Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

well u might be suprised i too can use a computer yes did play with u in the 1sts and still do........

what about the pre season cricket trip we went on and got home at stumps and walked about 4 kms...........lol

deer park football club

Vividly mate. Hope you are making a few. I keep an eye out to see how you have been going. You guys have been struggling this year though. Tell Knighter the lazy prick to come to training will you.

Ive lost a couple but got a few more to go knackers. Its hard work trying to keep up with these kids. How are you looking?

my fitness is ok i'm where i should be but the young lads certainly have a way of reminding me that i'm getting on a bit hoping to play across half back all season this year

what position are looking at playing this year staying back or still got enough run to push through the middle at times

Heard a nice little tale regarding the new power forward that is entering the comp ( Dane Grenfell at Albion ) After accepting a $1000 to sign on he has also secured himself $600 a game plus $15 a goal. Not a bad start to the WRFL , shows Albion are still throwing out the big coin. Speaking with he's former club, they are not overly concered about loosing the "gun" as he calls himself. He seems to have a issue with training and the obvious discipline that goes with it. The new coach at melton (Snr Sarg Payne ) made it quite clear he's expectations of the above. Apparently the gun hasn't got what it takes when it comes to hard work and 100% committment?? Sound familar??

HI guys has been a while since I ventured onto big footy but a little news from the league.
As has been mentioned the season is ok to start on the 14th April but the word from the league is certain grounds due to OHS can not be played on initially.
The league has mentioned to a few clubs that if games are to progress on their grounds they will be liable if anything was to happen (re. knee injuries etc)
The two specific grounds under question wer hogans rd cow padock in hoppers and west foots in div 2.
These grounds have been earmarked as potential problems so dont be surprised is hoppers are making calls to try and switch games in the early rounds and do a swap later on.
In other news from my insights sunshine have not picked upa lot and the word has it B Foley (willy) list is looking elsewhere due to something which happened last year w coach okeefe. 13cabs may be able to elaborate on that one, but that is a sunshine issue I suppose but interested parties take note. Not sure if the issue has been resolved.
News from other clubs is Altona are struggling for numbers and quality as they lost 8 with about 5 of them being better players. maybe they will flodd every week aka vs hoppers 2006.
Yarraville have been quiet but woodedn spoon not secured. Signed and still signing a few v good players and speaking to ex Pt Melb and Bris Lion Gerard Jess and his brothers who can all play. Will battle out w altona glenorden, St Albans, Park, and Albion.
Not sure about others but every year Albion talk themself up and people talk them up.................... have not delivered for years and only really picked up 4 and lost the likes of James and C Barker.. big losses.
Time will tell....
any thoughts

Interesting to hear this about Sunshine especially since they are a pretty close bunch, hopefully this does not affect any of the other players if any of this is true. He Chest just reading from your post are you saying Yarraville a speaking to this ex Pt Melb and Bris Lion Gerard Jess and his brothers who can all play or are you speaking about another team speaking to them. What type of player is this Gerard Jess? Also has anyone heard of team called 'Collun' as Yarraville are playing them in a practive match but no one seems to know anything about them. Cheers,

Currently speaking to a few players. has a mate who plays at yarra and he gives me some goss so that is where it comes from. Not a bad player 6'2 and athletic, thats why he got picked up but obviously not up to AFL standard. was in 1997 or 98 so a while ago but his bros are alll same height and descriptions. This is all speculation but from what I hear Yarra need some players and need them fast.
The word on Foley was that okeefe asked willy not to pick him one week as he was needed to play for sunshine due too a big game or something around those lines. Willy did pick hoim in th eend so was not an issue but Fley found out about this and last reports before Chrissy was looking elsewhere. I think a lot of people are under the assumption that once a sunshine player always a sunshine player but everyone can make their own decisions and not sure the status on that one.

my fitness is ok i'm where i should be but the young lads certainly have a way of reminding me that i'm getting on a bit hoping to play across half back all season this year

what position are looking at playing this year staying back or still got enough run to push through the middle at times

Same as you mate. Will probably play back with a go in the middle every now and then. Im 28 but feel 40. Doesnt help carrying almost 100 of the best around.

Are you still doing those spinning classes?

Yes Yarraville do need players, especially ones with abit of height and definately ones with talent. Hopefully these players can be signed as alittle bit of luck is needed at the moment. Disappointing to hear that coaches may be interferring with players careers in terms of telling a VFL side not to pick them, I can certainly understand why to player once he found out would be questioning why is he at this club when the coach is playing with his career.

Yeah i know that Foles is looking elsewhere as his feeder club. Not 100% sure on the reasons, but have heard along the lines of what u know chest... u must be close to either him or the footy club! Not sure if thats true bout Tocka, hard position to be in as a coach who wants his best side for big games, but also wants to push the younger fellas up to play the best standard of football possible. Won't affect the group if he does leave, of course u dont wanna lose gun players but he may come back in the future. Hes looking outside the WRFL, have heard hes speaking to a couple of clubs in the EDFL. The way he played in the finals for Willy last year id imagine he wouldnt be seen at local footy anyway. Him, Stenna and Xave are definently big losses, but we would look to a few guys who have been around a while to step up now.

little bit of a hint that travvy43 talking to nth footscray also and the kangas are in strife, i hope for your sake and the league that you guys weren't one year wonders

that was tongue in cheek bout travvy talking to nth footscray. theres no chance he will leave... hes a big chance to be co captain with akers this year! definently not in strife... must admit that we prob wont be as strong as last year... due to a few guys leaving and VFL blokes... but theres no doubt these guys will return... Stenna has said hes back as soon as his apprenticeship is over, and the VFL blokes will all return down the track. Dont count us out yet, we will be pushing the top sides again.

how is young jackson booth going down at the colts? thought he was a good player last year and thought he would really push for the 1s this year?

Vividly mate. Hope you are making a few. I keep an eye out to see how you have been going. You guys have been struggling this year though. Tell Knighter the lazy prick to come to training will you.

yer knighta funny bloke will be down after cricket finals.......

dunno about struggling we have sown up a finals berth with a game to go can finish anywhere from 1st to 4th have been amongst them of late and looking f/ward to another finals campaign..........:thumbsu:

that was tongue in cheek bout travvy talking to nth footscray. theres no chance he will leave... hes a big chance to be co captain with akers this year! definently not in strife... must admit that we prob wont be as strong as last year... due to a few guys leaving and VFL blokes... but theres no doubt these guys will return... Stenna has said hes back as soon as his apprenticeship is over, and the VFL blokes will all return down the track. Dont count us out yet, we will be pushing the top sides again.

Also heard Scotty Mcgoldrick has been restricted to the bike of late due to sore knees. If all these blokes are departing, you really need a full season out of him.

Yeah cabs have had a bit to do with sunshine in the past but heard the rumor late last year. Am not sure of the exact ins and outs of it but about 99% sure that is a main reason why foley is out.
Xav signed at werribee and what about you signed or not.
Obviously guys like stenhouse say they will be back but as you know is a scamble at the end of each year to recruit power forwards and he in a few years will be on a few guys hit list to recruit so although he says back to sun, whi knows.
Travy co-captain after 1 year, big call when so many younger local blokes, your thoughts and dont tickle any balls on this one.....

Has anyone got any definate news on Parkside.
Lossess and gains apart from the ones mentioned earlier (williams).
Heard sedat Sir, condos, cook (jail), Pat davis, and one of their ruckman is gone, Any truth here or is it just specualtion...

SAD NEWS

Unfotunately today at murphy's we have some bitter news with favorite son LES 'SQUIZZY'TAYLOR announcing his early retirement from footy due to work and family commitments.
I would like to use big footy and just say from all invlved at the club we will miss playing and occasionaly trainning alongside him.
Les was someone that gave his all and put his body on the line week in week out and there are not to many that can say that.
He has finished in the top 3 in the bnf on two occasions, has been named in the team of the year numerous times,every year he played we made finals and he caped it off with FOUR premiership medallions not many can compete with that.
He certainly will be missed in our back line and he is just about irreplaceable.
CONGATULATIONS SQUIZZY we will miss you.

My missus overheard a conversation (at my kids school, our kids are both at the same) that squizzys wife is has been trying to talk him into playing another year. Has a bad ear infection at the moment and feeling a little off, so may be a big reason why not interested in thinking about footy. If you have the green light from the missus not much else to stop you playing. True or not Bronco. Rock/fan/cougar, can u confirm?

I'm petty sure he as always had the green lite from the missus to play footy as long as he controls himself social as he loves getting with the boys and having a few frothy's.
Now about the ear infection he did tell me he had one but he is always telling me fibs about fake injuries and illness that i just thought he was stirring me,but this maybe true.

Yeah cabs have had a bit to do with sunshine in the past but heard the rumor late last year. Am not sure of the exact ins and outs of it but about 99% sure that is a main reason why foley is out.
Xav signed at werribee and what about you signed or not.
Obviously guys like stenhouse say they will be back but as you know is a scamble at the end of each year to recruit power forwards and he in a few years will be on a few guys hit list to recruit so although he says back to sun, whi knows.
Travy co-captain after 1 year, big call when so many younger local blokes, your thoughts and dont tickle any balls on this one.....

Xav hasnt signed yet at Werribee, but id imagine he would soon. I got the cut last monday so ill be at Sunshine this year... Only going on what Stenna has said to me, and thats that he will return so we are looking forward to that. If u still had a bit to do with the club now u would no doubt see Travvy as captain material. not tickling any balls but he is one of the best leaders ive played footy with, both on and off the field. No one at the club would have an issue with him if he was to be a captain... but in saying that Akers is more then capable!

who are the 4 albion have picked up.. im sure they have picked up more than 4 good players.
HI guys has been a while since I ventured onto big footy but a little news from the league.
As has been mentioned the season is ok to start on the 14th April but the word from the league is certain grounds due to OHS can not be played on initially.
The league has mentioned to a few clubs that if games are to progress on their grounds they will be liable if anything was to happen (re. knee injuries etc)
The two specific grounds under question wer hogans rd cow padock in hoppers and west foots in div 2.
These grounds have been earmarked as potential problems so dont be surprised is hoppers are making calls to try and switch games in the early rounds and do a swap later on.
In other news from my insights sunshine have not picked upa lot and the word has it B Foley (willy) list is looking elsewhere due to something which happened last year w coach okeefe. 13cabs may be able to elaborate on that one, but that is a sunshine issue I suppose but interested parties take note. Not sure if the issue has been resolved.
News from other clubs is Altona are struggling for numbers and quality as they lost 8 with about 5 of them being better players. maybe they will flodd every week aka vs hoppers 2006.
Yarraville have been quiet but woodedn spoon not secured. Signed and still signing a few v good players and speaking to ex Pt Melb and Bris Lion Gerard Jess and his brothers who can all play. Will battle out w altona glenorden, St Albans, Park, and Albion.
Not sure about others but every year Albion talk themself up and people talk them up.................... have not delivered for years and only really picked up 4 and lost the likes of James and C Barker.. big losses.
Time will tell....
any thoughts

Well boys lets get some more info on this site for the up coming season who's in/out from all clubs which players will make an impact.Also some prediction on who will play finals and tips for the comp medals.

INS
Robbie wittmar-chf former e keilor/yarraville williamstown player huge leap will be a big inclusion at the colts
John lindsay-back after a year at strathmore was bog in colts 05 preimership,with julia he will win the priest medal
Guy Chisnall-from corowa in the om league onball h/back will be very handy and another that will be high up in the priest[NOT SIGNED]
Dave Mcgregor-a fwd from the dvfl was resevoir's captain will make presence felt,moves well and good hands.
The club also has a number of young guys from the u/18's that will push for the seniors,murphy,bellingham,turnbulland franklin

OUTS
mcrboom-overseas
kealy-ammos
taylor-retired big loss alwyas gave a 100% and was best finals player last year and was best in gf,still hopeful of a part time return and qualify him for finals
CADDY-now has been cleared to diamond creek,but probably will end up back at the colts as clearence was not meant to be put through and he has expressed interest to stay.If he does i feel we are better team than last year and we will get the three peat and if doesn't come back we will be equal to last year and still win the three peat.

FINAL 5 COLTS,HOPPERS,SPOTTY,SUNSHINE,ALBION
priest a tie between lindsay,caddy and clarke
GIBSON-clarke with 110
PREMIERS colts[3 peat u beauty can see it now]
woodenspoon-yarraville eagles
ALL READY TALKNG UP ANOTHER FLAG WHEN THE SEASON HASNT EVEN STARTED,THAT SHOULD BE ENOUGH INCENTIVE FOR ALL YOU OTHER CLUBS TO KNOCK THEM OFF.

I don't think that me spuiking on an internet site actually gives the opposition any added incentive to knock the colts off i actually believe in stems back that we have won the last two premierships and played of in the last 3 grand finals,surely incentive enough to knock us off our perch.
As for talking it up i believe we have the record on the board and have recruited well again,i'm not the type of person to say this or that should happen to win the gf.I like to put myself out there with a prediction and if im wrong so be it,but i doubt the club will embarras my prediction,lets just wait and see.GO COLTS 3 PEAT HERE WE COME