• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League - Part 2

I heard England hasn't been training because Portland hasn't 'asked' him to go to training!
What happended to turning up to training because you love footy and your club??

I reckon! What happened to playing for a club to have a kick with you're mates and a bit of fun. There are too many people wanting clubs to pay them or getting the club to find them a job.

I have heard Lancaster may miss the start of the season - but not sure if this is true. May be looking at Sturzaker while he is out?

After reading the lead story on page 3 in today's Portland Observer, I seriously doubt Sturzaker will be in any sort of leadership role with Portland Football Club. And the same can be said for Marcus England.

After reading the story it sounds like Portland has a couple of "high quality" role models in its ranks for its junior players to look up to??? England avoided a conviction because he is studying teaching and a conviction would have seriously hampered future career prospects- according to his lawyer.

Despite not having a conviction recorded, Mr England is doing a good enough job himself of harming his future career prospects. He is definitely not the sort of person I would want teaching school aged children.

Seems as though the Border Watch were right on the money with their story a few weeks ago.

After reading the lead story on page 3 in today's Portland Observer, I seriously doubt Sturzaker will be in any sort of leadership role with Portland Football Club. And the same can be said for Marcus England.

After reading the story it sounds like Portland has a couple of "high quality" role models in its ranks for its junior players to look up to??? England avoided a conviction because he is studying teaching and a conviction would have seriously hampered future career prospects- according to his lawyer.

Despite not having a conviction recorded, Mr England is doing a good enough job himself of harming his future career prospects. He is definitely not the sort of person I would want teaching school aged children.

Seems as though the Border Watch were right on the money with their story a few weeks ago.

Totally agree with you bomber but I do know that Sturzaker will be VC this year at Portland

no they werent actually.
they said those two guys could miss the start of the season because of this.
fact is this court case was never going to effect whether or not they would play footy at the start of the season.
they may or may not start the season but this was never going to be a deciding factor
a couple of people from across the border asked me recently why the border watch hasnt said anything about a certain mt gambier footballer in relation to drugs charges?
maybe it is becauses of scotts petroleum. i think everyone will know the club i speak of now

anyway that is just gutter crap anyway. the proper footy talk should take over with elastoplast cup tomorrow
i am really looking forward to seeing how millicent are shaping up. probably all of the recruits really.

will be over at east tomorrow and i am tipping the saints to come home with the goods

Well you were wrong there SMOBF...the saints did'nt bring the bacon home in the 'who gives a flying ____' cup.

The saints played mainly magoo's & juniors; hopefully they get the selection right this week....that means 'there strongest available side picked that means no room for sentiment just because Andrew Nitschke is playing his 300 club game.
The way i look at it is, if a lower to mid range side has 1/3 of there side 30 + and over, there not going to be troubling the final sides come september.

Anyone have any personal insights into the teams? Wanna shed their views going off what happened last weekend? who played well etc?

Also, found this very interesting on the WBFL site.
Northern Football League Portland Football Netball Club Bell, John Anthony Approved 26/03/09 31/03/09

Quite a handy pick up for the tigers isnt it?

Anyone to put some tips out there? i'll start it off.

South over Imps
Portland over 'Woods
West over Millicent
East over Hamilton
North over Casterton

Is this John Bell originally from Heywood?

Well you were wrong there SMOBF...the saints did'nt bring the bacon home in the 'who gives a flying ____' cup.

The saints played mainly magoo's & juniors; hopefully they get the selection right this week....that means 'there strongest available side picked that means no room for sentiment just because Andrew Nitschke is playing his 300 club game.
The way i look at it is, if a lower to mid range side has 1/3 of there side 30 + and over, there not going to be troubling the final sides come september.

Yeah Millicent played a couple of trial matches and internal trials, so thought they were pretty much ready to go for the First ROund. Why risk getting an injury in a comp noone gives a stuff about if the preason has been good.

Wait, what? Are you saying that with the new recruits that 'Billy' would be pressing to get a game and might only get one as its his 300th? Seriously? (Or did I read it the wrong way). Billy maybe one of the elder statesman in the team but is still well and truly deserving of his spot, can still really play the game. If anything getting new recruits will ease the burden on him.

I agree with everyone on their tips thus far. With exception being that Millicent will beat West I believe.

Also has anyone seen the Border Watch today regarding the four Mount teams moving locations?

Is this John Bell originally from Heywood?

One and the same. He will be a very handy addition to the Tigers. Bell officially has no obligations to his former club up the highway, but it is an interesting decision by a bloke who was once and could be/should be a leader both on the field and off it at both that club and community. I reckon a lot of people at Heywood would love to know his thinking behind the move and what they as a club could have done to get him to return "home". I would imagine there are a couple of dozen young fellas there who really look up to that bloke who feel let down. People do not choose to be a leader, they are chosen, and it is up to the person with what they do with it from there, whether they take on the task that is both an honour and a burden, or whether they walk away. I don't know whether there is a right or wrong decision on that, but Bell has made his choice, it would just be interesting to know why.

Yeah Millicent played a couple of trial matches and internal trials, so thought they were pretty much ready to go for the First ROund. Why risk getting an injury in a comp noone gives a stuff about if the preason has been good.

