Weird names in footy.

I can't believe there hasn't been a mention of Nick Fosdike at the end of the brownlow when he was the player to get three votes in the Swans vs Dees game and force a tie i reckon you couldn't have found a better player to do it. I reckon Sydney could be the only club he could play for as well it's just a great name.

Simon Crawshay from hawthorn always struck me as a weird name, Crawshay? Sounds like a Crayfish that did something wrong and had a fin chopped off. During the season the age made a team of 'interesting' names but of course i can't recall it from memory, more as they come!

Originally posted by riccardo
I seem to remember a Brisbane player called Dikfoss, I found that name very funny when I was a kid.

Dickfos is very amusing.

The first part of the name means penis in English, the second part of the name means penis in Hungarian.

That's up there with former Essendon player Willie Dick.

John Schnebiccler(bet i've spelt that wrong!)
Renato Dinitinosante
Paddy Maddafari(was he half irish half Italian or something?)

Benny Vigonas name allegedly was mispronounced Benny Vagina on radio once.

Originally posted by AOK
That would be true for all of these so called strange names.

What nationality is Yze?

his older brother is named Yzeir Yze.... (ooz-air ooz-ay) !
was a good player during highschool...

hmm... most of them have been mentioned..
how about 'Tristan Cartledge'

Originally posted by Zeke
I know a bloke called Jade. Funny eh?

I also went to school with a guy called Leslie, geez did he cop it!

Since your a Designer and all..this Jade bloke wouldnt be a pommy git? ;)

Originally posted by themoose
It was John Gastevich. He changed his name to Gastev.

If you want names go to the NFL. Peerless Price is one of my favourites.

The NFL has heaps of em. 2 of my favs:

Daunte Culpepper.
Priest Holmes

Digby Morrell sounds like a pr0n star, dermie made that comment on channel 9 a few years ago! for those who remember

jade, chance, woewodin, salopek, biglands, johncock

in the wafl there is a player with the surname leafhead, seriously.

Originally posted by materamagic
Digby Morrell sounds like a pr0n star, dermie made that comment on channel 9 a few years ago! for those who remember

Interesting, why? I'm looking for a connection but can't seem to work it out. Dermie must have done quite a bit of "research" in that area. What sort of name does a performer in adult orientated movies have? - Keep it clean now, kiddie alert

Originally posted by AOK
Interesting, why? I'm looking for a connection but can't seem to work it out. Dermie must have done quite a bit of "research" in that area. What sort of name does a performer in adult orientated movies have? - Keep it clean now, kiddie alert

I used to work in a hotel where we had two regular guests/co-workers with real (according to drivers licence/credit cards) names Debbie Donkers and April Styles. Always sounded pr0n-like to me. :D

Wasn't there a collingwood listed player in the 80's called "Fretuiatartar"? Not sure of the spelling, so I have done it phoenetically. Can any Pies fans confirm the spelling? For that matter, can any Pies fans spell at all? :)

Also, Vin Cattogio, Gary Buckenara.. At once stage in the mid ninetys, Hawthorn had a Centreline of Ansell Condon Chick...

I Will think up some more..

Weird names in footy.