Western Region FL - Division Two

Financially I don't think Deer Park are ready to go to div1 and although they are a good side, the skills department could use some work which I believe will drastically improve on this year. Deer Park learnt alot last year which they will implement into this season, along with a few new players and some of the older players adapting to new positions on the field. I think they will do okay this year.

Wake up mate!
The delivery from what kelso and zurek were getting to what thomas and moran are getting now are totally differend thomo and moran dont lhave the luxury of being hit on the nipple by kennedy young and zerafa..Who do they have thaat are good users of the footy in the midfield?Close to no one give them a break pal!

i dont think Laverton are rabble this year we had 7 or 8 of out best 15 out yesterday!

Its always going to be tough when you make the finals and approx 13 of the players from the final didnt play yesterday..... due to leaving club, couldnt/arent playing or in the twos...... Were going to struggle this year but atleast we have plenty of kids trying and wanting to play for the club.... unfortunatley money sometimes speaks louder!!!!

Financially I don't think Deer Park are ready to go to div1 and although they are a good side, the skills department could use some work which I believe will drastically improve on this year. Deer Park learnt alot last year which they will implement into this season, along with a few new players and some of the older players adapting to new positions on the field. I think they will do okay this year.

Give us all a spell.

You do realise that there is no minimum amount that you have to have in the bank to play in Div 1. You can actually go up with nothing in the bank.

As far as this weeks game for Deer Park against Coburg, it really was one sided for a good three quarters in Deer Parks favour.

VERY VERY poor umpiring in this game of footy. One of the worst I have seen in a long while. Game was being paused for the silliest of reasons - a little bump on the head - Coburgs Trainer attended the player - babying him the whole time! GROW SOME BALLS - it's a contact sport, they are bound to get a little nick every now and again and you cant be stopping the game each time. No stretcher and still stopped.

IMO Coburgs ground is BY FAR the WORST in the league!!

Patchy, Uneven, Limited parking spaces, unable to park around the ground - and havent placed adequate seating for spectators around the ground for, clubrooms - visitors are chucked out the back and not very well facilitated for.

The weather couldnt have been better for players or spectators, however, the umpiring, the ground and the finishing scoreboard have alot to answer for. Honestly, I expected a bigger battle from Coburg.

Well Done Deer Park and Good Luck everyone next week.

The fees charged are the same for both divisions. There may be a slight difference due to Umpires but this would amount to less than $1000 over a year.

come on - lets be smart about this - whichever club goes up needs to get some A grade footballers to avoid being relegated , let alone be competitive. so when referring to being financial ppl are referring to player payments not league fees.

in addition, the reserves in A grade usually get a full contingent of umpires meaning an extra 50-100 to cover the field and boundary which you dont pay for in divvy 2 reserves. thats almost 2K a season alone.

comments about coburg ground dont surprise me - any feedback on the quality of other grounds - i have driven past albanvale and it looks average but playable (usually is patchy). any others???

I went down to watch Laverton VS Wyndhamvale today, what a a joke Laverton has begun from going so far from 2009 to be RABBLE in 2010. Everyone is giving Corey Thomas a praise, i overheard some bloke from Laverton say that Corey Thomas was a gun at Albion, (BULLSHIT) when he played at Albion he wasn't even a really a Senior player there. He may have played 8 games in total in 3 years in the Seniors (when Butina didn't play) the rest in the Reserves. There 2 Forwards from Last year M Zurek & T Kelso would bath C Thomas & J Moran. I remember last year when they played the Falcons Zurek & Kelso both had a field day kicking 18 goals between them. What did Moran & Thomas kick today???? 6 between them.

You fall into 1 of 3 categories. You're either a complete tool who didnt actually watch the game yesterday, a justin moran hater or a moron who is just stealing valuable to oxygen from others who may wish to use it in the future.

Sure Zurek and Kelso kicked 18 or whatever goals against the falcons last season, but that was the 2009 falcons. They are a completely different team, and whilst no doubt they are still not world beaters, they are not the side they were in the first half of last season. It is simplistic and moronic to compare the goals output and say that zurek and kelso are so much better than thomas and moran.

Matty Zurek is a star and would play in our forward line and kick goals no doubt, but the fact is, at the moment he is not interested in playing football so we cant use him. If and when he feels like he wants to play football again and starts training he will no doubt slot into our side. Kelso's attitude to training has been the main reason he wasnt playing senior football at the start of the year, and also not sure what he did in the second half of last season so maybe his form didnt deserve a spot in our side. We as a club are trying to set a standard that you dont just get a spot in our side because you once were a walk up start.

Corey Thomas is a very good player and maybe he hasn't quite been on yet but he has shown signs which you would see if you paid any attention to our game, and I have no doubt the goals will come. Justin Moran isnt going to kick 10 goals in a game, but he presents all day and provides invaluable leadership to our young side, so therefore is clearly an asset to our side.

And what about giving some credit to the vales? They outplayed us after quarter time and were good value for their win. Pretty sure everyone at Lavo thinks it is one that got away from us, but that happens in football and I'm sure we'll be right up for when they come to our ground later in the season.

well looks like im wrong!!!!(not for the first time)definately didnt play at deer park this week......my mail was wrong......i did go to training on thurs night and seen a young bloke in a spotty jumper and i thought it was him!!!!

though an interesting inclusion was mcnally......ex lavo magpie and what im told a 5th generation laverton player ......as i said wasnt there at the game and told he was in the best 4 or 5......i know of the young bloke but what brings him to deer park id like to ask the lavo faithfull on here????

so much for the 1st game wonders for coburg districts......i might say a little dissapointed in the result(from a coburgs prospective) and id like to know what the coach had to say after the game.......even though d/p rested their best 5 or 6 for the last 2 1/4 and a bit?????please explain hells bells.......

Maybe a question that could also be directed at bones mcghie. Why was he happy for McNally to leave West?

Decent footballer in div 2, but he's got issues that unless he is willing to admit to them and address them will no doubt rear their head at dp and you'll understand why our leaders were not too worried about signing his clearance.

As far as this weeks game for Deer Park against Coburg, it really was one sided for a good three quarters in Deer Parks favour.

VERY VERY poor umpiring in this game of footy. One of the worst I have seen in a long while. Game was being paused for the silliest of reasons - a little bump on the head - Coburgs Trainer attended the player - babying him the whole time! GROW SOME BALLS - it's a contact sport, they are bound to get a little nick every now and again and you cant be stopping the game each time. No stretcher and still stopped.

IMO Coburgs ground is BY FAR the WORST in the league!!

Patchy, Uneven, Limited parking spaces, unable to park around the ground - and havent placed adequate seating for spectators around the ground for, clubrooms - visitors are chucked out the back and not very well facilitated for.

The weather couldnt have been better for players or spectators, however, the umpiring, the ground and the finishing scoreboard have alot to answer for. Honestly, I expected a bigger battle from Coburg.

Well Done Deer Park and Good Luck everyone next week.

Wtf are you on about ?? the trainer and player didnt stop the game it was the umpire so who u telling to grow some balls princess ??

Agree the ground is not at all in good nick and like i said above the umpiring was shocking !!! i have NEVER seen worse in all my time watching footy !!

And as for the parking around the ground how the friggin hell can u do that with the position of the ground ?? if u cant get out ur car to watch footy dont come precious .... and the council has all the say with regards to the seating so what do u want us to do ??? its not a reflection of the club its the bloody council !!! same for the state of the gorund if the council did what the club wanted and resurfaced it properley instead of band aid fixes we would be right !!!

And as for ur sooking about the clubrooms ! ur telling us its a contact sport and to harden up ... seems like u want red carpet rolled out on arrival and champagne in the rooms , reserved parking and u want us to put on a MCG quality ground bit to uneven and patchy for u darling ?? .....
whos soft ??

i went down to watch laverton vs wyndhamvale today, what a a joke laverton has begun from going so far from 2009 to be rabble in 2010. Everyone is giving corey thomas a praise, i overheard some bloke from laverton say that corey thomas was a gun at albion, (bullshit) when he played at albion he wasn't even a really a senior player there. He may have played 8 games in total in 3 years in the seniors (when butina didn't play) the rest in the reserves. There 2 forwards from last year m zurek & t kelso would bath c thomas & j moran. I remember last year when they played the falcons zurek & kelso both had a field day kicking 18 goals between them. What did moran & thomas kick today???? 6 between them.

corey thomas when he gets fit will carve up teams. For 1 they r playin him outta position he should b in the goal sq and hav the ball bombed in long he is either going to take the strong mark or he take ppl out while crashing the packs i have known corey for a long time and when he's fit and his minds right most of all settled in in lavo i have seen him dominate the division 1. League. Stop being so critical of him zurek and kelso yeah worked well in a team and the team structure.. Corey has no 1 of the qualitys like zurek next to him to take the best defender. Trust me give it another 2 weeks and he u will regret posting that statement. Thats if he is even still signed wit laverton by then

I went down to watch Laverton VS Wyndhamvale today, what a a joke Laverton has begun from going so far from 2009 to be RABBLE in 2010. Everyone is giving Corey Thomas a praise, i overheard some bloke from Laverton say that Corey Thomas was a gun at Albion, (BULLSHIT) when he played at Albion he wasn't even a really a Senior player there. He may have played 8 games in total in 3 years in the Seniors (when Butina didn't play) the rest in the Reserves. There 2 Forwards from Last year M Zurek & T Kelso would bath C Thomas & J Moran. I remember last year when they played the Falcons Zurek & Kelso both had a field day kicking 18 goals between them. What did Moran & Thomas kick today???? 6 between them.

The bigger concern regarding that game IMO is the ground, I done an ACL at Albanvale a few years ago when their ground was full of sand pits like theirs is now, just wondering if it had anything to do with one of the Wyndham Vale players breaking his leg on the weekend?

I would have to agree 100% Industry Fitness, The state of the grounds in the west are a big concern. Surely the Council's have to be held accountable. the ground played a big part in poor guys leg being broken!!!!!!

I agree... There is not much clubs can do other than apply and apply and apply to council for upgrades but unfortunatly in our area other grounds and clubs take priority even when they are of good standard. We had minor upgrades to the ground at CHF at both ends about 6 weeks ago because it was rumoured that a junior cricketer hurt himself and was considering taking legal action against council because they were aware of the OHS problem with the ground and they fixed it with roll out cooch turf the next day.... They were supposed to do the area in question but all they did was put more sand and laid a few seeds...
Will be intresting to see what happens now...
Brent hopefully will make a full recovery and he has the full support and wellwishes of all players and supporters at the vales....

Ok, here it is, for those who accually read this dribble, as much as id like to go on and argue with you unit, and waste my quallity work time, im just going to defend myself after this un-called for slagging. well, please define RABBLE? that you labelled my club and teammates? mate, i dont know you, and clearly you know nothing about me.... if you have something against me, please let me know. i havent heard any, nor have i been looking for any praises... gun at albion? not likely, a few good days on the park? yeah ill admit... but if you are going to throw stones, get your facts right. thanks for filling everyone in on my biography, but the bad news is, it aint anywhere near accurate. ok, yes did finish the last handful of games, as well as the grand final in albions reserves last year, due to missing half the year to a serious illness, and lack of commitment because of work. also again, dont think i played more than two games without my good old mate jase butina beside me, before the poor bugger broke his leg. and i missed one senior game in 08' due to broken ribbs. so, only 8 senior games? yep, no worries,im glad you've observed my career so closely. im flatterd. for the record, and your little black book you refer to, played around 180 div1 senior games to date, if i was still keen and interested i would be still playing. truth is, i didnt leave and join laverton for any reasons than closer to home, business commitments and lack of capability. just after fun, not money, and to be around blokes i rate, and grew up with. not here to say im this, to say im that, ill leave that to you. even if i got 18 shots a game, id be lucky to kick 5. so i aint no gun of laverton, but ill have a fair dinkum crack, everything aside, im there to help build, help the young blokes, and enjoy my footy in the process, not to tell you on big footy how great i am! so, as far as making me look like a goose, like your obvious objective, you've accually failed. :thumbsu:
kelso zurek and mcnally are all awesome players who everyone, as well as myself rate highly. and who really wanted to play along side of, same goes for zarafa, kennedy and young, but unfortunately isnt the case. and are huge shoes to fill. as for give me a bath? both those fellas no doubt would in thier prime! hope ty didnt slip you a pineapple to say that? and justin? well dont know who told u he was goal kicking machine. as he has more important jobs to do that be the player u expect him to be. he's a great bloke, and coach, and unless you've got a better footy resume, id suggest maybe give the bloke a chance? regardless of all thats been said, and who thinks and says what, deep down, i couldnt care less. lets just enjoy the year and our footy while we still can!:thumbsu:

I agree... There is not much clubs can do other than apply and apply and apply to council for upgrades but unfortunatly in our area other grounds and clubs take priority even when they are of good standard. We had minor upgrades to the ground at CHF at both ends about 6 weeks ago because it was rumoured that a junior cricketer hurt himself and was considering taking legal action against council because they were aware of the OHS problem with the ground and they fixed it with roll out cooch turf the next day.... They were supposed to do the area in question but all they did was put more sand and laid a few seeds...
Will be intresting to see what happens now...
Brent hopefully will make a full recovery and he has the full support and wellwishes of all players and supporters at the vales....

Yeah poor kid, i was a few meters away. made me guts churn. wasnt pretty. i wish him all the best and a speedy recovery. yeah we dont get to have a kick on bowling greens, but if we didnt have a park to play on, we'd be the first to sook up. evo, if that was you down forward sat, top game mate, great skills. you guys will only get better. as well as us im sure!:thumbsu:

Ok, here it is, for those who accually read this dribble, as much as id like to go on and argue with you unit, and waste my quallity work time, im just going to defend myself after this un-called for slagging. well, please define RABBLE? that you labelled my club and teammates? mate, i dont know you, and clearly you know nothing about me.... if you have something against me, please let me know. i havent heard any, nor have i been looking for any praises... gun at albion? not likely, a few good days on the park? yeah ill admit... but if you are going to throw stones, get your facts right. thanks for filling everyone in on my biography, but the bad news is, it aint anywhere near accurate. ok, yes did finish the last handful of games, as well as the grand final in albions reserves last year, due to missing half the year to a serious illness, and lack of commitment because of work. also again, dont think i played more than two games without my good old mate jase butina beside me, before the poor bugger broke his leg. and i missed one senior game in 08' due to broken ribbs. so, only 8 senior games? yep, no worries,im glad you've observed my career so closely. im flatterd. for the record, and your little black book you refer to, played around 180 div1 senior games to date, if i was still keen and interested i would be still playing. truth is, i didnt leave and join laverton for any reasons than closer to home, business commitments and lack of capability. just after fun, not money, and to be around blokes i rate, and grew up with. not here to say im this, to say im that, ill leave that to you. even if i got 18 shots a game, id be lucky to kick 5. so i aint no gun of laverton, but ill have a fair dinkum crack, everything aside, im there to help build, help the young blokes, and enjoy my footy in the process, not to tell you on big footy how great i am! so, as far as making me look like a goose, like your obvious objective, you've accually failed. :thumbsu:
kelso zurek and mcnally are all awesome players who everyone, as well as myself rate highly. and who really wanted to play along side of, same goes for zarafa, kennedy and young, but unfortunately isnt the case. and are huge shoes to fill. as for give me a bath? both those fellas no doubt would in thier prime! hope ty didnt slip you a pineapple to say that? and justin? well dont know who told u he was goal kicking machine. as he has more important jobs to do that be the player u expect him to be. he's a great bloke, and coach, and unless you've got a better footy resume, id suggest maybe give the bloke a chance? regardless of all thats been said, and who thinks and says what, deep down, i couldnt care less. lets just enjoy the year and our footy while we still can!:thumbsu:

