Western Region FL - Division One - Part 2

No need to make stuff up mate. Nick was on the bench when the scuffle started and still there when the siren went.

It was a very tough physical game and there were plenty of big hits and a few scuffles and it was good to see the umpires handle the physical side of the game really well.

It is too simplistic to blame fitness on the loss as there are a number of reason why we didnt win. One being that the Colts were just too good on the day.

Rock wasnt in the best players for Colts IMO but the 3 goals he kicked were all at vital stages and he played a big part in keeping them in the game. Last season he looked like a 40 year old man but I reckon he is getting around like a 30 year old now :D

How much do i owe you for that??
It's not recommended given me a postive comment!!

I was able to watch again today and in the 1st qtr i was thinking gee how good is Altona and all the talk coming out of this place over the last couple of months is right on the money, they moved the ball really well and had heaps of drive of there half back line, skill and pace to burn scores were even at the break............. thats where it stoped and SFC went to another gear and you could say the game was over by half time. Talking to some Altona people i am told they had alot out which is always going to hurt a team which is on the rise. If they could put 4 qtrs of footy 2gether like there 1st they would be very hard to beat at any ground at any time of the year. They will cause some upsets this year and they are a big chance for 5th spot!

Best players for spotty Lewis,McGhie,Sinnott,Keenan

I would have to agree with you on this one Ray, Altona started off pretty well and we were a little wayward moving the ball into the forward line but once we put the pressure on we were able to kick clear and had the game under control a long way out. They look like they have a good group of kids together but probably lacked some big guys up forward to at least be a target for them.

Happy with Molan's return to the senior team, a little scratchy to start off with but moved well by the end of the game and will only get better from here.

St Alban's are the giant killers at the moment, has everyone written them off too early in the year??? I guess we will have to wait and see what the rest of the year holds for them....

I would have to agree with you on this one Ray, Altona started off pretty well and we were a little wayward moving the ball into the forward line but once we put the pressure on we were able to kick clear and had the game under control a long way out. They look like they have a good group of kids together but probably lacked some big guys up forward to at least be a target for them.

Happy with Molan's return to the senior team, a little scratchy to start off with but moved well by the end of the game and will only get better from here.

St Alban's are the giant killers at the moment, has everyone written them off too early in the year??? I guess we will have to wait and see what the rest of the year holds for them....

Let's be honest for 1 minute Spotty are absolute morals for 4 in a row.
You guys are that far ahead of the rest, it would take a monumental disaster or a lot of bad luck to not get your 4th premiership in a row.
If the bookies were betting on the wrfl Spotswood would be paying $1.10, you know it and so does the rest of the wrfl!!

Let's be honest for 1 minute Spotty are absolute morals for 4 in a row.
You guys are that far ahead of the rest, it would take a monumental disaster or a lot of bad luck to not get your 4th premiership in a row.
If the bookies were betting on the wrfl Spotswood would be paying $1.10, you know it and so does the rest of the wrfl!!

Anything can happen in footy though Rock, it doesn't matter what happens during the year it all comes down to the last day!

If we play the way we did against Sunshine in the finals we will lose in straight sets!

Anything can happen in footy though Rock, it doesn't matter what happens during the year it all comes down to the last day!

If we play the way we did against Sunshine in the finals we will lose in straight sets!

It sure does, as long as the umps don't send off 2 of your players you will be sweet.
Not bitter at all...lol

Just on send off's surely we have come a little bit further than not being able to replace players that are sent off.

In the edfl players are not sent off at all, i'm ok with the send off but we should be able to replace the player.

Just on send off's surely we have come a little bit further than not being able to replace players that are sent off.

In the edfl players are not sent off at all, i'm ok with the send off but we should be able to replace the player.

makes for more of a deterrent if a send off disadvantages the team not just the player. do any sports with send-offs allow the player to be replaced?

How much do i owe you for that??
It's not recommended given me a postive comment!!

Rock, a good mate of mine is being chased by airport west to play out of the square obviously to replace your good self. The man in question and a few others have questioned what sort of club airport west is and if they make good on promises they give players. What advice can you give to me to pass onto this bloke?? You would probably be in the best position to answer such a question.

I can tell you this honestly, they are a fantasic club, they are run very well in all department. Great football management, first class facilities, great training staff and are very well coached.
Also the players were all very welcoming.
I would be happy to return there one day.
They treated me first class and even give me some money in advance.
Not much more they could have done to be honest.
I wish i could have given them more!!

