2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch 2024

Dosapppiinted that we let them run over us in the end.

Edwards, Witherden, Rotham confirmed their delist material at the end of the year.

Gaff looked like an everyday WAFL player, not a 2xAA. It’s a long road back to AFL for Gaff and I can’t see him getting back in.

Rawlinson, Dewar and Baker all had good games. Really liked Rawlinson’s pressure.

Hall got more of the ball as the game went on, but he’s not as close to AFL as some think.

Sheed and Flying Ryan to come in next week should help.

Edwards, Witherden, Rotham confirmed their delist material at the end of the year.

Gaff looked like an everyday WAFL player, not a 2xAA. It’s a long road back to AFL for Gaff and I can’t see him getting back in.

Rawlinson, Dewar and Baker all had good games. Really liked Rawlinson’s pressure.

Hall got more of the ball as the game went on, but he’s not as close to AFL as some think.

Dewar a smooth mover off the HFF that goal on the run was great .

Trew looks closer to a game than hall but we may just promote hall due to being the better prospect long term .

Out of all the beagles I thought ruscoe looked the closest to being given a game in the afl , wonder if we pre season draft him ?

Barnett will be a good first ruck just needs some years under his belt

Witho sucks even at wafl level . What's the point of receiving the run past hand ball if your just going to stop and kick it sideways .

I had my hopes up for Harry Edwards but he is just way to slow and can't keep up with defenders

Rawlinson looks like a switkowski clone . Quick pressure forward who knows where the goals are . Brockman would want a better showing before he loses his spot

Gaff can just stay in the wafl . Doesn't matter how well he plays the AFL has passed him

Livingstone needs time but looks like he has some AFL traits .

Didn’t play to the conditions

Defenders pushed too far up the ground when Swans had the wind meaning their forwards got behind them too easily

When we had the wind we moved the ball too slowly and didn’t get it in there quick enough in the first quarter. Did better in the 3rd and had a best patch of the game

Edwards gets a bit of a mulligan since it was his first competitive hitout of the year

Dewar still has some development required but is showing definite AFL traits. Same goes for Rawlinson

Baker showed a bit

Rotham and Witherden were poor

Trew spent too much time sooking

Gaff looks like a WAFL player. A good one mind you but the game today looks to be his level. Not damaging enough despite being our highest possession getter

Barnett rucked well and we looked better when he was in the middle. Needs more marks and more disposals. Showed he’s worth persevering with

I’ve said elsewhere that if a MSD spot opens I wouldn’t be surprised if we add Ruscoe. Today only reinforced that view

Disappointing that just when we got in a position to challenge we went to sleep

Losing by 10 goals to one of the weaker (i think but we'll see) WAFL sides going around doesn't bode well considering most were saying this was a pretty strong ressies side

They're still supported by mostly ammos. Ruscoe looks a cut above, Nelson back in and whoever ends up in the side with the return of Sheed, Ryan and Culley they'll be far more competitive. They're just far too reliant on the senior side's injury list.

The Beagles really do suffer from a lack of quality talls both forward and back. JWilliams would've made a huge difference today. Archer Reid and Bazzo back into the side will make a big difference too.

They're still supported by mostly ammos. Ruscoe looks a cut above, Nelson back in and whoever ends up in the side with the return of Sheed, Ryan and Culley they'll be far more competitive. They're just far too reliant on the senior side's injury list.

The Beagles really do suffer from a lack of quality talls both forward and back. JWilliams would've made a huge difference today. Archer Reid and Bazzo back into the side will make a big difference too.

I get that. Which is why I've bagged the whole concept pretty much since inception. It doesn't work. It might work of we had much much better concessions for top ups but thats never happening. It just isnt for whatever reason or whoevers fault. Going on 5 years of the same shit.

This is pretty much as good as we're going to get availability wise (you have to expect some injuries) and we still get reamed by at best, a middle of the road WAFL side (I think, yet to see the season play out)

That's just not a good way to develop talent imo

I get that. Which is why I've bagged the whole concept pretty much since inception. It doesn't work. It might work of we had much much better concessions for top ups but thats never happening. It just isnt for whatever reason or whoevers fault. Going on 5 years of the same s**t.

