Autopsy Well, that happened vs Doggies

Most of my disappointment has been covered in this thread. Fact is we struggled to get within three goals of a Footscray team missing a few stars through injury and other reasons, and a club in a bit of a mess off field. We should have won a game like that. We recruited to not lose these games. We recruited experience and leadership. I expected (call me naive) to win that game. Instead same old skill errors, same old poor decision making. But the stand out to me? How many players, including the ones we love, who didn't seem interested in chasing the turnover. Including the mistake maker. The lack of chasing was horrible. Reaks of a team that doesn't give a shit because there are no consequences. That's what hurt me the most. At least look like you care.
We really do need to start dropping players, who refuse to chase, whenever we can. One a week would be enough. Just to make the point that there are consequences.

it's probably already been mentioned, but we had the top 4 ranked players on the ground.

Screenshot 2025-03-16 at 6.51.46 PM.png

We won almost all the key stats, just can't finish it off.

If we can clean up our disposal, we won’t turn the ball over constantly, our players will not be constantly caught on the back foot and won’t allow the opposition to stream away and give the impression that we’re not running hard enough.
You’re not wrong mate but that has been a problem at the club for about 10 years.

Problem now is our game style requires it more and pressure is higher than ever before. Our defensive structure coped better with our turnovers in the past as well.

Too deflated to even construct a coherent sentence for 24 hours, but something I keep seeing is that we "played the Dogs VFL team!".
Liam Jones is 34, Johannisen is 32 and Treloar is 32
We essentially played what will be the Dogs best 22 in two years, minus Bont and Diveman, and this setup did pretty well against the talk of the town Hawks, albeit in a praccy.

Just a thought 🤷‍♂️

it's probably already been mentioned, but we had the top 4 ranked players on the ground.

View attachment 2252213

I mentioned something similar in the game day thread during the 1st qtr. There was so much pessimism on here but we had 8 of the top 10 players late in the 1st, but were still down 4 goals.

There's something to work with here (and the will to keep working/fighting was a welcome change to previous years). I think we'll see improvement come quickly, akin to what we saw after the bye last year.

Too deflated to even construct a coherent sentence for 24 hours, but something I keep seeing is that we "played the Dogs VFL team!".
Liam Jones is 34, Johannisen is 32 and Treloar is 32
We essentially played what will be the Dogs best 22 in two years, minus Bont and Diveman, and this setup did pretty well against the talk of the town Hawks, albeit in a praccy.

Just a thought 🤷‍♂️
Finally someone said it! Completely agree.

I went looking on the dogs board before the game to see what their impressions were, and the general consensus was that they were actually pretty happy with the selected team. That's quite a bit different to the VFL squad people keep mentioning on our board.

Also, the more I think about it, the more it makes sense to have Maley in the side. We desperately need some sort of aerial contested threat inside forward 50, we haven’t had a player capable of taking a big pack mark since Petrie & Waite.

While Larkey is fantastic as a leading player (so is Darling) so many of our shallower fwd entries breakdown because we have no one who can really compete aerially.

Also, the more I think about it, the more it makes sense to have Maley in the side. We desperately need some sort of aerial contested threat inside forward 50, we haven’t had a player capable of taking a big pack mark since Petrie & Waite.

While Larkey is fantastic as a leading player (so is Darling) so many of our shallower fwd entries breakdown because we have no one who can really compete aerially.
100%
Welcome to the 3 talls bandwagon

Passmore I looked at quarters 1 and 2 CBAs, with a couple of extras thrown in where there was a stoppage at the CBA.

We didn't do a lot different actually, except when the Dogs got a run on in the second and Parker changed it up. Our forwards just played to our shit clearances better really and put more pressure on the defenders. We still actually kinda shit the bed out of the bounce.

Xerri's tap work is also a problem based off this small sample.

QUARTER 1
CBA1
Roles: Powell (Defensive lateral); LDU (hit to); Parker (Front)
Notes: Xerri taps to himself. Ball up. Couldn't be arsed doing the next stoppage.

