Toast Welcome to Fit Club

Just got back from 5 weeks in Sth America which included a 4 day trek to Macchu Pichu and approx 2 weeks @ high altitude (10,000 feet and above). Got on the scales this morning and have lost 2.4 kgs - did approx 390kms walking/trekking over the 5 weeks and drank beer every day other than when on trek and in Amazon jungle (4 days).

The belt test is a good indicator . I have slipped a hole this week. Its a good incentive.

I no longer run , or choose to run, there is another bus and train somewhere , but walking helps. Now the better weather is here I shall be walking more.

thats been our issue over winter, the weather has been too ordinary to walk, so have put on bit of weight over winter, but having another weight loss competition at work and the better weather so should lose all that weight and some more quite quickly

Got my results this morning - i cropped unnecessary bits out

Dates across the top, Reference is the range the number should be.

View attachment 537123

GGT is Gamma Glutamyl Transferase, obviously (https://labtestsonline.org/tests/gamma-glutamyl-transferase-ggt) and is supposedly a marker for liver disease.

So back in 2015, I was getting very high ALP (Bicks ;) ) & GGT scores, doctor thought i had liver dysfunction; told him about how every other male in my family was an alcoholic, he was very concerned and recommended i not drink anymore. He's on the Liver advisory board for SA or something similar, so of course i'd listen to him.

Oh, sadface.

I did that for a year, and got higher scores, FFS. GGT between 5 and 50?

Cool story bro, i got

180-score-in-darts-F68F81.jpg

So i spent a couple of years *not* drinking excessively (barring usually the first day of the cricket Test, shut up Hank) like the doctor said, which is heaps less fun... for little to no result.

Finally in late March, i tried a different tack off the back of some other personal issues and radicaly overhauled my diet. I've lost over 10% of my body weight in just fat and went for my yearly disappointment

BAM

All my numbers bar a couple are good, and my GGT has come down to 56 (!!!)

I think i've got another 5 kilos in fat to take off, then i can rebuild in muscle. Once i get to target weight, i'll get tested again and see where i'm at.

So, it was nice. I had a quick cry in the car, GF gave me a hug, came to work. But, i can drink now without thinking i'm killing myself, which is nice. Takes some of the romance out of it though. I *was* leaving the option open for drinking myself to death possibly via self-medicating depression etc, but it looks that much harder now.
Congrats on the biochem changes over the last couple o' years! That really shows hard work and dedication without even the narrative!
GGT is the most commonly raised out of all the liver enzymes, and is often directly linked with alcohol consumption. The other link is obesity and/or high cholesterol. Well done deaneus! :)

Congrats on the biochem changes over the last couple o' years! That really shows hard work and dedication without even the narrative!
GGT is the most commonly raised out of all the liver enzymes, and is often directly linked with alcohol consumption. The other link is obesity and/or high cholesterol. Well done deaneus! :)

Congrats? Thank you, but it's the complete and utter ****ing ridiculousness of it that gets me.

Man gets test.
Test is bad.
Doctor says don't drink.
Man doesn't drink (okay, *barely* drinks)
Results don't change.
Man gets depressed, eventually gives up, has mental... episode
Man starts drinking again because he doesn't care anymore, completely changes diet.
Man's weight dives, test results come back good.
And that's not counting the running and push-ups mentioned previously

I can't write half the shit that's happened to me this year on here, because no one would ****ing believe it... for ****'s sake, i took up smoking in April and now i'm healthier than i've been in at least five years, and in another couple of months will be healthiest i've ever been.

Congrats? Thank you, but it's the complete and utter ******* ridiculousness of it that gets me.

Man gets test.
Test is bad.
Doctor says don't drink.
Man doesn't drink (okay, *barely* drinks)
Results don't change.
Man gets depressed, eventually gives up, has mental... episode
Man starts drinking again because he doesn't care anymore, completely changes diet.
Man's weight dives, test results come back good.
And that's not counting the running and push-ups mentioned previously

I can't write half the shit that's happened to me this year on here, because no one would ******* believe it... for ****'s sake, i took up smoking in April and now i'm healthier than i've been in at least five years, and in another couple of months will be healthiest i've ever been.

