List Mgmt. Welcome to Geelong, Ollie Henry

..all the picks it took to get 25...mainly the futures from next year...but there were a lot of individual bits to the deal... An unusual amount of them
It amounted to a Future 2nd, a VFL player (albeit one with potential) and a bunch of late picks we were never going to use anyway.

If that's a poor deal, I'm really looking forward to us doing some good deals in 2023.

The boy Is finally home where he belongs.
That is an interesting comment

And i obviously hope he plays very well for the Cats

But re your comment - anyone who lived through the pre draft era - where basically half the teams had no hope - including Geelong

It was basically a 2 team dominating competition - Hawthorn and Carlton ( Ess Rich and Nth Melb also had a period of success ) but it was basically the Blues and the Hawks waxing flags . Like how hard it was for the other clubs -when the Cats finally made a GF in 89 - youd literally mortgage your house to get a ticket - because with the system in place it was like climbing Mt Everest to qualify - i paid $1000 approx re an Ansett -ticket package

Then they brought in the draft and salary cap - and it was fantastic - all teams ( who were well run ) had a chance

Now the draft is basically in tatters - draft night - youd watch some excited kid - being presented with a clubs jumper - with the Senior coach holding up the jumper in the air - which he is presenting to him

But it is now nearly a charade - what did the Nth Melb number 1 pick or whatever last - 12 months was it !!!

When i watch Henrys 1st 4-5 games for the Cats next year - i will be saying to myself - he is a Collingwood player wearing a Geelong jumper

The upside is immense. Really think the Pies botched this by being too hard on him dropping him too quickly and then lowballing his contract offer. It has fallen in our lap.

It amounted to a Future 2nd, a VFL player (albeit one with potential) and a bunch of late picks we were never going to use anyway.

If that's a poor deal, I'm really looking forward to us doing some good deals in 2023.

I do not think I said "poor" ... I said a lot of parts to the deal Pure said a lot ..as in a number of parts. Thats the way I took it.

Why?. Id say there was an over supply of late picks this year Brisbane had a heaps of sellers looking to off load. To get the deal they did from us ... but flip it.

If we had not done that deal. what would have been the outcome?

Probably have to find a Fr3 from somewhere...to do the Bowes deal. Thats was critical. Lets say we trade Stephens for that ... WE probably trade out 18 for Bruhn, Henry for Fr1. ..but we have a heap of picks left this year ...which we will not use... .. and we have a F2,Fr3 etc. so. was what is better ..one early pick next year or multiple late ones?

Id say one good pick is better. WE can find DFA and give away trades easily enough. Take what we gave for Rohan. A nothing pick that became a premiership player.

Lets see what have we have next year... but having nothing after 20 next year is a crease that can be ironed out. One really good kid from a draft is better than three kids that you churn after 2 years.

But re your comment - anyone who lived through the pre draft era - where basically half the teams had no hope - including Geelong

It was basically a 2 team dominating competition - Hawthorn and Carlton ( Ess Rich and Nth Melb also had a period of success ) but it was basically the Blues and the Hawks waxing flags . Like how hard it was for the other clubs -when the Cats finally made a GF in 89 - youd literally mortgage your house to get a ticket - because with the system in place it was like climbing Mt Everest to qualify - i paid $1000 approx re an Ansett -ticket package

Then they brought in the draft and salary cap - and it was fantastic - all teams ( who were well run ) had a chance

Now the draft is basically in tatters - draft night - youd watch some excited kid - being presented with a clubs jumper - with the Senior coach holding up the jumper in the air - which he is presenting to him

But it is now nearly a charade - what did the Nth Melb number 1 pick or whatever last - 12 months was it !!!

When i watch Henrys 1st 4-5 games for the Cats next year - i will be saying to myself - he is a Collingwood player wearing a Geelong jumper
Swings and roundabouts mate.

We won't be good forever. We are making hay while the sun shines. Rules will change, players will retire or seek opportunity elsewhere (see Clark, Jordan).

