Western Region Football League Team (Part 3)

Ok so it seems like i want to far off the mark about both clubs,although i don't have any recollection of west playing in 3rd division. I may have lost a year or 2 off my memory ( was only young at the time ) i just remember west beating sunshine ycw in a high scoring grand final at yarraville and i may have moved out of the area the following year and they played 3rd division?

I also remember the old man take me to watch a few of his mates play for wembley and north essendon in the old 3rd division.

Its fascinating to think about some of the clubs that have come and gone from the area, surely no league around victoria could rival the wrfl in terms of clubs folding,being kicked out or merging?

West beat Albanvale at Skinners reserve, the year after Newport also beat them at the same venue. "Skinny Martin had a go to revive Newport juniors and it looked promising for a little while, lack of numbers and the demographics of the immediate area were against him.

Kealba lasted only a few years but when first up and running they fielded multiple juniors and a senior team. Made up from a loyal committee they could have been around long term as an alternative to the Saints and Keilor footy clubs I feel. However as the committee dwindled so did the club, I can remember the White family being one of the founding families buy once they moved up the bush it was the beginning of the end.

West beat Albanvale at Skinners reserve, the year after Newport also beat them at the same venue. "Skinny Martin had a go to revive Newport juniors and it looked promising for a little while, lack of numbers and the demographics of the immediate area were against him.

Kealba lasted only a few years but when first up and running they fielded multiple junior and a senior team. Made up from a loyal committee they could have been around long term as an alternative to the Saints and Keilor footy clubs I feel. However as the committee dwindled so did the club, I can remember the White family being one of the founding families buy once they moved up the bush it was the beginning of the end.

Is this the year after west newport beat sunshine ycw in the 2nd div grand final?

Ok so it seems like i want to far off the mark about both clubs,although i don't have any recollection of west playing in 3rd division. I may have lost a year or 2 off my memory ( was only young at the time ) i just remember west beating sunshine ycw in a high scoring grand final at yarraville and i may have moved out of the area the following year and they played 3rd division?

I also remember the old man take me to watch a few of his mates play for wembley and north essendon in the old 3rd division.

Its fascinating to think about some of the clubs that have come and gone from the area, surely no league around victoria could rival the wrfl in terms of clubs folding,being kicked out or merging?

Wembley fell victim to running out of the local talent, heard a story of a young Boof Mcanulty filling in for them after playing under 18's at yarraville one day. BOG in both games was young Steve. Kingsville also followed the merger track into oblivion.

North Essendon and Essendon Grammar came and went with North Essendon sticking around the longest. When they folded a few went across to North Ken, who in turn folded after a colourful stint in the FDFL.

Flem seniors won a flag under Butch Litchfield and folded not long after. They had a more than coloufull playing list with a couple of the younger (at the time) boys now playing at Mabry.

Wembley fell victim to running out of the local talent, heard a story of a young Boof Mcanulty filling in for them after playing under 18's at yarraville one day. BOG in both games was young Steve. Kingsville also followed the merger track into oblivion.

North Essendon and Essendon Grammar came and went with North Essendon sticking around the longest. When they folded a few went across to North Ken, who in turn folded after a colourful stint in the FDFL.

Flem seniors won a flag under Butch Litchfield and folded not long after. They had a more than coloufull playing list with a couple of the younger (at the time) boys now playing at Mabry.

North melb/kennsington were a pretty strong club in 1st in the 90's were'nt they? Has the biggest problem with sides folding or merging been coz of the lack of australians (not being racist) living in certain area's eg-kennsington,flemington,newport or was there a real problem with violence at alot of fdfl clubs in the 80's and 90's

nth kens: Problems came from there surporter, there last straw was the Altona game when the umpire had his neck broken. My oldman also coached there u/17 team witch also had games called off due to knife being pulled and crowd members jumping the fence, 1. against Braybrook when all the cavaner boys were young. 2. Same year Wembly Park u/17 spectators jump the fence and started a brawl with the game being called off-same game some1 from Wembly had put linamen oil in there cordial. 1987 was the year I remember it well as it all rolled over into the res/snr games that hole year.

North melb/kennsington were a pretty strong club in 1st in the 90's were'nt they? Has the biggest problem with sides folding or merging been coz of the lack of australians (not being racist) living in certain area's eg-kennsington,flemington,newport or was there a real problem with violence at alot of fdfl clubs in the 80's and 90's

What happened at the Altona game mate and what year was it? Remember hearing about that a few years ago.