CBA2: Powell (sweeper); LDU (hit to); Parker (front)
Notes: Powell gets sucked in after LDU rolls to the back of the setup. Both of them allow the Bulldogs to exit the front of the stoppage. Darcy goals.

CBA3: LDU (sweeper); WAP (hit to); Sheez (front)
Notes: tap to Sheez, gives to LDU who hacks it forward from the back of the stoppage. I don't know what WAP was doing but he just lost all position and took himself out of the contest.

CBA4: Powell (sweeper); LDU (hit to); Parker (front); Darling ruck
Notes: LDU's man gets first possession easily. WAP rolls up off the flank and impacts with a tackle. Spills to LDU who gives to Powell out the back of the stoppage, who hacks and turns it over.

CBA5: WAP (hit to); Sheez (sweeper); Jy (hit to)
Notes: WAP unclean here, gets first hands to the ball but weirdly just can't extract itm gets tackled, ball up. Disappointing as we were out there.

Bonus CBA 5.1: same as above, Powell rolled up off a flank. Scott and RHJ both lateral wings at the stoppage which shouldn't be happening, someone needed to position defensively. Jy does really well and steams through front of the stoppage, gives to Powell who hacks it AGAIN.

CBA6: LDU (front, he had two opponents); Sheez (sweeper); Parker (hit to).
Notes: X first possession again, gives to Sheez who held his position well. Kicks to a 50/50 which we lose. Turnover despite winning clearance again.

CBA7: Powell (sweeper); Parker (front); LDU (hit to)
Notes: LDU wins nicely, gives to RHJ who is slick to Powell, who scrubs the kick and turns it over...again

Lots of clearances, shit execution.

QUARTER 2
CBA1: WAP (hit to); LDU (front); Powell (sweeper)
Notes: WAP to LDU to Powell at the back of stoppage. Hack kicks but this time works out okay.

CBA2: WAP (front); LDU (hit to); Powell (sweeper)
Notes: X taps to his own feet. WBD win the ball but Phillips wraps them up. Ball up.

2.1: Sheez rolls up to the front of the stoppage, LDU and WAP are both defensive side hit-tos; Powell (sweeper), Scott lateral to the stoppage and I can't see RHJ.
Notes: English hammers it out of the ruck past Powell's head, LMAC comes up aggressively, wins the ball, gives to Daniel who kicks straight to the oppo, lol.

CBA3: Parker (front); LDU (hit to); WAP (sweeper)
Notes: X grabs out of ruck, Parker reads it best and wins the ball, gives to LDU who gives to Phillips who dump kicks it. Forwards do well to contest.

CBA4: LDU (front); Powell (hit to); Parker (Sweeper)
Notes: Parker instructing Powell vocally here, not sure about what. LDUs man wins the clearance but he doesn't give up the chase. They still get the inside 50 exiting through the front of the stoppage.. Not a lot could be done here.

CBA5: Sheez (front); WAP (sweeper); Powell (hit to)
Notes: Phillips wins the ball out the back, to Sheez, to Powell, to Daniel streaming off the back flank, who hacks it and turns it over. Luckily we force a stoppage.

CBA6: Powell (sweeper); WAP (front); Sheez (hit to)
Notes: WAP does well here, is aggressive, forces a spill, Sheez hacks it off the ground. Works out ok but we don't forget.

CBA7: LDU (front); Powell (defensive lateral); Parker (defensive lateral)
Notes: Smart setup by Parker in junk time. Two defensive players. Dogs force a spillage off LDU, the dual sweepers and LMac hit the contest hard and force a lateral hack kicks. RHJ doesn't contest well enough on the boundary and they manage an inside 50 out of it.

CBA8: Parker (lateral); LDU (lateral): Sheez (sweeper)
Notes: again trying to stop junk time run ons, Parker sets up with an even more defensive setup with all 3 of ours on the d side. X grabs it out of the ruck and turns it over, but our setup forces the dogs to exit out the back of the bounce for the first time. They have to hack kicks it like we do and they turn it over to our defenders.

---

Notes, everything was the same except the last two centre bounces. Parker had seen enough to know that the WBD were most dangerous out the front of the stoppage, and that we were always exiting out the back under pressure, and obviously there's an instruction to stop junk time run ons. He took away their strength and bolstered ours.

He sets it up very, very well for the last two bounces. 2 sweepers on the second last bounce and all 3 defensive side for the last bounce of the quarter. Both of which work in slowing up their exits and forcing an error. Just some poor work from RHJ meant they got the inside 50 anyway. He'll learn.

Other notes: our good ball users don't actually seem to be that good when exiting a clearance. Constantly dump kicking out the back of the stoppage.

Side note: LMac was actually very smart with how he came off the back flank. That surprised me.

Kingy just stated he's going to break down our stoppages on Wednesday night, after showing a stat that pretty much shows our clearance work is poor despite the stat 'wins'. Keen to see his takes on it all.

Absolutely. Maley up forward. Duursma in the middle. Ford on the wing. Whitlock and Dawson down back.

We should try adding some size and aerial ability.

Larkey is not a real contested target. Darling's impact was so noticeable, just because he could actually compete.

For sure, we need to see Maley but l'd rather the forward pretending to be a defender be the lead up forward...Maley might get a chance, hows Chom's ankle?

Our tall forwards weren't the issue why we lost this game...Cam kicks 3-1 instead of 1-4 and we win the game but the inability of an organised defensive system that cost and will cost us games.

View attachment 2252213

Look
We just have to get over this idiotic stats crap with X
He was bad
English kicked his butt
He continually dives on the ball
He is not Goldstein
He should be blocking mid opponents
Hardly ever takes a mark
Get real

Having another look
We played some good footy
But we did not keep running after them when they got on a break
And credit to them, they used it well

Now nmfc
Sheezel misses were poor, I think 3
Cz just as bad and the Simpkin fwd entries and shots pretty rubbish

So we have to have a think about Harvey
Who is a genuine goal kicker

Sounds contrite but it’s because it’s clearly a non-negotiable at Hawks, as it should be at every clubs. “Poor by foot, not good enough to be drafted”. We pick a Shitload of them.

I feel there is a lot of young footballers with bad kicking skills. The AFL seriously need to invest in the development of the game in the under 16-18 range.

I understand why the Roo fans are out of patience, you’ve had a terrible run with head coach’s. Pre 2008 it felt the same at the Hawks.

One would hope Clarkos messages behind doors to his men are a little more pointed. “ we’ve improved, but learn from our errors and let’s win the next close game”. This is where we lost and this is how we fix it!

Personally I feel Clarko work his best magic when he is on edge…. “like Kennett keeping him on his toes at the Hawks”.

Anyway your Roos will only get stronger with experience and I think your list rebuild will be pretty complete before Tassie enters the draft, which is a blessing….

I think your next win is very close!

You’re not wrong mate but that has been a problem at the club for about 10 years.

Problem now is our game style requires it more and pressure is higher than ever before. Our defensive structure coped better with our turnovers in the past as well.
Yeah, it’s a big problem.

Happy with that dumb 50 he gave away for a guaranteed goal?
And on cue our most negative biased poster turns up - as expected.

In my opinion (and I haven't bothered watching it over and over in slow motion as I'm sure others have), the ball looked in real time like it had come off hands in the marking contest.

LMac grabbed Naughton as the umpire had not called a mark or play-on, whereby Naughton decided to drop the ball like a hot cake and the gullible umpire paid 50.

I saw multiple other instances in this game where players grabbed opponents after a marking contest and as the player taking the mark held the ball there was no penalty.

Also all commentators stated that shouldn't have been a fifty.

But you continue to pick out individual single pieces of play to confirm your biases.

I for one thought LMac played well, he cleaned up a few instances where others had turned the ball over, and he is one of the only players who will take on the tackler and absorb pressure to either get a clean possession off or allow others to work clear.

Midfield 3 of LDU , sheez and Powell don’t bring enough on the defensive side.
That's what I saw at the ground (and for vast parts of 2024).

Ideally one of Phillips or Parker needs to be at every stoppage.

Autopsy Well, that happened vs Doggies