Good grief, we've won one flag in a row! Hawks won three then tried to stay on top by bringing in JOM, Scully, Patton... Didn't work for them, might not work for us. But we'd be stupid not to try.

Interesting pov.

Id say there has always been player movement . and we have always had a choice to look past the previous jumper ...or not. Going back to Polly Farmer and Bernie Smith before , players came from all over to play in the hoops. Either in the system or out of it. In the war our player played for multiple Melb clubs and ever since there has nearly always been someone from another club. Its probably rarity if we did not have someone that had not come from another club. GA sr was Haw. Mooney was North. Ottens was Rich. Harley was Port. ..etc

Yes totally agree..that the zone system absolutely cooked the system for some Melb clubs. A pure zone would not work... and would make the WA and SA clubs super clubs imo.

No doubt the draft is not perfect ..the flaws and in equities in the draft... and the tastes and personalities of modern kids..mean that the draft needs modification but I hear it over and over... the bemoaning of the media about trying to force players to stay for longer once draft 3 or 4 years

IF we are going to do that then rip the draft apart. No Father Son. No NGA ..make it totally pure...and equal for all. ... and bring in FA earlier. The idea of of having to remunerate a previous employer once someone is out of contract is an anachronism.

If Henry had been given the same choice as Blitz ... where doe he sign to play Geelong.

What about Robert Scotts boy.How could have picked Gold Coast ..North or Geelong ..he picked North. Just unfortunate that Brendan did not play 100 games for Geelong..then Ollie and Jack would have had the same choice as Scott...

i feel a bit sorry for the kid Allen. 98 games his dad played for Haw... in the past 50 games was enough .

I dont know his numbers but the way he marks... one would think he could be a very good intercept down back.
Absolutely. His marking is a real feature. I'm very excited about him as a prospect. The ability to play a number of roles with his various strengths is a big tick.

We know this with Blitz and how his versatility has been a big key for us over the years.

Gutted to lose Henry. Going to be a jet. Too many people get caught up on pace/ height - the kid can seriously take a grab.

I honestly think the Pies messed up in their assessment of him pre draft. You probably should have picked Holmes . A Melb boy ..not someone who was well known to be emotionally attached to. Geelong.

Absolutely. His marking is a real feature. I'm very excited about him as a prospect. The ability to play a number of roles with his various strengths is a big tick.

We know this with Blitz and how his versatility has been a big key for us over the years.

The way he floats across packs in the backline would be something like Dasher or Hinkley (who was a forward). Just saying there are options... and if he gets pushed ..what is his running like. Thats will be the test for him... as I feel he is probably still playing a bit like he was in the u18's .... what we will want to see more off is the tackle he put on Joel.

The upside is immense. Really think the Pies botched this by being too hard on him dropping him too quickly and then lowballing his contract offer. It has fallen in our lap.
Entirely agree. It's actually hard to think what the Pies did right when it came to Ollie. Picking him in the first place (given his 'ties') was potentially a mistake. And then they compounded that prospective issue with how they handled him as a player, particularly when they would have been looking for him to re-sign this year. Ended up being an absolute gift for us.

And it says it all about what we can expect from him when it seems apparent that he is even more talented than his older brother, who is already a premiership player and vital cog for the Cats.

The two Ollies on our list for next year could seriously be anything.

I honestly think the Pies messed up in their assessment of him pre draft. You probably should have picked Holmes . A Melb boy ..not someone who was well known to be emotionally attached to. Geelong.

respectfully disagree ... we took the best available talent. Like saying you shouldn't get Jhye Clark because he's emotionally attached to Collingwood. It's a pretty unique situation to have a 20 year old force his way out like that. It's also hard to gauge the maturity levels, a lot of kids flourish moving away from home, imagine not picking up Jonathon Brown because he played his footy down that way. But it's probably more of an issue now than then with kids just generally less resilient.

I hate that the narrative was that he wanted to go home. That is the opposite of what happened.

Collingwood lowballed him on a new contract. Then they recruited in players who were likely taking his role.