This is pretty much as good as we're going to get availability wise (you have to expect some injuries) and we still get reamed by at best, a middle of the road WAFL side (I think, yet to see the season play out)

That's just not a good way to develop talent imo

It's pretty easy - align with Perth.

that was at the goal scoring end I would be surprised if more than 6 goals were kicked all day at the other end ..

Eight kicked into the wind

Rawlinson is a good runner ,he gets back deep in defense and covers a lot of ground ..

Didn’t play to the conditions

Defenders pushed too far up the ground when Swans had the wind meaning their forwards got behind them too easily

When we had the wind we moved the ball too slowly and didn’t get it in there quick enough in the first quarter. Did better in the 3rd and had a best patch of the game

Edwards gets a bit of a mulligan since it was his first competitive hitout of the year

Dewar still has some development required but is showing definite AFL traits. Same goes for Rawlinson

Baker showed a bit

Rotham and Witherden were poor

Trew spent too much time sooking

Gaff looks like a WAFL player. A good one mind you but the game today looks to be his level. Not damaging enough despite being our highest possession getter

Barnett rucked well and we looked better when he was in the middle. Needs more marks and more disposals. Showed he’s worth persevering with

I’ve said elsewhere that if a MSD spot opens I wouldn’t be surprised if we add Ruscoe. Today only reinforced that view

Disappointing that just when we got in a position to challenge we went to sleep

Yep, being 2 points down late in the 3rd quarter, it was looking very promising, then it all went downhill quicker than a boulder in an avalanche.

I thought Gaff was one of our better players personally. Not a dominant performance by any stretch and not enough to get him back into the side straight away, but still got his hands on the footy a lot and was involved throughout.
Worked hard to provide an outlet option and his ball use was decent. A couple of hack kicks in there of course but overall thought his skill level was clearly above the standard of the rest of the game. Had 9 tackles which was the highest on the ground (next most was 5), 29 disposals which was a team-high by a decent amount, and 7 marks (equal team high).
Again though, would like to see a slightly higher output from him given his experience and a few more weeks to build form. This is a good first (discounting the preseason game against a weak Subi opposition) stepping stone.

Harry Edwards had a shocking first half but given it's his first game back I'm willing to somewhat excuse that. He was very good in the third quarter - must've had 4-5 intercept marks - and then held his own again in the final term. Hopefully a performance he can build on - I get the feeling he's too good for WAFL level, just desperately needs a good run at it with his body.

It was already clear from how close he came to being selected a couple of weeks ago, but it was still nice to actually see how much Tyrell Dewar has developed over the last 12 months. Only the 11 touches but felt like he was one of the our more composed players when he had the ball. Kicked 2 goals too which is the first time he's ever kicked multiple goals in a WAFL game.

Was nice to see Barnett at least be competitive in the ruck, another one who looks to have developed over summer. Won the hitout count which is a huge tick for him. Still lots to improve on but I'm liking his development trajectory so far. As has been alluded to he will take an almighty hanger at some point - I have seen him get up very high a few times in the last month.

Liked Baker's game too. Was classy coming out of defence and made less errors than he sometimes has in the past.

Witherden had 25 disposals but not a very noteworthy performance from my point of view. Too sloppy defensively and with ball in hand. Needs to be better than that if he wants to get his spot back. Rotham I thought was better than I've read people suggest, had a few good defensive spoils and efforts. Again though nothing to seriously press his case for selection.

Trew and Hall did a few nice things in the middle but are still building I think coming off their interrupted preseasons. Hall in particular had a couple of good clearances but probably not as close to selection as I and many others thought. Hoping he can now put a few good consecutive WAFL performances together and start to build form and confidence.

I think Trey Ruscoe will prove to be a very good signing. Love his attack on the footy and like Rawlinson said post match seems to be a real spiritual leader with his energy and enthusiasm. Kicked 3 today but would've been involved in 3-4 others. Have to say my initial impression of him over the preseason was that he's probably just a cut below AFL standard, but if he keeps up performances like this and we have a list spot open mid season, why not have a crack?
His mate Gillbee didn't have his best day but I think it's important to remember he's only 19. Hopefully see him build as the season progresses.

2nds West Coast Eagles WAFL Watch 2024