Wait, what? Are you saying that with the new recruits that 'Billy' would be pressing to get a game and might only get one as its his 300th? Seriously? (Or did I read it the wrong way). Billy maybe one of the elder statesman in the team but is still well and truly deserving of his spot, can still really play the game. If anything getting new recruits will ease the burden on him.

completely agree with the bolded part.
Billy may even have a better season than he has the last 2.
oh and millicent will beat west gambier.

That's silly (you read it wrong); Nitschke will play his 300th & pending on his battered body he should see out the year !? some of the other players 30+ and over should be looking over there shoulders. As they (the saints) have picked up a few senior players, aswell as a number of our promising juniors should be given a opportunity after strong pre-seasons.
Are you going to hold back a promising 17 yr old for a player that is in the twilight of his game....certainly wouldnt think so.

That's silly (you read it wrong); Nitschke will play his 300th & pending on his battered body he should see out the year !? some of the other players 30+ and over should be looking over there shoulders. As they (the saints) have picked up a few senior players, aswell as a number of our promising juniors should be given a opportunity after strong pre-seasons.
Are you going to hold back a promising 17 yr old for a player that is in the twilight of his game....certainly wouldnt think so.

surely there would be a role for a player like billy tho in there somewhere?
Even if that is to teach some of the young players.

Interested on your view as to what that role might be this season.
will it be coming off half back? or could he spend a little bit of time in the forward line.
even if he isnt up to playing forward straight away it might force some coaches to put a half decent defender on him that could open someone else up

Sorry that I read that wrong BigAnt. Even though Billy's knees are pretty shot I think he will still get on the park for his 300th. Definately going to head over to watch it.

I think the Saints have done a good job blooding youngsters at any stage before some of the older guys anyway. Look at some of the players that ahve disappeared to Adelaide, most we already getting a consitent game in the A's before they left.

Looking forward to seeing how the new recruites go. Hopefully Saints will be a chance for the Finals this year.

I think Billy will play pretty much off half back this year. Might get a run on the ball occasionally. Up forward could be a choice but I would doubt it, had a couple of people say that Billy has no idea of how to play up forward when I mentioned that perhaps he should play up there.

surely there would be a role for a player like billy tho in there somewhere?
Even if that is to teach some of the young players.

Interested on your view as to what that role might be this season.
will it be coming off half back? or could he spend a little bit of time in the forward line.
even if he isnt up to playing forward straight away it might force some coaches to put a half decent defender on him that could open someone else up[/quote

And the end of his career i'd say some where in the backline; with stints deep in the forward line.

How many goals will George Knowles kick for the Hamilton Magpies this week in round one? 7-10?
colin riddle had some interesting comments in spectator, he doesnt rate any of the mount teams because " they havent won a premiership in 100 years", said east are over rated and his team will beat them, because they didnt look much at elastoplst cup!!!!!!

sounds like east have a bit of motivation!!!

might be able to start up a new thread with stupid things that riddle will say this year!!!!

Knowles sounds like a pretty good player, looking forward to having a look at him.

colin riddle had some interesting comments in spectator, he doesnt rate any of the mount teams because " they havent won a premiership in 100 years", said east are over rated and his team will beat them, because they didnt look much at elastoplst cup!!!!!!

sounds like east have a bit of motivation!!!

might be able to start up a new thread with stupid things that riddle will say this year!!!!

Knowles sounds like a pretty good player, looking forward to having a look at him.

Great idea with the colin riddle stupid things he says thread... it'd be chockers though... Knowles is over-rated... will struggle I'd say!

Goodsih first up win for Millicent over West today 59 points. Should of been a lot more as apart from the thrid quarter Millicent totally dominated and didnt really take full toll of their possession. 2.9 in the first quarter was an interesting start.

All the new recruits showed something at the start. Agnew would of been high in the best players with Hosking, Murray kicked 6 or 7 goals and the rest had glimpses.

Some very worrying signs for the future of Western Border Football looking at the Reserves scores. Massive wins in most games. It also looks like Heywood may have forfeited the u 18"s. Is this right?

very disturbing trend!!!! heywood under 18 have already forfeited the first three week.
dont know what is going to change after 3 weeks. cant blame heywood they try there guts out to get players.

maybe imperials were justified in trying to move leagues.

just my opinion but i think the wbfl is on its knees, just waiting for the knockout blow, i would be very suprised if we see the wbfl continue in 2010 in its current form, meaning that clubs will look to go in different direction, just wondering if the dream still exist for the mount to enter a team in the sanfl???

very disturbing trend!!!! heywood under 18 have already forfeited the first three week.
dont know what is going to change after 3 weeks. cant blame heywood they try there guts out to get players.

just my opinion but i think the wbfl is on its knees, just waiting for the knockout blow, i would be very suprised if we see the wbfl continue in 2010 in its current form, meaning that clubs will look to go in different direction, just wondering if the dream still exist for the mount to enter a team in the sanfl???

It's really sad for Heywood because yes they do try their guts out but what more can they do??
Portland also lent them players in the reserves and I think the only goal scored was from a Portland player!

The crowd was also dismal proving that it is no longer a 'block-buster' game like Dean Millard called it in the observer.

I know they try and they do have a few committed members but I think they need to swallow their pride and realise that it's time to either go to South West on their own or merge with someone...Branxholme maybe...or fold...which I'm sure the latter is something they don't want to do.

Is that right that Heywood has already forfeited the first three weeks already in the under-18s? Where did you hear that, because that is not the information I have.