• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Border Football League

Be it the spec or the observer, they still alot better reports for Hamilton/Imps & Portland then what the s/e times does for Millicent & wbfl !!

Its probably market driven as far as the SE TIMES and Millicent is concerned though. Lets face it a hell of a lot of Millicent people play for and support neighbouring MSE clubs like Hatherleigh and Mt Burr. There may be more of an interest in these clubs and the MSEFL in general than a struggling Millicent Footy Club (no disrespect intended).

FYI specially to those who have got no where else to go!

All is welcome - please PM me for futher info

The Fitzroy Stars FC are holding a BBQ to seek interest of potential players. The Northern Football League are seeking a list of potential players to coincide with our application, the NFL will be considering our entry into the NFL on Monday 10th December;

When:
This Wednesday 5th December 2007

Where:
Aborigines Advancement League
2 Watt Street, Thornbury

Time:
5.30pm Onwards

Supporters and any Interested Members are encouraged to come along, we hope to see you there.

Its probably market driven as far as the SE TIMES and Millicent is concerned though. Lets face it a hell of a lot of Millicent people play for and support neighbouring MSE clubs like Hatherleigh and Mt Burr. There may be more of an interest in these clubs and the MSEFL in general than a struggling Millicent Footy Club (no disrespect intended).

how much does millicent get compared to the mse?
i would think they should get at least the same amount of exposure as the mse clubs.
Or do millicent players, supporters, sponsors etc just rely on the border watch.

how much does millicent get compared to the mse?
i would think they should get at least the same amount of exposure as the mse clubs.
Or do millicent players, supporters, sponsors etc just rely on the border watch.
Millicent should concentrate on getting a coach first, for the coming season, so they have got something to put in their LOCAL PAPER!!!!!! instead of worrying about the paper.

Get off the fence sa5290....certainly they should be worried about getting a coach first than worried about rightful exposure in the SE TIMES.
While there are more games for The times to cover with mid se & Millicent games the fact of the matter is if you look at local print media beit the Hamilton Spectator, Warrnambool Standard, Ballarat Courier etc etc all those newspapers cover both major & MINOR leagues.
Whilst they cover both leagues within their region, you don't see them lead off with minor league preveiws & reveiws....Just like you don't see the The Adelaide advertiser lead off w sanfl over port or crows, just like you don't see the sun or age lead off w vfl over afl.Of course it's all about equality but Millicent footballwise get postage stamp exposure compared to mid se.
While it's worrying that they have'nt appointed a coach yet :confused: don't think that Millicent are the only club still looking for a senior coach...
There are a couple of successful clubs north of the WBFL also in the same position.

over a grand a game for merrett at west, not bad for a bloke who refuses to play in the middle and get the hard ball, instead opting to play as the loosiest half back flanker in history, again refusing to man up, word is from a kntfl player is that merrett is big on the lip, common knowledge in their league that he dislikes the hard ball and has a tendency to go missing and point the finger when things get a little tough, from all reports great bloke off the field, never met him myself, but must admit that i have been surprised when hearing these stories, he appears to be well built gauging from pic in tbw

AS a player from the league, can say that i agree with Lollipop's thoughts however he would be a terrific pick up if the coach can free him up at halfback, can change a game with his running and long kicking to break the lines. Is a great build for a footballer, and has been a very good player at Penola, not sure how good West will be, if they are struggling Merrett wont be the answer, if they are a good side, he could be the differents between making the finals and winning the preimership....
Ellis was mentioned as well.... if he was the Ellis who played at Penola, he is a very good player, better value than Merrett.
Penola also lost Copping, will be a very long year down there....Anyone else know of any comings or goings from the KNTFL ??

