• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region FL - Divy 1 2018

Dont think it would matter who would coach. Thinking about it a bit more, I guess blokes really havent had much time off since mid jan. Why not take the week off, enjoy a weekend away with the mrs or the boys.

Get injured miss games for what the league? They should just scrap it!
for example! Deer park ave majority of there team picked, they all pull up sore and risk losing key blokes for the weeks after.... they would have the most to lose and I couldnt see a hoppers bloke in my best 22.
Hey mate - please if your going to post something make some sense. Your post is shit. Hoppers are a great team & could easily have 3inclusions & Deer Park $$$$$ should have 6. They still have the best list overall. Let’s get serious. My order of coaches - Eames, Bullen, Kretiuk, Hallighan, Ghazi, Gilham-thoughts???

Best 22 (rushed so be gentle)

B. Pickard (ALT). Viola (HC). O'Shea (CS)

HB. Van REIT (DP). Cavanagh (SUNS). Prismall (WD).

C. Robbins (ALT). Langlands (Spot) J.McKenzie (DP)

HF. McHarg (DP). Boyd (Spot). Byrnes (DP)

F. Panayi (WD). Mellington (CS). Rose (ALT)

R. Stewart (DP) Lyons (SUNS). Iaccarino (Spot)

INT: T.Lee (WD), Dessent (SUNS), Magnabosco (ALT), Smith (SA), Molivas (WD), Skipper (PC)

A lot of quality missing so really hard, but very very good team...
You missed probably the best player in the comp & Captain - J. Post Altona FC

Brodie

INT: T.Lee (WD), Dessent (SUNS), Magnabosco (ALT), Smith (SA), Molivas (WD), Skipper (PC)

holland picked a lot of Caroline springs guys, one is 35 and past itan ok backmen.

Weird no Mellington and chapman. Mellington freak. Chapman dominates forwards every week. Interesting.

Ben dessent, mead, viola.

Brodie

holland picked a lot of Caroline springs guys, one is 35 and past itan ok backmen.

Weird no Mellington and chapman. Mellington freak. Chapman dominates forwards every week. Interesting.

Ben dessent, mead, viola.
I feel for Holland. He picked a lot of his own players because the scum bags from Deer park & Hoppers didn’t have any participants. Bullen & Kretiuk should be ashamed. Shit reflection on your club but more so on you as the coach!!!!

I would have Mead before Panayi but it’s opinion based I know. Just think Mead in the pocket to Mellington/Rose would be equal to a lot of leagues.

I’m thinking Tighe the main ruck, with Stewart replacing Skipper on the interchange.

Great topic for the readers.,

Marc Bullen is an outstanding coach and arguably one of the best in local football outside any state football I’ve seen. It is baffling that he is yet to be asked to be involved by a VFL side of even higher in recent years. Having talent is one thing and yes I agree he has had this at his disposal, but a ball movement pattern offensively and defensively is what stakes up and he most certainly has this in his artillary.

Sorry mate I have to disagree here. Bullen has always been backed by GA and his $$ so would like to see how he would go coaching a side paying less $$ on players. Pretty sure he coached Montmerency in the NFL prior to going to Marby but unsure how that went.

Hey mate - please if your going to post something make some sense. Your post is shit. Hoppers are a great team & could easily have 3inclusions & Deer Park $$$$$ should have 6. They still have the best list overall. Let’s get serious. My order of coaches - Eames, Bullen, Kretiuk, Hallighan, Ghazi, Gilham-thoughts???

It's all opinion and we are entitled to it. I would have Perkins in before mead. Has kicked a ton in this comp and kicked 50 last year playing half the games. And again imo I would have Kennedy from DP before viola. I think no doubt hoppers are a good team not a great team they have a even spread of performers without any superstars.

See I totally disagree with you on this theory. This type of thinking is what often happens with junior rep team selection. They pick a high number of kids from the better performing sides yet maybe a Forward was getting easy goals or a defender was getting plenty of help. What about the other teams. I’m sure other teams have someone better than a sides 4-5 best player.

Anyway my point is yes Perkins is a very good player but put Mead in that team and he would kick plenty. I’m sure Perkins gets the 2nd, 3rd or 4th best defender yet Mead would get the best defender most weeks. Kennedy also a good player from all reports (haven’t yet seen him play) but he would be getting others in to assist spoils etc and helping him zone off. Viola goes well and think his worthy of being selected.
In the end it’s a bit like for like I guess, but think Mead is in the best 20 players in this comp..

See I totally disagree with you on this theory. This type of thinking is what often happens with junior rep team selection. They pick a high number of kids from the better performing sides yet maybe a Forward was getting easy goals or a defender was getting plenty of help. What about the other teams. I’m sure other teams have someone better than a sides 4-5 best player.

Anyway my point is yes Perkins is a very good player but put Mead in that team and he would kick plenty. I’m sure Perkins gets the 2nd, 3rd or 4th best defender yet Mead would get the best defender most weeks. Kennedy also a good player from all reports (haven’t yet seen him play) but he would be getting others in to assist spoils etc and helping him zone off. Viola goes well and think his worthy of being selected.
In the end it’s a bit like for like I guess, but think Mead is in the best 20 players in this comp..

There's no theory it's just who I think my best 22 is. One thing is forr sure perkins gets number 1 defender year in year out and would walk into that side. I read in the local rags that bullen rated him and rose the 2 stand out forwards in the league which not many would would disagree.

Is Perkins the last to kick a ton in the wrfl?
Great debate though as you mentioned heaps of blokes could be picked. Finally we have something to talk about that creates some serious chat.

Note: Told you it was rushed

Perkins = Gun, toss of the coin for mine
Panayi - number 1 small forward & Castellano next for mine. Mead (Nope)
Tighe - not even number 1 @ Altona Turbo, Skipper ahead of him, but Stewart best in comp & has been for years

Left out; Post, Bower, Norton, M. Hutchesson, Burstin, Hamad, Finco, L.Hutchesson, O'Brien, T.Tessari, Jenkins, Said, Christodolou, Abou-Eid, Quick, Schibeci, Mead, Ferrari, Endres, Moloney, Longmire, Kennedy, Stevens, Kritharis, W.O'Sullivan + more.

All could have an argument in some regard....

Note: Told you it was rushed

Perkins = Gun, toss of the coin for mine
Panayi - number 1 small forward & Castellano next for mine. Mead (Nope)
Tighe - not even number 1 @ Altona Turbo, Skipper ahead of him, but Stewart best in comp & has been for years

Left out; Post, Bower, Norton, M. Hutchesson, Burstin, Hamad, Finco, L.Hutchesson, O'Brien, T.Tessari, Jenkins, Said, Christodolou, Abou-Eid, Quick, Schibeci, Mead, Ferrari, Endres, Moloney, Longmire, Kennedy, Stevens, Kritharis, W.O'Sullivan + more.

All could have an argument in some regard....
So who do you think is Altona’s number 1 tall Back ? If you are picking the best team as I think you were then Post plays , full stop. Also Tighe plays where he plays for the betterment of the team no because he’s not the best ruckman .

Interesting discussion lads, come on bully tighe is not the best ruckman at Altona because he is not fit so they just keep him deep forward... turbo Stewart is the best ruckman hands down buddy. Are people forgetting about Jenkins from St. Albans as well? Walk straight into the best 22. Oh and shylo! Purton-smith and Perkins are both in that side also

Bullen short sighted if he was asked, but he should be either way as 5 in a row is 5 in a row. Kretiuk should be in the mix as well.

In regard to Hoppers Violia, Ferrari & Endres would be in the final squad in my opinion.

NFL & EDFL have previously had a group of the best coaches involved and majority of best players when they have been the key people.
My understanding Bullen was 1st choice and declined viola and co along side Scumshine players told not to play only way to stop this shit is not suspend players but deduct premiership points from teams like nrl did with Melbourne storm few years ago

So who do you think is Altona’s number 1 tall Back ? If you are picking the best team as I think you were then Post plays , full stop. Also Tighe plays where he plays for the betterment of the team no because he’s not the best ruckman .

