• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League - 2021

East has signed Scott flemming $400 a game. Few unhappy at east, heard east b&f winner Shaun Phillips training with south this week. North has signed mason ashby from kongorong, and not to far off with Bronson Saffin. Steve hunter to play next year for pt mac alongside brother inlaw Michael silvy

Flemming not worth that. hes not up to it anymore! as for ashby and saffin, its a big step up too western border. fitness level/skill level and overall pace of the game is different. goodluck to them

cam mather from portland talking to sturt in sanfl and bullants in vfl?

davey signed at north adelaide, holmes and o'brian at glenelg!

frazer scanlon back to the kennel! handy inclusion into their young list...

East has signed Scott flemming $400 a game. Few unhappy at east, heard east b&f winner Shaun Phillips training with south this week. North has signed mason ashby from kongorong, and not to far off with Bronson Saffin. Steve hunter to play next year for pt mac alongside brother inlaw Michael silvy
What a waste of money that is are you sure that is not a mis-print it should be $4 a game and then you would still be getting ripped off.That bloke should do every one a favour and retire and stop ripping clubs off.
Saffin would do ok in the western border pretty smart player and runs all day.

Been talking with my neighbour who`s son players seniors for East and said Hooker has been talking to a number of the young East players including my neighbours son trying to recruit them to West, don`t think East will be very happy about that. Smith will not play at Millicent his father is pretty ill could be heading back home, and the word is North have recruited some boys from MSE and 2 from Adelaide, they also have some internal problems by the sounds of it something to due with the non playing assistant coach, heard thats why Silvy has left and could be few more if they don`t do something about it soon.

Love all the rumored movements must be the silly season and I don`t think East would be that stupid to pay for Fleming "would they",

James imbi and john bell signed at heywood with a couple of Portland b graders. My own personal opinion is winis will also coach heywood. Sam42 what's the goss, you have been a little quiet

if you read the south west forum you will learn that heywood have already signed shane keegan as there coach.

flemming was reportedly at east gambiers presentation night...can anyone shed some light on this?

jenkins the only junior too leave east due to not liking the coach... and must not have attended the end of year function as I seen him at the time it was on!

also on the east front i hear a few fellas wanted to follow dunny, but he told them to stay at east! shows real character.

if you read the south west forum you will learn that heywood have already signed shane keegan as there coach.

flemming was reportedly at east gambiers presentation night...can anyone shed some light on this?

jenkins the only junior too leave east due to not liking the coach... and must not have attended the end of year function as I seen him at the time it was on!

also on the east front i hear a few fellas wanted to follow dunny, but he told them to stay at east! shows real character.

Any news what ex-easties kelvin cook, crackers and ciaran buckley are doing next year? Can we expect martin coote back at east?
Carl Slape has continued to follow in his old mans footsteps - rucking for east. I'm interested to know is he as good a footballer as his Dad??? (Barry Slape)

I have watched Barry and Carl extensively over the years of their playing Carl is a good footballer but i think Barry heads him at the moment. Barry could win a match of his own marking, ruck and kicking. Carl has a good work ethic but has not reached the heights of his father and until he lifts that notch or two he will be behind imo.

It is a real pity for East as a club both on and off field they lack real quality in leadership until things change this club will remain mediocre.
Hopefully they can turn things around as the league needs all its clubs to be strong.

The only valuable addition worth recruiting from East Gambier is Scooter the waterboy. Anderson would struggle to get a game in the West magoo's and the bloke who won their B+F, never heard of him!! So I cant imagine who the hell Hooker would be wasting his time trying to recruit.
Bit harsh, East do have a few quality young players in the Seniors, and West could be loosing a number of quality players next season and needs to replace them. The kid who won the East B&F is an U18 and a handy player as well. Also have heard Copping from South has been chasing a number of kids from MSE and also has spoken to at least 3 of North Gambiers under 18`s.

DEVELOPING youth will be the focal point for newly signed South Cairns Cutters coach Grant Russell as he takes the reins of the AFL Cairns club for season 2012.

The 55-year-old succeeds Chris Adams, after the club took the unusual step of advertising for the first-year coach’s position weeks before the season ended.
After enduring an improved, yet frustrating season – blemished by a number of narrow losses – Russell admitted there was some work to do on solving "game plan" and "footy smarts" issues which contributed to the club not winning more than four games last season.
He conceded there would be very little action to lure new recruits to the Cutters, insisting he will focus on nurturing the talented younger generation of players.
"My goal is to develop the club and get the kids coming through," he said.
Russell comes to the Cutters with a wealth of experience – headlined by seven premierships in 24 years as a coach, which included stints in the South Australian Amateur Football League and the Riverland and Western Border leagues.
Last season, Russell lifted Hamilton from the bottom of the ladder to sixth position, before informing the club he would not seek reappointment. He also played a handful of games with SANFL club North Adelaide.
The incoming mentor has reviewed DVDs of the Cutters performances last season, and met players on Monday night.
He will return next month to map out a training strategy and settle into life in Cairns.
Russell admitted he approached the club to put forward his interest in the coaching role after he recognised the challenge involved with resurrecting the Cutters.
"I was inquisitive (about the role), and for me it’s a challenge," he said.
"I’m at the stage in my life where I only want to do things that challenge me."
In his first inspection of the club, Russell said he was impressed by the facilities at the Cutters

next thing we will hear is scott flemming has gone with russell for 1000 a game.

