Western Region Football League team (Part 1)

Re: Western Region Football League team

speculator said:
Cant keep living in the past mate, unlike your handle we are hot hot hot, try some sauce with your next pie and wipe away the tears.

how are you hot, there is only two sides who hoppers worry about and you,ve lost to both of them just coz you beat spottie and albion so have colts and parkside
no-one at port is living in the past mate at this stage of the year we have put ourselves in a good position for a double chance there is a lot of footy to be played before a premiership is won

RAZA said:
Sunshine v Albion (sorry TRAVVY43 close one, who will stop james?)

Who will stop James?? Judging by his performance yesterday..... his ego !

Watching two rival teams go at it while drinking johnny and coke....$35.00

Watching James get dragged before the end of the match, then storm off to the change rooms ...... priceless

You know you've had a BAD day when the full back who's playing on you kicks a goal and then runs back down the entire length of the ground to man you up again .... champagne comedy

~YC Chick

speculator said:
Great game today at Hoppers v Spotty.

Hoppers back to thier best, cant wait till next week and the week after and so on.

Hey Ronald what happened to your boys, weak as p15s,

Look out colts the boys are back in town:thumbsu:

Fair enough mate you beat us today but i feel we had our chances to win but just never took them but can't wait for the return bout in rnd 18,last game before finals,now hoppers wouldn't want to go into a finals series with a loss under their belt.
Now on to you guys boasting about your form i think it's a bit strange,your two biggest rivals are parkside and colts and you have lost to both of themyes you guys crush the weak side but that just shows you are a bunch of front runners who pay blokes with no f ing heart

speculator said:
Depth you say?? If their result on the week end shows depth, Hoppers and Parkside are laughing.:D :D

To beat the second bottom team by 8 goals is hardly convincing.Good sides ( with depth ) thrash their opposition, take Parkside's flogging of Seddon.

Like I said earlier watch out colt boys, the gap has closed.
Have a look at the handy footballers running around in the twos and also some handy kids in the 18s that is depth.

Well the kangas notched up another good win on the weekend clipping the cats by nearly ten goals. As previously mentioned, James had next to no effect on the game with Baird all over him like a rash. Baird will be better for the run too.

Stenhouse was well held by Dell however connor and davis stood up to kcik 11 goals between them.

Spotty this week will be a huge test, we took fourth spot off them on the weekend which they will be keen to get back.

Re: Who Will Win the U/18 A's Premiership?

Obe1 talking about the coach being sacked at Albion, well I think this needs to happen sooner rather later. The Sunshine v Albion game I think seen the start to Sunshine season and the early end to the Cats.

Sunshine were pretty convincing most of the day with scoring 18 goals in the second and third quaters to put the game out of reach and look at Spotty this week to secure there finals hopes.

Albion need a good hard look at theirselves and need to make some huge changes down their if they are to be a force in the 1st divison. Players of the likes of Dell, Hewitt and Richards really battled on all day but the other half of them did not look interested. If I was the coach of Albion Aaron James would never play another game of footy again with the club as he strickly all about himself. When Aaorn James got a bath from John Baird he went off the game and went and got changed. I think Albion kick about 8 goals in the last quarter to make the score look respectable whilst James was off the ground. Why do Albion waste their time and especially money?

The club needs a really big clean out next season to swing things around because they are just about at rockbottom. Ferrial supporters don't help their issue as well and drags the club right down.

I personally don't think they should be dead and burried because they have some really great blokes down their who deserve better.

Does anybody else have any thoughts on the Cats?:mad:

obe1 said:
Things are starting to even out, the improvment of St Albans, Sunshine playing well and Beasly to spotty will have an impact.Albion will have to win some big games sooner rather than later or there will mass sackings ( coach included ) in that part of the woods.

The top three teams being Colts,hoppers and Parkside will not have things there own way from here on end. It is a long season from here on ( no breaks ) when you include two to three finals plus the home and away games. Obvioulsy injuries and list managment will figure significantly in the race to the ultimate. All we can rely on is winning form to gauge whos hot in the next couple of months. Way to early to start predicting the final two.

I was keen observer at the Sunshine vs Albion game, I thought this would be a great game with two arch rivals..... but Sunshine's running power and discipline proved to be too strong.... Albion was undisciplined or frustrated and gave away silly free kicks. James was happy to complain about what free kicks he wasn't getting... perhaps he should have had a go at the ball first.. As YC Chick said it was unbelievable to see Baird run from the backline to kick and goal, and the double back and man James up who had not moved from the same position.
To Albions credit they actually played alot better when James went off. Trent Dell played hard all day, Richards tried hard with little support.
From a non supporter the game was very one sided, which was ashame as I thought it would be a beauty.

madpie said:
Have a look at the handy footballers running around in the twos and also some handy kids in the 18s that is depth.

I think you're rite madpie, you don't go 8 & 1 half way through the year if you haven't any depth. Talking about depth, I saw the Hoppers v Spotswood match at the weekend and over heard Spotswood supporters talk about a few players came back from VFL reserves duties, due to a bye. What happens come finals time when these players can't play for Spotswood because there at there VFL club?. Do Spotswood have the depth to cover those losses?. Also on this subject Hoppers had 5 blokes in the twos that are normally regular senior players (Cavka,Doyle,Kunigiskis,Iordanis and Foster) not sure why there down there, maybe injury or form?. can anyone give some info as to why there in the twos?.