James Brown is not dead, he's very much alive and in charge.

giphy.gif
Seems like the depressive episode caused you to lose weight, which indirectly helped you out with the GGT resolution!
But overall it is a very good result if it comes to blood tests! Just so you know, smoking affects the lung mostly, but can affect your cardiovascular function in the long run. Blood tests don't pick up these sort of conditions.

giphy.gif

which is better than spiking up.

Had my first series of gout over the last 2 months. Oh Boy. Stopped my walking dead. Daylight savings starts next week so I've convinced myself to think about going after 6

Congrats on the great drop deaneus

Doctor visit, down to 72kg.

Was 89kg twelve - fifteen months ago.

Everyone else, what's going on?

What have you done specifically?

Well put back a kilo since early September and now a nudge over 90kgs.

Now retired and basically hitting the gym for a session each day - one day run 50-60 mins (covering 8kms - 95kms) and then a lighter session the next day with a day off each week.

Simply I need to watch what I eat and drink - love my red wine and stay away from too many carbs (I eat lots of protein).

giphy.gif

Had my first series of gout over the last 2 months. Oh Boy. Stopped my walking dead. Daylight savings starts next week so I've convinced myself to think about going after 6

You should keep an eye on the Vitamin D and cholesterol. These are quite commonly linked with gout, especially during winter seasons.

I’ve had recent feet injuries during the winter, and haven’t been able to do much running, missing out on my regular tennis for a good 4 months now.
Aiming to do a blood check soon and will run my ass off during this footy offseason!

What have you done specifically?

Step 1 - [redacted]

Step 2 - starve yourself through a combination of stress and insane life choices

Step 3 - profit

Seriously, 1 2 3 as above. This includes NO CARBS. Except it appears I have a drinking problem - really it’s a symptom, but beer is the only carbs I’m intaking at the minute. So, water, protein bars for breakfast, chicken patties for lunch, healthy for dinner (usually brocolli and beans and meat). No carbs and the weight falls off.

I Don't run ! ......my gym is a 24 /7 warehouse ....doing 5 x 1.5 hour sessions per week, one of which is a trainer, mainly for technique & "pushing" me

18 months now and really seeing results, 181cm and about 89kgs ...fat content is coming down, aim is 14-15%..about 19% currently ....it's not about diet, diets cannot be maintained

High protein, no processed food ...and try and get the sugar consumption down ...i eat very very well

My trainer, came 3rd in the State Titles last weekend ....great bloke, great trainer ....but you've got no idea, what he put himself thru in the last 3 weeks b4 the competition

575939_bcfa07295e65cfd0bff2a19bd9a20f79.png
...... upload_2018-10-21_9-36-19.png

5 of my last 6 ParkRuns have been sub 31 minutes (and 3 sub 30)

Think i can say I run under 30mins now. YAY

Only once gone under 29 and that was back in April.

Weight been prety stagnant, but I'm not watching my food intake.
Most critical aspect .....and the type of food & when you have it .....it's not a diet by any stretch

Congratulations on the run

As mentioned on the main board, I'm looking for a running watch. Currently I wear a Misfit Phase, which just does steps/goals.

i want something that tracks my running pace mostly, HR would be interesting. And I like a watch that can look like a watch.

The Polar Vantage M has piqued my interest.

Would love to hear some users experiences with them.

Next Gen Rookie
I wouldn't say I'm an expert when it comes to what is available, but my GF who is an elite runner recommended to go a Garmin.

I recently bought the Forerunner 935, because I got it heavily discounted.
If you're only using it for running, you'll probably be fine with one of the lower models.

If you're not in any rush, I'd regularly monitor here (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/search/node/Garmin)
Deals come up all the time.

Next Gen Rookie
I wouldn't say I'm an expert when it comes to what is available, but my GF who is an elite runner recommended to go a Garmin.

I recently bought the Forerunner 935, because I got it heavily discounted.
If you're only using it for running, you'll probably be fine with one of the lower models.

If you're not in any rush, I'd regularly monitor here (https://www.ozbargain.com.au/search/node/Garmin)
Deals come up all the time.

