Western Region Football League Team (Part 3)

Clearly Frost is far and away the best player this comp has seen in the last 20 years.

Dean Galea had an awesome season about 5 years ago at Spotty, Rookie Of The Year, Goalkicking and Priest all first year out of under 18's, still would need to miners light to find Frost in his Yarraville heyday.

I reckon Phil O'Keefe from Parkside is a bit stiff to have not got a mention in this discussion yet, he made the impossible look sublime.

if you want to go back 20 years frost and wouldnt carry ANTHONY ALESSIO'S bag and DREW PIVOT from spotty was gun the blokes mentioned now are all starvin the standards at an all time low the only bloke who would rate now is D JACOBS forget the rest

MY TIPS THIS WEEK

ALBION v altona albion should bounce back after getting beat by hoppers it might be the kick in the arse they needed they just may of been putting the horse before the cart down at the cattery but altona wont go down without a fight the cats by 21 pts

glenorden v SUNSHINE i cant see sunshine dropping this game but i hope glenorden punch the living suit cases out of them sunshine by 43 pts

HOPPERS v colts in the match of the round i'm leaning towards hoppers if they can keep the jacob boys quiet they will go along way to winning this game this is the colts 1st test since round 1 so lets see if the colts are real top 3 material there chances are greater if beazer's getting a game but hoppers to win by 3 pts

heightsv SPOTTY if you could bet on wrfl put your house on spotty to win 72+,heights are going to learn the gap between A & B grade spotty by 99 pts

west footscray v ST ALBANS if the ladder is anything to go by its a battle for the wooden spoon but the goat herders are better than that they should break there duck for the year and have an easy win but funny a things have happened but not tommorrow the saints by 49 pts

if you want to go back 20 years frost and wouldnt carry ANTHONY ALESSIO'S bag and DREW PIVOT from spotty was gun the blokes mentioned now are all starvin the standards at an all time low the only bloke who would rate now is D JACOBS forget the rest

I think Frost would rate above or similar to those mentioned. Danny Jacobs is a legend, what were the Bombers thinking keeping Henneman. If we are going back a bit how would John Theodoris from Albion rate. Pretty high i imagine.

u played with frost when he was finished... krackers wouldnt hold frostys bag rocks a 1 eyed goose... webb give me a spell that skiny raunt hang out for the easy kick he was no champion

Yeah I played with Frosty at the end of his career and he was probably still the best Ive played with. Played against him when I was at Williamstown and was by far the best I played against. Could out run the onballers and out mark the talls. And take a hanger every week.

Speaking of Crackers, anybody see his cameo appearance on Almost Football Legends last night on the footy show? The big fella steaming out of FF splitting packs. He should ask for a share of the prize that the guy who sent it in, won.

Best Players to have played in previous years.

Jacobs
Keenan
Julier
Harris
Jenson (lol)
Carsonssss
Frost
Condos

I think most have forgotton how good Frost was in his day.

Jacobs/Frost then a large gap to everyone else.

In saying that not too sure how many games Jacobs took 20 marks and had 40 touches as Frost used to week in week out. Having players like Keenan mentioned at the same level as Frost is laughable.
not sure how many 20 marks 40 touch games danny had but saw him tear frost a new one as an 18 year old playing essendon ressies against werribee danny had 29 touches a dozen grabs and kicked 5 playing hff frost hbf

We are talking about what they have achieved in this comp though. If you go on AFL games and experience you would say Danny was a better player bcos he played more AFL games. I think Aaron James played more AFL games than Frost and you cant say he was a better player in this comp than Frosty.

The initial question was who was the best in this comp over the last 5 years and theres no doubt Danny would be. Its probably a little unfair to compare him to guys who played in this comp for longer as DJ has only played a couple of years. Im sure that if he plays a couple more years in this comp he will be seen up there with the best this comp has seen, if he isnt already.

I think Frost would rate above or similar to those mentioned. Danny Jacobs is a legend, what were the Bombers thinking keeping Henneman. If we are going back a bit how would John Theodoris from Albion rate. Pretty high i imagine.

Theo was a gun, hard and skillful, but there were none more spectacular than Steve "Dolly" Parton, the best high mark to play FDL/WRFL had a nasty streak and of course was nuts! And played in the time when it was a tough mans game, with great full forwards like Gibson (spotty) and Steve Keogh..........Some of the best to ever play!

