AFLW West Coast Womens Discussion

Cleaver, you get a hybrid tall. Smooth across the ground, good hands, decent tank

Srhoj is quick, opens space, good kick in the run and will only get better in a elite program. Very similar to Jaide Britton & Mik Western.

Henry is your bull. Handball and tackling machine, contested player. Not blessed with acceleration but will get from pack to pack.

Which do we need most from these options?

And there will be others coming through.

Anjelique Raison - Forward/Ruck
Tyla Fitzgerald - Inside Mid
Liliana Grassenis - Intercept Defender
Kayla Van Den Heever - Inside Mid
Jorja Elisseou - HFF/Mid
Madison Dodd - HBF/Mid
Jessica Roper - HBF/HF
Rosie Anderson - HF

Cleaver, you get a hybrid tall. Smooth across the ground, good hands, decent tank

Srhoj is quick, opens space, good kick in the run and will only get better in a elite program. Very similar to Jaide Britton & Mik Western.

Henry is your bull. Handball and tackling machine, contested player. Not blessed with acceleration but will get from pack to pack.

Which do we need most from these options?

And there will be others coming through.

Anjelique Raison - Forward/Ruck
Tyla Fitzgerald - Inside Mid
Liliana Grassenis - Intercept Defender
Kayla Van Den Heever - Inside Mid
Jorja Elisseou - HFF/Mid
Madison Dodd - HBF/Mid
Jessica Roper - HBF/HF
Rosie Anderson - HF
Of course, there's a chance the Dockers would take Srhoj instead of Cleaver with the 1st pick. They've got a good ruck in Strom, and a good tall forward in Tighe, and another good developing forward in Franklin. What they've lost is their trademark run through the midfield, Eb Antonio will be back, but Cain and Houghton are gone and they desperately need more speed. Srhoj will give them that immediately, while Cleaver will be backup behind more experienced players whether she plays forward or ruck.

Srhoj would be great for us, but Cleaver would be better. Then again, Henry's turning into a Kirsty Lamb type, only much bigger (176cm) and with better disposal. Ball-winning inside mid is the one spot where you don't need to be all that fast (Prespakis gets away with it too), the Eagles might even prefer Henry if we have to pick second.

The rest, I don't reckon there's anyone as impressive as the top ten in the 2024 draft, but WAFLW season will be interesting to see who emerges. Raison is good and strong but slow, probably Dodd's the one I like best -- small but strong, fast, smart. Rosie Anderson's a phenomenal athlete at 175cm, but I've been informed (ahem) by people on this board that her head's not in it. If that changes, she could be anything.

Of course, there's a chance the Dockers would take Srhoj instead of Cleaver with the 1st pick. They've got a good ruck in Strom, and a good tall forward in Tighe, and another good developing forward in Franklin. What they've lost is their trademark run through the midfield, Eb Antonio will be back, but Cain and Houghton are gone and they desperately need more speed. Srhoj will give them that immediately, while Cleaver will be backup behind more experienced players whether she plays forward or ruck.

Srhoj would be great for us, but Cleaver would be better. Then again, Henry's turning into a Kirsty Lamb type, only much bigger (176cm) and with better disposal. Ball-winning inside mid is the one spot where you don't need to be all that fast (Prespakis gets away with it too), the Eagles might even prefer Henry if we have to pick second.

The rest, I don't reckon there's anyone as impressive as the top ten in the 2024 draft, but WAFLW season will be interesting to see who emerges. Raison is good and strong but slow, probably Dodd's the one I like best -- small but strong, fast, smart. Rosie Anderson's a phenomenal athlete at 175cm, but I've been informed (ahem) by people on this board that her head's not in it. If that changes, she could be anything.
I'm tending to agree with you here mate, Cleaver and Henry would be my top 2 picks.

Cl

Cleaver and Srhoj for me.
Yeah probably for me too. But Henry's so damn clever, in addition to being strong -- if anyone can break the mold and make us look stupid in a few years time, she can.

