spot on about mitchell. Going to be an exciting year down at hoppers next year..Already a couple of new Coaches for Season 2011. Mitchell at Hoppers. Has he been appointed??
Kelly gone from Spotty - O'Keefe will be announced as Coach for 2011.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
spot on about mitchell. Going to be an exciting year down at hoppers next year..Already a couple of new Coaches for Season 2011. Mitchell at Hoppers. Has he been appointed??
Kelly gone from Spotty - O'Keefe will be announced as Coach for 2011.
Full of info!!
Well another great finish in a wrfl gf.
In the first half albion out played spotty all over the ground, i thought finncico, james stevens and bonnici were showing alot of energy and enthusiasm, haldane and manton controlled the spotty forwards also pearce and bloomfield looked very dangerous up fwd.
I think the cats lead by as much as 48 pts and if used the ball a litte better when in space could have been alot further in front at half time than 38pts.
In the 3rd quarter spotty lifted their intensity and attack on the footy and in my opinion 1 player lead this charge, C O'keefe was outstanding having a hand in 4 or 5 goals.
His run and dash was amazing but for me his decison making and skills were sublime. He is a freak at this level.
The last quarter was edge of your seat stuff with some great contest all over the ground, both sides were giving it their all.
Spotty got with 5 points after crackers started to take everything coming his way. He kicked a couple and spotty were peppering the goals.
In what looked like a fair bump from where i stood the umps interveined and sent manton off the ground, again in my opinion was clearly the best player on the ground.
Spotty now had massive momentum and 1 less player to deal with, the enevitable seemed they would run over the top, but the cats dug deep and threw everything the had and some how squeezed out a couple of goals to win against the most dominant team in the home and away season ever.
A great effort by the cat, congrats to harro and terry cooper and azza tymms.
Spotty are a great footy club from the juniors all the way up and are run terrific on and off field, i must say after their recent history against us it was enjoyable to watch them get done.
Speaking to a few people around the wrfl it seems alot agree the cockiness is something that beat them this year.
I recall back to when we played them in rd 10 and thinking about my conversation with 1 D.Mangan and he was so cocky and arrogant i told him how quick things can change and his arrogance may come back to bite him on the ass.....well maybe it did, in saying that after losing 3 in a row and then not being part of finals at all this year i would have preferred to be in another gf win or loose i'd much rather be in spotty's situation.
If it is Ben Kelly's last year well done on a great coaching career.
Also any chance the league can change the send off rule, either get rid of it or allow players to be replaced, umps having to much control over lt of the game, we all know that some ups, not all but some love the controversy and attention on themselves, they almost cost the cats the game!
Enjoy the off season.
spot on about mitchell. Going to be an exciting year down at hoppers next year..
Have heard that Hoppers are cashed up and ready to recruit hard for 2011 and that St Albans may be the same.
Can't wait for the silly season rumours to start flying around!!
Have heard that Hoppers are cashed up and ready to recruit hard for 2011 and that St Albans may be the same.
Can't wait for the silly season rumours to start flying around!!
just wondering every1s thoughts on team of the year???
Pretty ordinary when the 2010 premiers couldnt get any players into the midfield in team of year! Hewitt very stiff! Phillpot bit stiff also.. carried the ruck duties all year by himself in a premiership side! showed his class in finals showing up McGhie both times!
Interesting point. Spottswood had seven players in the side as well as the coach. Considering Albion's form after a slow start to the season one would of thought that they perhaps warranted a selection or two more.
Whilst I can appreciate that the side is based on a years performance, surely Harrison should have been Coach of the Year. He spanked the Spottswood's brains trust in both finals, didn't buckle when the heat was on him early (don't forget people had him cleaning out his locker on more than one occasion) and called in the expertise when he thought it was necessary.
Would anyone like to elaborate on the performances of the other Spottswood players who made the team.
So shouldn't then the expertise of A Rock then be named coach of the year. It was he who made all the moves not Harrison
can tell u now thats been just about the biggest emphasis since mitchell took over. big things for next yearThey should put alot of the time into the 18's that are moving up keeping them at the club
Ezard had terrible communication skills and really let Hoppers FC down last year
Team of the Year (right or wrong) is picked on Home & Away season so Ben Kelly deserves the honour.
Some comments supporting Albion have some merit, but again it is based on Home & Away and has to be close to the mark. This is further highlighted by only Bloomfield being a legitimate chance of winning the Priest from the Cattery, but Spotty could have three; McGhie (Will lead to halfway), O'Keefe and Lewis???
