Western Region FL - Division One - Part 2

No it doesnt, but I was only trying to highlight that supporters from a club which has not been succesfull if even competitive at the top level it could be understood some supporters are getting excited, and especially someone with some form of history wth the club may actually undertand those feelings.
I dont think the players and all involved in the club are hanging thier hat on coming fifth. I do however feel if the Vikings make finals and the weather warms up a few other sides should not be as smug as you seem.

Your a massive dill mate never was i bagging the Vikings or being smug ill say it again like i have over the 6mths AFC is the only club in the last 3 years who have put a plan in place to build there senior side up from the juniors and yes its working! Good luck to them but stupid comments will not help them at all......

Disagee - There are a lot of clubs playing kids which is great, not just Altona but they are definetly the big improver with there kids. It is very important that clubs do due to most WRFL clubs not having the coin to compete with other comps.

The COLTS will need to do something special to make it now (Will need to win every game) but who will miss out???
Altona & Albion have tougher draws then the Saints & Hoppers. This week will be massive with;

Spotty v Kangas (Top 2)
Altona v Hoppers
Colts v Albion
Saints v Heights
& cellar dwellers West v Glenorden

Good Luck:thumbsu:

Razor,as a someone who used to where purple and gold along with a few other SFC premiership players a bit of humility would go a long way, even if the comments were over the top. Its been a long time since Altona were even competitive in Div 1 and it seems a few are getting a few paces ahead of themselves. Whilst enthusiasm is high I am sure internally they know finals are not gauranteed at this stage but by this time next Saturday they may be able to get excited.

must have been a reason why such talented players got out of altona over the years,any ideas.
icon5.gif

I have seen Altona twice this season now and had a good look at them yesterday. I am not sure if they will make finals as it is so close and they have to play 5 of the top 7 teams in the run home.

IMO if they do make it they wont have any impact as at this stage of their developement their players do not have what it takes to win finals games. I would think that there only chance of winning a final would be on a dry day on a big ground against Albion who they could be for speed IF they could play the game on their terms.

In saying that I think if Altona did make the finals the club would see the year as a success and are in a great position to build on that over the next few years.

I have seen Altona twice this season now and had a good look at them yesterday. I am not sure if they will make finals as it is so close and they have to play 5 of the top 7 teams in the run home.

IMO if they do make it they wont have any impact as at this stage of their developement their players do not have what it takes to win finals games. I would think that there only chance of winning a final would be on a dry day on a big ground against Albion who they could be for speed IF they could play the game on their terms.

In saying that I think if Altona did make the finals the club would see the year as a success and are in a great position to build on that over the next few years.

Had to have a laugh at the group of Altona supporters yesterday that spent the whole 2nd half abusing Sunny Heights players only to dissapear up there own arse's as soon as the final siren finished:p

I wasnt going to mention it on here but now that its out there.... was pretty disapointed with the abuse that we received from the crowd. I understand that our crowd can also get feral on occassions and it is hard to control. I would have thought that encouraging their own players and supporting their team would have been the way to go rather than abusing the opposition:thumbsdown:

Was also very ammusing to hear Altona supporters call Heights players WEAK.

I should also add that it was the Altona past players day yesterday so I am fairly sure that most of the crap was coming from the once a year supporters rather than the tru Altona people.

you cant make these comments......dont think you have the credentials to do so.......im pretty sure their in the top 3 at this point in time so good luck to them.....after all they only beat sunny heights......:rolleyes:

I wasnt going to mention it on here but now that its out there.... was pretty disapointed with the abuse that we received from the crowd. I understand that our crowd can also get feral on occassions and it is hard to control. I would have thought that encouraging their own players and supporting their team would have been the way to go rather than abusing the opposition:thumbsdown:

I should also add that it was the Altona past players day yesterday so I am fairly sure that most of the crap was coming from the once a year supporters rather than the tru Altona people.

There would've been about 100 people at the game yesterday, would hate to see the crowd for a normal day. Went to Spotty for the 1st half and there woulda been about 40 people in the crowd. Maybe the weather kept a few away??

There's nothing wrong with a bit of banter in the crowd but the shit coming outta these blokes mouths was ordinary.

5 games to go how much will the ladder change IMO it will look like this
Spotty
Sunshine
Albion
Hoppers Crossing
St Albans
Altona
Port Colts
Sunshine Heights
Glenorden
West Footscray

Keenan for Gibson Medal
McGhie for Preist
Spotty for Premiership

interesting to see Strategic planning people of the League have put up an idea in having an 8 team division 1 in the future.

How would this work bottom two go down and premier of division 2 stay down again.....
(Deer Park to go Back to Back)

There would've been about 100 people at the game yesterday, would hate to see the crowd for a normal day. Went to Spotty for the 1st half and there woulda been about 40 people in the crowd. Maybe the weather kept a few away??

There's nothing wrong with a bit of banter in the crowd but the shit coming outta these blokes mouths was ordinary.

Let's be honest here there is banter at every game. Think the way a player deals with it means more. If u retaliate the crowd has won. There was a fair bit coming from the heights bench yesterday and didn't see a player respond.

As far as height being soft I don't think any altona player would have said that. We as players know we are always in for a physical contest againts them. They would be in the top 2-3 more physical teams in the comp but they do get a little carried away sometimes.

Also the players aren't getting carried away. As yet we are not certian of finals and need to prove ourselves as a team againt more quality sides. We knowwhere we stand and are looking forward to the challenge. I believe it's all good for the comp IMO.

