Western Region Football League Team (Part 2)

To this day, I've heard nothing about the outcome of the Glen Orden V Spotty game crowd violence, a league official yesterday apparently said the crowd altercations are not their responsibility, security guards were in no real hurry to see what was going on at half time in the reserves game, I didn't see a cop at yesterday's game (were there any there?) and the list goes on.

Firstly, I agree with you in regards to crowd violence, so there's no debate there. As you mentioned in your post there was "unhealthy banter" at half time in the reserves.... I know it was addressed by our club at that time.

As for the outcome in the Glen orden case unless you are involved in either Spotswood or Glenorden you will probably never know.

I think its a little hard on the league representatives on the day to look after incidents in the crowd, they outsource their security therefore it is the security company's responsibility to ensure things are kept in check. I cant ever recall Andrew Demetriou breaking up a blew at the G when he is in attendance.

Firstly, I agree with you in regards to crowd violence, so there's no debate there. As you mentioned in your post there was "unhealthy banter" at half time in the reserves.... I know it was addressed by our club at that time.

As for the outcome in the Glen orden case unless you are involved in either Spotswood or Glenorden you will probably never know.

I think its a little hard on the league representatives on the day to look after incidents in the crowd, they outsource their security therefore it is the security company's responsibility to ensure things are kept in check. I cant ever recall Andrew Demetriou breaking up a blew at the G when he is in attendance.

Fair point Obe, but the rep wasn't asked to break up a blue but rather the comment was something like "gee this is happening a bit, what's the league thinking of doing about this sh!t?' My concern is that similar behavior has been seen quite a bit this year and it doesn't seem to be getting any better. In the end, the league needs to look at the security company it uses because the blokes I saw there yesterday would have trouble controlling a 4 year old birthday party at MacDonalds.
In the end, someone has to take responsibility to not only deal with the issues as they arise but also put measures in place to discourage these incidents from happening. At the moment, we're sitting with our fingers crossed hoping that the idiots will drink themselves stupid and pass out before half time.

Hi everyone, hope everyone's had a great season. SOunds like some great games in the WRFL. How did today's match go?
Well Done to Crackers on the ton. Champion effort mate.

Hi everyone, hope everyone's had a great season. SOunds like some great games in the WRFL. How did today's match go?
Well Done to Crackers on the ton. Champion effort mate.

I have heard this second hand, however i was told that St Albans won by around 10 goals today. Pretty even up until half way through the second quarter (when i left) but a big third quarter from the saints gave them the game. A good effort by them if true, they have hit a bit of form at the right end of the year.

I left and the saints were up by 70 points, albion found nothing in the second half. A very dissapointing way for them to end the season after alot of promise, they finish the year the same as last so no real improvement.
On the other hand the saints look a real danger, playing with alot of passion and team unity, i believe if spotty are not on their game the saints can cause the upset, obviously spotty are favorites but an upset would not surprise.

I left and the saints were up by 70 points, albion found nothing in the second half. A very dissapointing way for them to end the season after alot of promise, they finish the year the same as last so no real improvement.
On the other hand the saints look a real danger, playing with alot of passion and team unity, i believe if spotty are not on their game the saints can cause the upset, obviously spotty are favorites but an upset would not surprise.

Yeah, have to agree with you there on both points. One, Albion teased their supporters and the rest of us who wanted a more even top end of the ladder. Promised much but delivered little. Look forward to seeing a few changes at Albion over the pre-season and for them to come back as real contenders.

Two. I have seen the saints against Spotty and although they have gone down, I thought they were impressive for most of the game. If it clicks for them next week, Spotty have a real game on their hands, regardless of whether Spotty are on or not. Now that they are a chance, even Kolyniuk may take training for once. haha. Even so, I think Spotty will win.

