What do you hate about your suburb/town?

The Hitman

Jun 4, 2002
Manchester United
I live in Dandenong. I hate it here. I'm sure everyone has something against where they live, so share it with the class.

Living in Dandenong, it's probably easier to name what I do like than what I don't, but here goes.

- I hate the reputation. There are worse suburbs than Dandnong. Like Doveton, for instance. Still, we suck, and unfortunately the rest of Melbourne know it.

- I hate most of the people here. Yeah, you see a bogan with a mullet once or twice and get a giggle, but when you are outnumbered by them, it becomes a worry. If you've been in the strip of shops in the middle of Dandy on the Highway, you'll know why I hate this place. Don't even mention the Maccas...

- I hate it's distance from the city. Hop on a train and it takes 40 minutes. Drive, and you might make it within the hour (depending on times, of course). Too damn far.

- I hate the crime. Graffiti everywhere. Sirens wailing at night. Drugs deals being done in public. Murders and robbery common-place. I've been mugged at knife point during the day before (year 8, I think). Crime may be everywhere, but it seems everywhere in Dandenong.

- I hate the state of the schools. I go to the best school in the Dandenong area. Very good academically, and even better when it comes to sport. However, compared to other schools in other areas, we suck. Not enough money, and people are dropping out too much.

- I hate the shops. Dandy plaza is okay with Rebel Sport, Myer, and Kmart. JB Hi-Fi is my favourite shop on earth. But below that there is nothing. I drove past the Club X Megamart today. It's like a supermarket of smut. Not to mention all the other adult shops around the train station.

- I hate how I can't get a job. There are so many people who are my age who don't go to school and can't find a job, so how can I? I can't, and I need money, dammit.

- I hate how I am so far away from those I care about. Too damn far.

The Hitman

Originally posted by The Hitman
I drove past the Club X Megamart today. It's like a supermarket of smut. Not to mention all the other adult shops around the train station.

The Hitman

I'm moving to Dandenong.

Oh, and you shouldn't be driving when you don't even have your P's. ;) You're bagging people with mullets, yet you're growing one yourself! Looks like you're a true Dandy-ite.

I don't have much against good old Camberwell, except maybe that it can be a bit too conservative at times. (Eg. resteraunt BYO laws).

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
I hate how I'm stuck between three TABs, and the only one within walking distance is the Notting Hill Hotel, quite possibly the worst TAB in the world. I hate having to drive to the Village Green for a decent tote.

I'm heading out to the Forester's Arms in about 10 minutes for the Mundine fight.

I like where I live (Templestowe). The only thing I really don't like is the fact that it takes a long time to get into the city by public transport because there are no train lines or trams - only buses.

Well I live in a tiny suburb of Padbury. Nothing too much wrong with it except:

There isn't much excitement, you need to go into the city (about 20 mins away) for that - but the city isn't that crash hot excitement wise either.

Also, like Dandenong, there is a lot of graffiti. In my school, at the shops, on walls and on the streets.

Our school is poor with lack of teaching staff and not very good academically.

And last of all, it's in a state I'm not all too keen on. I know that I'll be happier somewhere else.

I live in Northmead, in the north-western suburbs of Sydney. Nice quiet area, had all the decent facilities etc. And I work in Baulkham Hills, so I can walk to work which is a good thing.
Dislikes? Expensive, but you can say that about anywhere in Sydney. I've got some money saved, but realistically if I'm ever going to own my own place I'll have to seriously consider returning to Victoria.
Also public transport here is hopeless - and it's an hours walk to Parramatta. You need to drive if you want to live here - fortunately I do, but traffic congestion on Windsor Rd in peak hour is a problem.

Sydenham.

-They've put the railway station as far as possible from all of the houses, with nowhere near enough parking. It's actually pretty close to the houses, but it's behind a load of schools and churches with no footpath through, so that for the people in that area don't have a 5 minute walk but a 20 minute walk to go right around the schools.

-Its next door neighbour is St Albans, need I say more?

-There are too many Jehovah's Witnesses knocking on the doors

-The schools in the area are crap.

-The primary school is so big that the oval is covered with portables and the kids have to play at the nearby oval, which is where i often go for a run, and keep forgetting not to go there during schooltime.

-There's a lot of mud.

-The road should have been finished a long time ago. There is a bottleneck at the railway crossing.

-There is nothing but a crappy shopping centre, and too many petrol stations and doctors surgeries.

-It's too far away from all of my friends.

Hitman,

A lot of the problems you mention about where you live are commonplace about many other urban or areas. That's life...

So maybe you'd like to move... here's a thread which might bring back some recent memories...

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=38699

:D :D :D

Seriously, though, I can't find much wrong about living in Ballarat-- I said it then, and I'll continue to say it now.

However, while Jennifer and I were without a car for about a fortnight, I will admit that Ballarat's public transportation system stands to improve. It goes a lot of places around here and the surrounding area (Bunninyong, Creswick, Wendouree and Sebastapol, for instance), but there's a lot of other places within the surrounding area that the buses could go to, and the buses could stand to run longer hours as well.

Just goes to show that you never know what you have until you need it. However, having said that, I'll also say that the rates of crime and graffitti, as well as the quality of the schools, here in Ballarat are better than in Dandenong, based on your descriptions.

Cheer up-- it gets better.

Cheers,
William

Imagine how long my list would have been if I was in Ballarat. ;)

Aggels, I'd kill to live in Sydenham at the moment. It'd go a long way to solving my last point... :(

The Hitman

I'm in Carnegie (in Melbourne).

My street is a through road but not a main thoroughfare. Its used as one. Cars are parked on both sides of the street all the way down, and that leaves about a bus-width for 40 cars a minute to punch past each other and the occasional bus. Very high traffic. Every house in the area is being torn down and replaced with units, and just increasing the traffic over and over.

However its a nice area, and public transport abounds (about 4 buses, tram and two train lines which converge nearby. There's a footy oval and a pool nearby, in a reasonably nice park. There's plenty of shops, with a fairly diverse range of stuff.

Crime is fairly low, mostly car thefts and such.

But the biggest gripe is regards what they did to the local pub (the Rosstown). Its been 'upvamped'. Clinical clean, atmosphere removed, big pokies area and boring sport bar with a billion screens. Grog prices almost double between public bar and dining room. Dining prices are flaming stupid. Same thing was done to the Albion Charles in Northcote, and worse was done to the Station in Prahran.

The pub gripe is really a bit global, but it gets to me.

Luckily, just down the road at McKinnon (1 hour walk) there's a great pub called the McKinnon Hotel, which is much nicer.

Mont Albert North.

I hate my neighbours.

There are no pubs.

We are a kilometre from Mont Albert so WHY change the name of the damn suburb. :rolleyes:

Tooooooooooooo far from the city (by my standards anyways ;))

Too suburban. It's just boring.

Okies done. :confused:

Originally posted by The Hitman
Imagine how long my list would have been if I was in Ballarat. ;)

From having seen your "laundry list" from your first post, I'd say not quite as long. :)

And as I said on the Ballarat thread some time back, I'm not saying that living here is better than living in Melbourne or any of its suburbs, it's just different.

Cheers,
William

Highton is a fairly decent suburb, so that's all good. The fact that it's a suburb of Geelong could be better, but still, I've got nothing to complain about.

Originally posted by Nic
Highton is a fairly decent suburb, so that's all good. The fact that it's a suburb of Geelong could be better, but still, I've got nothing to complain about.

Hey my best friend lives in Highton. :D :eek:

What do you hate about your suburb/town?