Autopsy Well, that happened vs Doggies

Couple of things here:

You may be right about the six wins, but will we get many better opportunities than last night?

I've heard the 'beat a good team when it all clicks' for the last three seasons. I doubt it will click in that fashion in 2025.

I think it's more - everything clicks in a game or a half, like the '24 Collingwood first half. That sort of effort is definitely in this team especially if we catch a team unaware, the difference now being there is Darling and Parker and Daniel to keep cool heads and prevent blowouts in effort or concentration

We had a bunch of rotations left, dogs had 0 with 2 minutes to go. Couldn’t bang on a couple with a cooked dogs team
They had 1 rotation and only 2 uninjured players on the bench with 6 minutes left.

We should have stretched them by slowing the tempo and creating switches with more deliberate pushes forward. We squandered all the advantages.

Read this:

Ricky’s work? Thats what I was saying in posts earlier about allowing short kicks out of full back.

He articulates it so well.

But, if we run at 90% by hand and foot, then we play with a very tight zone, we go in a few goals up at 1/4 time.

The skills I see are under 10’s shit.

The game plan will work, it just needs sharp skills.. its a rather simple effective base model

Not an excuse but it was like a ****ing sauna in marvel 34 degrees, bulldogs had to play it too but could explain a few players not being quite at peak performance, weird to be playing footy in those conditions

Due to the northerly wind the blows across whitten oval the bulldogs were more equipped for the heat.

Perfectly understandable

If we start 0-4, we are in for another 2024 with absolute hidings in the backend of the season again.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app
Most likely, especially when we play some good teams near full strength
I’ll grant that we have improved
But not enough to move up the ladder
Backline, midfield accountability the other way and deplorable kicking skills are issues that are evident in all 3 games so far
Im most disappointed in the midfield
After all these years of draft capital invested it’s highly flawed
Great at clearances but not much else

Well I’m still upset, Richmond no worries enjoy your number 3 draft pick, north will forever be linked to that player, sorry Whitlock but you need to be Wayne Carey mark 2 to change that…….

As for that shit we dished up yesterday..
1/. How is it the bullfrogs can run the ball out of our defense from a kick in so easily yet we struggle to get the ball past their 50 meter arc from a kick in????
2/. Did north once change sides of the ground ??, never , we never once went back a cross the ground, actually we tried once, thanks chom sits the ball up on a 5 foot 5 guys head and they kick a goal…
3/. Does our midfield know what defensive means??
4/. LDU where’s your energy??, do you need more money to show commitment and endeavor?? Lazy game sadly he has a lot of lazy games….
5/. I’ve seen enough of the darling ruck experiment, full time forward, stop f,ing around Clarko, Teakle in on the bench as second ruck
6/. Xerri mate, English and Darcy are soft arse girls , yes you won the rucks but what about some aggression and break these Nancy boys in half….soft mate….
7/. Do we need to spears some serious coin on assistant coaches?, yes we do, should be looking now…
8/. I’ve had enough, **** losing you pricks, Sonja no more friggin members first letters enough…..

Pricks>.>.>>……….

We have won 15 of our last 108 games and we bring that pissweak effort in the first quarter of the season against a team missing 3 of there top 5 players. I saw nothing last night that’s going to result in anything different, they can shove their honerable loss up their overpaid asses. The worst part is I’m not even upset anymore, I’m just numb to it.

15 out of 108…jeez. When you put it that way….

No wonder why I’m generally a miserable $unt…

Ricky’s work? Thats what I was saying in posts earlier about allowing short kicks out of full back.

He articulates it so well.

But, if we run at 90% by hand and foot, then we play with a very tight zone, we go in a few goals up at 1/4 time.

The skills I see are under 10’s shit.

The game plan will work, it just needs sharp skills.. its a rather simple effective base model
My thoughts are the club knows our zone defence is putrid.
Their thinking is a kickout from fb they get the square and 15 metres to run so that stretches the zone. Allowing the short kick should shorten the zone required but for that to happen we need to get to the mark quick smart.
We are allowing to many consecutive kicks and the zone is smashed and players don’t know where they’re at.

My thoughts are the club knows our zone defence is putrid.
Their thinking is a kickout from fb they get the square and 15 metres to run so that stretches the zone. Allowing the short kick should shorten the zone required but for that to happen we need to get to the mark quick smart.
We are allowing to many consecutive kicks and the zone is smashed and players don’t know where they’re at.
Would it be as bad with a pressure rating of 180? Thats the average? And skills that resemble elite AFL players?

Until we see what that looks like we have no idea what works and what doesnt work.

Passmore I looked at quarters 1 and 2 CBAs, with a couple of extras thrown in where there was a stoppage at the CBA.

We didn't do a lot different actually, except when the Dogs got a run on in the second and Parker changed it up. Our forwards just played to our shit clearances better really and put more pressure on the defenders. We still actually kinda shit the bed out of the bounce.

Xerri's tap work is also a problem based off this small sample.