And i forgot about a guy who played one season at Albion...Austin McCrabb, dominated at CHB all year and probably took 20 marks a game.........
Ted Fidge played a few games, but broke down, could kick the ball 60 meters from a standing start...

Dont forget Aaron James, despite his carryon, he was untouchable in that square, too big and too strong with vice like hands!

Theo was a gun, hard and skillful, but there were none more spectacular than Steve "Dolly" Parton, the best high mark to play FDL/WRFL had a nasty streak and of course was nuts! And played in the time when it was a tough mans game, with great full forwards like Gibson (spotty) and Steve Keogh..........Some of the best to ever play!

Steve Kennedy went ok too

Mmmmm so did Lindsay Murphy back in the 50's and 60's at Parks. John Charles went ok at Nth Footscray in the 70's? It is a discussion that will never end and it is really pointless trying to compare player against player, era against era. There is however a good game on paper this weekend being 2009!! Hoppers vs Colts. Any changes? Did young Jackel come up this week? What about the big ruckman from hoppers who is clearly sponsored by elastoplast is he playing? Comon it's Friday arvo spark up people:thumbsu:

Massive game for both sides, although only early on in the season, will provide a good yardstick heading down the stretch.

Two huge games in two weeks for Hoppers will surely have an affect, and with Colts having a couple of cupcakes in the last two weeks will be absolutely chomping at the bit to crack into the Warriors.

Colts backline will nullify the big guns for Hoppers and that little bit more toughness around the ball will win it for Colts i reckon.

Yea good point secure.
No jackel, winters and hoath failed to come up along but we still have a strong line up going in to the game so no excuses.
Beazer how is the side looking full strength like last week???

Yea good point secure.
No jackel, winters and hoath failed to come up along but we still have a strong line up going in to the game so no excuses.
Beazer how is the side looking full strength like last week???

Not full strength and havent been all year. Hopefully over the next 2 or 3 weeks we will be though. Have got a good enough team to win it if we are good enough. We are slowly getting there and although you guys havent played too many good sides yet, have still been pretty impressive. Will be a good game. Hopefully the weather stays away.

And bring your bucket and spade too, Im revising my ground conditions. The sand from Werribee South beach seems to have blown onto our ground. Not sure why they do this or if it makes a difference to the surface. The rest of the ground is in reasonable nick though.

Cant wait for it.

not full strength and havent been all year. Hopefully over the next 2 or 3 weeks we will be though. Have got a good enough team to win it if we are good enough. We are slowly getting there and although you guys havent played too many good sides yet, have still been pretty impressive. Will be a good game. Hopefully the weather stays away.

And bring your bucket and spade too, im revising my ground conditions. The sand from werribee south beach seems to have blown onto our ground. Not sure why they do this or if it makes a difference to the surface. The rest of the ground is in reasonable nick though.

Cant wait for it.

ins
murphy and mutton

outs
butty and merrifield

We are talking about what they have achieved in this comp though. If you go on AFL games and experience you would say Danny was a better player bcos he played more AFL games. I think Aaron James played more AFL games than Frost and you cant say he was a better player in this comp than Frosty.

The initial question was who was the best in this comp over the last 5 years and theres no doubt Danny would be. Its probably a little unfair to compare him to guys who played in this comp for longer as DJ has only played a couple of years. Im sure that if he plays a couple more years in this comp he will be seen up there with the best this comp has seen, if he isnt already.
frost not in dannys class is all i'm saying

Big game this week Albion at YCW, wonder how many yellow bellies will pull out with injuries, especially reserves players...........
Heard a rumour that David Attenborough will be there filming the butchy boys hiding from the cats!

A great game of local footy yesterday ay hogan's rd, between old rivals colts and hoppers.
It's always hard to win at hoppers so we are very happy to get away with the points in a tight contest.
We dominated the first quarter and early in the second and skipped out to a 20 point lead, how ever i we relaxed hoppers went up a gear and it was only 8 points at half time. In the 3rd quarter hoppers had the run of play and had the better of quarter, with plenty of run, while we were missing the injured d.jacobs and had stopped running all over the ground and all our forwards were struggling except for macanulty. Hopper were in front at 3/4 time by 7pts
In the last it was a classic battle and both sides had the lead at various times. Luckily when the siren went we were in front.
Hoppers have some quality young players coming through and with an experienced back line will be a definate top 3 in my opinion. Good to see hoppers showing some faith in some home grown youngsters.

Big three weeks for Albion coming up sunshine(away), spotty(home) and colts(away) will show us were they are at, sunshine also need to show against the cats that they will have a say come finals time.

