Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

R U sure said:
Who Will The Colts Bring In For The Injured Clarke Dothey Bring In A Youngster In Critch, Kealy Or Pitchford Or A Older Guy In A.clarke Or Webb

webby will be back he was rested last week but i don't know if there will be any other changes, have to wait until selection tomorrow night

obe1 said:
Zavalas was all but appionted last pre-season at Albion, the incumbant president used he's dollar backed muscle and overturned the decision.As has been metioned Baker was the obvious choice for next year. All was going to plan untill the politics and in-fighting raised it head this year. Word is both the new pres and the potential coach may be looking for greener pastures next year. St Albans are looking to a "local" to coach them next year. They have had a crack at both the former footscay boys. Insiders say they are happy with their prospect and are close to an announcement.

I have been told by a mate of mine who plays for Parkside, that Savalas will be coaching Parkside next year. That will leave Stanely without a job, he might be the ex buldogs player Stalbans have been speaking to. At Albion Terry Cooper is president and is very good mates with Cam Barker, so I can see Barker getting the job there next year, I would be very supprised if Mcgoldrick is still there next year with the lack of success over recent years.

kangaroos06 said:
Anyone agree that with the 3 biggest matches of the season all in the one round, bringing back the Sunday game would be a good idea and good timing? Im sure the match of the round guys could call one game saturday and then another Sunday? It would give local footy supporters a chance to go see a cracker game of footy (eg colts v hoppers) and then another cracker sunday (parks v roos or saints and spotty). Also a good way for the competing teams in the finals to have a last look before finals time comes around...

I guess there is the argument of the following week, with the teams playing Sunday have a shorter break to when they play the next Saturday (6 days) but at this level and training twice a week that shouldnt really be an issue.

Agree? Disagree?

From a spectators point of view I would agree, to see two ripper games on the weekend would be great. From a players point I would disagree, I struggle on Sundays to get up and going and then finally get going on Monday's for work. I think there would be a lot of RDO'S on the Monday's. Do they play finals on sundays in this league?.

sunline 11 said:
I have been told by a mate of mine who plays for Parkside, that Savalas will be coaching Parkside next year. That will leave Stanely without a job, he might be the ex buldogs player Stalbans have been speaking to. At Albion Terry Cooper is president and is very good mates with Cam Barker, so I can see Barker getting the job there next year, I would be very supprised if Mcgoldrick is still there next year with the lack of success over recent years.

Allegedly that is the reason that Savalas didn't leave in the first place. Was guaranteed the gig. So I was told. By club president chasing him. As for Barker coaching, also was told by same source, wont happen. He isn't interested in doing it simply because all the crap that has happened at the joint this year and he doesn't think he has any real cattle to work with. Cooper a big chance to take his money elsewhere as well I would suggest. Which would also take Krusty and Dell.

Finally, bring back Sunday footy I say. We play em up home and they are fantastic. A blockbuster game, or a traditional clash.. Good idea

Skut17 said:
Allegedly that is the reason that Savalas didn't leave in the first place. Was guaranteed the gig. So I was told. By club president chasing him. As for Barker coaching, also was told by same source, wont happen. He isn't interested in doing it simply because all the crap that has happened at the joint this year and he doesn't think he has any real cattle to work with. Cooper a big chance to take his money elsewhere as well I would suggest. Which would also take Krusty and Dell.

Finally, bring back Sunday footy I say. We play em up home and they are fantastic. A blockbuster game, or a traditional clash.. Good idea
Your full of words early skut and i reckon it may be because the seniors might be seeing that barrel chested number 17 running out.

sunline 11 said:
From a spectators point of view I would agree, to see two ripper games on the weekend would be great. From a players point I would disagree, I struggle on Sundays to get up and going and then finally get going on Monday's for work. I think there would be a lot of RDO'S on the Monday's. Do they play finals on sundays in this league?.

in my experiences over the years i have seen and played in many sunday games in the dvfl northcote park play nth heidlebreg twice a year in rnd1 and 10 they still get a fair crowd but nothing like when they first started to play them in about 97 and some of the crowds were over 3000 and both teams used to make heaps of money on the day the players loved it as these games were always treated a bit more finals like and the build up was always huge i believe that if the players agree to it then the league shouldnt have a problem with it as both clubs would both have a game each at thier home ground

sunline 11 said:

the elimination final and the 1st semi final are played on a sunday during the first 2 weeks of the finals series, all the rest are saturday games

if you struggle to get up on suday's sunline you would hoping you don't have to play one of these sunday matches, for what it's worth i think you'll be right:thumbsu:

sunline's tips for the weekend.

ALBION V YARAVILLE (should win this)

PARKSIDE V SUNSHINE ( very close one to call, parks play well at home but I think Sunshine will be hungry for the win and a top 3 spot. With one of parks guns out it will make it a little bit easier)

COLTS V HOPPERS ( big game, stakes are high and infront of a big crowd, Hoppers will be primed and ready to go, this will be a very close game and we owe the Colt's one for earlier in the season, it will go down to the line but I think we will get over it)

SPOTTY V STALBANS (Spotty will win this easily at home, Stalbans are battlers and wont give up, but Spotty will be to good for them)

ALTONA - BYE.

sunline 11 said:
PARKSIDE V SUNSHINE ( very close one to call, parks play well at home but I think Sunshine will be hungry for the win and a top 3 spot. With one of parks guns out it will make it a little bit easier)

Hope you are right here sunny. Last time we played them they rolled us without zavalas, cook and condos. Disappointing loss that one, but third spot is high on our shopping list.

Travvy43 said:
Hope you are right here sunny. Last time we played them they rolled us without zavalas, cook and condos. Disappointing loss that one, but third spot is high on our shopping list.

If you go head to head with Juegan I would suggest that will be a mistake mr Trav, I would think he would do alot of damage. How much did they beat you by last start?.

sunline 11 said:
If you go head to head with Juegan I would suggest that will be a mistake mr Trav, I would think he would do alot of damage. How much did they beat you by last start?.

Appreciate the vote of confidence sunny! Time will tell with Juegan, talented player, and looking forward to the challenge.

They defeated us by three goals last time.

Travvy43 said:
Appreciate the vote of confidence sunny! Time will tell with Juegan, talented player, and looking forward to the challenge.

No offence intended there Travvy, i've played with Nathan and watched him when we had our week off and he has the potential to tare the game apart. We had a run with player last week on him and he didn't have the influence on the game that he usually does.

this weeks tips are

SPOTSWOOD V st albans - spotty will be too good expect the saints to have a fair crack though

PARKSIDE V sunshine - parks have a lot of experience and is playing at home, that's the only reason i'm tipping them

PORT COLTS V hoppers - massive game but i think we can get over them at home even without jason clarke

ALBION V yarraville - the cats to break the losing streak and finally sing their song

sunline 11 said:

COLTS V HOPPERS ( big game, stakes are high and infront of a big crowd, Hoppers will be primed and ready to go, this will be a very close game and we owe the Colt's one for earlier in the season, it will go down to the line but I think we will get over it)

SUN,tell me mate on your thoughts about me not playing,also how you guys are going to turn around the loss from the last time we met
PORT COLTS 20.20 TO HOPPERS 19.4 it was probably lucky it wasn't a white wash and you guys got 2 or 3 goals early from 50m penalties and down fields that were a little suspect.
in my opinion we have camillerri[jacobs]montebruno[bonnett]murphy/buchanan[stevens] pretty well covered and we believe we can break even with d.carson the same with p.carson he will have a heavy tagg[l.bracken,also didn't play last time],we have options when venner goes fwd and if koutza starts back or goes fwd,but how will you guys go stopping caddy,brannan debruyn,webb and winters in our fwd line then chuck in burns bellingham and mcbroom then i believe julier will control the stoppages [as he did last time]and give masis,cooper and twomey first use,it will be a great game and im tipping the colts will come out winners comfortably and put in some mental scarring for hoppers to think about come finals time,especially considering the rock will be BACK next time hopefully.

Travvy43 said:

travvy mate this is a massive opportunity for your club this week and if you get the points, it would put right up there as flag contenders
how was the week at training, are you guys nervous are you treating it like a final, will be good game and i'm tipping parkside will try to be very physical and intimidate, is this something you guys have spoken about

ROCK07 said:
sunline 11 said:

SUN,tell me mate on your thoughts about me not playing,also how you guys are going to turn around the loss from the last time we met
PORT COLTS 20.20 TO HOPPERS 19.4 it was probably lucky it wasn't a white wash and you guys got 2 or 3 goals early from 50m penalties and down fields that were a little suspect.
in my opinion we have camillerri[jacobs]montebruno[bonnett]murphy/buchanan[stevens] pretty well covered and we believe we can break even with d.carson the same with p.carson he will have a heavy tagg[l.bracken,also didn't play last time],we have options when venner goes fwd and if koutza starts back or goes fwd,but how will you guys go stopping caddy,brannan debruyn,webb and winters in our fwd line then chuck in burns bellingham and mcbroom then i believe julier will control the stoppages [as he did last time]and give masis,cooper and twomey first use,it will be a great game and im tipping the colts will come out winners comfortably and put in some mental scarring for hoppers to think about come finals time,especially considering the rock will be BACK next time hopefully.

Rock, we will go into the game thinking you are playing, you can never take anything for granted these days. You have named many players there, that you think will get you over the line and yes, their are some descent names there. We have got some descent players also, no point in me mentioning all of them. I think the dual between Julier and Puli will be a ripper, julier is no doubt a gun ruckman but so are Puli and Vennar, first use is very important. We can reflect back on last time we met, but that means nothing, we wont be focusing on last time, we will be focusing on Saturday, as I've said before, I think it will live up to all expectations and be a ripper game. I hope your PLUMS have subsided enough for you to play on the weekend.:thumbsu:

sunline 11 said:
ROCK07 said:
Rock, we will go into the game thinking you are playing, you can never take anything for granted these days. You have named many players there, that you think will get you over the line and yes, their are some descent names there. We have got some descent players also, no point in me mentioning all of them. I think the dual between Julier and Puli will be a ripper, julier is no doubt a gun ruckman but so are Puli and Vennar, first use is very important. We can reflect back on last time we met, but that means nothing, we wont be focusing on last time, we will be focusing on Saturday, as I've said before, I think it will live up to all expectations and be a ripper game. I hope your PLUMS have subsided enough for you to play on the weekend.:thumbsu:

well firstly you should reflect back to last game as it will be a guidence for what went wrong and what you need to improve on .
Also i am definately not playing and probably won't be back until finals,if you ask anybody that knows me its that i always tell the truth some call it a down fall but i like me that way,except when i said it was the plums it is a hammy.

cold pies said:
travvy mate this is a massive opportunity for your club this week and if you get the points, it would put right up there as flag contenders
how was the week at training, are you guys nervous are you treating it like a final, will be good game and i'm tipping parkside will try to be very physical and intimidate, is this something you guys have spoken about

Yeah coldie, huge game this week and one the boys are all looking forward too. It will be a game played at finals intenisty which will be good test for us.

The week at training thus far (just tuesday night) has been pretty good. I am not sure if the boys are nervous, i would think it is more looking forward to the challenge.

Parkside area proud club and will be putting everything on the line to get the double chance, they will also be looking to make up for last weeks defeat.

Bring it on.

Where do Parkside and Sunshine currently sit on the ladder lads??
Could the Premiers come from these two??

ROCK07 said:
well firstly you should reflect back to last game as it will be a guidence for what went wrong and what you need to improve on .
Also i am definately not playing and probably won't be back until finals,if you ask anybody that knows me its that i always tell the truth some call it a down fall but i like me that way,except when i said it was the plums it is a hammy.

We had a look at the game the week after and moved on, we are about looking to the future, not dwelling on the past. Well Rock I'll have to take you on your word, good luck with the hammy, I deffinately know what it's like.

the round of the year has come here are my commets about the three big games.
colts vs hoppers:think this game will be a ripper game with colts missing big red down at full forward and hoppers having puli and carson in there team who did'nt play last time they met will make this game alot closer I'm tipping colts by five points.
parkside vs sunshine:big game for both teams double chance in finals on the line sunshine having a very good year but the pressure and the youngness of the team will be to much against the older players from parkside with a home ground advantige tipping parkside by nine goals.
spotswood vs st albans:this game is who wants to play in september and I think these two teams are about even a cross the board.tipping spotswood on the simple fact is st albans don't travel that well.spotswood by three goals.

The Flying Dutchman said:
Where do Parkside and Sunshine currently sit on the ladder lads??
Could the Premiers come from these two??

Parkside are 4th and Sunshine are 3rd. The premiers can come from anywhere in the top 5, it's very even at the moment, in saying that, it's very difficult to finish in 4th and 5th and win 4 finals in a row to take out a flag.

bronco27 said:
parkside vs sunshine:big game for both teams double chance in finals on the line sunshine having a very good year but the pressure and the youngness of the team will be to much against the older players from parkside with a home ground advantige tipping parkside by nine goals.

9 goals bronco, that's a flogging, you guys were beaten earlier in the year by Sunshine and they were playing away, like they are this week, are you just putting it down to inexperience?. I would suggest Sunshine will be fresh after their week off and only playing one game against the bottom side.

hey rock i know this mite sound silly but after all the talk ive herd about hoppers crossing i think a few of your boys should set the seen early and lay a few of these blokes out early just to let them know that its just like a final and that you boys arent taking no s h i t and that your prepared to do what it takes to win if a few of them got broken jaws im posisititve that there blokes would be 2nd to the ball all day

sunline 11 said:
9 goals bronco, that's a flogging, you guys were beaten earlier in the year by Sunshine and they were playing away, like they are this week, are you just putting it down to inexperience?. I would suggest Sunshine will be fresh after their week off and only playing one game against the bottom side.
back when sunshine beat the colts there was nothing on the line they just come out and had a crack and got over the colts.this time there is a fair bit on the line and I think the pressure will get to the young team and when your got blokes like davis and condos in your forward line before you know it your six goals down.any way early matches in the year mean jackshi t now because if I was going on early matches would say colts kick straight this week they beat hoppers by 15 goals.