Bully - Firstly read my post & secondly you can continue to be a Big Footy Flog by offering a bias, uneducated, scrutinising, opinion (which is all you do) or you could perhaps put your Best 24 up?

In regard to your question I personally rate Pickard over Post, again it's only an opinion

Bully - Firstly read my post & secondly you can continue to be a Big Footy Flog by offering a bias, uneducated, scrutinising, opinion (which is all you do) or you could perhaps put your Best 24 up?

In regard to your question I personally rate Pickard over Post, again it's only an opinion
A flog - probably, bias - a little, uneducated- you may be surprised. Pickard over Post ? Welcome to the minority .

Strange why Ghazi is playing him on the best forwards. I get it is structural to allow Post to intercept, but Post has been exposed on the best.

I note you failed to pick 24, so for mine your also gutless & remain irrelevant to the conversation

Strange why Ghazi is playing him on the best forwards. I get it is structural to allow Post to intercept, but Post has been exposed on the best.

I note you failed to pick 24, so for mine your also gutless & remain irrelevant to the conversation
So let’s make this clear , you think it takes courage to pen an opinion? The best 24 will be announced at years end . If you support your opinion by referring to Ghazi’s use of Pickard and Post , then let me assure you if he had to choose one or the other he’d take Post every day of the week. Now aren’t you the oracle who informed us how well Sunshine were tracking with their overpaid recruits particularly El Houli ? I hope you continue to offer all and sundry at your club your “educated “ advice as we’d like your premiershipless history to continue. Keep up the good work Mr Relevant.

Post at chb balances the team nicely . Tighe is a better ruck then fwd tho again helps team balance when fwd , altona have 3 rucks with goetz and rafferty

Well said. Post is a gun boys. Surely that’s not questionable. Yes Tighe probably playing forward for team balance but let’s remember it’s also a very, very good ruckman. I’m a big fan of Stewart but all being equal I still take Tighe but it’s a toss of the coin and agree Stewart has runs on the board in WRFL and deserves his spot..

These things are full of people’s opinions and most of you have seen more WRFL games than me..

They are different types. As a lockdown defender it's Pickard all day. As a creative/zoning/3rd man defender it's Post.

Either way, a very handy position for Altona to be in.

They are different types. As a lockdown defender it's Pickard all day. As a creative/zoning/3rd man defender it's Post.

Pickard played some reserves games la

Hedging your bets . You have a spot to fill in your side . Post or Pickard ? Didn’t Pickard play some reserves games last season ? I get all the lockdown v intercept stuff . I may be a flog but I think I know something about football. Isn’t Post a star of the competition?

Pickard played some reserves games la

Hedging your bets . You have a spot to fill in your side . Post or Pickard ? Didn’t Pickard play some reserves games last season ? I get all the lockdown v intercept stuff . I may be a flog but I think I know something about football. Isn’t Post a star of the competition?

My understanding of Pickard's 2's games is that it was a complicated situation. A bit of a statement from Ghazi about holidays and a bit of Pickard not committing. Anyway.

Gun to my head it's Post. Can play lockdown, plays the intercept extremely well but also offers a target up front as well as a pinch hit ruck.

Absolutely correct. He's a star.

My understanding of Pickard's 2's games is that it was a complicated situation. A bit of a statement from Ghazi about holidays and a bit of Pickard not committing. Anyway.

Gun to my head it's Post. Can play lockdown, plays the intercept extremely well but also offers a target up front as well as a pinch hit ruck.

Absolutely correct. He's a star.
Very good reply . Always good to read opinions explained logically without the aggressive undertone of others .

Once again you deflect, like I said Post is a very good player no doubt however you continue to provide your lack of incite by not picking 24 for an educated opinion. I actually rate Altona best team I've seen YTD.

As for my club no doubt where disappointed, but the last count of 23 injured isn't ideal. As for Shags he'd be disappointed (in my opinion) with his form, but wouldn't be alone. Won't deflect my loyalty & I wouldn't write them off at this stage.