Well another classic final between two evenly match sides, how ever this time the colts had their noses in front at the final siren. The last 3 finals and the first home and away game this year the result has been 7pts or under, just shows how even the sides are and that you have to play out the whole game.
Thought spotty's fwd line worked well with keenan(5 goals) on top all day and molan always looking dangerous and all their small fwds fed of them all day. Congratulation to crackers on 100 goals, great effort.
We cost ourselves a handy half time lead kicking 2.7 in the second quarter, in the third spotty ran hard and started to get on top, colts lead by 1 pts at 3/4 time so the game was up for grabs.
Chris Brannan was awesome across half fwd taking 14 marks while masis, twomey and howse won alot of hardballs, while d.jacobs was not outstanding he still had 40p's.
In the last quarter spotty got on top and went out to a 10 point lead, with langlands and o'keefe on the prowl, spotty were looking the winners. colts hit back with two goals to snatch the lead back, how ever spotty were not done yet and langladns got a beauty, spotty back in front.
Colts were pressing and with a macanulty long kick to the top of the square sammy hoath took a screamer and goaled and the colts were home.
I thought we butchered the ball alot especially across h.back and allowed spotty some easy goals while at the other end missing very simple shots at goal.Still alot of work and improving left for us to take the flag, but after a week off and winning our last 5 home and away games by 100 plus points i think we will be alot better come grand final day.
Great effort by the club 5 grand finals in a row, but we must get the score in our favour.....GO COLTS.
Watched the game on saturday and thought the skills were way down by Colts standards and sadly missed Ryan Winters crumbing. Lets hope the Werribee ground improves and we witness a better spectacle Grand Final Day. Special mention to Spotswood player Beazley who managed to play the whole game with a ferret on his head.

No doubt we would love to have the little fellow back but he has not played a game all year, so we can cope without him. I think it makes the effort of making it through to another gf when we lost caddy, webb, winters,lindsay,chisnal, getting jacobs and hoath has helped off set that but also young kids in perkins heffernan and williams has been great for our enthusiasm.

Yeah, have to agree with you there on both points. One, Albion teased their supporters and the rest of us who wanted a more even top end of the ladder. Promised much but delivered little. Look forward to seeing a few changes at Albion over the pre-season and for them to come back as real contenders.

Two. I have seen the saints against Spotty and although they have gone down, I thought they were impressive for most of the game. If it clicks for them next week, Spotty have a real game on their hands, regardless of whether Spotty are on or not. Now that they are a chance, even Kolyniuk may take training for once. haha. Even so, I think Spotty will win.

even though the real test is finals in which they did not preform,Albion improved and even matched it at the top end this year.

i would think depth was there real problem this year injuries hurt late and they were forced to play blokes half fit in the end.

Kolyniuk take training no chance.

After missing the finals for the last 2 years the saints have been the big improvers this year. the 2nd half of the year has been very good with improvement on every line.

with a very young list they get better every game they play, they are really looking forward to testing themselves again this week against last years premiers under finals pressure.

spotty will be and should be favorites.......... but.

Great win by the saints yesterday and i think we are hitting some form at the right end of the year.
Albion just proved yesterday that you cant carry injuries into a finals game it doesnt matter who the players are.
I think we have surprised a few this year and will definently be the underdogs this week but that is how we like it.

hey brains01 i was at the game yesterday and saw the win and thought the saints really played all over albion. just wondering who the few kids in the team r?? r they at jets or.... and saw another young fella jack sims in the crowd any reason why he wasnt playin in the seniors?? the few games i saw this year he impressed me

Jack played with the Jets on saturday.

[

To this day, I've heard nothing about the outcome of the Glen Orden V Spotty game crowd violence, a league official yesterday apparently said the crowd altercations are not their responsibility, security guards were in no real hurry to see what was going on at half time in the reserves game, I didn't see a cop at yesterday's game (were there any there?) and the list goes on.[/quote]

i believe the investigations are over and the hearing will be held after the finals,
speaking of friendly banter, there was an interesting bit of unfriendly banter between 2 2s players on saturday early in the first quarter with one player labelling his teammate a fuc-head, very amussing in deed

Jack Sims played at the jets on the weekend and has played there for the majority of the year.
McKerracher,Tuppen and Graham are all under 18s and then there are a few still under 21 like Dixon,Spooner,Scott,Jenkins and Psalia.
We have a good mix at the moment with plenty of young kids along with some experienced players.

Jack Sims played at the jets on the weekend and has played there for the majority of the year.
McKerracher,Tuppen and Graham are all under 18s and then there are a few still under 21 like Dixon,Spooner,Scott,Jenkins and Psalia.
We have a good mix at the moment with plenty of young kids along with some experienced players.

The future looks very bright for the saints.....what about agius is he a chance to play this week???

PARDO will play againg, we do have 3 unable to play, ordinary rule that, our reserves will be left with only 19 to pick from.

Another fight broke out yesterday after the under 18's between St Albans and Hoppers which the league will not be happy about as it involved a all in blue with players, coaches and spectators all involved.
No police presence again until they turned up in the 2nd quarter of the reserves.
Absolute disgrace not to have police there all day!