Wasn't good mate it was a close game all afternoon with Nth Ken being hot fav for that game late in the 4th quarter Altona bagged 5goals to nil in about 5min and then Ken players started to go the punch. It was when there was a ball up there were bodys charging in from everywere and the nexted thing the umpire was on the ground not moving.
Then all hell broke loose spectators were brawling on the field woman were fighting Tony Modola(Altona snr) was chase to the civic office by 5 Ken players.
Big Scotty Kryger was king hit in the crowd and was in a bad way.
The umpire who had his neck broken his ute was rolled and all his tools knocked off.
It was all over the news Ken was booted out of the league and Altona fined and placed on a good behav bond by the FDFL.

TIPS ROUND 6

SPOTTY easily of west, the highlight will be the mcghie boys playing against each other.

SUNSHINE I believe at home, close to full strength and a bit of confidence will see the kangas finally stand up and beat the cats, if the kangas want a top 3 spot, well it's there for the taking saturday.

COLTS Looking forward to taking on the new boys, from all accounts will have a crack, so on the small confines of our ground we look forward to the hitout.

HOPPERS Although hoppers have a few injury concerns they will still be to good for the vikings, a good mix of youth and experience will see hoppers in for a good year. Hoppers to win their next 4 and put themselves in top 3 contention.

ST.ALBANS The saints are happy to have got the monkey off the back last week with a solid win, so they should chalk another victory up here against glenorden. After a promising start the hawks have fallen by the wayside and are playing without passion or direction, hopefully they can start to turn it around this week and put in a solid performance.

MID YEAR LADDER PREDICTION
SPOTTY
COLTS
SUNSHINE
ALBION
HOPPERS
ALTONA
ST.ALBANS
GLENORDEN
SUNNY HEIGHTS
WEST FOOTS.

There will not be much seperating 2nd to 4th so it could be a different order, spotty have got a strangle hold on top spot, so they maybe there at rd 18 also.

Apparently Frosty may not be coaching this week and may make himself unavailable as he did tell the players after the Colts game that coaching costs him "valuable family time". :eek::eek::eek:

Must be doing it for free.......................;););)

TIPS ROUND 6

SPOTTY easily of west, the highlight will be the mcghie boys playing against each other.

SUNSHINE I believe at home, close to full strength and a bit of confidence will see the kangas finally stand up and beat the cats, if the kangas want a top 3 spot, well it's there for the taking saturday.

COLTS Looking forward to taking on the new boys, from all accounts will have a crack, so on the small confines of our ground we look forward to the hitout.

HOPPERS Although hoppers have a few injury concerns they will still be to good for the vikings, a good mix of youth and experience will see hoppers in for a good year. Hoppers to win their next 4 and put themselves in top 3 contention.

ST.ALBANS The saints are happy to have got the monkey off the back last week with a solid win, so they should chalk another victory up here against glenorden. After a promising start the hawks have fallen by the wayside and are playing without passion or direction, hopefully they can start to turn it around this week and put in a solid performance.

SPOTTY
COLTS
SUNSHINE
ALBION
HOPPERS
ALTONA
ST.ALBANS
GLENORDEN
SUNNY HEIGHTS
WEST FOOTS.

There will not be much seperating 2nd to 4th so it could be a different order, spotty have got a strangle hold on top spot, so they maybe there at rd 18 also.

To say we are playing without direction and passion isn't quite true. Yes, we are struggling and although I hate using injuries as an excuse, for us to be competitive we need our best team on the park. Unfortunately we don't have the depth to cover 8 senior players.

We seemed to have copped every injury under the sun this year:

Ruckman out for 5 weeks
Captain and Co captain have both done hamstrings
Centre Half Forward Hamstring
2 Midfield/ forward flankers both out with injuries
Our 2 best young kids one had surgery on his knee then other is out for the year with a pancreas ruptured.

Our best work will come in the second half of the season.

ooh poor thing, glenorden must be the only team in the wrfl, or football victoria with injuries to important players. suck it up princess!

TIPS ROUND 6

SPOTTY
COLTS
SUNSHINE
ALBION
HOPPERS
ALTONA
ST.ALBANS
GLENORDEN
SUNNY HEIGHTS
WEST FOOTS.