dont forget west gambier has played in numerous junior grand finals in the past few years, including winning a couple u/16 and u/14 premierships. players missing from them that have intentions of coming home to play for the roos again in the future include tom holmes, elliot king, luke davey (glenelg) brad wilson (west adelaide) tim peters, alex flood (university). throw in captain rowan fox, clinton cowell, regan kuchel, nick flood, michael dent, stephen pilgrim, steven fennell and a few more onto top of that who have had a taste of senior footy, are improving and developing bigger bodies all of a sudden you have atleast 13 quality players all under the age of 20. add some quality recruits with size and experience like merrett and ellis and with ash brown as coach then in two or three years of playing together and west could nearly be looking at a gf appearance with a group of 22/23 year olds

That's spot on about West having a good young crop of kids, but the key with re-building with youth in country football clubs is keeping them local. If those West under-14 and under-16 teams are super young sides, you wonder how many of those kids will enter pathways away from WBFL to further their footy?

That is a pretty big call on on Merrett I would agree on the loose half back flank role but as for the other attributes I think you fellas must be confusing him with Ellis !!!
Will be interesting to see how Browny copes with Merretts loose checking will make for some interesting half time talks :D:D.From observation his run and long kick off the back flank have tended to congest the forward line I reckon he would be better suited to a floating half forward pinch hitting on the ball role in the WB. Good on West for having a crack looks like they are getting some better footballers than 05/06 !!!!
AS a player from the league, can say that i agree with Lollipop's thoughts however he would be a terrific pick up if the coach can free him up at halfback, can change a game with his running and long kicking to break the lines. Is a great build for a footballer, and has been a very good player at Penola, not sure how good West will be, if they are struggling Merrett wont be the answer, if they are a good side, he could be the differents between making the finals and winning the preimership....
Ellis was mentioned as well.... if he was the Ellis who played at Penola, he is a very good player, better value than Merrett.
Penola also lost Copping, will be a very long year down there....Anyone else know of any comings or goings from the KNTFL ??

what is happening with heywood for 2008. i hear there will be a few big named players leaving town for employment. they were looking alright early last year before some off and on field dramas hit early. i seen them kill casterton at heywood in an exciting action packed game.

heywood are buggered mate. it won't be long and they'll be in the southwest league or worse even fold. it would be sad for them but i think it's just the way the bush is going.

how will portland go this year. is tim chester still playing there and how is he going??

Tim is still playing at Portland. Played in this years premiership. Have not heard if he is playing next year. Portland will do ok. Lost three very good players from this year, dont know if they have picked up any. Winis Imbi, possibly the most respected player in the WBFL is coaching them next year.

it'll be sad to see if heywood ends up in the south west, but by the sounds that is the only way they are going to survive. they seem to have good juniors that get attracted elsewhere and make higher grades like perkins and lovett-murray in the afl. i hear on the grapevine that they will be losing tom dempsey, aaron barr, tyson lovett-murray, aaron rogers, brett pevitt, jezza ellis, johnny bell, freddy saunders, aaron gepp, asman rory, andrew ryan, charlie and tom kitchen and a few more.n sounds like ransom will be flat out with chasing players. but on the up i hear they are going to employ a ceo, how true is that?

If they lose all those players they are in trouble. Where are they all going? Yes they are employing a CEO. It would be sad if Heywood ended up in the South West League. With Hampden chasing Portland, Imps and Hamilton the WBFL will need to be on the ball to keep our competition in tact. Ive grown up watching the WBFL and dont fancy watching my team in another league. Heywood seems to produce good juniors but this doesnt seem to flow onto Senior success. Going to be interesting times in the WBFL in the next 5 years.

well from all stories going around i've heard a couple of times that dempsey is a copper and located away from south west, johnny bell isnt keen on traveling again and is going to play up in the city, aswell as tyson lovett-murray, jezza ellis is moving somewhere near geelong, pevitt is tied to dartmoor, fred saunders and gepp are sooking, asman rory is staying in NT, andrew ryan might be heading to a warrnambool team, aaron barr and rogers are moving to perth with their families and the kitchen brothers are going out to branxholme/wallacedale. for heywood to compete, they'll need to fill their ruck and their spine all over again. on the positive i heard from a heywood supporter that young nick johnstone, kye bunworth and billy bell are staying. i've seen these boys play and they put on a good show. a ceo will be good for heywood, but that pulp mill would've been a whole lot better.

