BEAZER

Jan 25, 2007
Altona
Beazer i agree with your post, how ever just on they way port colts start season's and our praccy match form, we always give a good account of ourselves in games against teams from other comps, winning against teams from the efl and edfl, not that it matters.
Also the fact you say we were slow starters in my time as coach we never lost more than 4 games a year and maybe lost 1 game early over the last few years but it has to do with the opposition you come up against and generally we played most top teams early. I know you were not having a dig it's just not accurate that colts were slow starters...

So how's your team travelling??? Finals

We are going ok. Back on top this week so hopefully we stay there. The grounds are bigger and better (although that means more running that Im not happy about). The top 4 teams would compete with all bar Spotty in the WRFL I reckon but she falls away after that. Having 13 in the comp has meant we have given out some decent hidings for weeks on end.

Re: Western Region FL - Division One - Part 2

Maybe the powers that be made a blunder in appointing a coach who had been driven out of his last club largely by the playing group just 12 games into a two year contract?

I'm not sure what criteria the Hoppers Crossing Football Club use when they employ people, but most jobs I have ever gone for my prospective employer does a significant amount of background work. You only have to google his name to read all about Noble Park's experience.

I'm all for giving people a second chance, but the rumblings in the last few posts seem to indicate the coach continues to make the same mistakes he made last year.

:thumbsu: Correct...amazing how so many "dud" coaches get a second/third opportunity to ply their wares. happens in every comp and even across comps. Ezard is the perfect example, but i'm sure there are many more.

how many dud coaches have 3 premierships in the bag??

[/b]if the wrfl moved to a 8 team div 1 and 8 team div 2 and started a 3rd division it would be to to facilate the projected growth within the the western region.
currently the 2 perfect 10 divisions does not allow for this growth.

the wrfl clubs at the start of this year at a open clubs forum identified the key issues they wanted the wrfl board and management to work on.

growth and retention.
evenness of divisions
umpires numbers
being 3 of these key issues.

moving to 3 divisions and setting key critera for particapation in these divisions is only 1 idea being thrown about at this time by a sub committee made up of club reps , board members and management of the wrfl if this goes ahead the time frame for this would be set by the clubs.
so i think you will find that this is being driven by the clubs.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/mixed-feelings-on-nfl-div-3/story-fn53klh2-1225893970712

just a link to an article written on the North Footy Leagues 3rd tier which was implemented just this year.

has a few presidents thoughts and what not.

Maybe i'll get a second chance some where to be a DUD again.....i did say maybe !!!

Just having a look at the ladder and the fixture for the last 4 games.

There is a few if's and but's obviously, i think altona will drop from 2nd to outside the top 5 this mite be a silly guess but i don't think they will win another game.
For hoppers to go past altona though they would have to beat st.albans at st.albans in rd 16.
Colts are still a chance also even though we are a fair bit behind, win our last 4 games then rely on other results, not an ideal way to make finals, so probably don't deserve it.

Spotty
Sunshine
Albion
Hoppers
St.albans
Colts
Altona.

If Altona do win 1 of their remaining games it will come down to percentage, a least there is some excitemen coming into the fnals.
As i have written earlier everyone is playing for second!!

There is a few if's and but's obviously, i think altona will drop from 2nd to outside the top 5 this mite be a silly guess but i don't think they will win another game.
For hoppers to go past altona though they would have to beat st.albans at st.albans in rd 16.
Colts are still a chance also even though we are a fair bit behind, win our last 4 games then rely on other results, not an ideal way to make finals, so probably don't deserve it.

Spotty
Sunshine
Albion
Hoppers
St.albans
Colts
Altona.

If Altona do win 1 of their remaining games it will come down to percentage, a least there is some excitemen coming into the fnals.
c'mon mate its altona.
and is sproule, matt sproule from melton centrals if he is he was a freak for werribee in the late 90's

My tips for this round..

Albion over St albans - Big bodies on small ground will be too much for a running St Albans team.

Hoppers over Glenorden - why cause they're vsing Glenorden.

Spotty over Sunny Heights - why cause its Spotty

Sunshine v Altona

Port over West - cause its west.

Spotty
Sunshine
Albion
Hoppers
St.albans
Colts
Altona.

Well done to Altona, i'm first to admit i was wrong...will definately play finals now....I'll be having a word with the sunshine coach....8.22 maybe he could hire me for a week of goal kicking..lol

Spotty
Sunshine
Albion
Hoppers
St.albans
Colts
Altona.

Altona now sit a game clear in second spot, and if they beat Albion this week at Altona, they will 100% finish in the top 3:eek::eek::eek:...
Fare effort for a young and upcoming team!