Unfortunately Thomo once in a while someone posts rubbish on this site, in this case it’s about you. I think if you where to show up to his club Thursday for training he would be singing a different tune! Just so you know we are all very happy to have you at laverton!

come on - lets be smart about this - whichever club goes up needs to get some A grade footballers to avoid being relegated , let alone be competitive. so when referring to being financial ppl are referring to player payments not league fees.

in addition, the reserves in A grade usually get a full contingent of umpires meaning an extra 50-100 to cover the field and boundary which you dont pay for in divvy 2 reserves. thats almost 2K a season alone.

comments about coburg ground dont surprise me - any feedback on the quality of other grounds - i have driven past albanvale and it looks average but playable (usually is patchy). any others???

Can assure you that last season, Altona had league umpires for reserves only 3 times apart from finals, so it is not only a Div 2 issue.

Unfortunately Thomo once in a while someone posts rubbish on this site, in this case it’s about you. I think if you where to show up to his club Thursday for training he would be singing a different tune! Just so you know we are all very happy to have you at laverton!

i agree 100%, love havin u down at lavo dude top bloke :thumbsu:

Don't worry about this bloke Corza, there are plenty of people sorry to see you leave Albion, you a great bloke and and did shitloads at the club, theres still Junior kids asking about you, do us a favour and drop in for a beer somtime

Well from what I can read, and I don’t know you personally but any club would jump at the chance to have u TipTopThommo. A true sign of leadership right there in your words. A bloke more than likely someone you have either replaced in the line-up or given a flogging to on the footy field one day has had a big crack at you and the new coach and you have bounced back nicely. From what I hear that is exactly what Influence you are having at the club. Maybe the Unit should take a leaf out of your book. You can see exactly why the Kids at Albion are still asking about TipTopThommo.

Are kids playing footy at half time and pretending to be you Unit??????

Unit whomever you are, have a crack at me all you like as it is and always will be water off a duck's back but don't have a go at my team-mates and the club that I am working very hard to improve on and off the field.

We have a very young side that whilst maybe taking a few steps backward with results at the moment, I can assure you are taking huge steps forward in terms of structure, direction and in the end will result with a new standard of the requirements to be a senior, reserve and under 18 footballer at Laverton not just in 2010 but in the years ahead.

You have some sort of 'interest' in what is happening at Laverton but you are clearly not a supporter of the club, as the word 'support' is a positive one and as we gradually lose/eradicate people (players/supporters) that are negative and don't want to help develop and build the players up to believe in their ability (and trust me there are a lot of young kids with that at Lavo), the place will improve, we will attract more quality players and blokes like Corey, Belly, etc...

There are many people out there that can or feel like it is their duty to point out 'problems' (or the negatives), but not too many that have any 'solutions' so by all means private message me (or even give me a call) with your solutions on how we can improve from what you see is a 'rabble'... I bet you don't or can't.

Laverton don't need or want people like you, so feel free to forget the negative crap or give us something constructive, maybe even come down and hold a tackling bag for us, run water or do anything that will help us improve!

Go Laverton!

Justin Moran

Hmm after reading all comments about the Laverton Magpies i was really starting to get excited about a possible return to good footy from the club...Then from what i was told yesterday i am not so sure. If someone can confirm the following it would be great, Apparantly in round 1 thier was an off the ball (behind play) incident that has left a North Footscray player with serious facial injuries, caused by one of the Lavo players?? if this is true would this not confirm the RABBLE tagline?