RAZA said:
I think you're rite madpie, you don't go 8 & 1 half way through the year if you haven't any depth. Talking about depth, I saw the Hoppers v Spotswood match at the weekend and over heard Spotswood supporters talk about a few players came back from VFL reserves duties, due to a bye. What happens come finals time when these players can't play for Spotswood because there at there VFL club?. Do Spotswood have the depth to cover those losses?. Also on this subject Hoppers had 5 blokes in the twos that are normally regular senior players (Cavka,Doyle,Kunigiskis,Iordanis and Foster) not sure why there down there, maybe injury or form?. can anyone give some info as to why there in the twos?.
all fair players would be intrested too know the reason for that too, mabye the missing Clicketyclix would enlighten us havent heard from him for a while.
Can anyone tell me if there was anything intresting between Beasley and any Hoppers players or there supporters???

Myunderstanding is that Cavka is coming back from injury, Doyle is unlucky and can not even get to train with the 1st group at hoppers which I find hard to believe as only a few years ago he was club captain. Not sure on the other guys

Go Doggies said:
Myunderstanding is that Cavka is coming back from injury, Doyle is unlucky and can not even get to train with the 1st group at hoppers which I find hard to believe as only a few years ago he was club captain. Not sure on the other guys
How long has Cavka been in the two's, maybe he is out of the side because of his pace maybe, in an already slow Hoppers team. Did Iordanis come across to Hoppers just to play two's?? thought he might have sneaked in to the side even on the bench.
How is Williams going looks like a future star very courages

WRFLfan said:
How long has Cavka been in the two's, maybe he is out of the side because of his pace maybe, in an already slow Hoppers team. Did Iordanis come across to Hoppers just to play two's?? thought he might have sneaked in to the side even on the bench.
How is Williams going looks like a future star very courages

All those players mentioned have all had niggly injury's and are getting some fitness up. They have also all played seniors this year.

WRFLfan said:
all fair players would be intrested too know the reason for that too, mabye the missing Clicketyclix would enlighten us havent heard from him for a while.
Can anyone tell me if there was anything intresting between Beasley and any Hoppers players or there supporters???

From what I saw, nothing interesting. I saw Phipps on the sidelines, why was that clicketyclix?.

Was a quality win by Sunshine on the weekend, started hard at the ball with many stoppages but eventually broke the game open in the second and third quarters. Would have been better to really hammer home that last quarter, with Albion kicking 8 which was dissapointing. They seemed to struggle for on ballers without Brown in, hes the key to their side.
Heard a rumour that Jackson Barling would be playing for Spotty again this week because hes having surgery in the next few weeks. Can anyone confirm this? he would be more then handy in the WRFL. Should a great game this weekend, Sunshine knocked Spotty off last year at home but they are a much better side when they have no injuries.

13-CABS said:
Was a quality win by Sunshine on the weekend, started hard at the ball with many stoppages but eventually broke the game open in the second and third quarters. Would have been better to really hammer home that last quarter, with Albion kicking 8 which was dissapointing.

spot on Cabbie, their eight goals in the last term put some respectability into their performace (which in the second and third quarter was average). I think Dell was one of the main factors in the final quarter emergence, his presence in the forward line and at times on the ball added some bite to the side.

madpie said:

Sorry mate, dont take much interest in the two's ( who won the last two two's flags? ) no-one cares.

Cold pies are you and this bloke related? are you his Dad? and is the WRFL fan his uncle/cousin?.

I guess you are correct when you reflect back on our losses to date but we have learnt heaps from them and after talking to Raza he reckons hoppers are the real deal.

And he should know!

Cant wait for our future encounters, we are pumped!!

Does anybody else have any thoughts on the Cats?:mad:

They are the St Kilda of the WRFL. On paper there best team would be right up there with the top three.

Blokes like Madigan,Brown,Bettin and James all have VFL experience. Dixon,Haldane and the ruckman (oops forgot he's name ) are all seasoned performers. Richards would have to be one of the best young blokes getting around even if he is a little soft. Hewitt Bettina and Foley are all exciting prospects and there fringe players are all Albion blokes through and through. Barker and Dell are pretty handy recruits and yet they still struggle.

Their facilities are just about the best out there, the club is cashed up.their coach has tasted success at this level and above so you would think that winning games would be automatic???

There is obviously some sort of communication/morale problem down there. A lot of the blame seems to be pointed at A James, whether that is fair or not only they know. If it were to be that simple I would think they would simply move him on. One man does not make a club.

Ask yourselves the question when reviewing the season to date. Why have Sunshine won there last two games well, why are parkside regarded as tough, how did the colts get to be 8-1 and why is there little respect from some towards the perceived money clubs, Hoppers , St Albans and Spotswood.

The short answer is there is no "i" in team, success comes from working hard as a group not sitting back letting someone else do it and expecting it to happen.

