Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

Firstly it's glass houses....anyway i did not say that savalas was doing anything wron, i like him as a person and i'm sure he will make a great coach. I agree i do pump the colts up alot, but i'm a realist and i believe we are a great side and if i didn't think we could match it with the best i would say so. We have proveD it 4 yrs in a row, playing off in the gf and with a bit of luck & kicking straight could have won all four and yes we may have got a little lucky beating hoppers in 06 but my point is we have given ourselves every chance to win the big one 4 years in a row....and this year without doubt is the best list we have had, that does not guarantee success, but we will be right up there again....so if albion finishes on top of us they will be top 3 without doubt, coz that's where we will be again.....in saying that i think the competition between the top 6 will be the highest level it has been for a while and that is great for the W.R.F.L

agree clarky we will have a top side this year.probably ONE of the best of late, but gaining many players will take time to all get use to the game plan and the way things work down in port so hope we can go all the way.but 3-4 other threatening sides in , hoppers, albion, spotty and sunshine

Read thru my previous post's goose and you should be able to work out who i follow,my knowlege of beazer are away from footy and also have a number of friends at Albion from over the year's and i bet they put more back into the club than you or are you another Parkside wog that followed stevie over,hope their money is well spent after the last few year's pick up's..

who had steve dragged over apart from Doorwood?

was zavalis the albion player in the act with beasley from spotty with the two berwick girls? what happened was it serious?

So can anyone give us a match report???/best players,goal kickers,who was missing....
I herd Steve savalas was out gloating about albion's chances at the beach hotel..................[/quot

clarky ur the biggest sprooker in the competition so dont throw stones when u live in a class house, and i will make a statement that Albion will finish higher than the colts this year and im not from albion.colts will finish 4 or 5 at best

Wisty seeing as we must be "neighbors" we should catch up at Lulu's for a coffee and chat? Perhaps we can discuss your obvious dislike for the colts?

Yarraville/Seddon to meet with League this week to advise that they want a 1 year rest for the seniors so that they can build the club up adminstrativley and come back into 2nd Div in 09.

West defientley want to go back to 2nd Division.

Big problems for the League, if Yarra/Sed want out for 1 year, then they will probably drop West back to avoid the bye in Div 1.But this will certainly stuff up the current fixture and for clubs that have already planned thier social callender will all be pretty p.ssed.
Would this then become a 16 week season or will they have it that each club plays 2 other teams 3 times?

Bad luck to Hoppers, wanted to utilise Glenorden's ground for a practice match and rightly so Glenorden knocked them back.
Not sure where your info comes from but just to let those on this site in, I do not think that is happening at all. If it does well good guess but Yarra will play this season, be it 1st or 2nd divvy but will not not field a side.
Not sure where you got your info from but I think you are way off the mark on that one. Not sure about west situation but I think if one goes down then they both will as the league will not want a 9 team div 1..
IN terms of not fielding a side, I am happy to say 1% chance of that happening. Not 100% as we a ll know footy is a funny game and strange things happen.

So can anyone give us a match report???/best players,goal kickers,who was missing....
I herd steve savalas was out gloating about albions chances at the beach hotel..................

re: Match report

Zavalis didn't play but coached the game out, he went well... Kept the game plan simple...

The recruits went well for Albion in a few yarraville lads, Dorwood, Kenezz, etc. There was a young kid (number 5) I think his name was Shayce or something he played really well with some great composture... He will play seniors all year, he has a light frame so will definitely get knocked about.

Butina kicked seven, new player Corey kicked three-four, Kelmey rucked all day and did well considering the heat..

5-6 seniors possibly more didn't play for various reasons..

Albion look alot quicker than they were last year...

I guess if you think about it this way we have only really lost about 3-4 players but gained 6-7 senior and potential senior players and another 4-5 players in the two's so we will have even more depth than we did last year.