Harrison also opted to start Hewitt in the magoos at start of year going with so called guns, plus a couple of others who in the end really helped turn there season around???
This could be a really massive off season with recruits and player movements Hopefully clubs balance this with junior development.
Good job for Rock07. I would PM him if I was you. I reckon he would fit right in at the Ammos
Pretty ordinary when the 2010 premiers couldnt get any players into the midfield in team of year! Hewitt very stiff! Phillpot bit stiff also.. carried the ruck duties all year by himself in a premiership side! showed his class in finals showing up McGhie both times!
Harro the Albion coach here, thought I'd save my one and only post until now.
Firstly congratulations to my boys (seniors and reserves) on their premiership wins and commiserations to Spotswood in losing all grand finals they played in, I can only imagine how that must have felt. No doubt a great club coached by a gentleman in my opinion.
Thought I might dispel a few myths for all of you then you can go back to bagging each other's clubs again.
I'd like to thank the President and Committee for their unwavering support throughout the year, remember the supporters and sponsors may influence decisions made by a club but at no stage did I feel like I was under any pressure other than that I place on myself.
Every year you make some good recruiting decisions and some poor ones and we as a club were no different than anyone else in that department. Ultimately it is how you manage those decisions throughout the year that is important. Let me tell you not one player 'walked out' on our club, in every instance we agreed that neither club or player was good for each other and parted ways.
We knew we had a tough draw at the start of the year with Spotswood, Sunshine and Hoppers all in our first 4 games so it was a matter of survival and finding out a bit more about our list. Not having James Watts available until round 5 definitely hurt us and John Bell breaking down before the start of the season was a devastating blow. As for the post regarding Brad Hewat playing in the 2's round 1, Brad will tell you he wasn't fit at that stage to play seniors as he had a knee injury he was recovering from. He is a very good mate of mine, one of my favourite players and in my leadership group so try not to comment on things you know nothing about. To the boys credit we won enough games to hang in there and turned at the halfway mark 5 and 4.
There is no doubt the turning point for us was the Spotswood game away. We were embarrassed by the best team in the comp and we needed to make some changes, both personnel and game plan. With the Pekes leaving, Marcus Smith moved into the midfield and was close to our best player in the 2nd half of the year. We also introduced Todd Finko, a player who we had always wanted in the side but only wanted to play with his mates in the 18's. To the credit of the 18's coach, particularly considering they were top 2 on the ladder at that stage, we were able to convince him to play seniors and everyone saw the results.
At that point I called in a favour from an old friend who I thought could help. If your teams not fit enough, you get a strength and conditioning coach, if your team's forward line isn't functioning speak to a specialist forwards coach...we needed help in the midfield. Our midfield got smashed by the best midfield in the comp and I walked away from that game knowing that we could not beat Spotswood with what we had or how we played. Anthony Rock did a lot for the boys in a short amount of time giving us some basic fundamentals for stoppages and clearances and it clearly helped us. His role has been acknowledged by all in the club and we were very lucky to have him.
With regards to the comments about the coach of the year, I couldn't really care less. I'm 40 years old and have nothing to prove to anyone and certainly don't need my ego stroked so good luck to Ben Kelly, a very worthy selection but to suggest Rocky should have been coach of the year as some idiot did, tongue in cheek or not, is an insult to the rest of my support staff and one of the dumbest things I've read on here.
What I will say is that the premiership team should certainly have more than 3 representatives in the team of the year and I can tell you I used that as huge motivation to my midfield especially. I'm sure the selectors would like the benefit of the last 3 weeks to maybe make some changes.
In summary I wish the club all the best moving forward. My commitment was always only for 2 years and I am happy that we were able to win such an important premiership in the club's 50th year in the competition. The boys and I have had a sensational 4 days celebrations and they now have a place in Albion's history. They have brought great satisfaction to all the supporters, some that perhaps had wondered whether they would witness anohter Albion flag in their lifetime.
Our Grand Final side was made up of 10 home grown players, 8 kids aged 22 or under and only 5 players playing their first year with the club so I would think that stands us in pretty good stead. We also had another 8 kids 19 or under that tasted senior football this year.
I will be involved in the selection of the new coach so if there is anyone out there that is interested or knows someone that might be please let me know.
