Sports What are your most favourite sports, and sports you don't get

to be honest, rugby union is probably the most physical intensive sport there is... its far more draining than afl... i dont think you can say otherwise and remain unbiased...

afl often wins a lot of stupid GPS stats for things like 'how far do players run per game' simply because an afl game lasts twice as long as say a soccer game... i dont think afl these days is as hard on the body to play as many others... you might get one or two few tough collisions per match per player... a lot would go through a match without being bumped once...

i like most sports, some playing and some just watching... some of my faves:

cycling (track especially, the cat and mouse is my fave olympic sport by a mile...)
sailing
competitive eating
ultimate frisbee (pretty much what afl is trying to become)
flatland bmx
wrestling
trap shooting
fishing
snooker (9 ball etc)
poker
chess

I'm not going to drill you. :p I had that thought process before I started watching. I don't watch regularly but I make sure to IQ the World Series and the AL and NL finals each year. They're great fun to watch and there's certainly a large amount of strategy involved.

Like cricket there's a huge amount of strategy in getting your lineup right, but unlike cricket there's a large amount of sacrifice play. Say the first batter gets a single to first base, the second batter will bunt to advance the runner on base to second. If there's runners on second and third the player at bat might sacrifice fly to the outfield to score the runners on base (sacrifice flying is obviously easier than hitting a homer).

The lineup for baseball would be something like:

1. Strong hitter
2. Fast athletic type who can bunt
3. Hybrid of 1+2
4. Clean-up hitter. If all three are on base you want someone to come in and hit a home run (grand slam). This is the Josh Hamilton, Pujols, Miguel Cabrera spot.

Hitting is hard. The best hitter of all time only went at .350. Hitting a round ball with a cylindrical stick is far more difficult than hitting a round ball with a flat bat. Not to mention that almost every pitcher can throw a 90-95 mph pitch. No-one in cricket can do that and once its bounced off the pitch it slows to 130kmh or thereabouts.

And as for overweight players not doing much? Lets not forget one of the greatest cricketers of all time bowled off seven steps and stood at first slip all day. :p

The pitching is probably more strategic. There's a roster of pitchers called a bullpen. They're mostly divided into starters and closers. Pitchers who can start pitch seven innings plus. The closers come in with one or two innings to go to close out the game. In between that there might be a reliever who comes on for two or three innings if the starter is getting hit or is tiring. The coach needs to work on his rotation as pitching is unnatural and demanding on the body.

Strategy in pitching is increased when there's no designated hitter and the pitcher needs to bat. Often a pitcher will be subbed in purely to bat and then subbed out again. Can't come back in that game when you've been subbed. Coaches also have to work their roster to ensure lefties are pitching to batters who don't like lefties and so on.

It's a fun game to watch. But like most American sports I suggest IQing it so you can fast-forward through ads and timeouts. Last season while watching the NBA finals. I'd IQ it, go study for awhile, come back at halftime start watching and catch up to the regular broadcast by the end.

Awesome tutorial mate - definetely helps understanding the sport and why they do certain things at certain times etc. Have to go watch a game now. :)

Lot of dislike for 20/20 cricket. Cant definetly see why for the purists out there. I love test cricket more than anything, but I also cant get enough of 20/20. Games are always close, heaps of excitement and skill and there is so much being played now which means I can watch cricket pretty much 24/7.

What I do hate about it though is players opting to play IPL and stuff over representing their country. Its rife in the West Indies. Something needs to be done about that.

Seems like India has given up on test cricket too in favour if ODI's and 20/20. Their performance in the test series is Aus was one of the worst I have ever seen.

I'm not going to drill you. :p I had that thought process before I started watching. I don't watch regularly but I make sure to IQ the World Series and the AL and NL finals each year. They're great fun to watch and there's certainly a large amount of strategy involved.

Like cricket there's a huge amount of strategy in getting your lineup right, but unlike cricket there's a large amount of sacrifice play. Say the first batter gets a single to first base, the second batter will bunt to advance the runner on base to second. If there's runners on second and third the player at bat might sacrifice fly to the outfield to score the runners on base (sacrifice flying is obviously easier than hitting a homer).

The lineup for baseball would be something like:

1. Strong hitter
2. Fast athletic type who can bunt
3. Hybrid of 1+2
4. Clean-up hitter. If all three are on base you want someone to come in and hit a home run (grand slam). This is the Josh Hamilton, Pujols, Miguel Cabrera spot.

Hitting is hard. The best hitter of all time only went at .350. Hitting a round ball with a cylindrical stick is far more difficult than hitting a round ball with a flat bat. Not to mention that almost every pitcher can throw a 90-95 mph pitch. No-one in cricket can do that and once its bounced off the pitch it slows to 130kmh or thereabouts.

And as for overweight players not doing much? Lets not forget one of the greatest cricketers of all time bowled off seven steps and stood at first slip all day. :p

The pitching is probably more strategic. There's a roster of pitchers called a bullpen. They're mostly divided into starters and closers. Pitchers who can start pitch seven innings plus. The closers come in with one or two innings to go to close out the game. In between that there might be a reliever who comes on for two or three innings if the starter is getting hit or is tiring. The coach needs to work on his rotation as pitching is unnatural and demanding on the body.

Strategy in pitching is increased when there's no designated hitter and the pitcher needs to bat. Often a pitcher will be subbed in purely to bat and then subbed out again. Can't come back in that game when you've been subbed. Coaches also have to work their roster to ensure lefties are pitching to batters who don't like lefties and so on.

It's a fun game to watch. But like most American sports I suggest IQing it so you can fast-forward through ads and timeouts. Last season while watching the NBA finals. I'd IQ it, go study for awhile, come back at halftime start watching and catch up to the regular broadcast by the end.

My list of sports:

Love watching/playing
-- AFL
-- Cricket
-- Basketball
-- Squash (hopefully HD tv will help this game establish a presence on tv as its pretty fun to watch)

Don't mind
-- Golf (find it really calming to chill out and watch golf. Everything about it is so serene)
-- NFL
-- Baseball
-- Union

Not much time for:
-- Tennis (usually just baseline slugging)
-- League

great post :thumbsu:

I just finished reading 'Moneyball' last night - if your post had existed before I'd begun I probably would have had a slightly better understanding !
Nonetheless it was a good book, very interesting the way the A's went about their business against the odds.

Love:

Australian Football
Basketball
Table Tennis

Also not a huge fan but the most challenging to play/most skill is American Football.

In order of 'watchability'
Footy
Baseball (Postseason)
Rugby League
Rugby Union
Baseball (During season)
Cricket (Live Tests, Live ODIs)
Basketball (tried to get into it but it just seemed like every game is decided within the last 10secs of play)
NFL (Too stop start)
Soccer (the diving and acting for frees ruins it for me. The EPL and other european leagues are always between the 2-4 rich clubs, the rest of the league just seem to make up the numbers)
2020 Cricket (its just cricket wanting to be baseball to me)

In order of 'Playability'
Baseball
Footy
Basketball
Cricket (the running with pads, helmet, gloves and other protective gear makes me feel uncoordinated)

So 1:Footy, NFL, College football
2. Cricket, tennis (girls and men)
3. NHL
4. Soccer
5. MLB

I also love surfing

1. Footy
2. NBA

Only 2 sports I really follow.
Don't mind a bit of NFL and keep up with EPL and champions league. One game I can only watch for a few minutes at a time is the Lingerie Football League. Never made it past the first quarter for some reason

Only four big ones for me
1 - Footy by a street, both for playing and watching.
2 - Cricket. But only enjoy playing indoor.
3 - Tennis. Love watching and playing, although I wish I was better.
4 - Boxing, but don't get to see enough of it. I've never gone near trying it though!

Enjoy watching horse racing too and recently started enjoying the cycling.

Tried many times with soccer but can't get into it. Same with baseball and motorsports. I can watch the rugby codes if I'm in the mood.
I reckon I would love Ice Hockey if I was exposed to it more. Hurling looks interesting too.
Also play racquetball and love to shoot pool but would never watch them.
Wish I could play golf.

Only four big ones for me
1 - Footy by a street, both for playing and watching.
2 - Cricket. But only enjoy playing indoor.
3 - Tennis. Love watching and playing, although I wish I was better.
4 - Boxing, but don't get to see enough of it. I've never gone near trying it though!

Enjoy watching horse racing too and recently started enjoying the cycling.

Tried many times with soccer but can't get into it. Same with baseball and motorsports. I can watch the rugby codes if I'm in the mood.
I reckon I would love Ice Hockey if I was exposed to it more. Hurling looks interesting too.
Also play racquetball and love to shoot pool but would never watch them.
Wish I could play golf.

Ice hockey is frikkin awesome. I saw a game in Vancouver just before the play-offs and those huge riots. Candians literally dont give a rats about anything else but hockey. Amazing game to watch. Id be obsessed if it was big here.

Footy and soccer are my two games. Two of the things I love most in life.

I'm kind of give or take with anything else. I get into the Australia Open. Oh, and I hate the Olympics as well.

1. AFL
2. Horse Racing
3. Test Cricket
4. Cycling (both road & track)
5. Baseball - a much better game to play than watch I've found.

The thing that turns me off ice hockey is that half the time the puck is moving that quick I cant see where the shot on goal went until either the players continue playing or they start celebrating! Looking at heading to a game though early next year when in the states.

I'll follow any ball game played on a round/circular arena.

Any other 'sport?????' is a recreation, past-time or a joke.

AFL, cricket, in that order.

Footy
Cricket
Golf
Tennis
Horse racing
F1
Moto GP

Used to quite like playing and possibly even watching soccer, in primary school, but I disliked those who were soccer-mad in secondary school so much that it has probably put me off the sport for life, even though my nephews played a lot of it in recent years and we went along and watched them regularly.

As far as playing goes, out of the sports I've played competitively (in teams outside of school, or in junior tournaments), I liked them in this order:

Golf
Footy
Tennis
Cricket
Basketball

also really enjoyed playing table tennis, but didn't play it competitively.

Lot of dislike for 20/20 cricket.
It's the "in thing" to hate on 20/20 cricket at the moment. If you like cricket it seems you're not cool unless you love test cricket and hate 20/20 and look down your nose at it. Personally, like you, I like all forms of it and am also very happy that I get to watch it so many days of the year now.

Sports What are your most favourite sports, and sports you don't get