Just like being an umpire (lol):)

Sorry for the long posts,I am a little bored since the tribunal has been moved to Tuesday nights.

I was reading back over previous posts and noted the debate about the "best/strongest league"

Using the analogy that James has played in the EDFL and DVFL and as we know he is in he's second year at the WRFL.

Correct me if I am wrong but hasn't he dominated at both the other leagues? Again I understand that my point only centres around one person but he is the common denominator in this process.

As I understand it he's behaviour has always been erratic but he has still easily kicked the ton in the other comps. Whilst he is a good player at times, the pressure of the better teams seems to be enough to nullify him.

Does this indicate that this league is stronger/tougher and the quality of footballer better?

Keen to read your thoughts and comparisons of others who have crossed from league to league.

perfect case
Daniel McFerran playing for West Preston in Diamond Valley Football League
tearing it up every week, hes always in their best

bush_tucker77 said:
perfect case
Daniel McFerran playing for West Preston in Diamond Valley Football League
tearing it up every week, hes always in their best

That's interesting isn't it, Daniel has been a loyal servant at St Albans for many years. Fair to say he was starting to struggle with being an on-baller at the top level of this league. But as you say he is dominating in Diamond Valley.

obe1, you are very generous to the cats and some of your ratings of their footballers, Brown is their only real gun but he hasn't been right due to injury for a year or two, Madigan probably a bit similar but not anywhere in Brown's class, Bettin past it and James obviously isn't interested, can't see him lasting much longer at Albion.

Of the others Haldane and Dell were the only ones who could hold thier heads up after Saturday, the rest are front runners, guys like richards, foley, summers, Hewitt are good when Albion are on top and doing it easy but weren't anywhere to be found when they were needed to lift their side.

Can't see how McGoldrick can last the year, him and James may go together. McGoldrick has been there too long considering the money Albion have spent, considering how good the players recruited are(obviously only on paper) and their real lack of success they have had while he has been there, word has it he is not really liked amongst the players. Barker could take the reins over mid year.

Travvy43 said:
Well the kangas notched up another good win on the weekend clipping the cats by nearly ten goals. As previously mentioned, James had next to no effect on the game with Baird all over him like a rash. Baird will be better for the run too.

Stenhouse was well held by Dell however connor and davis stood up to kcik 11 goals between them.

Spotty this week will be a huge test, we took fourth spot off them on the weekend which they will be keen to get back.
Well mister what are the goals now for sunshine?top 3 or just happy to make the finals or is a premiership.
Just how is the list going?is there still some players to come back or are you guys at full strenght?Also when you did play hoppers,spots and parks what regular senior players were missing?
I really believe you guys are the real deal and come finals time at the whitten oval will just about be unstopable.
With great running players on every line some big forwards and small forwards a couple of top ruckmen and a very solid defence i honestly think you are the team to beat but finals are a different story and how will guys that have not played in finals handle that pressure,especially against seasoned sides in hoppers,colts and parkside.
It will be a great finals series and i just cant wait to see how it all turns out
MYtips
PREMIERS- SUNSHINE
G FINALST-COLTS
GOALKICKING-P DAVIS
PRIEST-B.KELLY

obe1 said:
Sorry for the long posts,I am a little bored since the tribunal has been moved to Tuesday nights.

I was reading back over previous posts and noted the debate about the "best/strongest league"

Using the analogy that James has played in the EDFL and DVFL and as we know he is in he's second year at the WRFL.

Correct me if I am wrong but hasn't he dominated at both the other leagues? Again I understand that my point only centres around one person but he is the common denominator in this process.

As I understand it he's behaviour has always been erratic but he has still easily kicked the ton in the other comps. Whilst he is a good player at times, the pressure of the better teams seems to be enough to nullify him.

Does this indicate that this league is stronger/tougher and the quality of footballer better?

Keen to read your thoughts and comparisons of others who have crossed from league to league.

Aaron James spend 2003 at Doutta Stars in the EDFL. Kicked 105- 115 goals including bags on 13-15 goals against the bottom 2 - 3 sides....

His impact in the finals included 1 goal in the 1st semi and 1 goal in the Prelim (including a run in with oposition supporters surprise surprise)....

Whilst his figures are impressive the strength of a competition can be judged on the standard of footy come finals (crunch) time......

Also proves that at local level you can't afford to have one avenue to goal because under the pressure of finals if plan A doesn't come off (re James in 2003 at Douttas) there is no plan B....

RE: Diamond Valley I believe he played B grade in 2004.

obe1 said:

As pointed above by sticks james played in b grade in the diamond valley and played in the best side which would mean he was probably getting the ball kicked to him lace out everytime without any pressure from the opposition on the kicker, as for when he was at douttas same thing, and safe to say he was probably alot fitter and interested back then as the sides were up and running wheres hes not playing in the best side now and when they do play the better sides the midfield of albion just don't get the ball to him properly coz of the pressure put on them and the guy is out of it once the balls on the deck, lets just say its safe to say the guys not interested as he knows the side ain't gonna make the finals let alone win a flag, as 4 the blokes u have mentioned 4 albion yeah they're fair players but hardly match it when u put em up against the midfield of the top teams