• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region FL - Divy 1 2020

AFL Victoria has a meeting with all local footy leagues Tuesday
Odds on that the season start will be delayed
With EFL making a decision to ban all training and games, looks like they have set the precedent so could expect a call from AFL Victoria to announce all leagues to do the same

If you do your research instead of believing the bullshit the media wants us to believe you will find that there is no reason to be cancelling any sports at local level. Has anyone heard any experts actually explain how playing local football is a risk to society regarding corona virus? The message below was published 3 days ago by Sport & Recreation Victoria.

13 Mar 2020
Sport and Recreation Victoria is monitoring the situation with regard to coronavirus disease (COVID-19) in Victoria and its potential impacts on sport and recreation, and will continue to share information and updates as they come to hand.
Key messages you can provide to your association/club:
  • Victorians are encouraged to get active and to continue participating in their favourite sport or recreation pastime.
  • Getting active and participating in sport, whether it’s on or off the field, provides a range of physical, mental and social benefits - and helps to keep communities connected.
  • Health authorities are continuing to closely monitor the situation following the outbreak of coronavirus disease (COVID-19).
  • Due to the outbreak of coronavirus disease (COVID-19), health authorities have advised that all non-essential, organised public gatherings of 500 or more people should be cancelled from Monday 16 March 2020.
  • As a result, event organisers and venue operators are advised to postpone their scheduled events with more than 500 people or look to reduce crowd numbers to ensure the event can safely go ahead.
  • The easiest way to protect yourself and event attendees is to pay attention to good hand hygiene and good respiratory hygiene.
  • Wash hands often with soap and running water, for at least 20 seconds. Dry with paper towel or hand dryer.
  • Try not to touch your eyes, nose or mouth.
  • Cover your nose and mouth with a tissue when you cough or sneeze. If you don’t have a tissue cough or sneeze into your upper sleeve or elbow.
  • You do not need to wear a face mask if you are well.
  • Buying an alcohol-based hand sanitiser with over 60 per cent alcohol is recommended.
  • For the virus to spread, extended close personal contact is most likely required. But visitors to locations where cases have been identified should be aware of the signs and symptoms of COVID-19.
  • Close personal contact is defined as at least 15 minutes face-to-face or more than 2 hours in the same room.
  • If you are feeling unwell, you should avoid attending public gatherings or events.
  • If you have been in close contact with someone who has coronavirus disease (COVID-19) stay at home (self-quarantine).
  • If you are concerned, please call the Coronavirus Hotline on 1800 675 398.
Update 13 March - Coronavirus

Vic health said:
  • For the virus to spread, extended close personal contact is most likely required. But visitors to locations where cases have been identified should be aware of the signs and symptoms of COVID-19.
  • Close personal contact is defined as at least 15 minutes face-to-face or more than 2 hours in the same room.

This is the official government line, which is absolute bullshit and easily disproved by simple observation of overseas events over the last six weeks. Notice how you cannot say it is a direct and deliberate lie, because they have the arse-covering "most likely."

Published three days ago? Three days is a very long time in government spin. Watch it change over the next week or so.

How is coronavirus spread?
COVID-19 spreads through close contact with an infected person; mostly face-to-face or within a household. It cannot jump across a room or be carried for long distances in the air so we should all go about our lives as normal.

How is coronavirus spread?
COVID-19 spreads through close contact with an infected person; mostly face-to-face or within a household. It cannot jump across a room or be carried for long distances in the air so we should all go about our lives as normal.

“We should all go about our normal lives”
Haha haha how can the young fellas go down to the Local and try to pick up some young Ladies a little bit hard to do your finest work when people are sh!t scared!

Season to start in May and will play each other once.

not sure where you got the info on only playing everyone once but yes season at this stage to commence May 2nd
I’m sure Money Park would like to only play everyone once as the first 3 games against what could be the bottom 3 teams might have them sitting on top of the ladder and now they miss out on these games.

not sure where you got the info on only playing everyone once but yes season at this stage to commence May 2nd
I’m sure Money Park would like to only play everyone once as the first 3 games against what could be the bottom 3 teams might have them sitting on top of the ladder and now they miss out on these games.

Forget potting individual clubs mate! Deer Park are in the same boat as all other clubs, all clubs will be scrambling to put plans in place now to make sure they’re ready to roll when this kicks off! Think you all need to worry about your own clubs rather than what the Reigning Premier are doing! I’d suggest jumping on board whatever Membership your club offers and Jump on! They’re ALL gonna need it.....

Well said. Money is going to be tight for all clubs.

Season to start in May and will play each other once.

How do we all view a premiership won over just a 9-12 game season?

Fully warranted and deserved / with an asterisk / Lucky? Will it be respected by the footy community?

Looks to be the best case scenario for 2020. Plenty of teams over the years have been flying after 9 games only to fall in hole.

I for one will respect. Still a lot needs to go right.

Season won't start to at least 30th May..... League just keeping all involved from dropping off I reckon

Fully warranted and deserved / with an asterisk / Lucky? Will it be respected by the footy community?

Looks to be the best case scenario for 2020. Plenty of teams over the years have been
flying after 9 games only to fall in hole.

At the end of the day the best team on Grand Final day wins 🏆......doesn’t matter what path you take to get there.

The very best of luck to all teams to strategically plan the best way to get there!

Looks to be the best case scenario for 2020. Plenty of teams over the years have been flying after 9 games only to fall in hole.

Any more of an asterisk than the last 7?

Western Region FL - Divy 1 2020