Hope that answers your question Rock, bring on round 1 :thumbsu:

Zavalis didn't play but coached the game out, he went well... Kept the game plan simple...

The recruits went well for Albion in a few yarraville lads, Dorwood, Kenezz, etc. There was a young kid (number 5) I think his name was Shayce or something he played really well with some great composture... He will play seniors all year, he has a light frame so will definitely get knocked about.

Butina kicked seven, new player Corey kicked three-four, Kelmey rucked all day and did well considering the heat..

I guess if you think about it this way we have only really lost about 3-4 players but gained 6-7 senior and potential senior players and another 4-5 players in the two's so we will have even more depth than we did last year.

yeah agree, i went down and watched the first half, dorwood and kenez were the best on. yarra recruit corey thomas did ok but didnt have much oppisition as altona are prettty undersized and had alot of senior players out....

albion were quiet impressive and had a couple of midfielders that played well that werent playin seniors last year, one is the young skinny kid i think he is from werribee juniors he goes well. albion still looked a little undersized down back but im not sure how many didnt play. they also have the best bench coach in the comp.

note: match report may be off a little as i did have about 12 stubbies in me.

Not sure where your info comes from but just to let those on this site in, I do not think that is happening at all. If it does well good guess but Yarra will play this season, be it 1st or 2nd divvy but will not not field a side.
Not sure where you got your info from but I think you are way off the mark on that one. Not sure about west situation but I think if one goes down then they both will as the league will not want a 9 team div 1..
IN terms of not fielding a side, I am happy to say 1% chance of that happening. Not 100% as we a ll know footy is a funny game and strange things happen.

well who is gonna be round to play? looking at the wrfl website there is at least 15 players that played regular senior football last year putting in for a clearance. how does that work out? there aren't too many going into yarra but a lot going out.
yarra already needed to hold onto those and pick up more quality from last year to be competitive. lets be honest they were rubbish last year and now even what they had is gone.
same situation for west, but commenting on that is like flogging a dead horse. they are well and truly done. was down watching them train the other week and i really feel sorry for them. its a shame that they can't come up and be competitive but thats what this comp is like.
i could not see yarra or west competing in div 1 this year at all so when are they gonna throw it in?

I'm not sure what is going on at west or yarraville but i really hope for the leagues sake that neither team folds and that we some how have a 10 team competition in 2008, if not i think the reputation of the league ad the people running it will come under alot of ridicule and deservedly so.

Now having had a closer look at ins ad outs from the top 6 i really think sunshine will be the big improvers this year, i think they have recruited in the right areas not sure if they are all quality recruits but mentha,foley,morgs and kairns will be very handy and if they have a little better luck with injuries the kangas will put in a good year.
Albion have also recruited well but seems like they have picked up midfielders,in my opinion need to find some good quality forwards and 1 more good key defender and get rid of brendan dixon he is well past it [slower than me]
Hoppers again have picked well in murphy,moody,barry,downey also but have lost frosty and fletcher although may gain venner if the whispers are true so will be pushing top 3 but not sure if they can beat spotty but would never write them off.
Spotty again will be the team to beat no losses to speak of and whispers of a couple of handy mids but yet to see any clearences of note and same with lachie mcghie no clearence cited yet???? but really need a ruckmen with some size.
St.albans not to sure of any losses but some handy recruits most notable hollow should see them push strongly for a finals birth but don't think they will make it
LADDER
spotty
colts
sunshine
hoppers
albion
stalbans
altona
glenorden
west
yarra

Any of the top 5 could win the flag although luck with injuries will play apart come finals time as always but that's footy and having depth is just as important as your top 5 players.
PREMIERS
COLTS [OF COURSE]
25 DAYS TO GO

I'm not sure what is going on at west or yarraville but i really hope for the leagues sake that neither team folds and that we some how have a 10 team competition in 2008, if not i think the reputation of the league ad the people running it will come under alot of ridicule and deservedly so.

