Western Region FL - Division One - Part 2

Your point is???

How was your coaching stint???
I will always be a colts person, best for everyone i stepped away.
The club needed a change, the players needed a change and so did i.
I still help out when and where i can, and the change is starting to pay off.
The new coach has got some good quality kids into the side and i think the whole team will get better in the second half of the year. Had some quality missing today, a great win for the boys.
Where are you playing? Heard your at APW? How is ronny treating you? I couldnt coach pigs to be dirty champ hahaha so thats why I just eat hotdogs.:thumbsu:

Agree it was ordinary, does nothing for the reputation of the comp when things like that happen. But you know the funny part, it happened halfway through the last qtr, so Spotty then put McGhie and Jensen into their forward line around St Albans #8. You've never seen a bloke so scared in all your life, he did his best not to go near the ball for the rest of the game in fear of retaliation!!

so st albans #8 hit keenan for all we know keenan could of hit his opponent first so he was just giving a cheap one back. not great for the league at all when we are more often talking bout hits behind play an not good football being played.

Saw a pretty ordinary performance where Mark Keenan was king hit behind play by no 8 from St Albans requiring him to leave the ground and later get stitches.
Ironic part is the president of St Albans is a member of the family and who has been chasing him for years again approached him offering money and invited him to stay back for a chat. At the Saints presentation the coward who king hit him was awarded their best player award. Strange given Mark kicked 4 goals and was nominated as Spotty's 2nd best player on the WRFL website.
Game played with little malice and Spotty winning by about 100 points - gutless effort and requires enquiry by league as umpires didn't see behind play incident.
No provocation involved in incident no 8 obviously couldn't handle exhuberant attitude of Keenan.

You are absolutely kidding yourself if you think that there was no provocation. Open up that second eye of yours and you will see Keenan throws cheap shot after cheap shot all day!

That wasnt the only interesting thing that happened for the day. Water Boy number 2 for Altona was a strange sight. Spent half of the game on his mobile phone to the bench and relaying instructions to players?

When the umpires were notified they said that they would address it if they saw it happen again. Ive seen alot in footy over the years but never seen that tactic used before.

i doubt he was relaying messages via mobile phone... its park footy not the NFL. he was probably on the blower to his mates telling them to get down and watch a not bad game of footy :)

It's not a big issue to me (Just thought it was interesting) but there was no doubt what he was doing.

Also interesting to see that Altona had the match taped. I know there are a few clubs that do this so that they can review the game but I understand that this was a one off for Altona. Not sure why they chose this game.

It's not a big issue to me (Just thought it was interesting) but there was no doubt what he was doing.

Also interesting to see that Altona had the match taped. I know there are a few clubs that do this so that they can review the game but I understand that this was a one off for Altona. Not sure why they chose this game.

Well if they taped the game, surely they can review it to make
sure the scores were right.....

Haha relaying messages to the players via the bench? Haha not too sure about that one mate, probably drawing too much into that to be honest. We didn't have enough people wanting to run water so chances are he didn't want to do it so he got on the blower, I'd suggest that is a more likely conclusion to draw, I didn't even notice.

Highly unlikely Crackers would give one first - doesn't throw punches, just gets in the opposition's heads by gobbing off. This doesn't warrant getting king hit behind play.

saw the saints v spotty game yesterday, n thought it was about time 1 of you spotty blokes got a little of your own medicine.... several occassions i saw foul play behind play by a few spotty players so mayb u blokes should look in ur own backyard before yous cry foul.. is there any need 2 mention how clean jensen plays or???

saw the saints v spotty game yesterday, n thought it was about time 1 of you spotty blokes got a little of your own medicine.... several occassions i saw foul play behind play by a few spotty players so mayb u blokes should look in ur own backyard before yous cry foul.. is there any need 2 mention how clean jensen plays or???[/qu

Give me a spell mate ive played in the WRFL my whole life been reported twice and missed 6 games........ im real clean!!!

As for what happened with Crackers, when the ball is at the other end of the ground and your spilt open from behind i think some1(number8) has a case to answer.

Crackers cops heaps and doz it with a smile and in the end goz back and jags a bag full, so for any1 to say he gives out cheap shots all day, you must be watching the wrong game or just hate that the bloke is a gun, the comp is all the better for him to be back playing for the S.F.C.

Albion are definitely struggling. i heard they lost 2 of the 4 quarters to west and were down at quarter time!? any truth to this roosters?? if so the 2 quarters albion won must have been massive.. good effort by the roosters if so.

Roosters were up at quarter time west 1st to ball and lots of tackles 2nd quarter albion kicked 12 to nil Very dissapointing west.The 3rd quarter albion won 6 goals to 4 then kicked away 5goals to nil last quarter Half a game from west still not good enough but good signs for west for this weeks game against Glenorden Phillpot and Bloomfield standouts also ruckman Ali battled all day Wests midfield was on top for 2 quarters Bonnici and the peakes boys were cut out of game

Sounds dumb when you lose by over 100 points but the young guys played real well in 3 of the quarters, the tackling and smothering were great but Philpot just stood there with his hands up we didn't have anyone that would have been within 6 inches of his height.

Number 12 for Albion was sensational but i don't know his name.

Roosters - Think you will find 12 is Bloomfield.

