AFLW West Coast Womens 2024

Gutted that we’re going to just miss out on Fish. She’s going to be a superstar imo.
Even against Centra and Harris, who will also be superstars, I'm guessing Fish will one day be regarded as the best.

Maybe one day we can lure her back. Just need to use the right bait, and reel her in.

No - I am still bullish

Belloni, Rasheed, Painter or Sholtz would all be great picks and we will get one of them. At pick 6, we will have a chance to get one of the top end talents. It is always personal but I sense the cut off is at 7 (excluding club tied) and then the drop off is not that steep.

How could you not love what Lou Painter would bring to the club and she would add a real point of difference to our midfield. She is as tough as Emma Swanson but has better skills and better decision making.
Sarah Black's article seemed quite bullish on our chances at Rasheed... but you're right, Painter's also been a top junior for four years straight, and would probably be our second most talented player if we got her.

Either would be a huge add to the team, another mid/forward who creates difficult matchups for defenders where ever she goes. After a few years Painter would turn into a midfield bull who's averaging 20+, lots of clearances and some goals, while Rasheed probably a few less disposals but a few more goals and goal assists, setting up everyone inside 50 with that left boot.

Fish would be better still, IMO, but we'll still do fine.

Even against Centra and Harris, who will also be superstars, I'm guessing Fish will one day be regarded as the best.

Maybe one day we can lure her back. Just need to use the right bait, and reel her in.
I'm hoping over the coming years we can lure back a few, but so far I'm pretty miffed at how many of our talents have wandered interstate to never look like coming back....

You can't tell me the VFL COUGH sorry I mean the AFL haven't hamstrung WA deliberately. I think it was Daisy in her interview on Backchat may have even slipped up saying the league was scared of how strong a WA team would be. Emma Swanson was a marquee player for GWS, Emma King to Norf, Ruby Schleicher to the Pies, Chelsea Randall a marquee player at the Crows, Courtney Hodder at the Lions, Teakle and Dowrick at Port. What interstate stars have we managed to pluck? It seems we aren't that appealing save for the Daisy effect 🥲

I'm hoping there are some father-daughter prospects coming through soon that I don't know about cos we seem to be at a sincere disadvantage ATM.

Gutted that we’re going to just miss out on Fish. She’s going to be a superstar imo.
And ultimately, a lot of fun/energy which is great for a footy club.
Maybe the club knows she'd prefer elsewhere, as there wasn't much attempt to get pick 2 when it was up for grabs.
She did name 4 clubs she supports and gave us no love.

Deadset agree - that being said with our first 2 picks each year likely to be ridiculous talents compared to the current landscape I'd be hesitant to pay up anything valuable draft-wise.

Ideally could find a Drennan type who can add that value but cost less due to age and also will naturally move on in a few years as the list turns over in that wave format clubs will need to be doing. Anyone stand out as a possibility?
At the risk of sounding daft, I've got a feeling McDonald is going to be an absolute weapon up front and tempted to throw a decent effort (first pick) to secure her. Long term that might turn out better for us but it's hard not to go for a bull Midfielder and best available really

Who'd be a decent comparison for McDonald in the current aflw comp? I'd love to see an athletic Bannan type up front for us

Same stuff from Rookie Me;

We're most likely to get Painter, but have a chance at Rasheed, and may even consider Belloni with first pick.

Second pick, Claudia Wright if available, maybe Lily Patterson. I reckon if we took Rasheed first, Patterson would be a great pick second, because Rasheed's more of a forward while Patterson's a mid. But if we took Painter first, Patterson makes less sense -- better to get a forward.

If anyone’s keen

From the Code/Herald Sun phantom

CARLTON
Zippy Fish (East Fremantle)

In any other draft, Zippy Fish would be a No.1 pick contender. But such is the depth of this year’s pool that she’s slipped down the pecking order after being touted as a top three selection earlier in the season. She’s got the best name in the draft but Fish has let her football do the talking this season, finishing runner-up in the Dhara Kerr Medal by one vote and breaking the WAFLW record for the most disposals in a game with a lazy 39.

