• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League

Portland in a league of its own. The most comprehensive win I think I have witnessed in WB GF history. Very well drilled team. Strong accross all lines. What a luxury to have a dual Magarey Medallist running off Foward Flank. Portland may lose some players for next year, but other teams have a lot of work to do.
It won't matter who they lose, word has it that Jeffries won't be back - will that mean Cammerano, Niemann & Squire wont return !?
Lancaster might be elsewhere !?
They'll just replace Jeffries with another sanfl gun !!

There was some story about Portland appealing the result if they lost by saying Durbs shouldnt have played, dunno how much truth there was to it.
Dont think portland had anything to worry about.They smashed them. North should of wore sandshoes and played on the netball courts.

It won't matter who they lose, word has it that Jeffries won't be back - will that mean Cammerano, Niemann & Squire wont return !?
Lancaster might be elsewhere !?
They'll just replace Jeffries with another sanfl gun !!

Niemann played his last game for the tigers. Word has it that Squires wants to play again. Lancaster is engaged to a local girl.

It would seem like North have wasted little time in the search for a coach next season.
Have a look at the vcfl news index for the piece.
Although it wasnt hard to see that their coach was just a sook that looked for excuses every time his side lost. Easy choice for the North board to make regardless of how stafford felt

East, North and South hunting for new ones so far, Mick Ryan not sure if he will be still playing in the A's next yr or just running around in the B's

Think Ian Staffords comments from the other week are coming under leauge scrutiny now. Took a while, and hes prob already back home anyway. I think the max penalty is a $200 fine, i guess the Tigers eat that now. Interesting David Radley( i think he said it correct me if wrong) said they'd prefer a playing coach who has leadership skills like Scott Fletts. A little curious to me that staement, i read it as they're not looking for a replacment from within that experienced group they have. Prob a good call, they're all to matey for one of them to coach the rest of them. Those guys are all 30-31-32 now that came up through the juniors in the mid 90's, be interesting to see how much they have left in the tank

I had a bit of a laugh reading another leagues thread saying that former Imperials premiership player 'Bluey Forsyth' maybe getting some offers from some southern clubs....i wonder if some of those offers are from imps to come back and play !?

The other one i had a bit of a chuckle at...he he he !! was he's well known already up there for having a very high opinion of himself.That's not Forsyth...nah nah !!

John Copping appointed coach at South, big plus for south to have him back.
I wonder if that decision was made easier due to the so called rumblings that happened at his former club Penola in the later part of the season !?

Does anyone know what type of 'pull' and respect copping had at penola, because there's a few handy footballers from the kntfl eagles (one in particular) that are meant to be under the pump from a number of the mount clubs especially out Tenneyson college way...but will that happen now that copping is coaching at south and would south have a few bucks to offer !?

Don't worry about Portland finding a replacement....there ex premiership coach Booba Atkinson would have had the feelers out in Adelaide even before wbfl finals would've started.

Their are a lot of quality players in KNTFL & penola have Ellis & Merrett who are stars in any level of footy!

Not so much Ellis as don't really know to much about him except that he's from Melbourne but Merrett has been a quality player for years that will probably shop himself around before signing wherever.

Luke Ellis is a gun. won penola"s B&F, played league senoir footy in adelaide and canberra"s leading goal kicking award, which is a very good league.Played state footy a couple of years ago.

Ellis is a very good footballer will be interesting to see he how handles having to be bit more accountable on the ball this year with West as he has signed with them !!!
Agree Merrett will shop himself around to all and sundry find the highest price and then go back to Penola with it. I dont think you will find Copping taking anyone although he did approach a couple of senior blokes about coming with him they are either staying put or retiring.
I hear West have got a few more coming from Tassie any word around the traps this is true !!
Also word is Coxon may be headed to the coast in the small league !!

Ellis is a very good footballer will be interesting to see he how handles having to be bit more accountable on the ball this year with West as he has signed with them !!!
Agree Merrett will shop himself around to all and sundry find the highest price and then go back to Penola with it. I dont think you will find Copping taking anyone although he did approach a couple of senior blokes about coming with him they are either staying put or retiring.
I hear West have got a few more coming from Tassie any word around the traps this is true !!
Also word is Coxon may be headed to the coast in the small league !!

West will have to sign alot for him to play his own game, who knows he may play better in a stronger standard then the Kntfl.

Merrett sounds like a couple of wb players that liked to shop around !!

That coastal club that Coxon maybe headed to could be Robe i heard !?

It's alright to say West are the big improvers but in all honesty they'll need alot of in's for them to improve, to early to say i reckon their will be other sides that'll improve too before the season starts.

any truth that millicent chasing weise hard to coach?

Going by the local rag today i guess thats the end of Jeffries anywhere!! I hope opposition supporter sour grapes wrent behind the complaints, you just have to take it and then move on.

any truth that millicent chasing weise hard to coach?

Pfft:thumbsdown::p.....Definetly no truth in the saints chasing Weise, far from the truth and NO interest at all.
Obviously Jeffries burnt to many bridges with the portland board, on reading the hamilton spec the decision was made well before this suspension/deregulation was handed down.
It would be dissapointing if it was disgruntled north supporters that dobbed jeffries in, whilst he did push the boundries of fair play on numerous occasions on listening to him he came across as a very good coach.
One of his passing quotes on leaving the tigers were "If the Portland Footy Club wants to have a wall flower as a coach, well so be it."
Which brings me to my next thought, as much as clubs and identities within clubs want the perfect role model as a coach, it just does'nt work out that way all the time.
But whose to say the squeeky clean family man, father of four & happily married is going to turn out to be your clubs knight in shining armour.
As much as it's all about persona & private life it is also about playing and coaching ability and most importantly whats available.