Ray - To say you are clean is a load of crap, the worst thing is you usually target kids half your size.
Will be interesting on the return leg Spotty v St Albans with No8#

Good Round coming up;
Albion v Colts
Hoppers v Altona
Heights v St Albans
Sunshine v Spotty
West v Glenorden

Will be no blowouts IMO:thumbsu:

so st albans #8 hit keenan for all we know keenan could of hit his opponent first so he was just giving a cheap one back. not great for the league at all when we are more often talking bout hits behind play an not good football being played.

not sure but reckon the stalbans player may have given in to peer group pressure, he had a couple of heros telling him to bout the fat pig from early in the first quarter these heros actually walked end to end to continue the request.

on another note how the coaching has changed at the saints, last year it was when you tackle you have to ram the heads into the ground at every oppurtunity this year it was just run through em at every oppurtunity,

also nice brave spray from the saints coaches box at the young boundary umpire after making an error early in the game, hate to see the spray the players copped for the mistakes they made.

and people wonder why clubs are struggling

Has anyone heard anything about the new coach at north footscray?I have heard he is from up albury/wodonga way. I see they have won all their games and are sitting pretty on top of the ladder. I know they have a young side this year, havent heard much at all.

Looks they did mate! Check the website and Altona have the points!!!!

Altona always had the points. The website was incorrect and has now been fixed. The umpires on the day confirmed that Altona had won by a point and that if we beleived that the rules had been broken or not followed we were entitled to put in a protest.

Will you be protesting the result or are satisfied the correct result is Altona are the winners of the game:confused:

Went down to the "Funky" Colin Miller oval over the weekend, expecting to see decent a game between the dragons & vikings. Instead I saw what should be used as an advertisement as to why local footy offers more to its constituants than other brand of footy going around.

An intense effort displayed from both sides, both sides playing with injuries, both sides looked up for a real arm wrestle. Saw a hardness in the vikings i haven't seen before, a real resilience, that could only bode well for Altona as the year wears on. The heighters played with a discipline that was unfamiliar, and were unlucky at the end of the day not get anything out of the game.

Looks they did mate! Check the website and Altona have the points!!!!

I don't think that one's quite come to rest yet. Direct quote from s30.1 of the WRFL rules and regs: "if there is a dispute then the goal umpires scores be final"

I'm not suggesting that the goal umpires were right or that they were wrong when they called the draw, because I honestly don't know, but the rules seem pretty clear.

And what sounds more likely to the unbiased members of this forum, honestly:
1 - Two goal umpires, whose primary job it is to keep score, walked to the centre of the ground having made the exact same scoring error at the same time?
2 - Someone on the sidelines missed a point somewhere along the way?

I would be very interested to hear what rule the league is refering to if they suggest that the goal umpires can be overrulled from the side lines. As far as video review goes, well that's worthless in this situation for anything but people's pride. If goal umpires' errors were being fixed up on the day, then the 'goal' that smashed into the post (be honest, even the Altona boys saw and heard it) would have to be disallowed and the question at the end of the game would have been 'did Altona lose by four or five points?'

Not sour grapes, I'm just suggesting that if one potential umpiring error can be overrulled on review, then you need to start considering all the things they got wrong on the day and where do you draw the line?

But whatever the official results say when the dust settles, it was a great game.
:cool:

Will you be protesting the result or are satisfied the correct result is Altona are the winners of the game:confused:

To be honest I am not sure what the correct result is. Here are the facts:

Scoreboard showed Altona won by 2 points.

Goal Umpire at one end tells spectators behind the goals that the scoreboard is wrong and the game is tied (with about 30 seconds to go).

No further scores and the siren goes.

After I come back from shaking hands with Eames I am told that the scores may have been wrong and the goal umpires are still in the middle of the ground checking their cards.

Goal umpires go over to the scoreboard and get the scores changed to 105 each and wave the flags to signal all clear.

As they are walking off I ask what happend and they said that the scoreboard was wrong but they have checked the cards and the match is a draw.

2 minutes later Eames comes back out and lets me know that the umpires have recounted the cards and are now saying that Altona have won by 1 point.

I go in to speak to the umpires and am told that when they were in the middle BOTH of the goal umpires added up their cards incorrectly. When they got back to the rooms they re checked and realised that some how they had both made the exact same adding mistake and that now both cards were showing that Altona had won by a point.

I tried to say that the waving of the flags at the scoreboard was the official all clear but was told that "that means nothing except that the scoreboard is correct" (which I thought proved my point???)

In the end I was told that Altona had won and if we were not happy we could protest.

We lodged a protest and as far as I am aware have been told BAD LUCK the scores stand so we are now looking at our options.

To be honest I am not sure what the correct result is. Here are the facts:

Scoreboard showed Altona won by 2 points.

Goal Umpire at one end tells spectators behind the goals that the scoreboard is wrong and the game is tied (with about 30 seconds to go).

No further scores and the siren goes.

After I come back from shaking hands with Eames I am told that the scores may have been wrong and the goal umpires are still in the middle of the ground checking their cards.

Goal umpires go over to the scoreboard and get the scores changed to 105 each and wave the flags to signal all clear.

As they are walking off I ask what happend and they said that the scoreboard was wrong but they have checked the cards and the match is a draw.

2 minutes later Eames comes back out and lets me know that the umpires have recounted the cards and are now saying that Altona have won by 1 point.

I go in to speak to the umpires and am told that when they were in the middle BOTH of the goal umpires added up their cards incorrectly. When they got back to the rooms they re checked and realised that some how they had both made the exact same adding mistake and that now both cards were showing that Altona had won by a point.

I tried to say that the waving of the flags at the scoreboard was the official all clear but was told that "that means nothing except that the scoreboard is correct" (which I thought proved my point???)

In the end I was told that Altona had won and if we were not happy we could protest.

We lodged a protest and as far as I am aware have been told BAD LUCK the scores stand so we are now looking at our options.

As far as i was aware if the goal umpires wave their flags that is the final result. If that is the ruling in the WRFL rules then I'm not sure how it can be changed. For each rule in the WRFL there always seems to be a get out clause. Good luck GB50, if the WRFL say bad luck then I can't see it being changed they wont want to be seen making a mistake. Will be very interesting to see the out come of this.