Weight Training: For Beginners - Critique my program/Q & A

Re: Weight Training Program

squatting each session is a bit harsh and deads and squats in the same workout even harsher

you'll need some direct core training so search youtube for prone planks, side ab planks, pallof presses and bb roll outs

also if you can do chin ups or pull ups then do them in place of pulldowns

i'd add in some single leg stuff too to ease the spinal loading

lastly there's no rowing so you;re looking a shoulder imbalance sooner rather then later

all up i'd do this:

1 - squats, bench, rows, shoulder press, prone plank

2 - deads, pull ups/downs, rows (a different one), lunge, side ab plank

good job though

If you can't squat 3 times per week your a soft ****.

For petes sake. You guys play football? I'm 34 in a few days and I'd run rings around some of you guys. How out of condition are you all? I do a program similar to the one below, do two HARD plyometrics/ sprinting sessions a week and play a non-stop game of touch footy with mostly 16-17 guys often up to 2hrs every week.

And I recover no problem AND i'm eating mostly 1700-1800 cal each day.

Full body 3 times per week.
Squat EVERY session.

Squat first. Then do a heavy back exercise of your choice. Deadlifts / Rows / Power Clean / Clean High Pull / Power Snatch / Snatch High Pull / Shrugs / Good Morning / SLDL / chins

Then Something for your upper body LAST. Bench / Incline / Overhead Press / Push Press / Power Jerk/ Jerk / Dips.

ONE auxiliary exerise each session tricpes/ biceps/ delts/calves/ back - whatver you need to work on your weak area.

Work so hard your eyes cross on your work sets. And stop eating like friggin girls. Times your bodyweight in kg's by 40-45. That's your MINIMUM calories. 70kg x 40-45 = 2800-3150 cal. If not more every day. Add a few hundred more cal if you need it.

Here's a workable program for you 'athelets'.

Day 1

Squat 5x5 work up to max weight then 20-25kg less for back-off set 8-10 reps
Deadlift 5x5
Bench Press 5x5 with back off set like squat

Row (light) 2x20

Day 2

Squat 5x5 with weight roughly 20-25 less then day 1 squat weight
Good Morning or SLDL 4x10 work up to max
Overhead Press 5x5

triceps exercise 2x20

Day 3

Squat 2x5 3x3 work up to max being 2.5kg more then day 1 - try use this weight then for 5 reps on day 1 next time. also use back -off weight.
Power Shrug 5-6 x 5
Incline Press 5x5 with back off

Chinup 3 max sets

Try that you ****** pretty boys. Stop trying to avoid hard work!

Use this for 4-8 weeks then try some lower reps. Maybe 3-5 sets of 2-3 reps for the same weight then add weight next time when you make all 5 sets. Or change the reps every week. 5x5 - 6x3 - 4x8 or 5-6 x 1-2 reps.

If you really can't deadlift and squat same session, maybe try deadlifts out of the rack and work the top 2/3's of the lift. Or try rows or some power cleans < you are athelets right?

Or alternate deadlifts with rows or cleans every other week. Plenty of back exercies to choose. Variety will stop you getting bored.

How hard do you guys really want pure strength? Get off your ****** arse's and start training like atheletes instead of pretty boy bodybuilding pussies.

For ****'s sake.

You are a true champ FS. Absolute legend.

For petes sake. You guys play football? I'm 34 in a few days and I'd run rings around some of you guys. How out of condition are you all? I do a program similar to the one below, do two HARD plyometrics/ sprinting sessions a week and play a non-stop game of touch footy with mostly 16-17 guys often up to 2hrs every week.

Squat EVERY session.

Squat first. Then do a heavy back exercise of your choice. Deadlifts / Rows / Power Clean / Clean High Pull / Power Snatch / Snatch High Pull / Shrugs / Good Morning / SLDL / chins

Then Something for your upper body LAST. Bench / Incline / Overhead Press / Push Press / Power Jerk/ Jerk / Dips.

ONE auxiliary exerise each session tricpes/ biceps/ delts/calves/ back - whatver you need to work on your weak area.

Work so hard your eyes cross on your work sets. And stop eating like friggin girls. Times your bodyweight in kg's by 40-45. That's your MINIMUM calories. 70kg x 40-45 = 2800-3150 cal. If not more every day. Add a few hundred more cal if you need it.

Day 1

Deadlift 5x5

Row (light) 2x20

Day 2

Overhead Press 5x5

triceps exercise 2x20

Day 3

Squat 2x5 3x3 work up to max being 2.5kg more then day 1 - try use this weight then for 5 reps on day 1 next time. also use back -off weight.
Power Shrug 5-6 x 5

Chinup 3 max sets

Use this for 4-8 weeks then try some lower reps. Maybe 3-5 sets of 2-3 reps for the same weight then add weight next time when you make all 5 sets. Or change the reps every week. 5x5 - 6x3 - 4x8 or 5-6 x 1-2 reps.

If you really can't deadlift and squat same session, maybe try deadlifts out of the rack and work the top 2/3's of the lift. Or try rows or some power cleans < you are athelets right?

Or alternate deadlifts with rows or cleans every other week. Plenty of back exercies to choose. Variety will stop you getting bored.

How hard do you guys really want pure strength? Get off your ****** arse's and start training like atheletes instead of pretty boy bodybuilding pussies.

For ****'s sake.

That won't get me big guns though

Just big everywhere else.

The guys with the 'big guns' and muscled chest will get beat everytime on the football field by somebody who does 3-whole body routines with the routine hitting squats and a heavy back exercise for the first two exercises of the routine.