It sure does, as long as the umps don't send off 2 of your players you will be sweet.
Not bitter at all...lol

Players are well aware of the rules and know that their team will be a man down if they do something silly. Its a team game, everyone has to be responsible for each other on the field.
Most send offs I have seen are warranted so I have no issue with players not being replaced. The solution is simple, don't get sent off and your team plays with 18 on the ground.
We can site occasions when Umps have got it wrong until we are blue in the face but although I hate saying this, they get it right most of the time. Going to spew up now:(...haha

Players are well aware of the rules and know that their team will be a man down if they do something silly. Its a team game, everyone has to be responsible for each other on the field.
Most send offs I have seen are warranted so I have no issue with players not being replaced. The solution is simple, don't get sent off and your team plays with 18 on the ground.
We can site occasions when Umps have got it wrong until we are blue in the face but although I hate saying this, they get it right most of the time. Going to spew up now:(...haha

FILO, you more than anyone here makes the most sense on here, although this time i strongly disagree with you.

It's alot difficult to see from the side lines, harder to judge most of the time.
I believe how ever most are over reactions, if your get reported for tripping or a late high tackle, your sent off. Go to tribunal and then cleared.
In the heat of battle and with decisions made in a split second, most send off's are an over reaction.
If a player is king hit or even blantly just punched in the face, send them off, even for the game but for so many minor indiscretions send off's are not warranted.
If the league wants to continue with them i just think it's an idea to be able to replace them. Not very fair that a team can get such a unfair advantage, especially if the ump has made a mistake in the first place.
Which humans do....The umps are human right??

Yes Sunshine were very, very lucky to win the game as they were fortunate enough to kick more goals and Spotswood kicked less, so as Rock said everyone should just give up now. It is Round 8 little fella and sometimes things do not go your way:eek:

Rock if Spotty are $1.10 then what are the rest of the odds for other teams?
  • Colts ? (You will not offer)
  • Kangas
  • Cats
  • Vikings
  • Saints
  • Hoppers
No-one else can make it!

FILO, you more than anyone here makes the most sense on here, although this time i strongly disagree with you.

It's alot difficult to see from the side lines, harder to judge most of the time.
I believe how ever most are over reactions, if your get reported for tripping or a late high tackle, your sent off. Go to tribunal and then cleared.
In the heat of battle and with decisions made in a split second, most send off's are an over reaction.
If a player is king hit or even blantly just punched in the face, send them off, even for the game but for so many minor indiscretions send off's are not warranted.
If the league wants to continue with them i just think it's an idea to be able to replace them. Not very fair that a team can get such a unfair advantage, especially if the ump has made a mistake in the first place.
Which humans do....The umps are human right??

That goal umpire who called Rocca's goal a point in the 2002 GF was only subhuman mate. haha!

I hear ya about the minor incidents and then getting off but the king hits, punches, snipes and all of that need heavy punishment for the individual and a nice message to the clubs to discourage such actions. If it means one less on the ground, then so be it.
I think from this, my position is..........review what is a send off offence but keep the non replacement policy.

A somewhat related question for you. 40 metres off the ball. Player A walks up to Player B and snipes him. He gets sent off and takes two weeks. Fair punishment?

That goal umpire who called Rocca's goal a point in the 2002 GF was only subhuman mate. haha!

I hear ya about the minor incidents and then getting off but the king hits, punches, snipes and all of that need heavy punishment for the individual and a nice message to the clubs to discourage such actions. If it means one less on the ground, then so be it.
I think from this, my position is..........review what is a send off offence but keep the non replacement policy.

A somewhat related question for you. 40 metres off the ball. Player A walks up to Player B and snipes him. He gets sent off and takes two weeks. Fair punishment?

Of course not but if the incident is that bad the umpire will not allow the player to take the automatic 2 wks.

I may be wrong but in the A grade when have any of the incidents been that dirty? None that i can recall.

I'm happy for there to be a send off but if it's so bad make it for the game and allow the player to be replaced, other wise the umps just throw it around with out much thought.
Get rid of it for finals games.

Yes Sunshine were very, very lucky to win the game as they were fortunate enough to kick more goals and Spotswood kicked less, so as Rock said everyone should just give up now. It is Round 8 little fella and sometimes things do not go your way:eek:

Rock if Spotty are $1.10 then what are the rest of the odds for other teams?
  • Colts ? (You will not offer)
  • Kangas
  • Cats
  • Vikings
  • Saints
  • Hoppers
No-one else can make it!

Kangas $12...likely challenger
cats$15...to inconsistent
saints$25..lack some real quality, also inconsistent..improving though
hoppers$35..no depth and rely on to few
vikings$50..lack key talls fwd & back, still lack experience.

COLTS????

Of course not but if the incident is that bad the umpire will not allow the player to take the automatic 2 wks.