Well done to Altona, i'm first to admit i was wrong...will definately play finals now....I'll be having a word with the sunshine coach....8.22 maybe he could hire me for a week of goal kicking..lol

18 in any division or against team is a fare effort!!
But Sunshine didn't kick inaccurately, Altona would've have rushed 13/14 points.... Good tactic used by them, Sunshine never had a chance in the F50, because everytime it was there Altona was pushing it over the line and regaining possession:D

18 in any division or against team is a fare effort!!
But Sunshine didn't kick inaccurately, Altona would've have rushed 13/14 points.... Good tactic used by them, Sunshine never had a chance in the F50, because everytime it was there Altona was pushing it over the line and regaining possession:D
spot on bangles they rushed plenty but they ran the ball beautifully as well, there still a fair way off spotty but look out for albion i hate to admit it, but there on.

Roosters - I hear that Libba has hit the track? must be getting ready for the big game next week?

well said on the radio today.....no im not giving you a tap on the back........

but its kind of hard to comprehend when you state your club has improved in its depth and then you say with the lack of depth when you get a couple of injuries the guys you bring in arnt up to it(and yes no coach likes to blame injuries but you say this everytime your on the radio)i dont want to blame injuries blah blah blah....when somebody talks of depth id like to think they are talking about depth in the magoo's....please explain......they like to pump you up on the radio too......gee you've only won 2 games.... you have gone backwards imo......and yes you kicked 8 goals but still lost by plenty......see you blokes next year or the year after........:eek:

big game this week decides my cashola......go west!!!!!

well said on the radio today.....no im not giving you a tap on the back........

but its kind of hard to comprehend when you state your club has improved in its depth and then you say with the lack of depth when you get a couple of injuries the guys you bring in arnt up to it(and yes no coach likes to blame injuries but you say this everytime your on the radio)i dont want to blame injuries blah blah blah....when somebody talks of depth id like to think they are talking about depth in the magoo's....please explain......they like to pump you up on the radio too......gee you've only won 2 games.... you have gone backwards imo......and yes you kicked 8 goals but still lost by plenty......see you blokes next year or the year after........:eek:

big game this week decides my cashola......go west!!!!!

I'll say it again... one more time nice and slowly for you 3 teeth!!!

Our depth has improved from last season but it is still not where it needs to be. I dont blame injuries. We have the same injuries as every team in the comp. We fall down with depth which is something that is in our control (unlike injuries). To say I blamed injuries when I was on the radio is a lie.

It's a bit rich of you being from Deer park saying see ya next year!! You could have seen us this year but your club has no balls. While ur mob was running rings around the mighty Laverton today we were fronting up to the best team the comp has seen for a very long time. All this talk of Div 3 must get u blokes excited. You can drop down even lower and snag a few more flags.

We may have been smashed by Spotty today but we had a crack like we do every week. Ask anyone from Spotty or anyone in the league) who they have more respect for Heights or Deer Park? I am pretty sure I know the answer.

Our depth has improved from last season but it is still not where it needs to be. I dont blame injuries. We have the same injuries as every team in the comp. We fall down with depth which is something that is in our control (unlike injuries). To say I blamed injuries when I was on the radio is a lie.

It's a bit rich of you being from Deer park saying see ya next year!! You could have seen us this year but your club has no balls. While ur mob was running rings around the mighty Laverton today we were fronting up to the best team the comp has seen for a very long time. All this talk of Div 3 must get u blokes excited. You can drop down even lower and snag a few more flags.

We may have been smashed by Spotty today but we had a crack like we do every week. Ask anyone from Spotty or anyone in the league) who they have more respect for Heights or Deer Park? I am pretty sure I know the answer.

hahahaha thanks for the responce......

just a tip......i played with deer park......no longer might go to some functions to support the club but thats about it.....the club's decision to stay down has nothing to do with me......

bzzzzzzzzzzzzz i just know u think of me when your on the radio......maybe next time you can say g'day to weapo......hahaha

It was great to see Libba running around getting dirty laying big tackles he certainly brings alot to the roosters.Big game this week against Heights should be a ripper. GO WEST!!!

Firstly i must say all of at port colts are shattered we will not be playing finals this year, how ever we will be doing everything we can to win our last 3 games, hopefully shaping the final 5.
Great effort from altona, a young team certainly on the rise, sitting second, full of enthusiasm. Well done Eames.

