List Mgmt. Welcome to Richmond Sam Lloyd Pick# 66

He was only 17 I think. Took 1 of the greatest marks I have ever seen in country footy. Was unbelievable!!

Sam had the better of him tho. Was close to best on ground. Sam was a lot better then cayden at that stage. Obviously because he was a few years older.
Not sure I agree with your summarization of both players game in the 2011 GF . Here is the match summary for those interested .
http://www.sportingpulse.com/round_...e=123190740&c=1-6183-80773-135218-0&pool=1001

Don't know what else to share. You do notice the blokes that hit pills at full pace in the wet, and still take the ball strong and clean above their heads - even just at an ugly night at training. A real sticky pair of mitts, simply a class above in Victoria's second best country league and obviously in VFL too.

I think everybody knows the odd bloke from their local comp who looks like he might be able to go further. This guy actually made it!
Generally I wouldn't think Lloyd seems agile at first take - but he'll turn guys inside out no worries: the play leading up to him shrugging off a tackle on the boundary in the VFL vs WAFL match is probably the best example you'll find on a current highlights reel (think you can find this towards the end of the highlights on richmond's website), where after the shrug he spears a super low flying ball off one step to the chest a teammate deep inside 50.

Looking into Mt Eliza, following 2012 three players left for frankston and all three made the rep squad against WAFL: Lloydy, Simpson (formerly listed to Geelong, ruckman/KP), and Lourey. Lourey ended up top goal kicker in the VFL, Lloydy got drafted, and this year a key on baller for Mt Eliza won the league's best and fairest. Four players obviously a class above, even at VFL level. One can only wonder how Mt Eliza lost their 2012 grandfinal?
Obviously some real talent in the MPNFL, and looks like Mt eliza has produced a few: R. Harvey, S. Loewe, N. Jones, and recently: Z. Jones and Lloyd (albeit only played one season). David Hille is from Mt Eliza, but not sure if he ever played for the club (don't think so).

Was known as 'Muster' at Mt Eliza - from The Deniliquin Ute Muster.

Mt E lost to a side who one 3 flags in a row in F'ston YCW. Lloyd actually had a down day by his standards and missed chances to ice the game.

A classic gifted player who can play taller than his height and lethal in congestion. Goal kicker but set shots not really his strength. Is mercurial, one touch, great vision and has a quick step.

Key issues will be his pace, fitness level and versatility. A bit of a Ricky Peterd type at AFL level. Reckon he'll need to develop his tank and push into the middle or else might find it tough.

Expect him to kick 5 goals in a NAB cup game.

Is it just me, or is Slamming Sam starting to look like a good long shot pick?

Clever, good mover, great goal radar and starting to do the one percenters that count.

Saw him put his body on the line a couple of times in intercept situations on Friday night.
Having an excellent season. The way he presented himself in the pre season should be a great example to everyone on the list.
Deserves everything he gets.

Credit when its due I didnt rate him as best 22 but proving me wrong so far.
I have to be honest as well i did not think him a chance . While not great he has been servicable and good on him. I still think his pace leaves us vulnerable defensively and makes it easier for sides at afl level to run the ball out.

Defensive pressure is his biggest weakness but it seems to be up on last year. Certainly not the worst offender this year....

He is seriously easily in our top 5 most skilled players and it stands out like dogs balls.
His defensive stuff has been good too and he's ran a few blokes down.
Liked his little cameo in the middle against Adelaide too where he actually swung the momentum our way for a 5 minute period.
Just a really smart footballer with great evasive skill and goal sense.
If he keeps on going the way he is a very good career beckons.
I know he was doing a lot of work with Jake King and it is evident I think.

It's funny, Richmond hasn't understood these types of footballers for decades. I've been a fan of the "bush coleman" or Bushy as i like to call him (Morro you can still get on this nickname train if you want) since i first saw him.
The thing about these guys is they can kick 3 in five minutes and change a game or give you nothing at times. Betts, Milne all of them started the same. Inconsistent with the ability to split a game open. But they were persisted with. What has Richmond done? That's right, "looked at the data" and had him in and out of the team.
These guys are the ones you don't do by the numbers. He is our third dangerous front half player in the whole team. He's a year behind in his development because of some "data guy".
Leave him in the ****ing team. It really is that simple.

Sent from my iPad using righteous man power.

It's funny, Richmond hasn't understood these types of footballers for decades. I've been a fan of the "bush coleman" or Bushy as i like to call him (Morro you can still get on this nickname train if you want) since i first saw him.
The thing about these guys is they can kick 3 in five minutes and change a game or give you nothing at times. Betts, Milne all of them started the same. Inconsistent with the ability to split a game open. But they were persisted with. What has Richmond done? That's right, "looked at the data" and had him in and out of the team.
These guys are the ones you don't do by the numbers. He is our third dangerous front half player in the whole team. He's a year behind in his development because of some "data guy".
Leave him in the ******* team. It really is that simple.

Sent from my iPad using righteous man power.
Could not agree more.
Even now people will try to find fancy shit to find why a player like Lloyd shouldn't play but yep believe it or not some blokes can just play footy.

Could not agree more.
Even now people will try to find fancy shit to find why a player like Lloyd shouldn't play but yep believe it or not some blokes can just play footy.

Nick Daffy was the last natural forward we had on the list. Absolutely knew where the goals were. We ****ed him trying to make him a midfielder.
This guy is like Nick in that he's a natural forward. Play him there and leave him there. It's not hard.

List Mgmt. Welcome to Richmond Sam Lloyd Pick# 66