Western Region FL - Division Two

Seems to be a few guys saying the same thing about bagging our own, curious as to which part of the ground it was coming from :thumbsdown:

Choofa, I was standing between the Lavo coaches box and the rooms and a group of Lavo supporters were giving your guy's a real spray. Your recruits including the coach were right in the firing line. There was also a guy in front of the rooms having a real go just before half time.
Worst thing I saw for the day was senior/reserves guy's egging on the under 18's to smack the opposition. Didnt set a good impression to the new people to the club ( including 18's coach ) especially with so many of your under 18 coming from other clubs, where that would definately not be tolerated.:thumbsdown:

if the word is correct d/p had 13 players out for todays game v braybrook i can name about 8 off the top of my head with a few newbies not cleared yet......still won by 90 odd points jnr harro(last years bog in the granny) had a day out.......he is a vfl listed player and will be available for d/p when not picked at werribee......handy inclusion......buttergieg-clarke gee the young fella can play kicked a lazy ten quite easily could have been 15 or 16........young blokes to me stood out with the older blokes being rested/showered by 3 1/4 time......36,5(not skinny)3,9 were d/p best...imo

So Weapons you are saying that DP had 13 players missing from their best side? Madigan said on the radio that you have picked up 3 new players and were hoping to sign a couple more from Canterbury.

as i said i know of 8 off the top of my head who in the next couple of weeks be included into our 1sts......the newies i dont......they could include the 3 players and a couple from canterbury.....that makes 13 doesnt it......????

anyone from nth sunshine want to give us a rundown on how coburg played on the w/e......hmmmmmmm

hard to beat down the citylink end of the freeway!!!!

Evo, no disrespect meant to second division but the gap is huge. It is what it is, whatever the reason.

Yeah filo...i wrote that wrong...what i meant to say was that the difference between 2nd div and the bottom half of div1 is not that great...i just presumed that most people would think the top 3 or 4 div1 clubs are fields away from the rest....altho i will enjoy the challenge to try to get the vales up to the top group of clubs.....even ifit does take many years...lol

You have the right people in place so it's not impossible. A very good club with great people to back it up. Hope division 1 isn't too far away.

anyone from nth sunshine want to give us a rundown on how coburg played on the w/e......hmmmmmmm

hard to beat down the citylink end of the freeway!!!!

I'm not from North Sunshine i'm from Coburg but i will give u a quick rundown on how we went on Saturday !!

It's hard to gauge how we really went on the weekend because of the opposition but we played good disciplined footy and were able to keep on constant pressure and really dish out a hiding which we havent been able to do in the past .

Whether thats because we are a better side than last yr or not remains to be seen . im sure this week will really show us where we are at coming up against ur blokes . But im sure it will be a good tough competitive game and expect to see a fit , disciplined hard Districts side with a much better structure and plans in place to hopefully take us forward and maybe give us a real shot at playing finals !

Big K.Mozz woudlnt have it any other way .

Also credit to North Sunshine they really dont have much at all down there player wise and even though we flogged them pretty good there were no undisciplined acts on there behalf and at no stage did the game look like being anything other than a footy game . They kept fighting and trying right down to the final siren and gotta give them credit for that ! i hope not only for North but also for the comp that they continue down the path they are and hopefully get some players down and become competitive in the future and as we have seen with the Falcons it is possible !!

Anything else u wanna know Weapons just ask mate :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Anyone feel like making some early predictions?

How about filling in the gaps below:

Premiers-PARKSIDE
Wooden Spooners-NTH SUNSHINE
League Medal-BANGIT FROM PARKSIDE
Biggest Improver from 09-ALBANVALE
Biggest Slider from 09-LAVERTON
Most expensive team-PARKSIDE
Most under-rated player-DREW VINCENT PARKSIDE
Most over-rated player-N JUEGAN PARKSIDE
Most over paid player-ANYONE GETTING MORE THAN $150 IN DIVVY 2 SO THAT MEANS NEARLY ALL OF THE PARKSIDE TEAM.
Most loyal player in the league-ALI TALEB
Toughest bloke in the league-STILL LOOKING FOR ONE
Biggest Sook in the league-WEAPONS DEER PARK SORRY HE DONT PLAY ANYMORE PATTY DAVIS PARKSIDE

Should make for some interesting discussion... :thumbsu::thumbsu:

Premiers-PARKSIDE
Most over paid player-ANYONE GETTING MORE THAN $150 IN DIVVY 2 SO THAT MEANS NEARLY ALL OF THE PARKSIDE TEAM.
Biggest Sook in the league-WEAPONS DEER PARK SORRY HE DONT PLAY ANYMORE PATTY DAVIS PARKSIDE

see i guess your right........patty davis is the biggest sook in the league......

he kicked 5 on the w/e 7 behinds and 6 out on the full........and still winged to the umpire that he was getting held onto in the goal square.......nothing unusual.....i must ask how is the runners up team photo looking on the footscray edgwater cricket clubrooms wall........:confused: now your reply will be interesting.......:cool:

I'm not from North Sunshine i'm from Coburg but i will give u a quick rundown on how we went on Saturday !!

