• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League

Whats the word on McCaskill and Ward who are applying for transfers to Imps. Are they A graders. Coming from good leagues.
both former junior players at imps, ward last two season with redan in ballarat league, 6"2 running wingman, definetly senior player.
mccaskill 2 time premiership player with warrnambool and mildura league, played off a half back flank for warrnambool regarded as there hardest player, 26 year old, will probably play in mid field for imperials, he is a massive pick up for the bulldogs.

very strong whisper that brad cooper has signed with the bulldogs, trained a few weeks ago he is super fit, looks fitter than when coached imps to a premiership, he will certainly let a few opposition teams know he is around, young bulldogs midfielders will walk taller with him.

both former junior players at imps, ward last two season with redan in ballarat league, 6"2 running wingman, definetly senior player.
mccaskill 2 time premiership player with warrnambool and mildura league, played off a half back flank for warrnambool regarded as there hardest player, 26 year old, will probably play in mid field for imperials, he is a massive pick up for the bulldogs.

very strong whisper that brad cooper has signed with the bulldogs, trained a few weeks ago he is super fit, looks fitter than when coached imps to a premiership, he will certainly let a few opposition teams know he is around, young bulldogs midfielders will walk taller with him.
Sounds like the dogs are putting together a very good side.

not sure their talking tribunals......he agreed apparently to a new deal with the Rams three weeks ago is what I heard only to apparently have changed his mind..........no clearance in yet and the club has said it will be in no hurry to help him out.
IMO I hope they forget about him.....he is past his best, mainly due to lack of committment and training, leading to soft tissue worries, especially hammys.....money would be better spent elsewhere1
A pity his attitude because he is/was a freaky talent at best!

will find out for you if they graced the dunkeld turf!........concrete!!!
watched noah play in p match today at melville oval, kicked 5 goals, looked to be back to his very best, took some massive pack marks under pressure, pretty much had the forward 50 to himself, seems to got that freak ability back. he looked to appreciate the deliver to him.

I was there too, talking to him and returning his shots at goal when he kicked three at the Alexandra House end in the second term.
Never doubted his ability mate only his application and you are talking WBFL against MDFL so you would expect better delivery and a few on his chest.
As for the skinny kid defenders from a lesser league than wbfl that he played on for most of the game.......well he had to grab a few!
Good luck to him hope he kicks a hundred.

Given the MASSIVE out lists from Casterton and Heywood this season, will these two small country towns be able to field sides this season? And will this have implications for your little country teams playing in major leagues, can they continue to compete?

They will both field Senior sides, not sure how they will go with Reserves sides. Numbers would have to be down. Casterton will be no where near as strong a side as last year. Not only lost players but a lot of quality in Kent, McArlein and Lithgow. You do wonder where a Heywood will be in the future.

i think these 2 clubs have far to much pride to lay down and go back to minor leagues. i wouldnt write either club off either both clubs look to havea great junior base

There's no doubt that casterton will struggle this year due to a lack of experience and size. They will be relying on 4 to 5 U/18 players stepping up each week. They do have quality kids with this years U/18 side the same as the one that won the U/16 hamilton junior footy comp two years ago going through the entire year undefeated. Quality kids from the U/18's that will definitely get a run in the seniors include: Jarrod Millich, Ash Murrell, Alex Richardson, Callum Currie, Mark Cowland, Matt Killey, Glen Widdicomb, Rohan Cleary as well as 4 to 5 others.
Other younger players at the club with more seior experience that will be relied upon include the likes of Kevin Stark, Simon Sealey, Rick Killey, Josh Norris and Sammy Dowler.

The Casterton side will be young this year, but young sides are not to be underestimated and with the quality of the youth at castertonit would be unwise to do so.

Also heard a rumor that the club may have 3 Darwin players looking at coming down to play in the blue and white.

i would think the cats will be pretty competitive without pushing for a finals spot.
look out for them in 3-4 years time though because they do have a lot of young talent.
And that isnt just over hyping the young ones like a lot of clubs do, they will be genuine senior players in a couple of years.
if they can get a coach in 2009 that wants to build for the future there could be something special there i reckon (if they keep all of these kids if not they will have to start from scratch again)
is it just me or does casterton need to work on a new image tho
imo the jumpers look very tacky could be the lighter blue or something
would be a good idea to start 2009 with a new jumper ie follow the geelong trend.