Another fight broke out yesterday after the under 18's between St Albans and Hoppers which the league will not be happy about as it involved a all in blue with players, coaches and spectators all involved.
No police presence again until they turned up in the 2nd quarter of the reserves.
Absolute disgrace not to have police there all day!

As it is now a business to have the coppers there it would be somewhere in the vicinity of $50-$55 bucks an hour. That would suggest the second quarter arrival being a 1 p.m start for a 4 hour shift. The days of getting the coppers for free are long gone due to the part time role they play at sporting events. Get a fair dinkum security company like mine to do the job for $40 bucks an hour and there would be no fights. (Just kidding)

Footy is all about passion, especially in finals. This can boil over with the influx of stupid juice. Why not get the security company to provide staff that are willing to be seen around the place?? Just a visual presence can have a calming effect on people in most cases. Leave the part time cab drivers out and get serious security before somebody gets seriously hurt. This is the show case event for the league and to continue to pay lip service will further damage the reputation of the league

Deer Park and Sunshine supporters are the worst supporters in the league. In the under 18's game on the weekend ive never seen more racial abuse than what there was towards the African players that played for Western Magpies.

Was an absolute disgrace

The future looks very bright for the saints.....what about agius is he a chance to play this week???

PARDO will play againg, we do have 3 unable to play, ordinary rule that, our reserves will be left with only 19 to pick from.
Not quite sure about Aguis but Bakoulos might be back in and we will have to see about Jenkins.
Also the reserves rule you talk about is ridiculous i think as long as they didnt play in the seniors the week before they should be allowed to play in the ressies. it is penalising the club because there seniors were good enough to get the week off. Each case should be looked at individually.

even though the real test is finals in which they did not preform,Albion improved and even matched it at the top end this year.

i would think depth was there real problem this year injuries hurt late and they were forced to play blokes half fit in the end.

Kolyniuk take training no chance.

After missing the finals for the last 2 years the saints have been the big improvers this year. the 2nd half of the year has been very good with improvement on every line.

with a very young list they get better every game they play, they are really looking forward to testing themselves again this week against last years premiers under finals pressure.

spotty will be and should be favorites.......... but.

magnabosco, stephens and vimpany all played in the 2nds, all have played senior footy this year so really didn't have to play injured players they just rolled the dice on a few and it didn't work in their favour

still albion improved and beat every side in the comp i'm sure they'll be around the mark again next year, same thing happened at port in 03 finished 2nd(missed 1st by %) and went out straight sets

As it is now a business to have the coppers there it would be somewhere in the vicinity of $50-$55 bucks an hour. That would suggest the second quarter arrival being a 1 p.m start for a 4 hour shift. The days of getting the coppers for free are long gone due to the part time role they play at sporting events. Get a fair dinkum security company like mine to do the job for $40 bucks an hour and there would be no fights. (Just kidding)

Footy is all about passion, especially in finals. This can boil over with the influx of stupid juice. Why not get the security company to provide staff that are willing to be seen around the place?? Just a visual presence can have a calming effect on people in most cases. Leave the part time cab drivers out and get serious security before somebody gets seriously hurt. This is the show case event for the league and to continue to pay lip service will further damage the reputation of the league

well is this a case of the wrfl avoiding paying to maximise profits, if crowd violence is becoming an issue then surely the league has to pay the required fees in order to get the appropriate security, whether it be police or whatever, the league just seem to never want to hit their pockets

footy supporters are passionate about their clubs especially in finals and when consuming alcohol all day things can get heated at times but with a few police in attendance i'm sure the banter between clubs would stay verbal and not get out of hand

Not quite sure about Aguis but Bakoulos might be back in and we will have to see about Jenkins.
Also the reserves rule you talk about is ridiculous i think as long as they didnt play in the seniors the week before they should be allowed to play in the ressies. it is penalising the club because there seniors were good enough to get the week off. Each case should be looked at individually.

It's a shame that players who have played all year miss out on a game because the 1s & 2s don't play on the same day. Games played should have been checked well before the finals so that this sort of thing does not happen. Poor player management will cost players a game in the finals.:(

Great win by the saints yesterday and i think we are hitting some form at the right end of the year.
Albion just proved yesterday that you cant carry injuries into a finals game it doesnt matter who the players are.
I think we have surprised a few this year and will definently be the underdogs this week but that is how we like it.

confidence is an amazing thing, when you have it you can do anything and the saints cetainly have confidence at the moment at the right time, anything can happen in 2 horse race but having said that i still spotswood will win on saturday, good luck to both teams i hope you belt the crap out of each other lol:thumbsu: