• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region FL - Divy 1 2018

Once again you deflect, like I said Post is a very good player no doubt however you continue to provide your lack of incite by not picking 24 for an educated opinion. I actually rate Altona best team I've seen YTD.

As for my club no doubt where disappointed, but the last count of 23 injured isn't ideal. As for Shags he'd be disappointed (in my opinion) with his form, but wouldn't be alone. Won't deflect my loyalty & I wouldn't write them off at this stage.
I really couldn’t care less who the best 24 is . All I said was Post is clearly a better player than Pickard . It’s never an exact science picking these teams and most of your side looks reasonable. I challenge you on what I and others thought were clearly off the mark and you become aggressive and personal. All power to you my friend . I have no reason to deflect. In fact I am not and never have been an Altona person , I actually played at another WRFL club and without being too smart I do have enough intel into things to make the odd comment . Oh and one more thing , I’ve never been a big rap for Sunshine, not sure why as they’ve never done anything barring get beat in Grand Finals .

Bully man goes bang just like his playing days
Changing tack is it curtains for Scumshine if they drop this game ?

Best 22 (rushed so be gentle)

B. Pickard (ALT). Viola (HC). O'Shea (CS)

HB. Van REIT (DP). Cavanagh (SUNS). Prismall (WD).

C. Robbins (ALT). Langlands (Spot) J.McKenzie (DP)

HF. McHarg (DP). Boyd (Spot). Byrnes (DP)

F. Panayi (WD). Mellington (CS). Rose (ALT)

R. Stewart (DP) Lyons (SUNS). Iaccarino (Spot)

INT: T.Lee (WD), Dessent (SUNS), Magnabosco (ALT), Smith (SA), Molivas (WD), Skipper (PC)

A lot of quality missing so really hard, but very very good team...

Interesting side, nobody from Parsons reserve? That will upset the $25k per year coach!

Can Wyndhamvale stay up this year? I dont think any div 2 clubs would be in the position to compete week in week out as wyndham are kind of doing. Todays result would be positive for the comp. Whens the last time you have seen the top side beat the bottom side by under 5 goals.
Looking at there scores for the season it would suggest they are slowing ticking along. I would be happy with where there at, they lost some good players in the last 2 seasons but if they could pick a few up they might get off the bottom. 5 years ago the bottom side was losing by 100 points week in week out.

After 6 rounds where would you see St Albans? Fair influx of players from the bfl and surrounding leagues as the coach mentioned they wanted to bring in experienced premiership winning players. IMO the comps they played aren't that strong and I would focus trying to recruit from other pools in tougher comps. Poor recruiting and wont make finals! 2 big games coming up for them, they lose both and it will be season over.

Can someone provide information on W. Patak, I see hes not playing at the moment? Would be huge in for the woodsmen as they are travelling along nicely.
Who wins the goal kicking award? Perkins or Rose should be a close battle through out the year?

Can Wyndhamvale stay up this year? I dont think any div 2 clubs would be in the position to compete week in week out as wyndham are kind of doing. Todays result would be positive for the comp. Whens the last time you have seen the top side beat the bottom side by under 5 goals.
Looking at there scores for the season it would suggest they are slowing ticking along. I would be happy with where there at, they lost some good players in the last 2 seasons but if they could pick a few up they might get off the bottom. 5 years ago the bottom side was losing by 100 points week in week out.

After 6 rounds where would you see St Albans? Fair influx of players from the bfl and surrounding leagues as the coach mentioned they wanted to bring in experienced premiership winning players. IMO the comps they played aren't that strong and I would focus trying to recruit from other pools in tougher comps. Poor recruiting and wont make finals! 2 big games coming up for them, they lose both and it will be season over.

Can someone provide information on W. Patak, I see hes not playing at the moment? Would be huge in for the woodsmen as they are travelling along nicely.
Who wins the goal kicking award? Perkins or Rose should be a close battle through out the year?
Whyndhamvale keep having a crack no matter how far down they are. It's a result of their mentality. They believe they are a division 1 club and that filters down from the very top. They play a good brand of footy but have had issues with consistency over four quarters.
Patak has retired. You'd think the years of crash and bash footy would have taken its toll.

Whyndhamvale keep having a crack no matter how far down they are. It's a result of their mentality. They believe they are a division 1 club and that filters down from the very top. They play a good brand of footy but have had issues with consistency over four quarters.
Patak has retired. You'd think the years of crash and bash footy would have taken its toll.

The comp would be silly to force them to go down and bring up a club who aren't ready. Where do you see them compared to Albion? I am finding it hard to see where Albion are at. They bring in Okeefe but I am not sure he is the answer, he wouldnt come cheap and its not as if he would motoring along like he did back in the day.

I saw Albion today and I reckon they were good. Spotty took 3 quarters to shake them off so they're not as bad as the scoreboard suggests. I think they had a few players come back from injury. IMO they're ahead of Wyndham Vale due to the talent they have in the guts and Finco when he's fit. Buttina is still going alright too. They're kicking is bloody good and they're a good pressure side in close.. OKeefe's main value would be in his coaching now and it looks like he's doing ok.
I'm expecting a better second half of the year from both WV and Albion.

I saw Albion today and I reckon they were good. Spotty took 3 quarters to shake them off so they're not as bad as the scoreboard suggests. I think they had a few players come back from injury. IMO they're ahead of Wyndham Vale due to the talent they have in the guts and Finco when he's fit. Buttina is still going alright too. They're kicking is bloody good and they're a good pressure side in close.. OKeefe's main value would be in his coaching now and it looks like he's doing ok.
I'm expecting a better second half of the year from both WV and Albion.
I read your post earlier without knowing the scores . I’ve now seen the scores . Yesterday was as good a day for football in Melbourne you will ever get . Albion kicked 3 goals for the day and you are telling us they were good , their kicking was bloody good and their inside pressure was good !! They’ve won 1 game . You are either easily pleased or taking the piss .

So the fact that they have won one game means that I can't say that they were good yesterday? May as well fold and start the footy trip early because there's no way they'll improve. Impossible.

Anyway, you've seen the scores.
Then you would have seen the following
1) On as good a day as any, Spotty had only kicked 5 goals to Albion's 3 up until 3 quarter time.
2) Spotty didn't kick a goal in the first and third quarter. The weather must have turned when the siren went to start those two quarters.
3) Spotty kicked 6 in the last. Albion were down two players by that stage.

Yep, they dropped off in the last but for the majority of the game they matched Spotswood's pressure.
I think you're taking the piss because I don't think you're the type that'll make a decision based on a final score rather than watching the game. I could be wrong though.

So the fact that they have won one game means that I can't say that they were good yesterday? May as well fold and start the footy trip early because there's no way they'll improve. Impossible.

Anyway, you've seen the scores.
Then you would have seen the following
1) On as good a day as any, Spotty had only kicked 5 goals to Albion's 3 up until 3 quarter time.
2) Spotty didn't kick a goal in the first and third quarter. The weather must have turned when the siren went to start those two quarters.
3) Spotty kicked 6 in the last. Albion were down two players by that stage.

Yep, they dropped off in the last but for the majority of the game they matched Spotswood's pressure.
I think you're taking the piss because I don't think you're the type that'll make a decision based on a final score rather than watching the game. I could be wrong though.
Good reply, however I can’t remember witnessing too many games where a side kicks 3 goals and has their score tripled in perfect conditions and gets such plaudits. I have been wrong many times but I’d be surprised if Albion won more than 4 games for the year . They can pressure all they like but it usually can’t be sustained for 4 quarters . Also Spotswood are being coached very very well currently but if they can’t find another 3 or 4 goals a game a 4th or 5th finish beckons . Interested in your thoughts.

There was a breeze that made goals difficult when kicking to the freeway end. I won't say that it was gale force but still a bit tricky. There were quite a few Steve Kernahan choppers going that way. Finco kicked one from 50 and there may have been one more. I reckon there's upside to Albion once the guns get a few more games under the belt. I know that it was Finco's first game after a long lay off. Anyhow, such plaudits were reserved for three quarters as they couldn't sustain it for one reason or another. Both sides torched the ball when going into forward 50 but Spotty were better at in just one quarter.

Not sure about Spotty at the moment. Looking at their scores, yep they need to do more but at the same time, they're not getting big scores kicked against them. May have to see what they're like against Werribee since Werribe are capable of kicking a 15 or more a game. Already know the DP can score heavily. You'd think that DP, Werribee and Altona would be top 3 and the business end anyway.