There's no doubt that casterton will struggle this year due to a lack of experience and size. They will be relying on 4 to 5 U/18 players stepping up each week. They do have quality kids with this years U/18 side the same as the one that won the U/16 hamilton junior footy comp two years ago going through the entire year undefeated. Quality kids from the U/18's that will definitely get a run in the seniors include: Jarrod Millich, Ash Murrell, Alex Richardson, Callum Currie, Mark Cowland, Matt Killey, Glen Widdicomb, Rohan Cleary as well as 4 to 5 others.
Other younger players at the club with more seior experience that will be relied upon include the likes of Kevin Stark, Simon Sealey, Rick Killey, Josh Norris and Sammy Dowler.

The Casterton side will be young this year, but young sides are not to be underestimated and with the quality of the youth at castertonit would be unwise to do so.

Also heard a rumor that the club may have 3 Darwin players looking at coming down to play in the blue and white.

i noticed baden dodd hasnt put in for a clearance yet and was supposed to be leaving
could it be him getting a few boys down?

heywood should be fine
not sure if they will ever get to the point where they are finals candidates year in and year out but they will never move out of the wb league if its up 2 them

there has been 17 different players put in for a clearance so far
a lot have been rejected
heywood only has 7 in and 3 of those are from the juniors.
i dont think numbers were good last year and by that math there 10 down
some didnt play last yr but it still isnt good.
who knows they may have a heap of players that wont go into the system until this coming week
the word was andrew ryan wasnt playing there but hasnt put in a clearance anywhere. will he play?

Great to hear the Cats being talked up. They have the biggest support base in the WBFL and very passionate supporters. Keeping the kids in the future will be the problem, employment etc.

the word was andrew ryan wasnt playing there but hasnt put in a clearance anywhere. will he play?[/quote]

was drinkin at his bar 'the watch house' in portland on friday night. his prtner told me that he is wrokin full time on the oil rig ocean pariot that was in portland earlier this year so is now based in melb with no intention on playin football in the near future

heywood should be fine
not sure if they will ever get to the point where they are finals candidates year in and year out but they will never move out of the wb league if its up 2 them

there has been 17 different players put in for a clearance so far
a lot have been rejected
heywood only has 7 in and 3 of those are from the juniors.
i dont think numbers were good last year and by that math there 10 down
some didnt play last yr but it still isnt good.
who knows they may have a heap of players that wont go into the system until this coming week
the word was andrew ryan wasnt playing there but hasnt put in a clearance anywhere. will he play?

heywood will never leave WB. if they worked hard to get winis last year when he showed a bit of interest, they wouldnt be in this trouble.

i think they can over come this and use it as a fresh start like imps did not long ago.

i see cooper with 4 goals and pevitt were in tyrendarras best on the weekend along with keegan and lynd from heathmere. does anybody else know how other players that have left the lions are traveling. i heard that john bell made his debut in melbourne and played on the wing and on the ball and is used as a running player other than a key position player.

is heywood still fighting to keep fred saunders or are they going to sign him off?

anybody going to put their name on the line and give us their tips for round 1 of the WB?

heywood will never leave WB. if they worked hard to get winis last year when he showed a bit of interest, they wouldnt be in this trouble.

i think they can over come this and use it as a fresh start like imps did not long ago.

i see cooper with 4 goals and pevitt were in tyrendarras best on the weekend along with keegan and lynd from heathmere. does anybody else know how other players that have left the lions are traveling. i heard that john bell made his debut in melbourne and played on the wing and on the ball and is used as a running player other than a key position player.

is heywood still fighting to keep fred saunders or are they going to sign him off?

anybody going to put their name on the line and give us their tips for round 1 of the WB?

I'll have a crack, West to beat South, Hamilton to roll the cats, Imps to beat North in the match of the round, East to just get over Portland and Heywood to down Millicent in an upset if, and only if, the game is not switched due to the state of Heywood's ground.

hey fellas. just wondering who the gun players r at north gambier this year? my old man and uncle played there a fair while back and my cousin was recruited to geelong from there... thought id find out for dad what the goings on are at north this year.

Cheers :thumbsu:

hey fellas. just wondering who the gun players r at north gambier this year? my old man and uncle played there a fair while back and my cousin was recruited to geelong from there... thought id find out for dad what the goings on are at north this year.

Your old man or uncle wouldnt have been a ruckman would they???

The better players for North would be Scott Flett, David Nulty, Brian Durbridge ( who everyone loves to hate) also they have a some good young kids as well such as Liam Downs Woolley, Adam Kurzman, Cameron Campbell and Dion Cownie plus some other young one`s coming through but the big loss for them is Wade Ryan who has gone to Glenelg this player we should have had at EAST and we would have won a few flags.Hope this helps you and as an Eastie it hurts saying North have good players Cheers.

haha thnx buddie. dont really no many of the players.. allthough dad played with scott flett's old man. and yeah i feel ya.. heard the rivralry between north east and west is pretty strong... my mum's family all played for west haha