• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Western Region Football League Team (Part 3)

Is Altona a real finals contender this year?? Anyone shed some light on the purple and gold???

Looked pretty good on the weekend with a few good players out. Well drilled and fit. The big question mark would have to be their backline. They are conceded around 100 points a game which isnt a good sign. Seemed to lack key defenders.

Seem to be bridging that gap though and good on them.

Rock I agree in part with your best 5... but surely if we put in the likes of Brett Jacobs and Harris in and we are judging by the last 5 years! You would think Frost would be a moral to be in the top 2 or 3 and D.Clonan on level pegging with Jacobs!

Anyhow its to hard to do, so many players rate on a similiar level!

Agree 100% with clonan and frost, was trying to think but was mainly thinking last year instead of last 5, savalas would be another

Thanks for throwing my name up i owe you a few beers

For me D.jacobs is a clear standout and julier and caddy next but obviously a bias view. hollow was very good but not up there in my opinion
From other clubs i would say harris /keenan (spotty)
murphy (hoppers).

Agree with the others but spare me with Murphy, he's a good player but not up there with them blokes. Id throw in Web too Colts havent been able to replace him.

Ali Taleb went well back in the days John Lindsay Sedat Sir Its a hard task there's been a few.

Agree with the others but spare me with Murphy, he's a good player but not up there with them blokes. Id throw in Web too Colts havent been able to replace him.

Ali Taleb went well back in the days John Lindsay Sedat Sir Its a hard task there's been a few.

Yes webby was a star as was lindsay, i guess with murphy we don't see him every week so more going on what other have said.
Mite have to get webb out of retirement....lol good to see him there last week. Brannan is another colts player we could mention but we are getting a bit biased, herd he is coming back earlier than expected from his o.s trip could be a good addition to the colts line up.

You lost all credibility when you mentioned Lindsay as superior to Murphy! I can handle Sedat Sir, I dont know Taleb but Lindsay?? give me a spell... can play but not in the same strataspheare as Murphy! I suggest watching some more games with Murphy in them knackers....

I guess you have not been around to long in the wrfl, for along time lindsay was the number one onballer in the comp.
Winning 4 bnf at colts a bog in a gf and while we have been a strong team, i'm sure u will find plenty of people disareeing with you. He is a better player than sedat sir. I have not seen murphy alot but watched his finals last year and against us at home and what i seen he was not better than lindsay, this is just opinion and there is no right or wrong.

Tige you are his best mate right??

I guess you have not been around to long in the wrfl, for along time lindsay was the number one onballer in the comp.
Winning 4 bnf at colts a bog in a gf and while we have been a strong team, i'm sure u will find plenty of people disareeing with you. He is a better player than sedat sir. I have not seen murphy alot but watched his finals last year and against us at home and what i seen he was not better than lindsay, this is just opinion and there is no right or wrong.

Tige you are his best mate right??

Spot on Rock!

There is alot of bias in our posts! I rate Lindsay, just not on the same level as Murphy... its a matter of opinion and you being a Colts person will disagree!! perhaps in another 2-3 years of playing in the comp Murphy can be rated on level pegging or above but I suppose after a year its hard to say from WRFL POV... credit to Murph, B&F and Team of the year, cant do much more than that in his first season!

Great discussion though..

Knackers hey??? Take it easy mate, you must be getting around Beazer. Ive seen murphy playm a few games and yet to see him earn a hardball get, loves sweeping around the back to get the cheap one. Racks a lot of possies but are they how much do they benefit the team when there coming off half back???

Nathan Buckley made a pretty good career at perfecting this

I wouldnt have minded getting the cheap 1's like him and playing senior AFL footy.

Its amazing how 1 eyed we all are when it comes to guys we play with or are our mates. You place Webb up there amongst a group of the best of the last 5 years. Surely Webby is in the same boat as Murph then if this is how you rate your best? Dont read that the wrong way, he was a great player but it was well known he didnt man up too closely and he was given the ball at every opportunity bcos of his great kicking skills which was fair enough too. Murph's skills are 2nd to none so why wouldnt we want to give him the ball, just as you guys did with Webby? Everybody is entitled to their opinion but its funny how 1 player is seen so differently to another 1 when you play with them.

Agree with JL being there though. Not sure about his 60m mongrol punts but was, and still will be a gun (when he comes back from o/s).

Good talking point this but is very hard as there have been so many good players. Too hard to narrow it down to 5 I reckon. A few that come to mind are:

Frost
Julier
OKeefe
Camelleri
Lindsay
McGaw
McGoldrick (when fit)
Taleb
Carson
Foley
Turner

I wouldnt have minded getting the cheap 1's like him and playing senior AFL footy.

Its amazing how 1 eyed we all are when it comes to guys we play with or are our mates. You place Webb up there amongst a group of the best of the last 5 years. Surely Webby is in the same boat as Murph then if this is how you rate your best? Dont read that the wrong way, he was a great player but it was well known he didnt man up too closely and he was given the ball at every opportunity bcos of his great kicking skills which was fair enough too. Murph's skills are 2nd to none so why wouldnt we want to give him the ball, just as you guys did with Webby? Everybody is entitled to their opinion but its funny how 1 player is seen so differently to another 1 when you play with them.

Agree with JL being there though. Not sure about his 60m mongrol punts but was, and still will be a gun (when he comes back from o/s).

Good talking point this but is very hard as there have been so many good players. Too hard to narrow it down to 5 I reckon. A few that come to mind are:

Frost
Julier
OKeefe
Camelleri
Lindsay
McGaw
McGoldrick (when fit)
Taleb
Carson
Foley
Turner

Not wanting to go tit for tat but we are all one eyed, but webby was so good at reading the play and would often help out other backmen floating acrocc the front or being third man up and putting his body on the line.

Both carsons were guns along with camilleri, where is keenan beazer, i think bonnett would have to be the best backmen going around along with clonan.

I guess we wrap our own players when we see them week in week out.

This is my fourth year of senior footy and in order of the last 4 years i would have them in this order.

1- O'Keefe
2- Jacobs
3- P. Carson
4- Keenan
5- Douglas
6- Bonnett
7- Julier
8- Hollow
9- Webb
10- Foley

But it is pretty tough when you dont get to see each team play every week.

Frost
Julier
OKeefe
Camelleri
Lindsay
McGaw
McGoldrick (when fit)
Taleb
Carson
Foley
Turner

Yeah fair enough Web played lose but as Rock said he got to a few contest as a third man, and not many blokes he played on went well for the day.
Murphy plays on ball doesnt he?? Web was a half back.
Camelleri was good Crusty went well in his West Footscray days Casron was a gun Hoath's been good too Very hard to keep it to 5 suppose that reflects good for the comp

Freeland has been pretty damn good for Altona over the last couple of years, thought I'd throw that in. Also every game I've watched of Julier he has been immense, quality player (obviously).

Can anyone tell me home a bloke running around for sunshine going, name is keegan powell looks like he doing pretty well 3 out of 4 weeks in the best

Not wanting to go tit for tat but we are all one eyed, but webby was so good at reading the play and would often help out other backmen floating acrocc the front or being third man up and putting his body on the line.

Both carsons were guns along with camilleri, where is keenan beazer, i think bonnett would have to be the best backmen going around along with clonan.

I guess we wrap our own players when we see them week in week out.

I guess we are splitting hairs. They were all bloody good footballers and all have strengths and weaknesses. What makes a good footballer anyway? Do you have to be hard to be good? Is a sebastian Arena type of runner and player not as good as a Massis who is harder at it but doesnt have the finishing skills Arena does? Good topic though. Way too many for a top 5, maybe 10 or 20. After thinking about this Im stuffed if I know how Mike Sheehan does a top 50 of the elites best.

By the way, I forgot about my old mate Crackers. He has the best hands Ive seen. A big call I know but its how I see it. He is possibly the worst shot for goal Ive ever seen too. Again does this make him not as good bcos he couldnt kick?

And then theres Bonnett, Disco Clonan and old man Taylor a few years ago, aswell as Douglas, D. Jacobs, Caddy, D. Carson, Arena and Im sure there are many more.

On Freezer, he probably isnt seen to be in the top group of players bcos he was in an ordinary side. Quite possibly would have been had he have been in a top side. Very good player. Venner was a bit b4 the last 5 years but Id have him in the top few the comp has seen when he was at his best.

Its hard trying to pick the best as nobody sees them every week (unlike Mike Sheahan who can watch just about every game). You would also have to set a criteria because midfielders are obvious picks but defenders may play their roles better (ie Clonan & Webb) - both totally different roles within the team structure though. Is it importance to the team? Pure skill? Best individual?

As an example, Julier dominates the ruck in this comp. Do you compare him to the competition, or to other players that play different positions?

Interesting topic for discussion though.

Best Players to have played in previous years.

Jacobs
Keenan
Julier
Harris
Jenson (lol)
Carsonssss
Frost
Condos

in a year or 2 Molans name will be up there.
By Far the Best forward in the comp.

Big Game this week hoppers vs Port Colts
Predictions, in and outs Past Players day etc
Lets talk about the present.

Jacobs
Keenan
Julier
Harris
Jenson (lol)
Carsonssss
Frost
Condos

Predictions, well i'm sure it will alot closer than when these teams met last time and it will be a more competitive colts team than ventured last year to hoppers.
We should have twomey and hoath back this week and jackel and winters are 50/50 at this stage and stevens still a few weeks away.
Obviously i think we will win.

Can anyone tell me home a bloke running around for sunshine going, name is keegan powell looks like he doing pretty well 3 out of 4 weeks in the best

Yea Keegs has been a great addition to us so far this year. Tough as nails, hardest 20 year old ive ever seen, just loves the contest. Is getting fitter each week as he had a setback just before the season but will get better towards the middle of the season. The smaller grounds of the wrfl definately would suit him more than the more spacious grounds of the bfl. And a great bloke on top of that.

Jacobs
Keenan
Julier
Harris
Jenson (lol)
Carsonssss
Frost
Condos

Everyone is forgetting Blake Twomey. In my 2 years at the colts he's the first I would of picked in my side. He has everything you want out of a footballer.

Yea good call saints, skill, hard at it, fit and strong a very good team player and always disciplined, the perfect player to coach, he didn't play last week but his form in round 2 and 3 was exceptional.