Apply the heavy light medium principle and you most certainly can squat 3 times per week. A max triple at the end of the week is easily 90% plus.

Choose whatever the hell rep scheme you want. Means nothing if you don't apply 100% when you go into the gym.

The guys that hit 100% in a gym I can count on one hand with most of my fingers missing. Pathetic. And they wonder why the're skinny.

Just big everywhere else.

The guys with the 'big guns' and muscled chest will get beat everytime on the football field by somebody who does 3-whole body routines with the routine hitting squats and a heavy back exercise for the first two exercises of the routine.

Apply the heavy light medium principle and you most certainly can squat 3 times per week. A max triple at the end of the week is easily 90% plus.

Choose whatever the hell rep scheme you want. Means nothing if you don't apply 100% when you go into the gym.

The guys that hit 100% in a gym I can count on one hand with most of my fingers missing. Pathetic. And they wonder why the're skinny.

how am i gonna fill out my ed hardy t-shirts?? imo big guns are what seperates the men from the boyz

Big guns? Or just full of water and blood from doing curls?

The brutal exercises that build the legs and back seperate the men from the boys.

As C.S Sloan says, don do it if you're afraid of hard work.

Like 99% of the 'pumper's' in gyms.............

Squat EVERY session.

Day 1

Deadlift 5x5

Row (light) 2x20

Day 2

Overhead Press 5x5

triceps exercise 2x20

Day 3

Power Shrug 5-6 x 5

Chinup 3 max sets

For ****'s sake.
You getting big eating 1800calories a day?

That's all well and good, although this thread is 'weight training', not 'footy pre-season/weights' so 'bodybuilding pussies' are more than welcome to post in here.

Also champ, didn't you say you're 70-80 kilos, or am I mistaken?

I'm pretty sure both my arms would weigh in at a total close to that :D

Also champ, didn't you say you're 70-80 kilos, or am I mistaken?

granted his post was ridiculous for the most part but why do you always go for that one?

i'm not sure if size is what makes a man...i'm only 70 - 80kgs so why does that put me behind you?

there's a lot of factors at play for one to get big

i'm 5'6, was 50kgs when i was 18 with a tiny joints so i'll never be a heavyweight but that doesn;t mean i donlt know how to build muscle...i'm mid 70kgs now which means i've put on 50% of my bodyweight

gotta stick up for us little guys

there's a lot of factors at play for one to get big

i'm 5'6, was 50kgs when i was 18 with a tiny joints so i'll never be a heavyweight but that doesn;t mean i donlt know how to build muscle...i'm mid 70kgs now which means i've put on 50% of my bodyweight

gotta stick up for us little guys
Like I said, it's all relative to particular aspects. The only reason I brought it up was because this guy felt he was superior to all due to his advanced strength and size. Evidently, he's not.

Nothing wrong with a 5'6 stocky guy. Franco Colombu was a bloody freak. If I looked like him, and was as strong as him, I'd be a very happy man.

Like I said, it's all relative to particular aspects. The only reason I brought it up was because this guy felt he was superior to all due to his advanced strength and size. Evidently, he's not.

Nothing wrong with a 5'6 stocky guy. Franco Colombu was a bloody freak. If I looked like him, and was as strong as him, I'd be a very happy man.

...and your hero, Lee Priest...bahahahahahahahaha

If you've read my other posts, after sickness and knee injury I was vastly out of shape. I've lost nearly 10kg while increasing my numbers - true very average now - and I've vastly increased my fitness and explosive speed.

All on a low cal diet. So it is possible.

Simple guys. Eat like a horse.

And Squat, Pull and Press 3 times per week and you'll be the envy of everybody in the gym.

If you've read my other posts, after sickness and knee injury I was vastly out of shape. I've lost nearly 10kg while increasing my numbers - true very average now - and I've vastly increased my fitness and explosive speed.

All on a low cal diet. So it is possible.

Simple guys. Eat like a horse.

And Squat, Pull and Press 3 times per week and you'll be the envy of everybody in the gym.

my guns are the envy of everyone in the gym

Sorry boys getting a bit confused after this last page of reading.

Firestorm i posted my routine i been doing about a page back. Should I be adding anything or taking away anything from it. I think I have stopped my growing height wise and I do eat a shitload as well.

Always been one of those guys through my teen years that eats heaps but just stays skinny. Now Ive started to take my weights seriously and am now seeing some results.

Looks ok. You've added bodyweight so it must be working for ya. It's simple and simple is good.

I'd do chins instead of lat pulls personally.

Do your dumbell presses AFTER you've done your overhead presses. Like at the end of the session. And do presses standing up with the bar to the front.

The more standing up exercises the better I reckon.

Looks ok. You've added bodyweight so it must be working for ya. It's simple and simple is good.

I'd do chins instead of lat pulls personally.

Do your dumbell presses AFTER you've done your overhead presses. Like at the end of the session. And do presses standing up with the bar to the front.

The more standing up exercises the better I reckon.

Good advice. Only problem with the chins is that not everyone is up to a full set of chins, gotta start with lat pulls anyway.

as long as you can do 1 chin up, pulldowns are mostly not needed

do 1 after each set of your other exercises...you won't get strong enough to do them if you don't actually do them

Start out lifting heavy and often. Don't concentrate too much on form. The bigger the weight, the better, and just get it moving - any direction, doesn't matter. Remember, the most important thing about weight training is that you advance through the weights very quickly, by any means necessary, and that people look at you while you do it.

It made me lol. hahaha

Weight Training: For Beginners - Critique my program/Q & A