Now having had a closer look at ins ad outs from the top 6 i really think sunshine will be the big improvers this year, i think they have recruited in the right areas not sure if they are all quality recruits but mentha,foley,morgs and kairns will be very handy and if they have a little better luck with injuries the kangas will put in a good year.
Albion have also recruited well but seems like they have picked up midfielders,in my opinion need to find some good quality forwards and 1 more good key defender and get rid of brendan dixon he is well past it [slower than me]
Hoppers again have picked well in murphy,moody,barry,downey also but have lost frosty and fletcher although may gain venner if the whispers are true so will be pushing top 3 but not sure if they can beat spotty but would never write them off.
Spotty again will be the team to beat no losses to speak of and whispers of a couple of handy mids but yet to see any clearences of note and same with lachie mcghie no clearence cited yet???? but really need a ruckmen with some size.
St.albans not to sure of any losses but some handy recruits most notable hollow should see them push strongly for a finals birth but don't think they will make it
LADDER
spotty
colts
sunshine
hoppers
albion
stalbans
altona
glenorden
west
yarra

Any of the top 5 could win the flag although luck with injuries will play apart come finals time as always but that's footy and having depth is just as important as your top 5 players.
PREMIERS
COLTS [OF COURSE]
25 DAYS TO GO

Interesting ladder that one there Rock, come round 1 you may have a sway of opinion I believe. Good effort anyhow.

interesting that Albion and Sunshine are talking up recruits from Yarra/seddon, where previously mentioned in posts, alot of these guys are contracted to Yarraville...... So are they still going to be of benefit when they can't play anything other than practice matches?
For a league to survive and remain strong, clubs need to show more integrity and attempt to recruit from outside the same league. Trying to poach players from teams that are struggling is only going to kill off the league in time.....

well who is gonna be round to play? looking at the wrfl website there is at least 15 players that played regular senior football last year putting in for a clearance. how does that work out? there aren't too many going into yarra but a lot going out.
yarra already needed to hold onto those and pick up more quality from last year to be competitive. lets be honest they were rubbish last year and now even what they had is gone.
same situation for west, but commenting on that is like flogging a dead horse. they are well and truly done. was down watching them train the other week and i really feel sorry for them. its a shame that they can't come up and be competitive but thats what this comp is like.
i could not see yarra or west competing in div 1 this year at all so when are they gonna throw it in?
The problem is there is a lot of players putting in for clearances because of whatever reasons and as we all know everyone has different reasons. Corey Thomas, Clint Forman, Morgan King and dean Chandler are the only real major losses for yarra. The other players putting in for clearances have signed contracts and to my knowledge will not be cleared by a) the club and b) the league. As rock said if clubs can not field teams then the league will be under the pump.
This is old ground but most players have signed contracts including Andrew Thorn and they can only play prac matches. Unfortunately for them they will be required to play at yarra. In saying this have only seen training a few times and numbers are thin but will come back to this topic in a few weeks and reasses. (remember the club has until 1 week before the season to ask to be relegated to divy 2)
Hope this clears up a few things. Those players on the internet putting in for clearances are going to be kocked back and they will continue to be knocked back.
West is a diff story because contracts have not been signed....

yes very interesting post....you clearly state u play for the Port Colts yet ur tipping yourself to finish 2nd on the ladder? good confidence there!

lets be honest noone has any idea who is going to finish where on the ladder its just everyone being biased to their teams which is fair enuf. come back after the first round and i think we will have a very clear picture. in the first round alot of questions will be answered:

Port play Sunshine, who everyone thinks will be a threat this year

Spotty and Hoppers play who i consider the 2 best sides in the comp

St Albans and Albion play whom we have heard alot about their recruits and are expecting big things from both sides

all clubs will be primed for round 1 so i believe them 3 games host the top 6 this year. will be a much clearer picture come 5pm on Saturday the 5th of April.