QUARTER 1
CBA1
Roles: Powell (Defensive lateral); LDU (hit to); Parker (Front)
Notes: Xerri taps to himself. Ball up. Couldn't be arsed doing the next stoppage.

CBA2: Powell (sweeper); LDU (hit to); Parker (front)
Notes: Powell gets sucked in after LDU rolls to the back of the setup. Both of them allow the Bulldogs to exit the front of the stoppage. Darcy goals.

CBA3: LDU (sweeper); WAP (hit to); Sheez (front)
Notes: tap to Sheez, gives to LDU who hacks it forward from the back of the stoppage. I don't know what WAP was doing but he just lost all position and took himself out of the contest.

CBA4: Powell (sweeper); LDU (hit to); Parker (front); Darling ruck
Notes: LDU's man gets first possession easily. WAP rolls up off the flank and impacts with a tackle. Spills to LDU who gives to Powell out the back of the stoppage, who hacks and turns it over.

CBA5: WAP (hit to); Sheez (sweeper); Jy (hit to)
Notes: WAP unclean here, gets first hands to the ball but weirdly just can't extract itm gets tackled, ball up. Disappointing as we were out there.

Bonus CBA 5.1: same as above, Powell rolled up off a flank. Scott and RHJ both lateral wings at the stoppage which shouldn't be happening, someone needed to position defensively. Jy does really well and steams through front of the stoppage, gives to Powell who hacks it AGAIN.

CBA6: LDU (front, he had two opponents); Sheez (sweeper); Parker (hit to).
Notes: X first possession again, gives to Sheez who held his position well. Kicks to a 50/50 which we lose. Turnover despite winning clearance again.

CBA7: Powell (sweeper); Parker (front); LDU (hit to)
Notes: LDU wins nicely, gives to RHJ who is slick to Powell, who scrubs the kick and turns it over...again

Lots of clearances, shit execution.

QUARTER 2
CBA1: WAP (hit to); LDU (front); Powell (sweeper)
Notes: WAP to LDU to Powell at the back of stoppage. Hack kicks but this time works out okay.

CBA2: WAP (front); LDU (hit to); Powell (sweeper)
Notes: X taps to his own feet. WBD win the ball but Phillips wraps them up. Ball up.

2.1: Sheez rolls up to the front of the stoppage, LDU and WAP are both defensive side hit-tos; Powell (sweeper), Scott lateral to the stoppage and I can't see RHJ.
Notes: English hammers it out of the ruck past Powell's head, LMAC comes up aggressively, wins the ball, gives to Daniel who kicks straight to the oppo, lol.

CBA3: Parker (front); LDU (hit to); WAP (sweeper)
Notes: X grabs out of ruck, Parker reads it best and wins the ball, gives to LDU who gives to Phillips who dump kicks it. Forwards do well to contest.

CBA4: LDU (front); Powell (hit to); Parker (Sweeper)
Notes: Parker instructing Powell vocally here, not sure about what. LDUs man wins the clearance but he doesn't give up the chase. They still get the inside 50 exiting through the front of the stoppage.. Not a lot could be done here.

CBA5: Sheez (front); WAP (sweeper); Powell (hit to)
Notes: Phillips wins the ball out the back, to Sheez, to Powell, to Daniel streaming off the back flank, who hacks it and turns it over. Luckily we force a stoppage.

CBA6: Powell (sweeper); WAP (front); Sheez (hit to)
Notes: WAP does well here, is aggressive, forces a spill, Sheez hacks it off the ground. Works out ok but we don't forget.

CBA7: LDU (front); Powell (defensive lateral); Parker (defensive lateral)
Notes: Smart setup by Parker in junk time. Two defensive players. Dogs force a spillage off LDU, the dual sweepers and LMac hit the contest hard and force a lateral hack kicks. RHJ doesn't contest well enough on the boundary and they manage an inside 50 out of it.

CBA8: Parker (lateral); LDU (lateral): Sheez (sweeper)
Notes: again trying to stop junk time run ons, Parker sets up with an even more defensive setup with all 3 of ours on the d side. X grabs it out of the ruck and turns it over, but our setup forces the dogs to exit out the back of the bounce for the first time. They have to hack kicks it like we do and they turn it over to our defenders.

---

Notes, everything was the same except the last two centre bounces. Parker had seen enough to know that the WBD were most dangerous out the front of the stoppage, and that we were always exiting out the back under pressure, and obviously there's an instruction to stop junk time run ons. He took away their strength and bolstered ours.

He sets it up very, very well for the last two bounces. 2 sweepers on the second last bounce and all 3 defensive side for the last bounce of the quarter. Both of which work in slowing up their exits and forcing an error. Just some poor work from RHJ meant they got the inside 50 anyway. He'll learn.

Other notes: our good ball users don't actually seem to be that good when exiting a clearance. Constantly dump kicking out the back of the stoppage.

Side note: LMac was actually very smart with how he came off the back flank. That surprised me.

Autopsy Well, that happened vs Doggies

Write your reply...