Massive game this week hoppers/st.albans this will decide who will make the 5 and who misses.
After st.albans got smashed against albion on the week-end makes it a hard one to tip, how ever hoppers performance was not great either and with a few key players still missing and talk of decent amongst the group in regards to the coach i will tip the saints at home.

Also crackers sits on 91 goals with 3 games left in the home and away, pretty sure he kicked 100 last time in the finals, so to get it in 18 games will be a massive effort especially considering the shape he is in...lol
Congrats crakers top effort!!

Right with you there GBF50 as we discussed after the game, nobody would have thought twice if you guys had of chucked in the towel at half time but to your credit the boys never stopped having a crack and they were pretty happy when they got to their target of 50 points, with all the vuvuzela's in the crowd it was like being at a world cup soccer match.....

I have had alot of time on my hands so here we go.

Division 3 1998 (last year WRFL had Div 3) here are the clubs involved:

Sunshine Heights - Premiers - now in Div 1
Gladstone Park - Runners up - now folded
Kealba - now folded
Flemington - now folded
Laverton - now Div 2
Brooklyn - SFL now folded
Brunswick Amatures - now folded
Rockbank - RDFL

Division 2 became a 16 team competition
Division 1 I believe was still a 12 team comp

other teams to fold or kicked out of the league since 1999

Newport, Nth Melb Ken, Central Altona, seddon (merge with yarraville)
any more let me know.
now we have Division 1 10 team and div 2 10 team

new senior teams in the league since 1999???
can any one help..

We are including a new senior team in 2011 Caroline Springs.
so i dont see a need at this point in time for a div 3 need anoter 3 to 4 clubs to join.

does anyone out ther know of any other teams from other leagues that
would be crazy enough to join our competition.

Growth areas in the west Caroline springs(2001), Manor Lakes, Brimbank Gardens.
all huge areas with plenty of family homes. (new senior teams to start in 5 to 7 years.)
(point cook - sorry shafted the WRFL clubs)

Right with you there GBF50 as we discussed after the game, nobody would have thought twice if you guys had of chucked in the towel at half time but to your credit the boys never stopped having a crack and they were pretty happy when they got to their target of 50 points, with all the vuvuzela's in the crowd it was like being at a world cup soccer match.....[/quote]

I think a few of the boys in the crowd may have gone a bit over the top there..... but you should hear the noise when we actually win a game :eek: It is a long season when you are not winning so it's great to see that our supporters are hanging in there as well.

The footy that you guys played in the first half was the best I have seen in my time in Div 1. I know that you play better teams than us but we did apply alot of pressure and in the first half I can barely remember a skill error.

People still think that anything can happen on the day in a GF but there is no chance at all that you guys wont win it. From what I have seen you are so far in front of the next best team that there is no way you could play badly enough on the day to give anyone a chance. The gap is too big.

Division 3 1998 (last year WRFL had Div 3) here are the clubs involved:

Sunshine Heights - Premiers - now in Div 1
Gladstone Park - Runners up - now folded
Kealba - now folded
Flemington - now folded
Laverton - now Div 2
Brooklyn - SFL now folded
Brunswick Amatures - now folded
Rockbank - RDFL

Growth areas in the west Caroline springs(2001), Manor Lakes, Brimbank Gardens.
all huge areas with plenty of family homes. (new senior teams to start in 5 to 7 years.)
(point cook - sorry shafted the WRFL clubs)

Good effort by the Dragons:thumbsu:

Have heard a whisper that Manor Lakes may form a club but you can take Brimbank Gardens off the list. The 2 grounds there has been allocated to a soccer club.

Sunshine Heights will be moving to Brimbank Gardens (99% confirmed) for 1 year next season and sharing with soccer as our ground is getting re surfaced, our social rooms renovated and new change rooms built. When we move back in 2012 we will have a surface and facilities as good as anyone in the comp.

Good effort by the Dragons:thumbsu:

Have heard a whisper that Manor Lakes may form a club but you can take Brimbank Gardens off the list. The 2 grounds there has been allocated to a soccer club.

Sunshine Heights will be moving to Brimbank Gardens (99% confirmed) for 1 year next season and sharing with soccer as our ground is getting re surfaced, our social rooms renovated and new change rooms built. When we move back in 2012 we will have a surface and facilities as good as anyone in the comp.

Does this mean you guys will be allocated facilities for pre-season training on decent a decent surface?

There are some details that still have to be sorted out but I beleive we will have access to one of the grounds at Brimbank Gardens for pre season training.

Great news for the club and I am sure there will be some happy opposition players as well knowing that they dont have to use the portable anymore. In saying that I am still pushing to keep the portable for the opposition and make the home rooms double the size of what has been planned :D