For all the baggers that had something smart to say about me personally throughout the year I'd like to thank you also as it only motivated me to greater success. In saying that, I'm always out and about over summer and it would be great to meet you face to face as opposed to hiding behind your handles....very brave!!
GO CATS!!
CLassy post Coach..............all the best in the future.....Harro the Albion coach here, thought I'd save my one and only post until now.
Firstly congratulations to my boys (seniors and reserves) on their premiership wins and commiserations to Spotswood in losing all grand finals they played in, I can only imagine how that must have felt. No doubt a great club coached by a gentleman in my opinion.
Thought I might dispel a few myths for all of you then you can go back to bagging each other's clubs again.
I'd like to thank the President and Committee for their unwavering support throughout the year, remember the supporters and sponsors may influence decisions made by a club but at no stage did I feel like I was under any pressure other than that I place on myself.
Every year you make some good recruiting decisions and some poor ones and we as a club were no different than anyone else in that department. Ultimately it is how you manage those decisions throughout the year that is important. Let me tell you not one player 'walked out' on our club, in every instance we agreed that neither club or player was good for each other and parted ways.
We knew we had a tough draw at the start of the year with Spotswood, Sunshine and Hoppers all in our first 4 games so it was a matter of survival and finding out a bit more about our list. Not having James Watts available until round 5 definitely hurt us and John Bell breaking down before the start of the season was a devastating blow. As for the post regarding Brad Hewat playing in the 2's round 1, Brad will tell you he wasn't fit at that stage to play seniors as he had a knee injury he was recovering from. He is a very good mate of mine, one of my favourite players and in my leadership group so try not to comment on things you know nothing about. To the boys credit we won enough games to hang in there and turned at the halfway mark 5 and 4.
There is no doubt the turning point for us was the Spotswood game away. We were embarrassed by the best team in the comp and we needed to make some changes, both personnel and game plan. With the Pekes leaving, Marcus Smith moved into the midfield and was close to our best player in the 2nd half of the year. We also introduced Todd Finko, a player who we had always wanted in the side but only wanted to play with his mates in the 18's. To the credit of the 18's coach, particularly considering they were top 2 on the ladder at that stage, we were able to convince him to play seniors and everyone saw the results.
At that point I called in a favour from an old friend who I thought could help. If your teams not fit enough, you get a strength and conditioning coach, if your team's forward line isn't functioning speak to a specialist forwards coach...we needed help in the midfield. Our midfield got smashed by the best midfield in the comp and I walked away from that game knowing that we could not beat Spotswood with what we had or how we played. Anthony Rock did a lot for the boys in a short amount of time giving us some basic fundamentals for stoppages and clearances and it clearly helped us. His role has been acknowledged by all in the club and we were very lucky to have him.
With regards to the comments about the coach of the year, I couldn't really care less. I'm 40 years old and have nothing to prove to anyone and certainly don't need my ego stroked so good luck to Ben Kelly, a very worthy selection but to suggest Rocky should have been coach of the year as some idiot did, tongue in cheek or not, is an insult to the rest of my support staff and one of the dumbest things I've read on here.
What I will say is that the premiership team should certainly have more than 3 representatives in the team of the year and I can tell you I used that as huge motivation to my midfield especially. I'm sure the selectors would like the benefit of the last 3 weeks to maybe make some changes.
In summary I wish the club all the best moving forward. My commitment was always only for 2 years and I am happy that we were able to win such an important premiership in the club's 50th year in the competition. The boys and I have had a sensational 4 days celebrations and they now have a place in Albion's history. They have brought great satisfaction to all the supporters, some that perhaps had wondered whether they would witness anohter Albion flag in their lifetime.
Our Grand Final side was made up of 10 home grown players, 8 kids aged 22 or under and only 5 players playing their first year with the club so I would think that stands us in pretty good stead. We also had another 8 kids 19 or under that tasted senior football this year.
I will be involved in the selection of the new coach so if there is anyone out there that is interested or knows someone that might be please let me know.
For all the baggers that had something smart to say about me personally throughout the year I'd like to thank you also as it only motivated me to greater success. In saying that, I'm always out and about over summer and it would be great to meet you face to face as opposed to hiding behind your handles....very brave!!
GO CATS!!
Nice work Harro!!
Where are you couching next year?
Team of the year was just Bullsh t no West or glenorden players i might be biased but there are some good players who had good years this year,some players picked in the team played crap or stuff all games its who u know who u play for not how u go