We can't afford that much, a grand a game :D
, try the life style, fishing,

chicks ( a net ball side for the missus ), :eek:

weather, nearly summer all year except for the wet season // Nov. til March

try it you will not be disappointed , our league will be joining the NEAFL in 2013/14

so your of to the tropical north freak,see ya:):):):):):)

What is Grant like as a Coach ??

We don't pay a fortune up here but the life style is great, try us for a couple years ,

Club rooms / house second to none in the league, bar looks over the ground from a long balconey , ground picture perfect, only Senior club South 10 klms out of town. Great bunch of bloke, family friendly, largest junior club.

We don't pay a fortune up here but the life style is great, try us for a couple years ,

Club rooms / house second to none in the league, bar looks over the ground from a long balconey , ground picture perfect, only Senior club South 10 klms out of town. Great bunch of bloke, family friendly, largest junior club.

I was wondering what type of response I would get. I think it's like anywhere. Some poeple like you, some people don't. Have a look at SJ. I think Grant Russell will be good for the Cutters. And boys, I can vouch for what my old mate Tamba has said above, it's a great facility to watch footy and train. The club has a lot of family involvement and I think this will only get stronger moving forward.:cool:

I think the best word I can think of is "interesting".[/quote]

Can you elaborate??? Can anyone???

Can only base my opinion before he had his heart attack or whatever. I think he must have cleaned up his act abit. Drank and smoked a fair bit and generally looked grotty. Liked to get a them and us attitude going with the players.Look I could go on but he has obviously cleaned up his act but the best word to sum him up is definately "interesting"

It is interesting he wants to develop the young players at the club. In his coaching roles in The Western Border League I wouldn't have thought he put to much effort into junior development or recruiting players in the district. He inherited some pretty talented juniors at Hamilton, but his main weapon was being able to recruit 'fly in' players keen to make an easy dollar....... big dollar!!!! I hope the Cutters aren't sponsored by Quit as he generally sucks down around 4 or 5 darts a quarter as he stands beside/behind the interchange bench. I will follow with interest!

The question you should be asking is in recent times has he ever coached a side that hasnt been struggling the year before. With him i get the feeling that he sets his sights early on with struggling clubs to get the coin. nothing much easier to do than coach a struggling club, if you lose then its what is expected but if you win more games than the previous season then you are a legend. Have a look at when he became interested in the coaching job in cairns. he set his sights on it very early on!
He will get a few players in on big coin and they will under perform severely and then in 2013 he will be off to another low performing club and it all starts again.
Hamilton will be better off without him. And for the love of god tell the club in cairns not to reappoint him for next season, particularly if he promises "that the club can improve next season, i know what we need now, i just need some money for these key position players" hahahaha
Seriously though is there anyone on here that doesn't know how this ends in Cairns?

The question you should be asking is in recent times has he ever coached a side that hasnt been struggling the year before. With him i get the feeling that he sets his sights early on with struggling clubs to get the coin. nothing much easier to do than coach a struggling club, if you lose then its what is expected but if you win more games than the previous season then you are a legend. Have a look at when he became interested in the coaching job in cairns. he set his sights on it very early on!
He will get a few players in on big coin and they will under perform severely and then in 2013 he will be off to another low performing club and it all starts again.
Hamilton will be better off without him. And for the love of god tell the club in cairns not to reappoint him for next season, particularly if he promises "that the club can improve next season, i know what we need now, i just need some money for these key position players" hahahaha
Seriously though is there anyone on here that doesn't know how this ends in Cairns?

Well a ball hasn't been bounced yet for 2012 and South Cairns think the suns shines out of his arse. You had some good points in your post:thumbsu:.

Doesn't seem like people hate him, but, I can also read people don't rate him as a coach?? All opinions I guess:).

Well a ball hasn't been bounced yet for 2012 and South Cairns think the suns shines out of his arse. You had some good points in your post:thumbsu:.

Doesn't seem like people hate him, but, I can also read people don't rate him as a coach?? All opinions I guess:).

another tamba's dummy spit

Where do you get it
, :rolleyes:

this is pure unadulterate rubbish only a couple people have met him up here

two of us have asked about him from down South

BUT that means we want some info thats all

so your statment the sun shines is anything but fantasy

or do we have another coach assainator like we had last year before the season starts :(:(

Western Border Football League - 2021