Hardly anyone in my gym do deadlifts, it would be less than 10% of lifters
I reckon everyone who is able should be doing deadlifts and some kind of squat, doesn't have to be hardcore but enough to keep you strong as you age.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Hardly anyone in my gym do deadlifts, it would be less than 10% of lifters
Tried OHPs after flat bench and incline dumbells yesterday. Damn sore shoulders today, concerned about recovery.
Thinking I'll have to either dial back one of the chest movements or change up the routine, doing both chest exercises pre-OHP doesn't seem to agree with me.
I train at home though so will have to buy one online, not looking at spending too much, found this one that has the cambers at the correct angle, rather than parallel with the handles;
https://fitnesschoice.com.au/index.php/titanium-usa-safety-squat-bar.html
Bit of a lengthy watch, but people's thoughts on this? Joe Rogan and Firas Zahabi (co-founder of Tristar Gym in Canada, and trainer of MMA legend George St Pierre), talking volume and consistency vs. intensity.
Is it better to go at 50% more consistently, and leave a bit in the tank for tomorrow, rather than balls-to-the-wall just to feel like you're training hard, but burn yourself out?
Seems obvious when you think about it, but it's easy to get caught up in the "I'm not doing enough/not going hard enough" mindset when you don't completely drain yourself, especially when doing things like legs.
So I was about to pull the trigger on this and thought I'd check with them first that cambers and handles are actually at different angles as per photo, lucky I check because they aren't and the photo's wrong, they run parallel to each other.
All these entry level $200 SSBs seem to be the same.
Anyone know if it makes much of a difference whether the cambers are pointed down or down and forward at about 40 degrees?
Bit of a lengthy watch, but people's thoughts on this? Joe Rogan and Firas Zahabi (co-founder of Tristar Gym in Canada, and trainer of MMA legend George St Pierre), talking volume and consistency vs. intensity.
Is it better to go at 50% more consistently, and leave a bit in the tank for tomorrow, rather than balls-to-the-wall just to feel like you're training hard, but burn yourself out?
Seems obvious when you think about it, but it's easy to get caught up in the "I'm not doing enough/not going hard enough" mindset when you don't completely drain yourself, especially when doing things like legs.
My take on this is his methods are more about training athletes for skill acquisition. there was a bit about becoming autonomous with what you are doing. I would agree the more repetition you put in the better you get at this skill. if you flog yourself you wont be able to retrain the skill again the next day.
Rogan brings up that 'Farmers strength" argument all the time. i dont buy it. get a power lifter the same weight as the farmer and i will bet my house the lifter can lift more than the farmer. lifting endurance may be another story though. all comes down to specificity of training. If you train for strength or muscle building i think the traditional methods still hold true. Training for skill acquisition, weather it be hand speed/co-ordination, new techniques or movement patterns, this low intensity-high volume may well have its place.
Aeglos , or anyone else... any experience using the 1 x 20 method? Been thinking about having a muck around it in my footy off season, but not sure it lends itself to working in conjunction with doing a fair bit of running (which I like to do in off season)
Tried OHPs after flat bench and incline dumbells yesterday. Damn sore shoulders today, concerned about recovery.
Thinking I'll have to either dial back one of the chest movements or change up the routine, doing both chest exercises pre-OHP doesn't seem to agree with me.
I do back on a different day - if anything, my back volume exceeds my pressing volume.a lot of pressing there. your ant delts will have copped a caning. really need to balance that out with equivalent upper back/posterior delt work, other wise you risk issues down the track, as well as having that rolled shoulder look
I reckon everyone who is able should be doing deadlifts and some kind of squat, doesn't have to be hardcore but enough to keep you strong as you age.
If the floor is that foamy stuff and the gym has CrossFit plates than it’s fine like it was at my gym, the standard plates don’t work well.Anyone elses gym not have a deadlift platform and refuse to get one? The rest of the gym is so damn good but they are really missing one or two of these.
Also considering booking a couple of sessions at Valhalla Powerlifting in Brisbane to try and improve on the bench, squat and deadlifts. Anyone done similar?
Nah standard plates and carpet. Just going to wreck the floor. I’ve seen a few videos on how to make one for under $100, considering doing it and donating it.If the floor is that foamy stuff and the gym has CrossFit plates than it’s fine like it was at my gym, the standard plates don’t work well.
Nah standard plates and carpet. Just going to wreck the floor. I’ve seen a few videos on how to make one for under $100, considering doing it and donating it.
who said anything about a dead lift platformThey have them around the place but they aren’t very thick. I like this gym, not going to change over a deadlift platform.