If for example Sunshine come out and touch up the Colts then i think allother clubs will genuinely be concerned.
or if Hoppers give Spotty a touch up does that mean Spotty wont be at the top again. or does it mean Hoppers are a real threat for top spot??

Round one, IMO, is going to tell a few stories in terms of how the season is going to pan out. but rock im still concerned that u play for Colts and u think ul finish 2nd. come on mate shouldnt you be saying ul win every game of season and win the Grand Final??

Round 1
St.Albans v Albion
Friday night under lights

Review:
Albion have picked up some good players but have lost broadbent and 1 or 2 others. They are the dark horse team at the moment and are unpredictable on their day. Have not beaten St.Albans at their ground for atleast 7 years.

St.Albans picked up Hollow and a couple others and havn't really lost anyone big. Capable of beating anyside on their day but not consistent.

Outcome:
Albion might take some time to gel and learn the zavalas game plan and with the saints big forward line i think they will take the points by 3 goals.

The problem is there is a lot of players putting in for clearances because of whatever reasons and as we all know everyone has different reasons. Corey Thomas, Clint Forman, Morgan King and dean Chandler are the only real major losses for yarra. The other players putting in for clearances have signed contracts and to my knowledge will not be cleared by a) the club and b) the league. As rock said if clubs can not field teams then the league will be under the pump.
This is old ground but most players have signed contracts including Andrew Thorn and they can only play prac matches. Unfortunately for them they will be required to play at yarra. In saying this have only seen training a few times and numbers are thin but will come back to this topic in a few weeks and reasses. (remember the club has until 1 week before the season to ask to be relegated to divy 2)
Hope this clears up a few things. Those players on the internet putting in for clearances are going to be kocked back and they will continue to be knocked back.
West is a diff story because contracts have not been signed....

i've herd off good authority that a lot of those players intend to boycott yarra anyway if they don't get cleared. how is that gonna solve the problem? i rekon this issue is over yet.

Without Prejudice

I have not been on the site for a long period and I find the chatter about Yarra interesting to say the least. It appears that a lot has been said and is being said about the possible variances with YS Eagles. Are they going to be around etc? Last season was my first season being involved with the new entity called YS Eagles. I have been involved with this league for over 28 years and all my time previous to this was spent at the one club. I moved across after having a year off from coaching with the opportunity to coach a couple of mates and further my coaching career in Div 1. Prior to the end of the season as a back up plan for the future of the club I signed over 25 players to contracts to ensure we held onto the core group of players moving forward. A certain group of players decided that they wanted to leave the club after signing the contracts and continue to train with another club. Another to his credit took up a coaching role in another league. He has taken players with him also. Other groups have moved onto other clubs within this league in an attempt to play in finals. The way I see it is simple. All I ever hear is Yarra this and Yarra that from the players. Never have I been associated with a bigger bunch of sooks in my life. Looking back into the recent history these same players were around for the previous 3 years at Yarraville during the decline. Did any of them decide to make a stance? No they took the easy way out and decided to finger point rather than look at there own mediocre performance. Failing to train and put in the hard yards required for success. All they have done is damage a club that is working hard off the ground the to repair the damage that these so called superstars have created previously with a very selfish attitude. Good luck to the contracted players who want to leave and I mean good luck because either you play out under the terms and conditions of your contract or you do not play at all. So what will happen then? Finger point and blame the club? It is time for character to be tested and the guys we have training at the moment have that and are facing insurmountable odds. But we will battle on regardless. Good luck to the uncontracted players who want out also. You can change jumpers but what is required is a massive change of attitude when it comes to crunch time. I doubt that will happen. What YS Eagles require are players that are willing to train hard and be given opportunities. Not expect them. Yes we are struggling for numbers but what I would like to add that we will welcome any players at the club who want to have a crack and enjoy creating a little piece of history. We need all the seconds players to start training. We need all players to start training. The cancer has been removed from the club and we have a massive task in front of us but rest assured we will not go down without trying. Training has been settled now on Tuesdays at Seddon and Thursdays at Yarraville all prospective players welcome as well as former players. We will play round one!!!!! One final thing do not come down and expect huge coin. If you are that good why are you not playing league footy??

Round one, IMO, is going to tell a few stories in terms of how the season is going to pan out. but rock im still concerned that u play for Colts and u think ul finish 2nd. come on mate shouldnt you be saying ul win every game of season and win the Grand Final??[/quote]

Firstly round 1 might make things a little clearer but it is a long season,a marathon if you like not a sprint....as for tipping us to finish second, well our aim is to finish top 3 not on top and win every game, our list is not good enough to do that and during the season all clubs go through high and low points with injury and confidence but as i said if we can get ourselves into top 3 we will be very happy with that and then come finals time that's where we come into our own...i think anyway, i'm sure most clubs would not want to play us in a sudden death final as our record proves over the last four years we will always give a great performance....
But as you say no one really knows how the ladder will unfold....but i'm positive we will be a top 3 team

Well said Secure, thats the sort of passion that is needed at the club. I really don't get the point why players sign contracts if they want to leave, by signing this clearly states that they want to remain with the club and then suddenly without even attending training to assess the situation decide that they need change or want to play finals or with there mates. What changes in the meantime especially since the contracts were signed at the end of the year so it wasn't us if they didn't know what they were getting themselves into. They can't blame changing of coaches because no one really liked the senior coaches that were there at the time. It is about time that players are made accountable for their actions just like everyone else is in there everyday life. Noting that there are some exceptions to the above. Alot happens at every club behind the scenes that players don't know about or chose not to worry about and these are the things that help make clubs but players just don't seem to care about these things, footy is not an indiviual sport.

The only downside I can say about the current situation and is also the reason for some departures is the constant promise of these gun recruits signing on and will be at training next week but next week unfortunately never comes.

Anyway that is my rant for the day hopefully it makes sense.

when a club signs a coach and says there are 25 players contracted, he would think he has a good core to work with, and a few quality players to top that up will make a team highly competitive. When the players who are the core decide to go elsewhere, no matter how good the gun players are, they can't play every position.
Secure said it right, a club can have the best administration and facilities, but if the cattle are not on the park, then you need to question a players commitment and work ethic.
Footy isn't a hard game, and often hard work is rewarded. Who was the last fat unfit bloke to win a league medal?

when a club signs a coach and says there are 25 players contracted, he would think he has a good core to work with, and a few quality players to top that up will make a team highly competitive. When the players who are the core decide to go elsewhere, no matter how good the gun players are, they can't play every position.
Secure said it right, a club can have the best administration and facilities, but if the cattle are not on the park, then you need to question a players commitment and work ethic.
Footy isn't a hard game, and often hard work is rewarded. Who was the last fat unfit bloke to win a league medal?

russell douglas

Haha so true. He was the laziest prick when it came to training, just a freak on the field!