I may be wrong but in the A grade when have any of the incidents been that dirty? None that i can recall.

I'm happy for there to be a send off but if it's so bad make it for the game and allow the player to be replaced, other wise the umps just throw it around with out much thought.
Get rid of it for finals games.

I can see your point about the replacement but the closest thing you'll get to it is separating the offenses into replaceable and non replaceable send offs. What a NIGHTMARE!!! Imagine the confusion.:eek:

Have seen a couple of 'incidents that dirty' recently (last 3 seasons), one should have netted a month's holiday but the two weeks was offered. Couldn't believe it. I don't care if the felled player gets up and plays the rest of the game, it's an act that deserves more than two and maybe as you say, the whole game off the ground.

The AFL 'careless' acts stuff is filtering down so high tackles will be in the gun more than ever. Don't think send offs and non replacement will be reviewed because it will be looked at as the league going soft.

I can see your point about the replacement but the closest thing you'll get to it is separating the offenses into replaceable and non replaceable send offs. What a NIGHTMARE!!! Imagine the confusion.:eek:

Have seen a couple of 'incidents that dirty' recently (last 3 seasons), one should have netted a month's holiday but the two weeks was offered. Couldn't believe it. I don't care if the felled player gets up and plays the rest of the game, it's an act that deserves more than two and maybe as you say, the whole game off the ground.

The AFL 'careless' acts stuff is filtering down so high tackles will be in the gun more than ever. Don't think send offs and non replacement will be reviewed because it will be looked at as the league going soft.

There are good points for both sides of the argument, but in the end the send off rule still remain and will continue to act as a deterrant. But as a league there are things that can be introduced to improve the safety and standard of the league. Other leagues have brought in mandatory videoing of all games, to reduce behind the play incidents, Ammos are encouraging players who have been hit (when considered outside the rules and ethics of the game) to pursue the matter legally. I think if stuff happens behind play, then the player and the team should be penalised both with suspension and playing short. If it happens in play, and no one is injured, keep them out on the field.

I can tell you this honestly, they are a fantastic club, they are run very well in all department. Great football management, first class facilities, great training staff and are very well coached.
Also the players were all very welcoming.
I would be happy to return there one day.
They treated me first class and even give me some money in advance.
Not much more they could have done to be honest.
I wish i could have given them more!!

Good to read your back home where you belong Rock.

Give me a buzz when your free:thumbsu:

Maybe the send off rule could be implied in a different way. Say a player is hit behind play and has to leave the ground because of it then the offender should be sent off until the injured player can return. In other words the offender will be sent of until the injured player can return.
This will stop the umpires over reacting to minor incidents that dont deserve a send off and im sure that no team would want to play short for a game. This sounds a little different but feel it has some merit.

That is fine Buddha but how far do you take it? for example if a player of lesser ability hits another player who is a gun, and both players are off and able to be replaced, he has done a job for his team as he has taken a key player out of the game. I think the rule is fine at the moment, just like most things umpires, interpretation and education might be lacking in certain areas

The injured player could be replaced but the offender wouldnt so tell me what team would want to play with 17 players against 18...

Well i shouldn't even answer this but as usual i can't leave it alone.
Short answer is NO....
I really liked being coached by Ron, very passionate about footy and puts alot of work into his role. I definately learned a few things from him and we are in contact still.
Airport West and the people involved were all very good to me, especially Ron, the reason's i left were personal , and due to an injury that i thought would hamper me for the year but after a cortisone injection last week that seems to be ok.
Looking forward to playing the year out at colts either in the seniors or the reserves just happy to be around good mates & family at a difficult time.

They won't want you back after telling them your body was no good/ need rest. Just face it is was to hard against the better b grade clubs & to say they owe you money. You should give what you took back. When you signed, the club was committed to your payments. Very hard to go out & replace players that you think where there for the whole year signed & budgeted for. Just face it back where you belong. As for your previous posts hope to get APW to A grade, you went a long way to making sure that doesn't happen 2010.

I won't be able to sleep tonite with what you think....

Send me your details and i'll personaly call you with ALL the reason's i moved on, not that i need to.
Just for you though i speak with The coach of APW once or twice a week and email each other constantly, i'm also in contact with the football manager. They are ok with the situation so i guess you need to worry about yourself and not what is going on in my life!!

Put your head back in the sand peanut, to say that it was to hard against the better b grade clubs is laughable. Rock I saw kicked a bag and had a few good games during his short b grade stint something that he couldn't do last year! Whilst not being in his prime I doubt it he would conform to your thought that it was to hard.

Silly post altogether.