Drafted: CARLTON

We say: The Blues have been linked to Fish and Scholz but they’ll be getting a bargain in whoever is still on the board. Carlton could also look at Vic Metro trio Lou Painter, Emma McDonald and Sara Howley.

WEST COAST
Lucia Painter (Bendigo Pioneers)

A prototype big-bodied midfielder who knows where the dangerous space is and works hard to get to it. Painter can hurt the opposition in some many different ways be it her appetite for contested footy or her powerful kick. One of the strongest and most consistent midfielders available at the top end.

Drafted: WEST COAST

We say: The Eagles will be salivating at who might slip through to their pick but Painter is an obvious choice. West Coast drafted from Vic Country last year in Jess Rentsch and Painter will slot right into the Eagles’ emerging midfield core. Howley and Grieves are also around the mark but West Coast will have a big decision to make if Rasheed or Belloni get through.

They have GWS taking Belloni at 4 meaning Zippy slides to Carlton who might take Sholz. Please do

Painter sounds a good back up though

CARLTON

In any other draft, Zippy Fish would be a No.1 pick contender. But such is the depth of this year’s pool that she’s slipped down the pecking order after being touted as a top three selection earlier in the season. She’s got the best name in the draft but Fish has let her football do the talking this season, finishing runner-up in the Dhara Kerr Medal by one vote and breaking the WAFLW record for the most disposals in a game with a lazy 39.

We say: The Blues have been linked to Fish and Scholz but they’ll be getting a bargain in whoever is still on the board. Carlton could also look at Vic Metro trio Lou Painter, Emma McDonald and Sara Howley.

WEST COAST

A prototype big-bodied midfielder who knows where the dangerous space is and works hard to get to it. Painter can hurt the opposition in some many different ways be it her appetite for contested footy or her powerful kick. One of the strongest and most consistent midfielders available at the top end.

We say: The Eagles will be salivating at who might slip through to their pick but Painter is an obvious choice. West Coast drafted from Vic Country last year in Jess Rentsch and Painter will slot right into the Eagles’ emerging midfield core. Howley and Grieves are also around the mark but West Coast will have a big decision to make if Rasheed or Belloni get through.

They have GWS taking Belloni at 4 meaning Zippy slides to Carlton who might take Sholz. Please do

Sarah Black was certain that Carlton won't pass on Zippy no matter who else is still available. Sounded like she'd talked to someone about it. We'll see.

Gee Belloni would be very tempting as she midfields, almost as well as Painter, with the big difference that Belloni is also a genuine forward, she managed while playing for VIC Metro and the Rangers to dominate in the midfield AND also kick plenty of goals when she was within scoring range.

That said Painter is an excellent fall back position.

In a perfect world my dream would be:

@ # 6 Belloni

Then with our next pick

@ # 24 Brisbane

Swoop back into round two and pick up Belloni’s best mate Georgie Brisbane, that way reuniting the Eastern Rangers two primary scorers.

That way we get a dominant midfielder that hits the scoreboard and a genuine KPF.

One can dream - but for the first time ever we actually find ourselves in pole positions to use our first two picks on genuinely classy players, as at both picks there are multiple great options to choose from at each pick.

CARLTON

WEST COAST

again Keys you put together fantastic content about all things WC, cheers for your work!!
Hope we get 1 of Fish, Painter, Rasheed, O'Hehir with 1st pick and a KFWD with our second like Brisbane, Mahony, Besanko?
Fill up with good WA prospect like Entwistle, Stockwell, Britton, Banks, Teakle with later picks?

again Keys you put together fantastic content about all things WC, cheers for your work!!
Hope we get 1 of Fish, Painter, Rasheed, O'Hehir with 1st pick and a KFWD with our second like Brisbane, Mahony, Besanko?
Fill up with good WA prospect like Entwistle, Stockwell, Britton, Banks, Teakle with later picks?

I can’t take credit for that - just a copy paste from CODE

Lucia Painter Instagram Poster - West Coast SMALL.jpg
Absolutely thrilled. I've had a lot to do with Lucia at the Pioneers this year and she has been the consummate professional as she returned from injuries. Lucia has a massive 45m+ kick and tremendous upper body strength and ball-winning ability. Lucia is also dead keen to go to Perth.

AFLW West Coast Womens 2024