I'm close to just ditching almost all calf isolation training, just seems like a waste of time for minimal results for effort.
PLUS Your club board comp is now up!
What's your weekly volume for them?I'm close to just ditching almost all calf isolation training, just seems like a waste of time for minimal results for effort.
Weirdly, I find repeat running & sprints more effective for calf size, but strength training them in the gym prevents me from injuring them by running. I still do them 2 x week in the gym at the moment, more if I get the chance to go more.I'm close to just ditching almost all calf isolation training, just seems like a waste of time for minimal results for effort.
About 8 sets.What's your weekly volume for them?
There's room for you to go for more if you really want to grow them. Try 12 sets over 3 days.About 8 sets.
Super heavy calf work is really important for sprinting IMO. I load it up heavier than my squat.I'm close to just ditching almost all calf isolation training, just seems like a waste of time for minimal results for effort.
About 8 sets.
Weirdly, I find repeat running & sprints more effective for calf size, but strength training them in the gym prevents me from injuring them by running. I still do them 2 x week in the gym at the moment, more if I get the chance to go more.
Oh yeah. That famous story of him going home in his early BB days and cutting the lower legs off all of his pants so he'd have to show them all the time too.Same here.
And if you do the math on volume/intensity for running it blows a few sets of calf raises out of the gym.
Juiced or no, not surprising it took Arnie training them 6x week to get his to grow.
Oh yeah. That famous story of him going home in his early BB days and cutting the lower legs off all of his pants so he'd have to show them all the time too.
Good old days of no ROMThe story I always remember is Reg Park telling him to basically quadruple his working weight on calf raises.
Given they are largely down to genetics unless you're a body builder or something just feels like a poor reward for time and effort training them a lot.In the scheme of what they can handle that’s a drop in the ocean.
Oh yeah and I have a ridiculously big shoe size for someone my size that makes it look even worse.Indigenous Australian ancestry wouldn't help either haha, we just don't have that bit.
Did a dedicated arm day for the first time in yonks.I'm naughty these days not having set recorded sessions anymore but one thing I have done is sometimes whack bicep curls up at 3rd or even 2nd instead of last on a pull day. Yes its the classic bro exercise but I've got so much stronger in the biceps.
On a side note I reckon tricep isolations are the new bro favourite.
I'm trying to flog off a $150 flat bench for $50 at the moment if you're interestedAt home with my little one for a fair bit over the holidays so going to be a struggle to get to the gym most days. Thank god I picked up a cheap 32kg kettle bell a few weeks ago. Supersetting single arm deadlifts with push up sets certainly gets the blood pumping.
Possibly you've got some isometric gains from those calf raises carrying over to the squats, particularly if it's a similar amount of heavy load your back has to shoulder for both exerciseReally starting to subscribe to the 'strength is mostly neurological' philosophy.
My squats have absolutely rocketed since doing heavy calf raises (same weight if not heavier than my squat). Noticeably the start of my squat is heaps, heaps easier and I put that down to just getting used to the heavy load and the nervous system doesn't seize up.
Possibly you've got some isometric gains from those calf raises carrying over to the squats, particularly if it's a similar amount of heavy load your back has to shoulder for both exercise