Society/Culture The Welcome/Acknowledgment of Country thread

I think signs on roads saying "Welcome to insert tribe Country" would be more effective.

Why is doing it at a football game any more important than people crossing in and out of different tribal areas daily?

Seems like it's a nice little earner for the tribes that have a major sporting ground on their patch and the rest of the tribes miss out on the gravy train.
I think it would be better to have a sign that says "this was the "insert mob name" homelands". Make it something more educational sounding rather than this is stolen land sounding.
We should want people to be interested in learning about it rather than switching off because they feel they being preached to.

I think it would be better to have a sign that says "this was the "insert mob name" homelands". Make it something more educational sounding rather than this is stolen land sounding.
We should want people to be interested in learning about it rather than switching off because they feel they being preached to.
But it is

He was simply trying to clear up the misconception that the WTC is “welcoming people to their own country”

Could he have worded it better and come across as less abrasive? Absolutely

But i thought it was pretty clear what he was trying to get across.
Yep agree with this - I think there was a real effort to explain that side of things but it just wasn't worded right.

The stuff about 250 000 years and before Cook could have been left off though - the former because it's inaccurate, the latter because I think rightly or wrongly, "Cook" has now become somewhat of a lightning rod for all the anti-colonial sentiment and its more radical/violent aspects. BC = Before Colonisation would have been better imo.

I am torn on this stuff. Disclaimer: I have studied and teach indigenous history.

The irony is that if I type exactly what I think/know, I'll probably end up being censored or warned by a mod who probably knows nothing about the area, or thinks they know.

The reason I'm torn is because every country seems to inevitably benefit from myth-making, but I'll say that pre-colonisation indigenous culture was tremendously varied. Different languages, traditions etc. And most of them had no clue the others existed. At all.

Maybe it's for the best that we pretend they all felt intimate connections with 'the Land', had a 'dreamtime' and 'songlines', 'smoking ceremonies' ... and chuck in a rainbow serpent if you like, too. We all sign up to the claim that footy and marngrook are intimately linked, and perhaps it's better for the culture that we do, regardless of fact.

But I'll never lose sight of the irony that at least one of the cultural groups to which we now pay tribute before games was positively genocidal. Their word for all other indigenous groups translates as "non-human", and they considered it their primary purpose in life as to wipe them out.

To even think the welcome to country at a football game is welcoming you to Australia is ridiculous.

Specially when it's been said over and over again.

It was even said in the speech that sparked this thread, let alone the whole current debate.

I am torn on this stuff. Disclaimer: I have studied and teach indigenous history.

The irony is that if I type exactly what I think/know, I'll probably end up being censored or warned by a mod who probably knows nothing about the area, or thinks they know.

The reason I'm torn is because every country seems to inevitably benefit from myth-making, but I'll say is that pre-colonisation indigenous culture was tremendously varied. Different languages, traditions etc. And most of them had no clue the others existed. At all.

Maybe it's for the best that we pretend they all felt intimate connections with 'the Land', had a 'dreamtime' and 'songlines', 'smoking ceremonies' ... and chuck in a rainbow serpent if you like, too. We all sign up to the claim that footy and marngrook are intimately linked, and perhaps it's better for the culture that we do, regardless of fact.

But I'll never lose sight of the irony that at least one of the cultural groups to which we now pay tribute before games was positively genocidal. Their word for all other indigenous groups translates as "non-human", and they considered it their primary purpose in life as to wipe them out.
Good post.

There's a lot about pre colonial history that is not so pretty, and it too deserves to be understood (or at least attempts at such be made) in the name of truth. The problem is we can't even be truthful (or acknowledge such truths) about the last 250 years - I think big inroads need to made there before we can do the rest.

To even think the welcome to country at a football game is welcoming you to Australia is ridiculous.

Specially when it's been said over and over again.

It was even said in the speech that sparked this thread, let alone the whole current debate.
A bit like a Democrat trying to defend "defund the police". Change the fricking name if you
(a) want wider community understanding
(b) don't want to come across as sanctimonious when you explain it.

A bit like a Democrat trying to defend "defund the police". Change the fricking name
Use an Aboriginal phrase to describe the ceremony you reckon?
if you
(a) want wider community understanding
(b) don't want to come across as sanctimonious when you explain it.
The irritation comes when people refuse to listen to the explanation, no matter how it is presented.

EDIT: I mean, it's not like it hasn't been explained over and over and over and over again.

A bit like a Democrat trying to defend "defund the police". Change the fricking name
To put it another way, do you think a "City vs Country" footy game is literally one City against the players from the whole of Australia?

When someone says they are "from the country" - do you literally think they are saying the are "from Australia"?

Not so much about this topic as such but I remember hearing a theory a while ago about why Aboriginal society did not really advance much in the 60,000 years (that is not to say their society was not valid, but it didn't really change much in a very long time) and that was because Australia didn't have horses, cows, camels or donkeys.

I read that in order for a society to advance in the early stages having animals to not only aid in agriculture but also transport is vital. Europeans learned to use cows and horses to help create agriculture, which meant they didn't need to live off the land, which meant they could stay in one spot, and grow towns, and because of horses people could visit other towns, share ideas, begin to advance.

However without that creating what we would see as farming is much much harder, so no farming, your society still has to live off the land, which means constantly on the move to find new sources of food, which means your entire society just can't advance.

I am not sure how true this is, but it was a really interesting theory.

The irritation comes when people refuse to listen to the explanation, no matter how it is presented.

EDIT: I mean, it's not like it hasn't been explained over and over and over and over again.

I recon amongst the over 60s and retired people there'd still be heaps that haven't got the memo.

I learnt all about it via workplace training. Where are these folks going to learn it? The Herald Sun? Facebook?

I recon amongst the over 60s and retired people there'd still be heaps that haven't got the memo.

I learnt all about it via workplace training. Where are these folks going to learn it? The Herald Sun? Facebook?
Specially when the dross journos take a statement that it's not something that was recently invented just for white people's benefit, and put up a headline "Not For White People!"

As much as I am sympathetic to what the Aboriginal people have been through it is pretty unfair to blame Cook. Given the era of exploration from the European powers and then colonising the places they found a European colony was going to be coming to Australia one way or another. It isn't like if Cook never existed the Aboriginal people would still be living as they were the previous 60,000 years in 2024.
He treated Indigenous people like dogs mate.

'Many Indigenous people and supporters of their causes and sensibilities rightly view the lieutenant as the doorman for so many ills that followed, including the smallpox epidemic of 1789 that killed as many as seven in 10 Aboriginal people of the new colony for which Cook’s arrival paved the way.

'We’ll hear much today about how Cook brought “enlightenment” to a continent that has staged the world’s longest continuous civilisation for 100,000 years. The boosters will insist that commemorating divisive Cook – whose first act on landing on 29 April 1770 was to shoot one of the Indigenous men who challenged him – is also, somehow, the means to Australian reconciliation.'

Society/Culture The Welcome/Acknowledgment of Country thread