Toast Welcome to Fremantle Neil Erasmus (pick 10 2021 AFL Draft)

The call on JOM is baffling. If he’s sub for 3 weeks, starts the 4th yet subs off.. surely he’s not AFL level anymore.

Back Erasmus to start games, and have him and Johnson play consistently.

Fremantle playing JOM, but somehow Brodie isn’t preferred? Somethings fishy
I still like what JOM brings as a leader and big body

Tough to judge in less than a qtr and not playing the inside role which is clearly his go.

Was stiff with the first holding the ball which was clearly a wrong call and one of the others he was set up by Jacko too.

He needs to adjust to the speed of the game and be quicker with his decision making though as he does get caught htb to often. This will come with more opportunity.

Tough to judge in less than a qtr and not playing the inside role which is clearly his go.

Was stiff with the first holding the ball which was clearly a wrong call and one of the others he was set up by Jacko too.

He needs to adjust to the speed of the game and be quicker with his decision making though as he does get caught htb to often. This will come with more opportunity.
I've watched his Peel 'highlights' and he gets a lot of the ball, but struggles with his intensity

I'm almost sure Erasmus is a bust but we need to find out. Just bite the bullet and drop O'Meara. He offers next to nothing and can't even kick regulation set shots.

And play Brodie. At least he can get his hands on it in the cliches. Play Erasmus as a starting mid/forward and Brodie as sub.
Somethings got to give.

He is see ball, get ball

No footy awareness/IQ, can't kick, can't handball, seems a decent mark though

I just don't know how we develop him, he can't play inside mid at AFL level because we have better players in there and we want to win games, he gets a run at Peel and has a tonne of ball but his disposal isn't getting any better there either.

I agree that being sub isn't great for him but he would be a liability playing a full game. I don't want to hear any of this play him forward nonsense either, he doesn't have the footy brain for it, he consistently makes poor decisions (at AFL level and in the preseason intras)

Its too early to call him a bust but WTF do we do with him, I've said for a while that he is in the Matt Crouch mould, arguably the good teams don't really need someone like him anymore

He is see ball, get ball

No footy awareness/IQ, can't kick, can't handball, seems a decent mark though

I just don't know how we develop him, he can't play inside mid at AFL level because we have better players in there and we want to win games, he gets a run at Peel and has a tonne of ball but his disposal isn't getting any better there either.

I agree that being sub isn't great for him but he would be a liability playing a full game. I don't want to hear any of this play him forward nonsense either, he doesn't have the footy brain for it, he consistently makes poor decisions (at AFL level and in the preseason intras)

Its too early to call him a bust but WTF do we do with him, I've said for a while that he is in the Matt Crouch mould, arguably the good teams don't really need someone like him anymore
lol seriously? You develop him by playing him full games! Not faucking around with his role, in and out of the side, get subbed on late in a pressure cooker etc etc. He would be a "liability" in a full game and you're not going to hear anything else? what a cooked post. He played a full game against the Pies at the MCG last year and had 26 touches and 10 tackles. As a skinny teenager. He's a 20yo mid with 20 games under his belt and several preseasons off where he needs to be physically. christ.

He needs continuity and confidence. I understand we all need a villain after another emotional loss but the angst over this kid is baffling to me. He's not another Paddy Dow I am convinced of that much. We need to start planning for life after Fyfe and JOM and we're doing a disservice by not getting as much time into someone like Raz.

lol seriously? You develop him by playing him full games! Not faucking around with his role, in and out of the side, get subbed on late in a pressure cooker etc etc. He would be a "liability" in a full game and you're not going to hear anything else? what a cooked post. He played a full game against the Pies at the MCG last year and had 26 touches and 10 tackles. As a skinny teenager. He's a 20yo mid with 20 games under his belt and several preseasons off where he needs to be physically. christ.

He needs continuity and confidence. I understand we all need a villain after another emotional loss but the angst over this kid is baffling to me. He's not another Paddy Dow I am convinced of that much. We need to start planning for life after Fyfe and JOM and we're doing a disservice by not getting as much time into someone like Raz.
I almost hope he is a Paddy Dow. At least Dow is showing he can play at the level now.
Look at what Brayshaw, Serong, Cerra were showing at his age and development.
Erasmus looks like a headless chook, terrible awareness, decision making and has poor skills.
I'm not sure you could point to anything he's done and say, yeah there's something there.
And I desperately hope I'm wrong and you're right. I'm not giving up on him but gee he'd want to show something soon beyond the ability to get his hands on it and throw it on the boot against WAFL players.