Disappointed with the abuse you blokes copped?? Gee how precious are we becoming these days?? I remember going back 12 months ago playing at Heights and copping some of the most filthiest sprays from your supporters and being called soft after being smashed into that concrete guttering along your boundary. You have 0 right to be getting on your high horse regarding treatment from the crowd, the heights people give more on most occasions than anyother club.

So past players aren't true altona people? Are you a past player pal?

Let's be honest here there is banter at every game. Think the way a player deals with it means more. If u retaliate the crowd has won. There was a fair bit coming from the heights bench yesterday and didn't see a player respond.

As far as height being soft I don't think any altona player would have said that. We as players know we are always in for a physical contest againts them. They would be in the top 2-3 more physical teams in the comp but they do get a little carried away sometimes.

Also the players aren't getting carried away. As yet we are not certian of finals and need to prove ourselves as a team againt more quality sides. We knowwhere we stand and are looking forward to the challenge. I believe it's all good for the comp IMO.

Banter is a great part of footy when its funny and witty, but its not good when the only thing these guys could come up with the stuff they did. Was a shame to see number 9 get sucked in coz honestly i thought he was one of heights better players in the 2nd half. Also that goal the Altona player kicked in the last was a cracker. Brilliant one handed pick up on the boundary then 3 bounces and goal great stuff:thumbsu:

Obviously a shit day for footy yesterday but id love to come back down later this year and have a look at Spotty. It was like boys vs men against St Albans and if the conditions weren't so bad, they would've been 15 goals up at half time yesterday.

Your a massive dill mate never was i bagging the Vikings or being smug ill say it again like i have over the 6mths AFC is the only club in the last 3 years who have put a plan in place to build there senior side up from the juniors and yes its working! Good luck to them but stupid comments will not help them at all......

Where have I said YOU were bagging Altona or YOU were being smug. You call me a dill but you obviously have a real chip on your shoulder as my comments were about others not you.

Wouldn't take it too serious, or personal i don't think it was intended. Seems to be a fair bit of talk on altona and probably for good reason, however there last 4 wins have been over west, glenordan, st albans and heights. i agree alot of hard work has been done and they are a much improved side but the next 5 weeks are the ones that people are looking at. Lets firstly see if altona can beat a hoppers, kangas, albion, spotty and colts, the last 2 away from home and make the finals. if they can win at least 3 of them then they are a finals chance. people talking premierships....lets slow that talk up at the moment

don't get me wrong either i'm so altona i live at the train station!!!!

Too many good posts to quote.

On Altona. No use giving an absolute prediction on future years because no one knows what's going to happen with player movements and form. Saying that they are going to be very, very dangerous next year, is pretty dangerous in itself. Week by week is a bit safer with a young side who need to get near or beat the benchmark. You'd think people would keep a lid on it after the predictions of Albion's greatness.

Feral Behavior of crowd. Nothing new but everyone has a right to express disappointment regardless of the behavior of their own crowd. Coaches and players have no control of supporter behavior so can't be held responsible. The 'what about your lot?' argument doesn't cut it.

Id like to know how Jeremy Jose went in the ruck against McGhie??

It was a good battle given the conditions but McGhie was one of our best players for the day, he is just a freak all around the ground!

Tough day out on the park for all with the howling breeze heading towards the avenue obviously giving the advantage to both teams for two quarters of the day. Interesting tactic used by St Albans in the first quarter to have two loose men in defence when they had the wind at their backs... everytime the ball went forward we had spare men repelling it back out and as a result we outscored them in the 1st qtr 3 goals to 1 and effectively the game was over at qtr time.

Seems that Altona are now the clear flag favourites. Go Vikings, it would appear that its just a matter of turning up now and going through the motions and the flag is yours.

Why would you believe anything written on here? We know that a flag is probably not there this year but we are making in roads. The spruiking from others is done in fun and taken with a grain of salt. You would be completly disillusional to believe it. Spotty clear favourites. No-one within 10goals IMO.

Got that part right. Start planning for 2011 now because this season has been over for a while now.

13 games this year.... 52 qtrs. Spotty have only lost 5 qtrs (and drawn 1). The qtrs they have lost have been by 2, 5, 6, 6 and 23 points. That is as close to total domination as you could possibly get. (Yes I had a bit of spare time today)

Got that part right. Start planning for 2011 now because this season has been over for a while now.

13 games this year.... 52 qtrs. Spotty have only lost 5 qtrs (and drawn 1). The qtrs they have lost have been by 2, 5, 6, 6 and 23 points. That is as close to total domination as you could possibly get. (Yes I had a bit of spare time today)

C'mon enough talk about Altona
Can we get back to the REAL ISSUES of the WRFL like how is Big Bad Bustling J CLARK from Port Colts travelling? I hope the hips are OK.

Im really looking forward to this weeks match between Altona and $Hoppers$.

This game is huge for both clubs. We all know Hoppers only throw money around to get players and cant produce good quality footballers from thier juniors.

While the majority of Altona players are home grown stock. Coached the right way in a right atmosphere and now you see the results as they all make there mark on the WRFL.

I really hope Altona play to at least half of there potential because if they do they will smash $Hoppers$. Thus ending Hoppers chance at a top 3 finish and putting Altona one step closer to securing there own top 3 spot.

For the competions sake Im sure we all hope this happens proving to the rest of the league that the right path towards success is through your juniors and not throwing around pokie money to get players.

GO VIKINGS!