Don't get too hung up about pulp mills the days of the HR guy being the guarantor of jobs for footy palyers are over. Employing a CEO eh? must have some money

well from all stories going around i've heard a couple of times that dempsey is a copper and located away from south west, johnny bell isnt keen on traveling again and is going to play up in the city, aswell as tyson lovett-murray, jezza ellis is moving somewhere near geelong, pevitt is tied to dartmoor, fred saunders and gepp are sooking, asman rory is staying in NT, andrew ryan might be heading to a warrnambool team, aaron barr and rogers are moving to perth with their families and the kitchen brothers are going out to branxholme/wallacedale. for heywood to compete, they'll need to fill their ruck and their spine all over again. on the positive i heard from a heywood supporter that young nick johnstone, kye bunworth and billy bell are staying. i've seen these boys play and they put on a good show. a ceo will be good for heywood, but that pulp mill would've been a whole lot better.

Mate, if you are only hearing "stories" going around, you might wanna back up your info before singling out certain players as sooking. By reading this thread sounds like alot of players are getting out of the club, and from what I have heard its probably a good idea that they do. If you wanna state that certain players are sooking, back up the info, dont go back stabbing these blokes anonymously where they cant stand up for themselves.

mate...... the players that are leaving are mostly all confirmed and the guys i'm branding 'sooking' are from what i've seen in the games ive gone to and witnessed on the ground and in the changerooms mainly directed at their teammates and club helpers. i dont blame them for being frustrated, but the guys they have goes at are in the battle with them first hand.

Don't get too hung up about pulp mills the days of the HR guy being the guarantor of jobs for footy palyers are over. Employing a CEO eh? must have some money

you are not aware of clubs like heathmere who 85% of their players working in the same workplace?

I don't know about Heathmere. The point I was trying to make is that the skills and attributes needed to land a job in a high tech industry such as a pulp mill represents do not include "able to play damn good footy" Worrying about things and events you can do nothing about is a waste of energy and just gnaws at your guts. Sure a pulp mill would have been good for the town but I'd bet that most of the employees would have come from Portland. With that thought I believe that it is 25k's both ways!

I hesitate to give any advice but if I was Heywood I'd be focusing on and leveraging those assets I can do something about. Good facilities, nice little town, good support from council etc, etc.

I don't know about Heathmere. The point I was trying to make is that the skills and attributes needed to land a job in a high tech industry such as a pulp mill represents do not include "able to play damn good footy" Worrying about things and events you can do nothing about is a waste of energy and just gnaws at your guts. Sure a pulp mill would have been good for the town but I'd bet that most of the employees would have come from Portland. With that thought I believe that it is 25k's both ways!

I hesitate to give any advice but if I was Heywood I'd be focusing on and leveraging those assets I can do something about. Good facilities, nice little town, good support from council etc, etc.

yep you are right there, i take your point mate. but i think heywood needs numbers just as much a quality players/committed players. they had problems with sheppard last year coming from adelaide and wasnt committed to play every game, young quality players that would go on trips every 3rd weekend and players like bell who i think was suspended on 3 different times last year and missed a game from a incident from the pervious year. if the club had numbers and a couple of quality committed players then their training and game day performances would improve, but i guess that could be said about the millicents and west gambiers as well.

Mate if your on the ball Heywood are in some serious trouble. How are they going to field a Senior and Reserves team? A place like Heywood needs numbers as well as quality. With Portland close by and Southwest League teams in Heathmere, Westerns, Tyrendarra all close by where are they going to replace those leaving from. I hope Ransom's got some connections to draw on.