It's hard to gauge how we really went on the weekend because of the opposition but we played good disciplined footy and were able to keep on constant pressure and really dish out a hiding which we havent been able to do in the past .

Whether thats because we are a better side than last yr or not remains to be seen . im sure this week will really show us where we are at coming up against ur blokes . But im sure it will be a good tough competitive game and expect to see a fit , disciplined hard Districts side with a much better structure and plans in place to hopefully take us forward and maybe give us a real shot at playing finals !

Big K.Mozz woudlnt have it any other way .

Also credit to North Sunshine they really dont have much at all down there player wise and even though we flogged them pretty good there were no undisciplined acts on there behalf and at no stage did the game look like being anything other than a footy game . They kept fighting and trying right down to the final siren and gotta give them credit for that ! i hope not only for North but also for the comp that they continue down the path they are and hopefully get some players down and become competitive in the future and as we have seen with the Falcons it is possible !!

Anything else u wanna know Weapons just ask mate :thumbsu::thumbsu:

your fwards worry me...but there will be a tad more pressure on them this week.....but......im sure our fwards will cause a few concerns of their own.......

should be a cracking game im thinking there might be an upset on the cards.......deer park wont be at full strength till round 5 or 6 imo........

Premiers-PARKSIDE

Premiers-NORTH FOOTSCRAY
League Medal-HARRISON (DEER PARK)
Biggest Improver from 09-WYNDHAMVALE
Most under-rated player-KRUEGER (PARKSIDE) / MACKIE (DEER PARK)
Most over-rated player-VINCENT (PARKSIDE)
Most over paid player- LIKA (PARKSIDE)
Most loyal player in the league- ELDRIDGE (NORTH FOOTSCRAY)
Toughest bloke in the league-EVANS (WYNDHAMVALE)
Biggest Sook in the league-PATTY DAVIS (PARKSIDE)

your fwards worry me...but there will be a tad more pressure on them this week.....but......im sure our fwards will cause a few concerns of their own.......

should be a cracking game im thinking there might be an upset on the cards.......deer park wont be at full strength till round 5 or 6 imo........

Our forward line did look quite good on the w/e and seemed to really function well but ur right the pressure on the boys down there wasnt great and will def be alot harder time for them this week ... im sure we will have our hands full with ur forwards too and once again with not alot of pressure on them our back 6 played really well..... our back 6 is probably the strongest we have had in a while ...

Word from training is that we may be missing a couple of very important players ourselves so should be a really good game ... wouldnt expect there to be any more than 3 goals in it either way ...:thumbsu:

My tips for this week

Coburg vs Deer Park - Should be a good game with both sides sounding like they will both be missing a few . the backs from both sides will have a tough time this weekwith both forward lines looking the goods in the first round ..... will be a cracking battle in the midfield .... Only because its at home i pick Coburg by 2 goals in a tough match

Nth Footscray vs Nth Sunshine - will be a nice training run for the devils and there forwards will get alot of goalkicking practise and will prob kick between 45 -50 of them ... Nth Footscray by 45 + goals

Parkside vs Albanvale - match of the round should be a belter ... Im gonna have to stick with Parkside though in this one i think .. i reckon Albanvale will take a few more rounds to gel after so many new blokes coming in and i dont think they will stop Patty who will kick 8 the home ground will help them also .. Parkside by 4 goals

Wyndhamvale vs Laverton - should be another great game with these 2 sides about even imo .... with the losses of Kennedy and Zerafa nad also Wells not playing i think the up and coming Falcons can take this one in another close match with Dennerley to run riot and grab a b.o.g ... Wyndhamvale by 1 goal

Yarraville vs Braybrook - Will be pretty one sided this game and would think Yarraville led by Cain "Pink Prince" Mansbridge should win well ... Yarraville by 12 goals ..

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Can someone tell me how Cain went??? I got on here thinking it was the Mansbridge thread...

Yarra where beaten convincinly by a harder bodied better side and i was beaten by my opponent, Yarra have recruited well and all in all was a very dissapionting start to the year both personally and as a team.

We look forward to bouncing back this week against Braybrook. On Parkside i think they will be there abouts but expect them to slide and finish 3rd, 4th or even as low as 5th.

I think Albanvale, Nth Footscray and possibly Deer Park will be better sides this year but in saying that there will not be much from the top team to the 6th side this year.

Yarra where beaten convincinly by a harder bodied better side and i was beaten by my opponent, Yarra have recruited well and all in all was a very dissapionting start to the year both personally and as a team.

We look forward to bouncing back this week against Braybrook. On Parkside i think they will be there abouts but expect them to slide and finish 3rd, 4th or even as low as 5th.

I think Albanvale, Nth Footscray and possibly Deer Park will be better sides this year but in saying that there will not be much from the top team to the 6th side this year.

YAYYYYY !! good to have ya back !! where u been hiding ?? big pre-season with facials and manicures ?? not to mention the weekly solarium visits ! ;):thumbsu: .......

So if you think Parkside will slide that far where does that leave ur team ??

Premiers-PARKSIDE

U cant make ur prediction after round 1 its just ridiculous wait until round 6 or 7!

Spoke to a Parkside committee member on the weekend at the Parkside game and he informed me that at the AGM Parkside's player payment total was $92000. Id love to know who was on what? Also told me that Nath was training at Albion and then was told he would be most likely playing in the reserves, then he rang Parkside thursday night and said he was available to play, the committee was split on whether on taking him back or not and the Senior coach said no. Peoples thoughts.....
just wondering where that money was spent cos there were more than ten players getting carried in that side, and funny u mention n.j cos he was one of them players. parkside should not allow him back at the club so smackers (coach) turner should show the way back up that hill to macdonalds!!

He will walk out like he has 5 times before bad move parkside read his resume its a disgrace
well he wasnt a bad assistant under p. okeefe but the club was flying back then and had the cattle. he cannot coach though and people didnt want to play for him and that is why so many great players left the club.

sheppas coaching record as a senior coach for parkside is:

2007 - 3 wins 15 losses ( parkside relegated for the first time in over 100 years )
2008 - 1 win 5 losses ( quit the job )

the question has to be asked on that record why is he appointed the chairman of selectors

Premiers-NORTH FOOTSCRAY
League Medal-HARRISON (DEER PARK)
Biggest Improver from 09-WYNDHAMVALE
Most under-rated player-KRUEGER (PARKSIDE) / MACKIE (DEER PARK)
Most over-rated player-VINCENT (PARKSIDE)
Most over paid player- LIKA (PARKSIDE)
Most loyal player in the league- ELDRIDGE (NORTH FOOTSCRAY)
Toughest bloke in the league-EVANS (WYNDHAMVALE)
Biggest Sook in the league-PATTY DAVIS (PARKSIDE)

rd1 on young harro im not sure how many games he will play!!!!!

mackie...spot on!!!!
davis....another vote!!!!

Tips Round 2

4 out of 5 last week

North Footscray nice solid win last week without a few of their best 22 in the side, should enjoy a nice run around on saturday winning by atleast 40 goals against the Leauge strugglers North Sunshine. Good luck to North Sunshine hope for the sake of the competition and your club you stick it out.

Yarraville let me down in the tips last week i expected a little more, maybe to much? heard they have had a pretty strong pre-season and should now be ready to get their first win on the board in 2010 against a disapointing Braybrook outfit who really struggled down back last week. Yarra 8 goals

Get on the Coburg Districts Bandwaggin..Should be a very very intense game with both Coburg and Deer Park starting the 2010 season with big wins. Ill jump on board with Coburg who seem to be a little more structured and better drilled this year and at home are always a better side. Coburg 2 goals

Wyndhamvale look on the their way to take out the most improved team of the year award after a decent start to the season, although going down in round 1 should be ready for their first win against Laverton Magpies who did not seem to fire at all in round 1 and may still be feeling the effects of their key departures..Wyndhamvale by 5 goals

Match or the Round
Parkside may have went under the radar a little in round 1 with a few including my self unsure of their playing list, they put in a very solid performance and although coming up against a better opponent this week just may get over the line again against Albanvale. Expect a fired up Albanvale outfit but even they may know with all the new faces in the team, their best football is still a few more games away. Parkside 4 goals

All tips and thoughts IMO