I almost hope he is a Paddy Dow. At least Dow is showing he can play at the level now.
Look at what Brayshaw, Serong, Cerra were showing at his age and development.
Erasmus looks like a headless chook, terrible awareness, decision making and has poor skills.
I'm not sure you could point to anything he's done and say, yeah there's something there.
And I desperately hope I'm wrong and you're right. I'm not giving up on him but gee he'd want to show something soon beyond the ability to get his hands on it and throw it on the boot against WAFL players.
Serong in all fairness did hit the ground running as you suggest, but especially Brayshaw...I'd advise you look through his welcome to freo thread, especially some of the posts in his first year pre-Gaff punch. Then bear in mind that Brayshaw played probably more AFL time in his 1st year than Raz has his whole career, especially once you account for the constant sub-in/sub-out. Then there's other things to account for (applies to both Raz and Johnson) - the bigger body and how that affects the trajectory of development, the fact they were picked lower than the guys you mention.

Raz and Johnson are definitely showing less than the guys you mention, true enough, and I'd be fairly surprised if Raz in particular reached AA level (which is the level of the 3 you mention). But is it AA level or bust? Or is it a 22 man game where someone who can come in and give you a constant 7/10 performance with 10/10 effort is valued? Coz that's where I see Raz headed.

Serong in all fairness did hit the ground running as you suggest, but especially Brayshaw...I'd advise you look through his welcome to freo thread, especially some of the posts in his first year pre-Gaff punch. Then bear in mind that Brayshaw played probably more AFL time in his 1st year than Raz has his whole career, especially once you account for the constant sub-in/sub-out. Then there's other things to account for (applies to both Raz and Johnson) - the bigger body and how that affects the trajectory of development, the fact they were picked lower than the guys you mention.

Raz and Johnson are definitely showing less than the guys you mention, true enough, and I'd be fairly surprised if Raz in particular reached AA level (which is the level of the 3 you mention). But is it AA level or bust? Or is it a 22 man game where someone who can come in and give you a constant 7/10 performance with 10/10 effort is valued? Coz that's where I see Raz headed.
Good points. Hope you're right!

Mate he would be a liability playing a full game, I actually want to win and our midfield is flying, bringing Erasmus into it would displace someone like Fyfe, would be a braindead move by the coaches, can't see them doing it.

If we were bottom 4 then sure, he can have games and get time to find the level but we don't have that luxury, thats why my post is saying WTF do we do with him, he isn't learning much from WAFL and isn't good enough to play AFL, he is in no mans land, we could shoehorn him on a wing but he will be even worse than Johnno (who really isn't benefitting from his wing time right now tbh)

Easy to forget he was picked in 2021 largely off some schools footy performances. It wasn’t a normal underage season (cheers Mark McGowan). He didn’t dominate at state 18 level like most normal draft years.
He looked incredible playing for Hale school but there’s a massive difference between that and even WA v Vic Country at u18 level.

Easy to forget he was picked in 2021 largely off some schools footy performances. It wasn’t a normal underage season (cheers Mark McGowan). He didn’t dominate at state 18 level like most normal draft years.
He looked incredible playing for Hale school but there’s a massive difference between that and even WA v Vic Country at u18 level.
I warned people on Big Footy, we should not be picking players based on their performance in high school leagues. I still want to see a full year of him before I make a judgement. C'mon JLo give him a spot!

He's played well at AFL but that was exclusively as an inside mid. It's a waste of time to play him elsewhere and he's as bad of a 4th quarter sub as Sturt is.

He either plays decent inside minutes or stays at Peel. It's not fair to him and it doesn't make any sense (other than rewarding form).
He is not getting a game as an inside mid anytime soon.
Why not play him like Emmett?
With some midfield minutes.
Johnson needs the same tough love and maybe take Hughes spot?

He’s a pure centre square mid who is 6th down the line in selection for that position. He looked a bit deer in headlights last night but I think he deserves as much of a run at it as O’Meara

Toast Welcome to Fremantle Neil Erasmus (pick 10 2021 AFL Draft)