AFLW West Coast Womens 2024

From CODE Sports

WEST COAST

7. Lucia Painter (Midfielder, Bendigo Pioneers)

24. Charlotte Riggs (Utility, Central Districts)

53. Lucy Boyd (Utility, West Adelaide)

57. Kayla Dalgleish (Small forward, Dandenong Stingrays)

The Eagles midfield is suddenly looking frightening with Painter set to combine with Ella Roberts and Bella Lewis for years to come. Any other draft she would’ve been right at the pointy end. Riggs can play across all three lines but has shone this year as an intercept defender, as has Boyd

View attachment 2188649
Absolutely thrilled. I've had a lot to do with Lucia at the Pioneers this year and she has been the consummate professional as she returned from injuries. Lucia has a massive 45m+ kick and tremendous upper body strength and ball-winning ability. Lucia is also dead keen to go to Perth.
So it's
Lou-CHIA? According to her coach.
And not
Lou-Seeya..

Ripper pick. With the two top W.A girls gone, (and no access to Central/Harris)
Painter really was next best option and certainly not a consolation prize. Looks like she'll complement our midfield almost perfectly..
Welcome Lou -Cheeya.

At this point, I don't hate Freos AFLW side like I do the mens, so this was bearable to watch.
Mim Strom is a gun.

Queensland is right up there but the best players are tied to Brisbane or Gold Coast. South Australia has almost single-handily produced three Adelaide AFLW premierships. And WA talent was spread across the competition in the AFLW’s infancy because it was feared that a pure Western Australian team would be too powerful.

We really are pushing shit up a hill aren't we trying to get a fair go at footy, we travel more than anyone AND deliberately get ****ed by the AFL, ANYHOO. I think Eliza Reilly of Codesports is equally miffed as she seems to be the only journo reporting on it.

We are still a way aways from reaching parity on a purely talent perspective, and that doesn't factor in the deficit in experience and depth. The fact that Rasheed can basically dictate getting to Adelaide because other clubs were (rightly and advisably) too scared to take a punt on a very obvious flight risk, means there are still measures that need to be taken to mitigate exploitation in the draft system.

A national draft was definitely a step in the right direction, let's get these (mostly) County Vic girls to bloody work 💅

AFLW Draft: Lucia Painter reveals her heart was always set on a move to West Coast Eagles with Daisy Pearce​

The Daisy Pearce effect is in full swing. Something we've needed to actually be half decent in this league is to get the Vic girls excited to want to come here.

Painter was so desperate to come to West Coast she had already begun planning her move, including reaching out to universities in Perth.

The eccentric 18-year-old has two pet lizards, who will be making the trip over with her.

“I said to Mum ‘I’ll leave on the 26th and I’ll make the drive with the dog in the back and the lizards in the boot I was planning it all my step sister would come with me, and she would fly back,” Painter said.

Painter, who said she idolised her new coach and women’s football trailblazer Daisy Pearce, had her jumper presented by the Melbourne legend at Marvel Stadium on Monday.

“I had my fingers crossed the whole time going ‘please take me’,” Painter told The West Australian moments after being drafted.

This chick's a mad lad, I like the cut of her jib already.

Love Lucia's highlights vid, tough and will only get stronger, looks a natural kicker of the footy, nice grip on the footy and well balanced. Looks like she could/should/will play round one.

So, players we can look to appearing round 1, not present this year.

Hooker
Kavanagh
McGrath
Painter
Riggs
Johnson
McDonald.

Baring the inevitable pre season injury curse, it looks like it's going to be much harder to get into the team.

We also look stacked for marking defenders, so expect to see some nominal defenders moving forward?

On SM-A346E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Hooker
Kavanagh
McGrath
Painter
Riggs
Johnson
McDonald.

Baring the inevitable pre season injury curse, it looks like it's going to be much harder to get into the team.

We also look stacked for marking defenders, so expect to see some nominal defenders moving forward?

who do you see moving into a fwd role?
Cleaver and Riggs?

Here is the list to take us into 2025 (I like the age by position)

1734404377136.png

I am not trying to predict the starting team - more a possible 21 with a view on our depth

1734404430508.png

We will have great options in our midfield.

Painter is going to give us something new - a inside bull but with decent skills. I think she is ready to play in 2025.
Rentsch has already shown she is AFLW ready and one I would like to see on the wing in 2025.
Kavanagh is coming back from a ACL so we need to be patient in 2025.
Rowley will be better for the run she got in 2024 and I can see her taking the other wing
Lewis will be the old fashioned rover.
Thomas would be great having a run through the midfield as needed (she is a class footballer)
Drennan was great in 2024 and provides that older hardened edge
Roberts will be interesting. In an ideal world, I see her as a very damaging forward who runs through the midfield. Wherever she plays, she will still be our best player.