Very interesting prediction there Rock.
In just about every other post you have written, u have said other than Spotty that ALBIOn are the side to beat and seem to be travelling yet you then tip them to be 4th! and think they will lose this week!
Love the way u try and play mind games!
You know dam well that COLTS AND sPOTTY WILL play in the GF again!
Stop trying to be such a neutral observer

Very interesting prediction there Rock.
In just about every other post you have written, u have said other than Spotty that ALBIOn are the side to beat and seem to be travelling yet you then tip them to be 4th! and think they will lose this week!
Love the way u try and play mind games!
You know dam well that COLTS AND sPOTTY WILL play in the GF again!
Stop trying to be such a neutral observer

LOL, Me play mind games here on big footy never. We all just write the truth and believe every word written.

In all seriousness if people or players get involved in mind games from a bull$hit website then something is really up.
No doubt i think we are going well and with a bit of luck we are a chance to be there again, but spotty are the team to beat.
I also thought Albion were but after them losing to hoppers,maybe not as strong, although it's still very early. Just think this week sunshine mite get over them.
As i said in my post but 2nd to 4th could really be in any order.
I don't think i'm trying to be a neutral observer just like hearing about what is going on in the wrfl in divvy 1 weather it's fact or fiction i don't mind.

Very very quiet on the wrfl div1 thread.

Anyone from sunshine or albion what to talk about this weeks game??
Get some talk going.
Travvy i'm sure your having a read, how are sunshine going to win this game? Really need to have a win over the cats, your recent record has not been good.

Altona give themselve are chance over hoppers???

Very very quiet on the wrfl div1 thread.

Anyone from sunshine or albion what to talk about this weeks game??
Get some talk going.
Travvy i'm sure your having a read, how are sunshine going to win this game? Really need to have a win over the cats, your recent record has not been good.

Altona give themselve are chance over hoppers???

Altona will win by 15points and beeeeeza to get BOG for hoppers....:D

Re: Northern Football League Division 1 - Part III

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What's on this week's LOCAL FOOTY SHOW

- Coverage of "Pink Day" at Hoppers Crossing, Karingal and Heidelberg

- Highlights of Hoppers Crossing v Port Colts

- A look at East Ringwood's narrow win over Vermont

- Match footage of eight different games around metro comps

- Local Footy Legend - Tony Lachmund at Northcote Park
- Interview with Northcote Park coach Matthew Amed

- Wandin celebrating their centenary this year

- Wrap-ups of all metro leagues, plus YVMDFL and MPNFL

- Golden Days of footy - 1978 VFA Grand Final - Preston v Prahran

_ The LOCAL FOOTY SHOW will be at Dingley Vs Cheltenham game where Dingley will be wearing their heritage jumpers

Friday 7:30pm and Sat 9am on C31

www.localfootyshow.com.au

Filo's Tips

Hoppers will beat Altona to the tune of 6 goals. Beazer to get 42 possessions.

Colts to monster a spirited Dragons outfit. 20 goals. Rock 6 goals. B. Jacobs to be on and off the bench due to nappy changing duty.

Spotswood to enjoy a 25 goal win against Wests. Libba will be accused of tanking.

St Albans to beat Glen Orden by 10 goals. Spooner 8 goals. The Saint's Bistro to make a killing. Good Bistro!

Albion's reign of terror over Sunshine to continue but a closer result than most think. 3 Goals. There will be no talk of yellowbellies since the game is at Sunshine.The results won't mean a lot in relation to Albion's season.

Filo's Tips

Hoppers will beat Altona to the tune of 6 goals. Beazer to get 42 possessions.

Colts to monster a spirited Roosters outfit. 20 goals. Rock 6 goals. B. Jacobs to be on and off the bench due to nappy changing duty.

Spotswood to enjoy a 25 goal win against Wests. Libba will be accused of tanking.

St Albans to beat Glen Orden by 10 goals. Spooner 8 goals. The Saint's Bistro to make a killing. Good Bistro!

Albion's reign of terror over Sunshine to continue but a closer result than most think. 3 Goals. There will be no talk of yellowbellies since the game is at Sunshine.The results won't mean a lot in relation to Albion's season.

roosters.........?filo i thought you were better than that........?

DRAGONS......west are the roosters.........;)

Been watching a bit of the cat's twos and i must say i've been impressed with kevin upton's attack on the footy. Dont think he's been beaten all year across half back. However i think he'd be far more valuable deep in the forward line, his vice like grip and strength overhead could be a nightmare for the comps defenders. if the albion coaching hierachy are reading is there anychance on sneaking the big fella forward?

Wouldn't surprise me at all, with myself getting donuts after last weeks effort. Time for me to retire....
An upset maybe at your ground, mite be a bit tough at our ground

Come on J.C time to tuck yourself in for a good night sleep. Prob drop in after the game tomoz for a couple of ales.