Thanks heaps. I have no base of knowledge to start from.

Had a friend complain a lot about Garmin a few years ago with problems with her watch - but I believe that would be rare from them. They seem to be the market leader in this area. Hearing an elite runner uses them elevates them in my books.

I was using an AppleWatch prior, but found the interface a little clunky/limited, so wanted to upgrade.
I've only had my Garmin for 2 weeks now, but definitely enjoying it.

There's plenty of blogs and running forums, who would be great sources of info.
I didn't really look at any other brands, so don't know what else exists to be honest.

It depends what you want in a watch and how much you want to pay. I got a couple of Lifetrack Core c210s for my wife and me. Does every thing I need it to do and only around 80 bucks per watch. They are not made any more, but you can still find them on ebay new....well you could a few months ago.

giphy.gif

Yeah, gout...oooof!
Apple cider vinegar is your friend. Heaps immediately if you have an attack and the pain eases, swelling and inflammation go down. Take it every couple of days if you want to prevent attacks. Voltarin tablets work too.
I've only had two attacks twelve years apart. Do not want more!

Didn't know this thread existed until this morning. I'll detail my experience as an older bloke that needed to do something.
Diagnosed with diabetes 2 a couple of years ago. 171 cms and I was around 80ks. Was active, two swims of 60 laps per week. Lotsa walking, gardening, etc. I was no couch potato.
First thing the medicos said was lose weight around the middle. I went on a diet of one meal a day in the evening: fast until midday next: a boiled egg or cup of soup: handful of almonds mid-arvo if I felt I needed energy. I kept up the swimming and walking at the same time and started two gym sessions a week.
Started running on the treadmill. My exercise physiologist reckoned my times for a k on the mill were good. I checked on the World Running site and found that they were indeed. Started road running a couple of times a week. Entered the SA Masters last year and won gold for my age category (old) in the Masters Mile--1.6 k. Beat the silver medalist by almost three minutes. My time 8:42. Australian Masters later same year. Won the bronze in 8:50.
Started running parkrun 5 ks August last. Current pb is 29:14 and I usually run sub-30s these days. I hold the age category records in four parkruns so far. Won gold in the SA Road Runners 5 k races at McLaren Vale in October and last Sunday at Glenelg. Not too many run in my age category (75--79).
My blood sugar is well and truly under control and I'm feeling better overall than I did a few years ago. I intend to continue running until I can't.
At my last major medical check up the doc looked at my readings and made the comment that I could no longer be considered as diabetic. I disagree. I'm in remission and must continue to take care.
I saw a dietician after I'd lost ten ks in a month on the crazy diet I was on at first. She was somewhat horrified, but wtf? I do remember Dean Lukin--Olympic gold weight lifter who used to be muscle bound and now looks normal--saying that the way to lose weight is to stop eating.
I recommend googling Dr Mosely for good advice on diet etc.
Height 171 cms (Eddie and me!)
Weight 68ks

I'm disappointed in myself. At 79.95kg this morning, I'm as heavy as I've ever been - I'm only 160cm max, so I'm well overweight for my lack of height. I think mindless snacking is my main issue, that and lack of energy to get out and be physically active. I need to do something soon though, if I want to continue to be able to keep up with my 4 year old daughter.

Hey perhaps a ridiculous question - other than Apple watches do any play music to headphones or will I still need to take my phone? Seems to counter the need for the watch if I do?
Trying to get remotivated and I do like beats covering my labouring breathing !!

I'm disappointed in myself. At 79.95kg this morning, I'm as heavy as I've ever been - I'm only 160cm max, so I'm well overweight for my lack of height. I think mindless snacking is my main issue, that and lack of energy to get out and be physically active. I need to do something soon though, if I want to continue to be able to keep up with my 4 year old daughter.

Suggest you try walking the Saturday morning parkrun nearest your place. Google parkrun Australia. There is a free app available on line--couch to 5 k, that gives a strategy to go from unfit to being able to run 5ks. You do it in stages and at whatever pace you want. I haven't looked at it, but have heard good things from fellow parkrunners.
Good luck, mate. A journey starts with the first step.

Toast Welcome to Fit Club