If West Perth is competitive next year, and aren't always squeezed into their back 50, we'll get to learn a lot more about what a whole bunch of promising players there can do:eyes:

Well the chat is promising about player attraction and our coaching structure has been finalised but I’ll wait for till I sight the players before getting too excited for 2023

Our junior and 18s are bloody talented. We just need some experience to help us out

Look, I'd be happy with either combo as long as we get the top two of three picks over the purps 😀
🤔

WCE beat Freo next week and I’ll say it may be a tough ask

WCE - 8 points

Freo - W
Hawks - W
Tigers - L
Geel- L
Dogs - L
Dees - L

Finish 16 points

Freo 2 points

WCE - L
Dees - L
Crows - L
Pies - W?
Swans - W
Hawks - W

Finish 14 points - IF they beat Pies

Well the chat is promising about player attraction and our coaching structure has been finalised but I’ll wait for till I sight the players before getting too excited for 2023

Our junior and 18s are bloody talented. We just need some experience to help us out
The number of senior spots that the other teams will need to clear out to make space for their kids coming through is huge. East Freo and Peel alone need to make space for about ten players, especially since some of the 2007-born kids will start getting games too. I reckon WP should get plenty.
Look, I'd be happy with either combo as long as we get the top two of three picks over the purps 😀
Better hope we lose next weekend then. I don't think it will matter that much in the long run, 2024 will be so big it won't matter who picks first.

🤔

WCE beat Freo next week and I’ll say it may be a tough ask

WCE - 8 points

Freo - W
Hawks - W
Tigers - L
Geel- L
Dogs - L
Dees - L

Finish 16 points

Freo 2 points

WCE - L
Dees - L
Crows - L
Pies - W?
Swans - W
Hawks - W

Finish 14 points - IF they beat Pies
I don't believe Freo will beat the pies. I also believe we have a chance against Geelong if we play well. We have a chance to win the Derby but I'm not sure we will. This easy draw will likely see us finish above Freo on the ladder despite not having as talented a team

Hey .... yes.... all you Dudes...... let's just forget about "The Unwashed" and the draft machinations ..... lets celebrate our improvement.

Another tip, let's not get ahead our ourselves .... thats a characteristic that has plagued the peeps down South. cockburn

One game at a time, enjoy the development, bond and grow, improve and advance.

Do that incrementally and the end game takes care of itself.

Hey .... yes.... all you Dudes...... let's just forget about "The Unwashed" and the draft machinations ..... lets celebrate our improvement.

Another tip, let's not get ahead our ourselves .... thats a characteristic that has plagued the peeps down South. cockburn

One game at a time, enjoy the development, bond and grow, improve and advance.

Do that incrementally and the end game takes care of itself.
I'm only here for the junior talent development. It's what makes women's footy so interesting -- the fact that no one really knows what level the women are capable of, but we're finding out. Take that away and I'd mostly just watch the men.

Exactly! Speculation is half the excitement 🤠
I'm only here for the junior talent development. It's what makes women's footy so interesting -- the fact that no one really knows what level the women are capable of, but we're finding out. Take that away and I'd mostly just watch the men.

Rant incoming.

Reading the comments on the Fox Footy social media post on the game pisses me off no end. From men and women (but largely the former, surprise surprise, none of whom likely watch the game and are just being utter campaigners).

Yes, these absolute cretins aren’t always wrong in their comments, but their complete lack of context to their points just paints them as bigoted and idiotic. Switch off if you don’t want to watch, scroll past the social media posts, and move on with your life. It apparently makes them feel very superior to make the 100000th ‘is that the quarter time score’ joke. Well done on that 14 inch **** you have there, champ. Amazing.

The competition shouldn’t be 18 sides yet. Yes, the scores are quite low, but I’ve always viewed women’s sports as very different from men’s anyway. The skill sets are so different and it leads to different outcomes and results. Go to any school where girl participation is thriving, and wait a decade you Neanderthals, and let’s see how the game develops.

I hope their daughters and nieces manage to see what they post so they know to ignore them come Christmas season.

We need to fight the good fight everyone, and stick with the girls and the comp. And keep sticking it up those utter assholes.

Rant incoming.

Reading the comments on the Fox Footy social media post on the game pisses me off no end. From men and women (but largely the former, surprise surprise, none of whom likely watch the game and are just being utter campaigners).

Yes, these absolute cretins aren’t always wrong in their comments, but their complete lack of context to their points just paints them as bigoted and idiotic. Switch off if you don’t want to watch, scroll past the social media posts, and move on with your life. It apparently makes them feel very superior to make the 100000th ‘is that the quarter time score’ joke. Well done on that 14 inch **** you have there, champ. Amazing.