In terms of Riggs - I really like the selection. Shilling looked great at CHB and IF McDonald recovers, they will make a great pairing. Riggs looks pretty close to ready so can come in as the 3rd tall or as FB. Mind you the Wakfer girls did well in 2025 and Zoe especially showed massive improvement.

I have really liked Western but Dalgleish is going to put the pressure on team selection.

Nice to have Hooker as coming back and wondering what role we want her to play and not needing her to fill gaps.

Swanson has been a fierce leader and her toughness is something to like, I just do not know where we will play her as she butchers to ball way too often.

Hooker
Kavanagh
McGrath
Painter
Riggs
Johnson
McDonald.

Definitely, we've too many pure defenders, otherwise. Thomas is our most agile back, wouldn't surprise me if she gets tried forward at some point. The team's starting to get actually loaded, in talent terms, it's exciting to see.

Problem is, every other team's doing the same thing, so I'm not sure we'll finish that much higher next year. Painter might get proper midfield minutes first-up, being so strong she won't get roughed up by an AFLW midfield like Rentsch might have if we'd thrown her straight in. But they're still very inexperienced, and Kavanagh will probably take Rentsch's spot in the backline for her first year... lots of big improvements, but not quite enough to get out of the bottom six, I think.

But the year after that, as the experience starts to build and the team starts to gell, I reckon things might get rolling. And besides, one more off-season of good draft picks would be nice, as next year's draft will be even bigger than this year's, but with lots more talls and KPFs.

1734407788650.png
And with Charlotte - draft projection was 6-15 and I was delighted she slid. She physically will be ready in 2025 having played SANFLW seniors for 3 years. It will be interesting to see if she can play forward. If playing forward, we need the likes of Thomas and co to get the handpass off her as her kicking is only so-so

who do you see moving into a fwd role?
Cleaver and Riggs?
Cleaver still developing, so depends on how they see her future role.

Reality, it could be any, except possibly Schilling, who I see as a more pure defender.

I think Thomas would do really well forward or even middle, but we may still need her rebound ability from defence.

Personally I would go Thomas, or Riggs, leaving Schilling, McDonald, Wakfer in defence, moving Thomas or Riggs back as needed.

But whatever way they go, unless the injury gods get us again, we are going to have some really good taller players on the bench, or not in the team.

We have perhaps finally gone from a team where the problem is, who plays? To one where the problem is, who doesn't play?

Boyd is extremely strong overhead and she also is a good distributor of the football, she too has versatile as she has played both ends.
An aspect of her game that has impressed me is that she is cool in traffic as is a steady set of hands in pressure situations, as she holds her nerve and generally makes good decisions.

It is useful looking back at the All Australian U18 team selections and the RMC power rankings verses where the players were taken in the draft

1734410386443.png
We had 5 bottom agers (Cowcher, Davies, MacKereth, Bowering and Woolmarans)

1734412371362.png

Then looking at the Omissions from the AA team

1734412482173.png
A couple heavily impacted with their injuries so no surprises there. Molly O'Hehir was the big surprise.

Cleaver still developing, so depends on how they see her future role.

Reality, it could be any, except possibly Schilling, who I see as a more pure defender.

I think Thomas would do really well forward or even middle, but we may still need her rebound ability from defence.

Personally I would go Thomas, or Riggs, leaving Schilling, McDonald, Wakfer in defence, moving Thomas or Riggs back as needed.

But whatever way they go, unless the injury gods get us again, we are going to have some really good taller players on the bench, or not in the team.

We have perhaps finally gone from a team where the problem is, who plays? To one where the problem is, who doesn't play?

thanks for your analysis.
Could see maybe L Wakfer or new recruit McGrath being a KFWD.
Lakay is doing a great job as 1st ruck and McGrath could be the same freeing up L Wakfer for a KFWD role.
Very mobile and smart player.

The best thing is how the midfield is now set up for the next few years, irrespective of what happens in other drafts. One good veteran (Drennan) one superstar (Roberts) and one very good and experienced leader (Lewis), that's the current core.

Then you've got Rowley, who's about to make the leap from new kid to established player, I think. Then Rentsch, who's still the new kid, but lots of speed and potential. And now Painter, who will probably play more forward at first, but will become the gun inside ball winner when she's ready.

That's six genuine players. Then Kavanagh, who'll probably get a season in the backline like Rentsch did, but should also get up there eventually, which makes seven. Not many AFLW teams with seven genuinely good mids, they'll just need a few years to get everyone up and going.

And no doubt future drafts will see us adding more, so the competition to get a game, and to even stay in the team, will get furious.

You can see the AFLW lists already starting to look like the AFL lists, in that every spot will soon be occupied by a genuine player. Another few drafts and all the dead wood will be gone from the women's lists. Then when all the new kids start getting experience, the standard of play transform again.

AFLW West Coast Womens 2024