Hoppers have some quality young players coming through and with an experienced back line will be a definate top 3 in my opinion. Good to see hoppers showing some faith in some home grown youngsters.

Big three weeks for Albion coming up sunshine(away), spotty(home) and colts(away) will show us were they are at, sunshine also need to show against the cats that they will have a say come finals time.

I picked the final margin through superior logic and football nouse. Would you believe I only thought it would be close? How about pure arse? Pretty significant win against a good side on their home turf.
How did Beazer go?
The home grown youngsters are the lifeblood of any club and it would be good to see more clubs encourage their own to step up rather than flash an open cheque book around. I know that some clubs can't avoid it due to factors beyond their control but at many clubs, young blokes worth developing are being left to rot in the magoos while an overrated recruit becomes a walk up start for senior selection. Pretty tough situation.

Watched my first Colts game for the year yesterday and what a great result it was for the Mighty Colts.
For the opposition i thought Beazley had a bit of the ball but maybe turned it over a little more than he would have liked. He will get better as the season goes on. Been involved in this league for a long time and yesterday convinced me that Clonan is a STAR. #41 had a lot of it, Mitchell kicked some important goals but IMO was a bit disapointing. Phipps was good #10 played well. Reece Miles was good, gets a lot one, two possies. I also noticed the Hoppers boys doing a lot of umpiring (this was a directive from the coach) which is obviously a ploy because of the inabillity of majority of umpires to make correct calls consistantly.

For the winners Julier was the general is ground work for a big fella is awesome. Still had enough energy to show some blistering pace in the last qrt bursting through CHF. The skipper i thought was sensational but this might be biased because i love him. Twomey, Massis, Floriene #4 last qtr, Pitchford, Williams, were all good. And i almost forgot Frostys mate had a bit to say on the end result!!!!! NIGHTMARES!!!!!!!!!!!!!

. I also noticed the Hoppers boys doing a lot of umpiring (this was a directive from the coach) which is obviously a ploy because of the inabillity of majority of umpires to make correct calls consistantly.

This must be the new tactic going around. Spotty also used the same tactic very succesfully on the weekend. I guess its worth it if it gets you an extra free kick or two.

I wonder what the umpires did when Spotty played Hoppers:confused:

I also noticed the Hoppers boys doing a lot of umpiring (this was a directive from the coach) which is obviously a ploy because of the inabillity of majority of umpires to make correct calls consistantly.
Funny that cos at quarter time Michael Frost told his team that their opponents were doing it so they should do it too!

But the one that took the cake was the cheeky Colts player who ran to the fence to fetch a footy that had gone out of bounds. The boundary umpire was about 80m away, so this player has picked the ball up and plonked it against the boundary line about 10m closer to Colts goal (40m out instead of 50m). Certainly wasn't anywhere near where it went out of bounds. Field umps need to be aware of that if the boundary is caught behind. It was shifty. Resulted in the Colts clearing the stoppage and kicking a point too. Would've been a nice bluff job on the umps if the play had come off.

Funny that cos at quarter time Michael Frost told his team that their opponents were doing it so they should do it too!

Well it was certainly not an instruction for our players and i find it very strange if frosty directed his players to do it. Although in saying that the umps were being influenced by the crowd and players umpiring for both teams, overall i thought the umpiring was ok.

Just wondering what people's thoughts on spotty are??
Are they near on unbeatable, maybe i have underestimated how good they really are?
Only albion left to play out of the top side and they have been winning convincingly every week along with a few players from their best side missing, including montebello. So a three peat is a very real possibility.

Looking forward to see if sunshine have improved or not a win at home against albion if they are serious top 3 contenders otherwise they mite as well chuck in the towel.

Finally beazer, i thought you played well on saturday and i'm in position to hang shit after my performance but any truth that you had $30 worth of KFC after the game all for yourself????? if so fair effort bigboy...lol
No more trying to dodge S.Massis he is a tackling machine.

Well it was certainly not an instruction for our players and i find it very strange if frosty directed his players to do it. Although in saying that the umps were being influenced by the crowd and players umpiring for both teams, overall i thought the umpiring was ok.
I didn't have a problem with the umpiring, I didn't think it favoured one side over the other anyway. But Frost did say at quarter time that Colts were umpiring the game so his players should be a bit more vocal as well. Which was perhaps the cause of the overly large amount of appealing by both sides going on out there.