Without Prejudice

I have not been on the site for a long period and I find the chatter about Yarra interesting to say the least. It appears that a lot has been said and is being said about the possible variances with YS Eagles. Are they going to be around etc? Last season was my first season being involved with the new entity called YS Eagles. I have been involved with this league for over 28 years and all my time previous to this was spent at the one club. I moved across after having a year off from coaching with the opportunity to coach a couple of mates and further my coaching career in Div 1. Prior to the end of the season as a back up plan for the future of the club I signed over 25 players to contracts to ensure we held onto the core group of players moving forward. A certain group of players decided that they wanted to leave the club after signing the contracts and continue to train with another club. Another to his credit took up a coaching role in another league. He has taken players with him also. Other groups have moved onto other clubs within this league in an attempt to play in finals. The way I see it is simple. All I ever hear is Yarra this and Yarra that from the players. Never have I been associated with a bigger bunch of sooks in my life. Looking back into the recent history these same players were around for the previous 3 years at Yarraville during the decline. Did any of them decide to make a stance? No they took the easy way out and decided to finger point rather than look at there own mediocre performance. Failing to train and put in the hard yards required for success. All they have done is damage a club that is working hard off the ground the to repair the damage that these so called superstars have created previously with a very selfish attitude. Good luck to the contracted players who want to leave and I mean good luck because either you play out under the terms and conditions of your contract or you do not play at all. So what will happen then? Finger point and blame the club? It is time for character to be tested and the guys we have training at the moment have that and are facing insurmountable odds. But we will battle on regardless. Good luck to the uncontracted players who want out also. You can change jumpers but what is required is a massive change of attitude when it comes to crunch time. I doubt that will happen. What YS Eagles require are players that are willing to train hard and be given opportunities. Not expect them. Yes we are struggling for numbers but what I would like to add that we will welcome any players at the club who want to have a crack and enjoy creating a little piece of history. We need all the seconds players to start training. We need all players to start training. The cancer has been removed from the club and we have a massive task in front of us but rest assured we will not go down without trying. Training has been settled now on Tuesdays at Seddon and Thursdays at Yarraville all prospective players welcome as well as former players. We will play round one!!!!! One final thing do not come down and expect huge coin. If you are that good why are you not playing league footy??

Interesting post, but i don't think this entirely sums up all the players intending on leaving. Just because you sign something at one stage, doesn't mean you won't change your mind. Sometimes you sign things in hope and desperation that things will change and that a club will turn around, but after years of constant disappointment and being let down by administration (present administration not included) you finally become sick of a poorly operating club. You need a change of scenery and environment.
It has been the same old story for all these players year in and year out. They have been committed throught the hard times, let's be honest the club hasn't been successful for years. If anyone was going to get out it would have been at the start of 2007 when it was confirmed that Yarra had reappointed a "previously unsuccessful, had been unsuccessful in the time since, and had no recruiting power in the WRFL" coach. This was quite possibly the worst move ever, yet players still stuck around knowing how hard the year was going to be. There was no appreciation for players efforts last year (and i'm not talking about money) and the hard work some put in. And if people wanna say "get over it, stop being a sook, your not bigger then the club", then that's fine. Because some people would prefer to move on and have fun, rather then put up with the crap that goes on at their club. No one knows what happens inside a club except the people that play there. There are also a lot of other problems that people identified at the club, and they have been there for years but people continue to play for the love of the club. How long do you expect this to last? Clubs can't go on taking advantage of these people.

I'm not trying to cause riffs, but if you get on here potting the blokes leaving then i'm gonna state some of the facts. Not everyone is leaving for the same reason and some might take this post as a personal attack. Might not be leaving for money or success - rather just to get back to why some play football "fun with ya mates"!

Albion where missing, turner, b.davis, m.davis, ali, zavalas, clint, caruso, willams, hall, all god senior players last year.. Kelmey didnt ruck all day had blakey ruck for most of the 2nd and 3rd. poor kid would have been stuffed if he did the whole game.. Albion did look very good, better skills than last year, and have a good option at chf now with corey. put willams in the fwd line as another tall, caruso as a small. ali in to give kelmey a chop out, turner, davis and zavalas to help out on the footy. could be a good outfit.. very early days in saying that, but they will have alot of depth this year which is very important come mid year.. they have really only lost broadbent and fenton. So should really build on last year.. think the top 6 will be that far ahead of the rest, more so than last year..

Read thru my previous post's goose and you should be able to work out who i follow,my knowlege of beazer are away from footy and also have a number of friends at Albion from over the year's and i bet they put more back into the club than you or are you another Parkside wog that followed stevie over,hope their money is well spent after the last few year's pick up's..
so than who do u follow goose,and no i didnt follow steve im still at parkside *** face