadium is a joke though. It’s just the AFL’s way of saying you can’t do it.

We have two stadiums already. Would cost way less to upgrade those facilities and add some extensions to the stands than it would to build a ridiculous $750million stadium.

Not when this money could go into hospitals here. When a child dies because of hospital ramping with the ambulances because there are not enough beds, then I don’t know how the gov can sleep at night, throwing money into sport.

Also… WTF…. GwS and Gold Coast have crap stadiums, always empty. They didn’t have to spend $750million to joking. It’s pathetic double standards.
Oh FFS! I am so sick to death of hearing this argument. You could put every single dollar of the tax purse into health and it still wouldn't be enough. Try living in remote WA and see how you get along with your stupid precious hospital. Honestly, Tasmanians don't know how good they've got it. If Tas Labor are so desperate to hitch their wagon to that cause they'll be in the wilderness forever.

Oh FFS! I am so sick to death of hearing this argument. You could put every single dollar of the tax purse into health and it still wouldn't be enough. Try living in remote WA and see how you get along with your stupid precious hospital.
Huh?

Not when this money could go into hospitals here. When a child dies because of hospital ramping with the ambulances because there are not enough beds, then I don’t know how the gov can sleep at night, throwing money into sport

Yeah, no govt. should spend money on anything until children stop dying

I moved to Tassie from WA a few years ago. In WA I was a volunteer ambo for St Johns in the Midwest region and all our patients went to Meekatharra hospital essentially to be flown out to Perth because it really is a hospital in name only, even though it is the only one in a 400km radius. The health system in Tasmania is excellent by comparison, but some Tasmanians don't appear to know that because they've been spoiled ever since Harradine got the gravy train running express to Tassie.

The health system in Tasmania is excellent by comparison, but some Tasmanians don't appear to know that because they've been spoiled ever since Harradine got the gravy train running express to Tassie.
Yeah but they weren't comparing to WA.

They were talking about shortcomings in existence. I dunno. It seems a fair argument if there have been deaths due to lack of services.

Already heard a glimpse of their club song.

🎶Join in the chorus and sing it one and all
Join in the chorus cause Tassie's on the ball
Good old Tasmania their champions you'll agree
Cause Tassie is the team plays to win for you and me 🎶

Yeah but they weren't comparing to WA.

They were talking about shortcomings in existence. I dunno. It seems a fair argument if there have been deaths due to lack of services.
They weren't comparing to anywhere because they are so insular.

Have there really been deaths in Tasmania due to a lack of services that wouldn't have happened if there was more money pumped into the system? I'm not convinced.

I lost far too many patients in WA where that was actually the case to sympathise with people who think that not funding a stadium is the answer.

Anyway, that's for another thread. Back to the celebrations.

The whole hospital argument is a weird one really, like yes they could spend the money on hospitals instead, but would they? No, of course they wouldn't. The governments, both federal and local, didn't sit down and go "we have all this money, what can we do with it? It's either a stadium or hospitals, let's pick which." Feds would spend it all on more outdated submarines that are going to be next to useless and local government would have spent it on something equally useless like pollies' flights around the country and world or more box-ticking programs that don't actually help anyone they just sound good on paper.

A win for Tassie and a win for footy.

Noted. Eddie added to the not welcome in Tassie list. He wouldn't know the truth if it bit him on his fairly sizeable arse. He's just afraid that Collingwood players might have to travel a few kms further from their mummies.

Fair enough, you can't buy crack at a local servo in Tassie. If that's Sicily's problem I guess his concerns could be valid.

Fixture We are in! Tasmania is getting a team. Get around us please!