The competition shouldn’t be 18 sides yet. Yes, the scores are quite low, but I’ve always viewed women’s sports as very different from men’s anyway. The skill sets are so different and it leads to different outcomes and results. Go to any school where girl participation is thriving, and wait a decade you Neanderthals, and let’s see how the game develops.

I hope their daughters and nieces manage to see what they post so they know to ignore them come Christmas season.

We need to fight the good fight everyone, and stick with the girls and the comp. And keep sticking it up those utter assholes.
Completely agree & with you all the way.

Until the very last sentence.
Sex life, etc.

Rant incoming.

It was exactly the same on the official West Coast IG post and it's honestly just so pathetic. "sick of this rubbish being jammed down our throat" "is that the quarter time score" "they didn't even acknowledge the queen, rude!" Yada Yada Yada Yada. It must be a sad existence to have to constantly project your insecurities onto others. Like, how hard is it to just keep scrolling

AFLW expanded waaay too early, yes the competition has gone backwards, yes the standards have dropped, yes some of the skills are absolutely shocking and yes it's likely still a money pit for the AFL.....

And yet... who cares :shrug:

If you'd have a daughter, you'd understand. Even if clubs were kicking 1 goal a game, outside of the AFLW it's growing immensely at community level. That's what's most important, that's your civic duty, and that's what must be done :beercheers:

AFLW expanded waaay too early, yes the competition has gone backwards, yes the standards have dropped, yes some of the skills are absolutely shocking and yes it's likely still a money pit for the AFL.....

And yet... who cares :shrug:

If you'd have a daughter, you'd understand. Even if clubs were kicking 1 goal a game, outside of the AFLW it's growing immensely at community level. That's what's most important, that's your civic duty, and that's what must be done :beercheers:
Exactly, I am throwing my full support behind it because I know it will be 5 to 10 years before we see the league's full potential. I'm hoping they can support at least 18 games in the home and away season within 5 years, the women won't develop anywhere near as fast on only 10 games a season and finals/ladder positions will be inaccurate representations of where teams should be (and hamstring developing teams that get easier draws).

Seeing the talent of the U16's ATM locally and how many girls teams in general that are being fielded is very exciting.

Don't get me wrong, i think some things are absolutely over the top.

Umpiring is atrocious. The commentary is a total joke. Everyone is a "Star", including a 4 gamer who might be averaging 3 disposals a game. They also downright refuse to criticize the players, at all. Just a sheltered bubble. A miss kick isn't highlighted. Sometimes there's just silence when there's a particularly awful howler, by the umpires or the players.

That annoys me. Stop babying the competition. Call out crap skills or unfit players fitness as you see it. The game won't improve if these things aren't highlighted and reviewed appropriately, it's a little thing called Professional Sport.

Don't get me wrong, i think some things are absolutely over the top.

Umpiring is atrocious. The commentary is a total joke. Everyone is a "Star", including a 4 gamer who might be averaging 3 disposals a game. They also downright refuse to criticize the players, at all. Just a sheltered bubble. A miss kick isn't highlighted. Sometimes there's just silence when there's a particularly awful howler, by the umpires or the players.

That annoys me. Stop babying the competition. Call out crap skills or unfit players fitness as you see it. The game won't improve if these things aren't highlighted and reviewed appropriately, it's a little thing called Professional Sport.
Yeah look, I agree. It even works into the way the game is adjudicated, coddled and protected from the reality of a hard game sometimes results in clean, legal bumps being penalised. And yeah the constant inflating comments that aren't warranted do also annoy me. Kelli Underwood being the biggest offender when she's not busy calling players the wrong names 🤠. The sooner they can transition the game into being fully professional the better, it will drive the comp forward in leaps and bounds.

As if to prove our point, Twogood just received a shot on goal for her arms being chopped. The call absolutely just wasn't even close to being there. Fair contest, play on.

It didn't expand too early. The talent isn't there but I assume most AFLW fans are similar to me in that they just never gave a shit about AFLW until their team came in and the standard was always going to drop when they brought new teams in whether it was this year or in 50 years. It's taking a few steps back this year to take leaps forward in a few years time.