After this happened, it was obvious that he was looking to leave and we were the ideal club to take him.

respectfully disagree ... we took the best available talent. Like saying you shouldn't get Jhye Clark because he's emotionally attached to Collingwood. It's a pretty unique situation to have a 20 year old force his way out like that. It's also hard to gauge the maturity levels, a lot of kids flourish moving away from home, imagine not picking up Jonathon Brown because he played his footy down that way. But it's probably more of an issue now than then with kids just generally less resilient.

I have made my POV clear ... the less resilant crap is not need or want for any kid. Listening to SEN today ... the amount of people getting into Horne Franciss is disgutsing.

Tell me ...if Nick Dacios had been drafted by Gold Coast .. ...he wants to come to collingwood ...you going to accuse him of a lack of resilience. Every player has a choice ... most players have little choice but they have it ..sooner or later. Most are just good afl players that want a chance and will play anywhere. The highly talented ones have more choice.... just like Buckley ...he chose Collinwood all those years ago. Mentally weak? No his choice that is what he wanted.

Horne Francis or Dacios , Henry or Bruhn whoever ... its the package you have to judge. Listen to Jason McCartney talk about who they are going to pick. If you pick a Geelong kid..you best be sure he is more Sam Walsh more than Ollie Henry.

It happens for all clubs. We drafted Kelly and Jordan Clark from WA and lost both. Its a risk when you take a player away from where they would personally prefer to play...and will choose to play when OOC.

..and now two years later... tell me Henry is obviously better than Holmes. Different Yes ..but not obviously better. You messed up.

There was an article where he spoke about working closely with Jeremy Howes and how he thinks that his game is very similar to JH.

I think Dasher. without the agro... but there are aspect that are similar to JH. Its probably something they will explore ..we love intercept markers

I dare say it takes a fair bit of resilience to stand up to a powerhouse club and ask for more money as a 20 year old.

I can barely do it to my organization as a grizzled mid-30s veteran of the industry.

Knowing your worth and asking for it are difficult things to do. Being prepared to do what it takes to leave in the face of the vitriol we've seen from Pies fans is anything but weak. They were telling him he was a required player, and he asked them to prove it in the form of folding stuff. They didn't come to the party.

Entirely agree. It's actually hard to think what the Pies did right when it came to Ollie. Picking him in the first place (given his 'ties') was potentially a mistake. And then they compounded that prospective issue with how they handled him as a player, particularly when they would have been looking for him to re-sign this year. Ended up being an absolute gift for us.

And it says it all about what we can expect from him when it seems apparent that he is even more talented than his older brother, who is already a premiership player and vital cog for the Cats.

The two Ollies on our list for next year could seriously be anything.

That sentence of yours - and im not saying it is inaccurate - basically says the current system is no good

If Henry had 4-5 years at Collingwood then wanted to come to Geel thats different - the system has a bit of credability

But 12 mths or 2 years is miles too early - and doesnt give the draft much credence at all

Only exceptions should be ones like Kelly - the family situation with 2 of his children - bona fide cases like those should be able to leave after 2 years

That sentence of yours - and im not saying it is inaccurate - basically says the current system is no good

If Henry had 4-5 years at Collingwood then wanted to come to Geel thats different - the system has a bit of credability

But 12 mths or 2 years is miles too early - and doesnt give the draft much credence at all

Only exceptions should be ones like Kelly - the family situation with 2 of his children - bona fide cases like those should be able to leave after 2 years
Current system is hardly ideal. But it's perhaps as effective as you could expect any broad 'equalisation mechanism' to be.

In the particular case of Ollie, though, I simply believe it was extremely naive of the Pies to think that a boy whose brother played for the Cats and who had grown up a kick away from K.P. might not have a strong desire to return to the club he'd supported his entire life.

As I've stated earlier, I hardly believe Pies fans would have been into Nick for being weak if he'd ended his initial contract at another team with a definitive statement that he wanted to get back to the club of his brother and his Dad next time around.

For mine, then, the hypocrisy is breathtaking if not unsurprising.

List Mgmt. Welcome to Geelong, Ollie Henry