There was a breeze that made goals difficult when kicking to the freeway end. I won't say that it was gale force but still a bit tricky. There were quite a few Steve Kernahan choppers going that way. Finco kicked one from 50 and there may have been one more. I reckon there's upside to Albion once the guns get a few more games under the belt. I know that it was Finco's first game after a long lay off. Anyhow, such plaudits were reserved for three quarters as they couldn't sustain it for one reason or another. Both sides torched the ball when going into forward 50 but Spotty were better at in just one quarter.

Not sure about Spotty at the moment. Looking at their scores, yep they need to do more but at the same time, they're not getting big scores kicked against them. May have to see what they're like against Werribee since Werribe are capable of kicking a 15 or more a game. Already know the DP can score heavily. You'd think that DP, Werribee and Altona would be top 3 and the business end anyway.
You’ve made some good points FILO but initially you said Albions kicking was “bloody good” , now they’ve torched it into the forward 50, which you’d agree is the money kick that apart from goal kicking is the kick that matters . Anyway all good mate , Altona Deer Park GF for mine .

Great article (from the Div 2 forum).

"An interesting article taken from a Geelong newspaper this week.

WE continually hear everyone harping back to the good old days. Back when football was free-flowing and unique. When only the hardest and toughest survived.
These days, the old boys argue that there is a sense of entitlement that they can’t handle.
Junior numbers are a constant battle, and many young footballers are struggling with the transition to senior football.
Perhaps the old boys are onto something?
A common parenting strategy of the past few decades is to tell your children that they are special.
They have more talent than their peers and the world is their oyster. Just believe in yourself, and no one will stop you.
We have started seeing mercy rules that turn the scoreboard off. Participation medals for losing.
Unfortunately, this creates a false reality for many of our adolescents.
It embarrasses the losers and devalues the hard work and commitment personified by the winners.
We need to start telling these kids the truth so that they can have a chance of developing the skills required to transition into senior sport and adulthood successfully.
Because the truth is, playing football is brutally hard.
Tell them there is only one way to get fitter, faster and stronger.
There is only one way to excel at university or build a career.
There is only one way to step out into the big wide world and succeed.
Hard work, commitment, resilience, sacrifice, honesty, courage, leadership.
Timeless values that develop and instil sustainable behaviours in the next generation.
So our challenge is not to protect our juniors from situations that force them to learn these values but find ways to expose them to challenging environments.
Help them understand that it is OK to lose or fail, but if we train a little harder we might win next time.
Teach them to turn to each other for support and guidance when they feel like they want to give up.
Encourage them to head toward the challenge together.
Not only will our young footballers benefit from genuine relationships with each other built in times of adversity and success, but the football club and the wider community will also benefit the most.
With salary caps and point restrictions, clubs need to stop chasing the next best thing and genuinely invest in their juniors.
Back them in and provide them with the opportunity to play and succeed when they join the senior ranks.
Understand that it takes time and genuine leadership from the whole club to do this.
It includes the committee, the coaches, the support staff and most importantly the parents.
As we have learnt, if you can do this, the premierships will take care of themselves."

You’ve made some good points FILO but initially you said Albions kicking was “bloody good” , now they’ve torched it into the forward 50, which you’d agree is the money kick that apart from goal kicking is the kick that matters . Anyway all good mate , Altona Deer Park GF for mine .
Yeah meant field kicking apart from going into the 50. Their options dried up a bit but Spotty's weren't great either.
Anyhow, I'll try to get to a Werribee game v DP and Altona coz I reckon they're a chance to get to the final. Just got to work out whose spot they'll take.

Let's hope it's a cracker of a game marnie, obviously both teams undefeated but looking closely into it. Werribee form over the last 3 weeks haven't been great. Wyndhamvale push them to 3 goals. Beat hoppers by a point, who have just been beaten by sunshine pretty easy and the game before beat CS by 4 points at home. Some good players on every line, just think Altona has to much fire power up forward. Altona by 5-6 goals.

Sunshine must be struggling to cover the loss of castellano. Offered a ludicris amount of cash to a player from spotty to come over.